【避孕藥】種類、效用、副作用、購買途徑:香港全方位指南

最後更新日期 七月 7, 2021.

避孕藥是什麼 | 避孕藥如何運作 | 服藥指南 | 適用情況 | 副作用 | 如何選擇避孕藥 | 購買途徑 | 緊急避孕藥

避孕藥為廣泛應用的避孕方法。想知避孕藥是否適合自己的避孕方法?立即查閱我們的避孕藥完整指南!本文為您解答:避孕藥的種類、避孕藥如何運作、適合服用避孕藥的情況、副作用、和香港購買避孕藥的除徑等。

避孕藥是什麼?

避孕藥即是預防懷孕的藥物,是一種可逆轉和可靠的避孕方法,節育有效率可達99%或以上。一般而言,避孕藥含有人造激素,這些合成激素可改變女性生理狀況,從而避免懷孕。根據荷爾蒙成分來說,口服避孕藥可分為兩大類 —— 單一荷爾蒙避孕丸(progestogen-only pills)、及混合性荷爾蒙避孕丸(combined oral contraceptive pills)。

避孕藥如何運作?

懷孕是由一系列複雜的過程組成的。當受精卵成功著床於子宮內膜時,懷孕週期隨即開始。因此,排卵、受精、和著床是懷孕的必經階段,缺一不可。口服避孕藥即便透過引入雌性性激素,來抑制排卵、受精、著床的過程,以便達致避孕作用。

混合性荷爾蒙避孕藥是由兩種不同的女性荷爾蒙組成,即雌激素和黃體酮。雌激素和黃體酮的結合可抑排卵作用,避免卵巢釋放卵子。由於輸卵管中沒有卵子,受精過程便不可能發生,因此達致避孕功效。

另一方面,單一荷爾蒙避孕丸則僅含有黃體酮。在高水平黃體酮的刺激下,宮頸粘液分秘會增多並變得粘稠,同時子宮內膜的發育則會受阻。在稠厚的宮頸粘液層下,精子的運輸受列阻礙,使精子和卵子無法接觸相遇。與此同時,子宮內膜的發育受阻,使子宮內膜維持於較薄水平,因此即便卵子成功受精,胚胎仍無法著床。所以,單一荷爾蒙避孕丸可通過抑制受精和著床過程,實現避孕功能。

Advertisements

避孕藥的服藥指南

避孕藥一般有21天或28天的配方。首劑藥丸應該在月經週期的頭5天內服用(即月經來潮開始起計的5天)。期後則每天服用1片藥丸,直至整個療程完成為止。如服用21天配方的避孕丸,在整個療程完成後,應休息7天後方可開始下一療程。而28天配方,則無需間斷服藥,因為此類配方的最後7粒藥丸一般都不含活性荷爾蒙成分,只為方便用者無須間斷服藥而己。

去氧孕烯避孕藥是香港市面上唯一的單一荷爾蒙避孕藥,為28天配方藥丸。儘管此類避孕藥可以隨時開始服食,但請注意必須每天同一時間服藥。如果您在12小時內錯過了固定服藥時段,則應在接下來的7天內同時應用其他避孕措施或避免進行性交行為。

避孕藥適合應用於什麼情況?

除避孕外,避孕藥還可應用於治療各種疾病和症狀,例如:

  • 多囊卵巢綜合徵(PCOS)
  • 原發性卵巢功能不全(POI)
  • 子宮內膜異位症
  • 閉經-缺乏經期
  • 痛經-經期少腹疼痛
  • 經前綜合症(如:乳房脹痛、體重增加、頭痛、肌肉關節疼痛、情緒變化、等症狀)
  • 貧血、鐵質缺乏症
  • 粉刺、痤瘡、暗瘡

避孕藥可以應用於疾病本身或舒緩其症狀,包括:不規則月經、經期紊亂、骨盆疼痛、抽筋、骨骼變薄等。如因以上或其它原因而計劃服用口服避孕藥,應先諮詢你的家庭醫生。

避孕藥副作用

論及避孕藥的副作用時,坊間一向存在許多流言和疑惑,讓不少女士們對服用避孕藥存疑。服用避孕藥前,務必了解清楚避孕藥的實際副作用,以安心地服藥。以下是您需要知道的避孕藥潛在風險:

單一荷爾蒙和混合荷爾蒙避孕藥都可能出現以下常見副作用:
頭痛
頭暈
噁心嘔吐
– 體重增加
體液瀦留、浮腫
– 乳房脹痛
– 情緒變化(例如:抑鬱
月經失調(例如:突破性出血)
– 性慾改變
這些症狀大多數為暫時性的,數週內便會消失。注意無論那一種避孕藥皆不會引致不育

除上述常見副作用外,混合荷爾蒙避孕藥還可增加心血管疾病風險(如:高血壓、血栓栓塞)。另一方面,單一荷爾蒙避孕藥則可能導致持續的月經失調,甚至閉經,更可能增加誘發卵巢囊腫的風險。

儘管避孕藥存在以上副作用,口服避孕藥仍然是可逆轉並可靠的避孕方法。如出現任何相關的症狀或健康狀況,應諮詢您的醫生或藥劑師

Advertisements

哪種避孕藥最好?

理論上,只要正確並持續地服用避孕藥,各種避孕藥都是有效的(超過99%避孕成效)。避孕藥的選擇取決於多種因素,包括:個人的生理狀況、健康病史、治療目的等。要確定最適合自己的避孕藥,請向醫生查詢。

選擇避孕藥時,應留意以下的基本注意事項:

  • 孕婦和產後六個星期正在哺乳的母親——禁止服用任何避孕藥。
  • 母乳餵哺 ——對於哺乳期間的婦女,應於分娩後6週才開始服用任何混合荷爾蒙避孕藥。 在分娩後的首6周內,哺乳間女士應避免服用避孕藥。 (為保障您與嬰兒的健康,應向您的醫生和泌乳顧問查詢建議。)
  • 吸煙 —— 嚴重吸煙者(尤其35歲或以上人士),應避免服用混合性荷爾蒙避孕藥。
  • 對於45歲或以上的女性,及肥胖、高血壓、糖尿病、瓣膜性心藏病、偏頭痛、黃疸病的患者——不建議使用混合性荷爾蒙避孕藥。應在醫療專業人士的監督下服用此類藥物。
  • 靜脈血栓栓塞、腦血管疾病、嚴重偏頭痛的患者——禁止服用混合性荷爾蒙避孕藥。應遵從醫生的指示下使用任何避孕藥。
  • 患有卵巢囊腫、營養吸收不良綜合症、異位妊娠史、嚴重動脈疾病(包括:嚴重高血壓)、任何婦科癌症(包括:乳癌子宮頸癌)、嚴重肝病(包括:肝炎)、未經診斷的陰道出血、等的患者——不應服用任何避孕藥!

與此同時,女士們亦應了解,各種避孕藥和避孕丸品牌的激素劑量可能不盡相同。您應該最少每年一次諮詢醫生或醫療專業人士,了解自己的身體狀況。此外,對於初次使用避孕藥者,一般建議應先接受醫學諮詢和身體檢查,以評估其是否適合服用避孕藥,方可開始服食避孕藥。

香港那裡可以購買避孕藥?

在香港,許多口服避孕藥皆為非處方藥物,無需醫生處方購買。您可以從本地藥房或診所購買或取得避孕藥。您也可以從網上商店購買部分口服避孕藥:

  • Bayer-Yasmin(優思明)
    藥丸數量:21
    服法:在月經的頭5天內服用第1片藥丸。期後每天1粒。完成21天療程後,休息7天再開始下一療程。
    產地:德國
    網上商店:屈臣氏 / 萬寧 / 香港電視
  • Bayer-YAZ(優悅)
    藥丸數量:28
    服法:在月經的第1至第5天內服用第1片藥丸。然後每天1粒,持續27天。療程之間無需休息。(每天應於同一時間服用藥物。)
    產地:德國
    網上商店:屈臣氏 / 萬寧 / 香港電視 / MAMA730
  • Marvelon(安意避)
    藥丸數量:21
    服法:在月經的第1天服第1片藥丸。然後每天服用1粒,持續21天。在開始下一包藥丸前,先休息7天。
    產地:荷蘭
    網上商店:屈臣氏
  • Mercilon 超低劑量口服避孕藥(美意避)
    藥丸數量:21
    服法:在月經的第1天服用第1片藥丸。然後每天服用1粒,持續21天。在下一個療程之前,先休息7天。
    產地:荷蘭
    網上商店:屈臣氏 / 萬寧 / 香港電視
  • Bayer-Microgynon 30
    藥丸數量:21
    服法:在月經的第5天服用第1粒。然後每天服用1粒,持續21天。休息7天后再服用下一包。
    產地:德國
    網上商店:屈臣氏 / 萬寧
  • Wyeth – Nordette(娜迪)
    藥丸數量:21
    服法:在月經的第1天服用第1粒。然後每天服用1粒,持續21天。休息7天後開始下一包。
    網上商店:屈臣氏
  • Harmonet(輕樂偶)
    藥丸數量:21
    服法:在月經的第1天服用第1粒,之後每天服用1粒,持續21天。在下一個療程之前,先休息7天。 (請每天在同一時間服用藥丸。)
    網上商店:屈臣氏 / 萬寧

緊急避孕藥

此外,還有另一類緊急用避孕藥,名為緊急避孕藥(即事後避孕藥、或事後丸),為處方藥物,需醫生處方才可購買。緊急避孕藥是一種用來應對「無保護性性行為或其他避孕方法失敗後」,而採取的緊急避孕方法。緊急避孕藥通過延遲或停止排卵來防止懷孕。香港市面上有有兩類事後丸,分別是選擇性黃體素接受器調節劑(ulipristal acetate emergency contraceptive pills)和單純黃體素緊急避孕藥(progestogen emergency contraceptive pills),兩者分別應用於性交後120和72小時內服用。 除1-3%的失敗率外,事後丸還有常見的副作用,包括:頭痛、頭暈、疲勞、噁心、乳房脹痛、腹痛、陰道不規則出血等。 緊急避孕藥僅為備用和緊急的避孕措施,不建議經常使用。必須於醫療監察和醫生處方下,方可使用緊急避孕藥。

【事後避孕藥】效用、副作用、價錢、購買途徑等

在香港,緊急避孕藥是處方藥物,需醫生處方才可購買。您可以從以下地點獲得緊急避孕藥:

詳情請參閱我們的「事後避孕藥指南」

注意:避孕藥無法預防性傳播疾病(STD)。因此,您仍然需要採取額外的性病預防措施(如避孕套),以預防性傳播疾病。如對香港的避孕藥還有任何疑問,請諮詢醫生或藥劑師的專業意見。

Advertisements

FAQs

避孕藥如何運作?

口服避孕藥通過引入雌性性激素來干擾排卵、受精或著床過程來防止懷孕。欠缺上述任何過程,便不可能懷孕。

避孕藥有什麼副作用?

避孕藥的常見副作用包括:頭痛、頭暈、噁心、嘔吐、水腫、乳房脹痛和月經紊亂等。但大多數副作用皆可在2-3週內消失。

香港哪裡可購買避孕藥?

你可從各大藥房、診所、超市或網上商店購買非處方類避孕藥。有關詳細,請查看文章中的列表。

避孕藥可導致不育嗎?

避孕藥不會引致不育。,一般而言,避孕藥只能在服藥期間影響性激素水平,停藥後性激素水平便恢復正常並可懷孕。但由於卵巢中的卵子數量自出生以來便固定有限,卵子的數量和質量會隨著年齡增長而下降,因此愈遲停藥,受孕機會越低。

避孕藥會暫停月經嗎?

避孕藥不會停止月經。大部分避孕藥的藥效維持為21天,期後7天為無藥效藥丸或停藥期,月經一般發生於這7天停藥期內。因此,正確服用避孕藥並不會暫定月經。

 

陳世樂醫生Dr. Patrick Sai Lock Chan畢業於墨爾本大學醫學院。 在皇家墨爾本醫院完成駐院工作後,陳世樂醫生回到香港醫院管理局工作。 他在香港公共醫療體系服務超過10年。在此期間,他完成了微創婦科手術專業的高級培訓。 他更在澳洲Monash IVF Center進一步取得生殖醫學專業。目前,陳世樂醫生正在私人執業,並提供產科和生育治療。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Your Ultimate Guide to Birth Control Pills in Hong Kong

Last updated on September 8, 2021.

What are birth control pills | How do birth control pills work | Guidance | When to take | Side effects | Which is the best | How to get birth control pills | Emergency contraceptive pills

Birth control pills are widely used to prevent pregnancy. Wondering if this is the right birth control method for you? Here is a complete guide to birth control pills: which ones are available in Hong Kong, how they work, when to take them, side effects and where to buy them. 

What are birth control pills?

Birth control pills, or contraceptive pills, are oral medications for pregnancy prevention. It is a reversible birth control measure with more than 99% effectiveness. In general, birth control pills contain synthetic hormones that alter women’s physiology to avoid pregnancy. In terms of hormonal composition, there are two kinds of oral birth control pills — combined oral contraceptive pills (also called combination pills, COC) and progestogen-only pills (also known as mini pill, POP).

How do birth control pills work?

Pregnancy is a complex process that starts when a fertilized ovum implants into the uterine lining successfully. It occurs only when ovulation, fertilization and implantation happen. Oral birth control pills work by introducing female sex hormones to inhibit one or more of these events. 

A combined oral contraceptive pill consists of two types of female sex hormones, progestogen and estrogen, a combination of which inhibits ovulation. As there are no ova in the fallopian tube, fertilization, hence pregnancy, cannot take place.

On the other hand, progestogen-only pills contain progestogen as the only hormone. Upon stimulation by a high level of progestogen, cervical mucus is thickened and uterine lining development is suppressed. Thick cervical mucus obstructs sperm transportation, thus keeps sperms away from ova. Simultaneously, a thin uterine lining makes implantation of embryos almost impossible. As a result of both inhibition of fertilization and implantation, birth control is achieved. 

Guidance on taking birth control pills

Birth control pills are usually available in 21 days or 28 days formulations. The first pill should be taken within the first 5 days of menstruation, followed by 1 tablet daily until the whole pack is finished. For a 21 days pack, you should take a 7-day break before starting the next course. No break is required for the 28 days formula since its last 7 pills are often free of active hormonal ingredients.

Desogestrel mini pill is the only available ‘progestogen-only pill’ in Hong Kong, which is a 28-day pack. Although you can start taking the minipill any time, be reminded that you need to take it within the same 3-hour window every day. If you missed the fixed window over 12 hours, additional contraceptives should be applied for the following 7 days.

When should I take birth control pills?

In addition to pregnancy prevention, birth control pills can also be used to treat several medical conditions and symptoms, such as:

  • Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
  • Primary ovarian insufficiency (POI)
  • Endometriosis
  • Amenorrhea – lack of periods
  • Dysmenorrhea – painful periods
  • Premenstrual syndrome (a combination of symptoms like breast pain, weight gain, acne, mood changes)
  • Anemia & iron deficiency
  • Acne

Birth control pills cope with either the conditions themselves or their symptoms, including irregular periods, pelvic pain and cramps, bone thinning, etc. It is best to consult with a doctor when you are looking for birth control pills for contraception or any of these conditions.

What are the side effects of birth control pills?

When it comes to birth control pills, there are many myths out there causing hesitation in pill taking. It is crucial to be aware of the actual side effects of birth control pills before taking any of them. The following are the potential risks of birth control pills that may concern you:

Both combination pills and mini pills may bring about common side effects, including:
Headache
Dizziness
Nausea & vomiting
– Weight gain
– Fluid retention & oedema
– Breast tenderness
– Mood changes (such as depression)
Menstrual disturbances (such as breakthrough bleeding)
– Sexual desire changes
Most of these signs and symptoms are transient and will go away within a few weeks. Neither of these pills causes infertility.

Apart from the above common side effects, combined oral contraceptive pills also increase the risks of cardiovascular diseases like hypertension and thromboembolism. Progestogen-only pills on the other hand may lead to persistent menstrual irregularity or even amenorrhoea. As for minipills, they can induce a higher risk of ovarian cysts development.

Despite all these side effects, oral birth control pills are still regarded as a reversible and reliable contraceptive method. Simply consult your doctor or pharmacist in the event of any associated medical condition.

Which birth control pill is the best?

Theoretically, as long as you take birth control pills correctly and consistently, they are all effective in contraception (over 99% effectiveness). The choice of birth control pills depends on factors including individual physiological condition, medical history, personal preference, treatment purpose, etc. To identify the most suitable pill for you, please visit a doctor.

Here are some essential considerations when picking a birth control pill:

  • Pregnant women & Nursing mothers at the first 6 weeks of postpartum —— are contraindicated for any birth control pills.
  • Breastfeeding —— According to the UKMEC guidance, combined oral contraceptive pills can be taken by breastfeeding women safely after 6 weeks following childbirth. That being said, breastfeeding mothers should avoid the pills before such a period. (For your safety and babies’ health, it is best to discuss with your doctors and lactation consultants.)
  • Smoking —— Heavy smokers, especially those aged 35 or above, should avoid taking combination pills.
  • For Women aged 45 or above and patients with obesity, hypertension, diabetes, valvular heart diseases, hemicrania, jaundice —— combination pills are not recommended. Only take such pills under the supervision of healthcare professionals.
  • Patients with venous thromboembolism, cerebrovascular diseases, severe migraine —— must not take combination pills. Mini Pills might be used instead upon doctor’s advice.
  • Patients with ovarian cysts, malabsorption syndrome, history of ectopic pregnancy, severe arterial disease (such as severe hypertension), gynecologic cancer (like breast cancer and cervical cancer), severe hepatopathy, or undiagnosed vaginal bleeding —— should not take any birth control pills!

It is also important to note that birth control pills come in different hormonal dosages. You should visit a doctor or healthcare professional yearly to keep track of your physical condition. Moreover, it is often recommended that first-time users should undergo a healthcare professional consultation and physical examination to assess their suitability for birth control pills. 

How do I get birth control pills in Hong Kong?

In Hong Kong, many birth control pills are available over the counter at local pharmacies and clinics without prescription needed. Some of them are also available in online shops:

  • Bayer – Yasmin (優思明)
    No. of pieces: 21
    Usage: Take the first tablet on the 1st–5th day of menstruation, followed by 1 pill daily afterwards. Take a 7-days break before the next course.
    Origin: Germany
    Online Shops: Watsons / Mannings / HKTV mall
  • Bayer – YAZ (優悅)
    No. of pieces: 28
    Usage: Take the first tablet on the 1st–5th day of menstruation, followed by 1 pill daily for 27 days. No break is needed between courses. (Take the pill around the same time every day.)
    Origin: Germany
    Online Shops: Watsons / Mannings / HKTV mall / MAMA730  
  • Marvelon (安意避)
    No. of pieces: 21
    Usage: Take the first tablet on the 1st day of menstruation, followed by 1 pill daily for 21 days. Take a 7-days break before the next pack.
    Origin: Netherlands
    Online Shops: Watsons
  • Mercilon – Ultra Low Dose Oral Contraceptive (美意避)
    No. of pieces: 21
    Usage: Take the first tablet on the 1st day of menstruation, followed by 1 pill daily for 21 days. Take a 7-days break before the next course.
    Origin: Netherlands
    Online Shops: Watsons / Mannings / HKTV mall
  • Bayer Schering Pharma – Microgynon 30
    No. of pieces: 21
    Usage: Take the first tablet on the 5th day of menstruation, followed by 1 pill daily for 21 days. Take a 7-days break before taking the next pack.
    Origin: Germany
    Online Shops: Watsons / Mannings
  • Wyeth – Nordette (娜迪)
    No. of pieces: 21
    Usage: Take the first tablet on the 1st day of menstruation, followed by 1 pill daily for 21 days. Take a 7-days break before the next course.
    Online Shops: Watsons  
  • Harmonet (輕樂偶)
    No. of pieces: 21
    Usage: Take the first tablet on the 1st day of menstruation, following with 1 pill daily for 21 days. Take a 7-days break before the next course. (Take the pill at the same time daily!)
    Online Shops: Watsons / Mannings

Emergency Contraceptive Pills

Another type of contraceptive pill, namely emergency contraceptive pills or morning-after pills, is prescribed by doctors for emergency contraception from unprotected sex and failure of other birth control methods. Emergency contraceptive pills prevent pregnancy by delaying or stopping ovulation. There are two kinds of morning-after pills available in Hong Kong, called Ulipristal acetate and Progestogen emergency contraceptive pills. They are meant to be taken within 120 hours and 72 hours (respectively) after sexual intercourse. Along with a 1–3% failure rate, morning-after pills are associated with common side effects, including headache, dizziness, fatigue, nausea, breast pain, abdominal pain, irregular vaginal bleeding. Emergency pill is regarded as a backup birth control measure only and is not recommended for regular use. Medical supervision and prescription are mandatory.

Your Practical, Doctor-Reviewed Guide to Morning After Pills in Hong Kong

Emergency contraceptive pills are prescription-only medications in Hong Kong. They can only be found at the following places:

Refer to our in-depth guide for more information on morning-after pills in Hong Kong.

Remember that birth control pills cannot protect you against sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), so extra precautions like condoms are still necessary for STDs prevention. If you have more questions regarding birth control pills in Hong Kong, please talk to a doctor or pharmacist.

This article was reviewed by Dr. Patrick Sai Lock Chan 陳世樂醫生. Dr. Patrick Sai Lock Chan 陳世樂醫生 graduated from the University of Melbourne medical school. After completing residency at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, he returned to Hong Kong to work for Hospital Authority. He worked for more than 10 years in public sector and during this period completed higher training in minimal invasive gynecological surgery. He has further sub-specialized in reproductive medicine at the Monash IVF Centre, Australia. Currently, Dr. Patrick Chan is in private practice providing obstetrics care and fertility treatment.

How do birth control pills work?

Oral birth control pills prevent pregnancy by introducing female sex hormones to interfere with the processes of ovulation, fertilization or implantation. Without either of the above events, pregnancy cannot take place.

What are the disadvantages of the birth control pill?

Some women may develop side effects after taking birth control pills, these include headache, dizziness, nausea, weight gain, mood swings, in addition to sore breast and menstrual disturbances. However, most of them go away within 2-3 weeks.

 

Where can I buy birth control pills in Hong Kong ?

Many brands of birth control pills are available over-the-counter in many local pharmacies, clinics, supermarkets or even online stores. Check our list in the article for more details.

Can birth control pills make you infertile?

Birth control pills do not cause infertility, you are still fertile and can get pregnant when you stop taking the pills. However, as the number of eggs in ovaries is finite and fixed since birth, the number and quality of eggs decline with age. So the later you stop taking the pills, the fewer chances of conceiving you got.

Does the pill stop periods?

Birth control pills do not necessarily stop periods. Most pills are designed to regulate female hormonal levels for 21 days, following by 7 days placebo pills or break that is when menstruation occurs. Therefore, whichever pills you took, periods will not be stopped.


This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.