在香港懷孕分娩的完整指南,經婦產科專家核對

懷孕的時候有很多事情要考慮。在香港,我們有各種懷孕和分娩護理服務的選擇 – 我們可以選擇公營醫療服務、私家醫療服務或混合兩種醫療服務。您想從邊方面入手?

憑著在公營和私營醫療系統工作過的香港婦產科醫生Dr. Edmund Hon 韓慶璋醫生的專業知識,Healthy Matters為您提供有關香港私家和公營懷孕護理的最全面指南。這是由婦產科醫生核對、有關在香港懷孕分娩的專業指南。

香港公營或私營醫療系統的原動力

了解每個醫療系統的原動力很重要,以便您在選擇哪種服務方面作出最好的決定。

公營 與任何地區的公營醫療保健體系一樣,香港的公營系統旨在為公眾提供無障礙、優質且成本效益高的醫療服務。香港的醫療水平很高,但是為了能夠向所有公眾提供全面的醫療服務,它在舒適度或其他方面可能不及私營系統。

私營 香港的私家醫院是商業機構。這意味著他們確實有賺錢的動機(不論是否牟利性的),而且還有強大的客戶服務模式。當您選擇私家護理時,您是在不同私家醫院之間做出選擇的消費者,所以私家醫院需要在舒適度、服務選擇、輪候時間和護理質素上進行競爭。因此在香港懷孕時選擇私營服務是更昂貴但更舒適的選擇。

在香港懷孕要洗的費用

公營 可以在您就近的母嬰健康院免費獲得產前和產後護理。許多母嬰健康院也提供產前和產後課程,而大多數都以廣東話進行。請聯繫您的母嬰健康院了解詳細資訊。

持有有效身份證的香港居民有資格獲得已補貼的產科服務。在公營病房,分娩費用為每日港幣120,外加一次性的港幣75管理費,可通過八達通卡支付。這些費用已包括所有費用,並涵蓋所有可能發生的情況。不管您是完全不用藥物分娩還是在麻醉下剖腹分娩,您都會支付相同的費用。

私營 香港的私家懷孕、分娩和產後護理服務的收費差異很大。私家診所(甚至同一診所內的各個婦產科醫生)設有不同收費 – 大多數診所會在您進行諮詢時向您提供價目表。像診所一樣,不同私家醫院的收費差異也很大。影響在私家醫院分娩的費用的因素包括:自然分娩與剖腹分娩、產科醫生的人工費、麻醉師的收費、兒科醫生的費用、任何藥物、私人或多人病房以及醫院膳食。

對於大多數家庭而言,考慮在香港懷孕生育時,保險是重要決策點。幾乎所有的懷孕保險計劃都有一個等候期,在此期間您無法報銷任何有關懷孕服務的支出。話雖如此,如果您的僱主提供全面的員工醫療福利,等候期則可能已被免除。無論您是個人購買保險抑或透過僱主,您都應閱讀有關等待期的條款和細則。在香港,懷孕保險的等候期為9-18個月,平均為12個月。

Everything about Maternity Insurance in Hong Kong

為了讓您大致了解費用範圍,以下表格列出了在香港不同的私家醫院進行自然分娩和剖腹分娩的費用。價格差異考慮到在什麼日子/時間接受服務、住院日數、緊急/預約剖腹分娩和選擇多人/私人病房作計算。請點擊每個醫院的連結以了解收費細節。

私家醫院名稱 自然分娩收費 剖腹分娩收費
嘉諾撒醫院 $18,810 – $88,220 $21,610 – $140,220
港怡醫院 $19,800 – $42,800 $25,800 – $62,300
香港港安醫院﹝司徒拔道﹞ $20,800 – $40,800 $25,800 – $71,800
香港浸信會醫院 $20,800 – $48,000 $23,000 – $55,000
養和醫院 $22,300 – $38,600 $28,800 – $55,200
明德國際醫院 $21,500 – $49,500 $29,500 – $100,500
寶血醫院﹝明愛﹞ $16,000 – $47,400 $18,000 – $52,000
聖保祿醫院 $15,000 – $47,000 $18,000 – $ 45,000
聖德肋撒醫院 $14,800 – $35,800 $16,800 – $39,800
香港港安醫院﹝荃灣﹞ $22,800 – $41,000 $29,000 – $57,600
仁安醫院 $20,000 – $35,000 $31,800 – $55,300

*最後更新於2019年6月5日。

在私營部門,醫生費與房間類型相關。換句話說,房間越貴,所有其他費用也就越貴。在計劃開支時,請小心選擇房間類型(私人,半私人或標準房間)以調整醫生的費用,並確保您的預算或醫療保險可以支付緊急剖腹分娩和其他額外費用,例如在公眾假期分娩。另外,您需要支付產科醫生的費用、麻醉師的費用(如果需要此類服務)、以及兒科醫生的費用。

此外,很多父母通常會忘記為產前和產後護理作預算,請記住這些護理並不包括在醫院或產科醫生收取的分娩費中。

有關私家產科醫生分娩套餐的完整列表,請獲取《香港媽寶大全》

婦產科醫生 – 香港全方位指南

同時選擇公營及私營懷孕護理服務

一些女性在懷孕期間會選擇結合公營和私家服務。最常見的情況是女性選擇在私營部門獲得產前服務,而在公立醫院進行分娩。

女性在懷孕期間可以選擇的一些常見私家服務包括:

  • 與產科醫生進行私人諮詢和超聲波檢查;
  • 其他檢查(例如,在第9週進行NIPT血液檢查以檢查如有染色體異常);
  • 與助產士進行私人會診以進行更多超聲波檢查或討論生育計劃;和
  • 讓私家助產士在分娩過程中陪同或接生(如果助產士是以孕婦同伴的身份、而不是以醫療團隊成員的身份陪同的話,只有部分醫院允許這樣做)。

同時選擇公營及私營部門可以讓孕婦在懷孕期間確保得到個人化的醫療服務,同時節省了在私家醫院分娩的費用。

Maternity in Hong Kong: The “Half-Half” Route

香港提供的懷孕護理服務的質素

私人和公共選擇都在香港提供了很高的醫療水平。

公營 香港醫院管理局負責營運10個產科病房和31間母嬰健康院。香港的母嬰保健是全球最頂尖之一,同時母嬰死亡率亦很低。公營產科病房也很乾淨而且很安全。

私營 香港有11個私家產科病房。香港的私家醫院不像公立醫院有嚴格的申報要求,因此不幸的是,相關統計數字很少。話雖如此,他們有非常專業的醫護人員、職員亦操流利的英語,同時經濟誘因推動私營部門提供以患者為中心的極高素質護理。

新生兒重症監護病房和初生及兒童深切治療部

現時,只有公立醫院和新的私家醫院港怡醫院提供2B級和3級重症監護病房,這些醫院訓練有素,並且具備應對初生嬰兒出現緊急情況的能力。

Hong Kong Island Welcomes Its First Private NICU

香港大多數其他私家醫院都提供1級初生嬰兒護理,還有幾間醫院同時提供2A級初生嬰兒護理,稱為初生嬰兒特別護理病房(Special Care Baby Unit)。通常,胎齡少於34週的早產和某些高危分娩只能在公立醫院進行。

選擇自由:揀選適合您的醫療服務提供者

公營 – 透過公營醫療系統,您將被分配到您所在地區的產科病房以及與該醫院相關、最就近的母嬰健康院。大部分的預約都會在母嬰健康院內進行,只有少數的診斷測試需要在醫院內進行(唐氏綜合症篩查、胎兒結構和其他必要的醫學測試)。除非出現嚴重的併發症,否則在公營部門的懷孕和分娩護理大部分都是由助產士主導的。在發生嚴重併發症的情況下,將有一個產科團隊跟進。每次應約時,您都會看到有助產士在母嬰健康院或產科病房工作。

私營 – 選擇私營系統的其中一個主要好處是其具有醫療護理的連貫性。選擇私家產科醫生的話,您在整個懷孕期間就會看同一位醫生,如果您選擇私家分娩,您還可以選擇在您分娩期間讓其他醫生在場 – 最常見的是麻醉師和兒科醫生。您的產科醫生可能對於與某些醫生和機構合作有偏好,但是您有選擇醫院、麻醉師和兒科醫生的自由。

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

懷孕期間的輪候時間和候診室

公營 在公營體系中,通常您都要在擁擠的候診室中輪候一段長時間。然後通常會見助產士或婦產科醫生的時間只有5分鐘,在此期間他們將會進行必要的測試。您並沒有太多時間問很多問題,因此在會見助產士或醫生前做好準備對您會有幫助。

私營 醫生診所多數都一樣,即使已經有預約,您可能也需要在私家醫生的候診室等一段時間。這通常是由於私家產科醫生會花更多的時間回答問題 – 因此充分利用會見醫生的時間,並確保您的問題得到答案。如果您願意,您會有很多機會與醫生討論生育計劃和分娩方案。

Your Guide to Birth Plans in Hong Kong

在香港懷孕期間:諮詢、測試和超聲波檢查

公營 通過公營系統,您會進行例行的產前檢查、必要的醫學檢查和超聲波檢查。以下是正常情況、單胎、無併發症的懷孕檢查時間表例子:

  • 11至12週 – 在您的母嬰健康院或醫院註冊–您可以預計到時候會進行血液檢查和超聲波檢查(通常需要分開兩次預約)
  • 16週 – 常規檢查和諮詢婦產科醫生或助產士的環節
  • 18週 – 早期的糖耐力測試(Oral Glucose Tolerance Test),這僅針對罹患糖尿病風險較高的女性(個人或家族病史顯示高風險、或超過35歲的女性)
  • 20週 – 胎兒器官結構超聲波掃描
  • 24週 – 常規檢查
  • 28週 – 糖耐力測試(所有孕婦都要進行)和(如有必要)注射免疫球蛋白針(Rh-negative injection)
  • 30至32週 – 常規檢查
  • 34週 – 常規檢查和(如有必要)注射免疫球蛋白針(Rh-negative injection)
  • 36週 – 常規檢查和乙型鏈球菌測試
  • 37週 – 常規檢查
  • 38週 – 常規檢查
  • 39週 – 常規檢查
  • 40週 – 常規檢查,如有必要的話需預約進行催生
  • 41週 – 如有必要會進行催生

私營 – 選擇私營系統的話,女性通常從懷孕的第6至32週之間每4星期就會見醫生一次;從第32到36週則每2星期一次,以及從第36週到分娩前每星期一次。在香港懷孕並不複雜,因為基本上所有孕婦做檢查和測試的時間表一樣。每次與醫生會面時您都可能可以進行超聲波檢查。請注意,不同醫生為您進行產前檢查的次數和收費可能會有所不同,如果您是高風險孕婦,產前檢查的費用則會增加。

有關提供產前保健諮詢和檢查的私營部門完整名單,請獲取《香港媽寶大全》

在香港懷孕分娩 – 私人空間

公營 產科病房常常接待很多準媽媽。您和其他媽媽之間可能有塊窗簾隔著,但並非總是如此。分娩室是私人的,但是當您完成分娩,您將進入一個公共病房。可能會有啲嘈!

私營 私家醫院提供多人和私家房間的選項,並且隱私度比公營產房高很多。

選擇自由:分娩期間的服務和舒適度

公營 公營系統具有很高的醫療服務質素,但很大程度上基於效率高的“最佳實踐”概念,因此很少偏離任何醫療上必要的內容。您可以肯定在公營部門中得到優質的護理服務,但不太可能擁有“個人化”的生育服務。他們會在您分娩期間提供經皮神經電刺激器(俗稱止痛機/TENS)、氧化亞氮(nitrous oxide)、哌替丁(pethidine),但如果您要求硬膜外麻醉(epidural),他們可能不能為您提供。公立醫院不保證有硬膜外麻醉,而且硬膜外藥物可能有配額,因此麻醉師可能無法使用。

雖然可能不提供硬膜外麻醉,但一些公立醫院會允許您帶瑜伽球/分娩球之類的物品。如果這對您很重要,請在您進行的一次產前檢查中提出,以了解什麼物品是允許的。

儘管分娩室允許,但公共病房並不允許伴侶進入產科病房。分娩室內的人數亦有限制;如果您正在考慮在分娩期間讓私家助產士為您提供協助,這是一個重要的考慮因素。每間公立醫院都具略有不同的政策,因此最好事先了解清楚,才能夠留個位讓您

私營 私營系統跟隨顧客服務的營運模式,意思是您更有可能獲得個人化的生育服務,並與醫生一起決定是否以及何時需要進行某些干預措施。選擇私家服務,您可以將所有選擇留給醫生決定,也可以自己決定詳細的分娩計劃。如果您需要硬膜外麻醉,可以在合理的時間內提前通知麻醉師。與公立醫院相似,您應該向不同的醫院進行查詢,了解他們允許使用什麼設備、在醫院內已經有什麼配備以及您應該在分娩時攜帶什麼。每個醫院的規定各不相同,但通常比公立醫院更具靈活性。

在撰寫本文時,香港沒有任何醫院(不論私家或公立)允許水中分娩。一些私家醫院會提供浴缸以減輕早期分娩的痛苦。

The Complete Guide to Epidurals in Hong Kong

剖腹分娩

香港的剖腹分娩率為41%,遠高於世界衛生組織建議的10-15%。有傳言指,如果您選擇私營醫院系統,即使沒有醫療需要,您也會被要求進行剖腹分娩;而如果您選擇公營部門,您就只能在極其嚴重的情況下才能進行緊急的剖腹分娩。實際上,這取決於您選擇的產科醫生。所有私家產科醫生都可以讓您預約進行剖腹分娩,但是他們對自然分娩還是剖腹分娩的偏好有所不同。尋找私家服務時,選擇符合您的心水的產科醫生是關鍵。在公營系統中,如果因醫療理由需要剖腹分娩(緊急情況和已排期的剖腹分娩),公立醫院會提供選擇性剖腹分娩,但不會因非醫療理由而提供剖腹分娩。

產後護理 – 住院

公立醫院和私家醫院的產後護理服務的差別可以很大。在公立醫院中進行簡單陰道分娩的女性可以預期要住院1日以作產後恢復。對於簡單的剖腹分娩,住院恢復時間需時少於3日。在私家醫院,通常進行簡單的陰道分娩後要住院3日,而剖腹分娩則要5日。在公立醫院,如果您有任何問題或憂慮,務必要積極主動 – 護士和助產士知識淵博並且樂於助人,但十分忙碌。

公營 – 不同醫院的產科病房都處於愛嬰醫院行動 (Baby-Friendly Health Facilities Designation) 的不同階段。這意味著,醫院會盡可能讓初生嬰兒多接觸母親的胸部,因為有助於在嬰兒出生後開始進行母乳喂哺,醫院亦會就母乳喂哺提供協助。除非有醫療需要而要將嬰兒放入育嬰室,否則嬰兒將會與母親同房。再重申,如果您在住院期間有任何問題或疑慮,請務必向醫院提問。

私營 如前所述,私營系統是跟隨顧客服務的營運模式,因此香港沒有私家醫院致力於獲得愛嬰醫院行動的認證,但是有些私家醫院設有齊全、可以幫助母親進行母乳喂哺的設備。同樣,私家產科病房的媽媽如果需要休息並從分娩中恢復過來,可以選擇讓初生嬰兒在自己的房間或育嬰室裡睡覺。

有關公立和私家醫院母乳喂哺的更多資訊,請查閱下面有關我們Healthy Matters向母乳喂哺專家和研究員Dr. Marie Tarrant進行的專訪

Top Tips to Successful Breastfeeding in Hong Kong | Interview with An Expert

產後護理 – 出院後

公營 – 母嬰健康院提供產後護理。您和您的寶寶將會被安排進行幾次定期檢查,如果您對產後康復、嬰兒或母乳喂哺有任何疑問,可以隨時使用他們的服務。

私營 – 香港的私家產後服務種類繁多,很多服務可在家中或診所提供。私家服務的費用差異很大。私家產後服務的一些例子有:

  • 母嬰診所
  • 產後按摩
  • 陪月或保姆
  • 夜間護士
  • 母乳喂哺顧問

有關在香港的懷孕服務選擇之更多詳細資訊,請獲取《香港媽寶大全》

如果您正考慮購買懷孕或家庭醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

本文由婦產科醫生Dr. Edmund Hon韓慶璋醫生於2018年4月進行核對,並於2019年6月5日更新。
Dr. Edmund Hon 韓慶璋醫生是一名婦產科醫生,曾在倫敦大學蓋伊醫學院接受醫學培訓。他專長於婦產科,並在腹腔鏡手術中擁有高技術的水平。他於2008年開始私人執業,現為香港大學名譽助理教授。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Public or Private? The Ultimate and Only Doctor-Reviewed Guide to Pregnancy in Hong Kong

There’s a lot to think about when you get pregnant. In Hong Kong, we have a paradox of choice – we can choose from public, private and a mix of both health services when accessing pregnancy and birth care. Where do you start? With the expertise of Dr. Edmund Hon 韓慶璋醫生, an obstetrician who has worked in both the public and private systems, Healthy Matters brings you the most comprehensive guide to private and public pregnancy care in Hong Kong. This is the only doctor-reviewed guide available in Hong Kong.
 
 

System incentives

It’s important to understand the driving forces of each system to better decide which option you prefer.
 
PUBLIC – Like any country’s public healthcare, Hong Kong’s public system aims to offer accessible, quality and cost-efficient care to the population. The medical standard is very high but in order to offer comprehensive care to the entire population, it’s not full of creature-comforts.
 
PRIVATE – Private hospitals in Hong Kong operate as businesses. This means they do have an incentive to make money (whether as for- or not-for-profit), but also a strong customer-service model. When you access private care, you are a consumer making a choice over one facility or another so private hospitals compete on comfort, choice, wait times and quality of care.
 
 

Costs

PUBLIC – Prenatal and postnatal care is available free-of-charge at your local Maternal and Child Health Centre. Many MCHCs also offer pre- and postnatal classes, however the majority of them are conducted in Cantonese. Please contact your MCHC for details.
 
HK residents with a valid HKID are eligible to access subsidized obstetric services. In a public ward, childbirth costs $120 per day plus a $75 one-time administration charge, payable by Octopus card. These costs are all-inclusive and cover all eventualities – regardless of whether you have a completely medication-free birth or a c-section under anesthesia, you will pay the same price.
 
PRIVATE – The cost of private care varies substantially during pregnancy, birth and post-natal care. Private clinics (and even obstetricians within each clinic) set the price – most clinics can provide you a price list when you inquire about being an obstetric patient. Like clinics, the range of charges at a private hospital is substantial. Factors affecting the cost of giving birth in a private hospital include: vaginal vs. caesarean birth, the obstetrician’s labour fees, the anesthetist’s fees, the pediatrician’s fees, any medications, private vs. shared room, and food.
 
Insurance is the big decision point for most families when considering private care. Almost all maternity insurance schemes have a waiting period during which you cannot claim any maternity services. That being said, if your employer provides comprehensive employee medical benefits, the waiting period may have been waived. Whether your insurance is personal or through your employer, you should check the maternity waiting period terms and conditions. The pregnancy insurance waiting periods ranges from 9-18 months, with the market average at 12 months.
 
To provide a sense of the range of costs, below is a table of the range of hospital fees only for a vaginal birth and caesarean birth at Hong Kong’s private hospitals. The variation is accounted for by time/day of the week, number of nights in the hospital, emergency/planned c-section and a shared vs private room. Click on the link for each hospital for an in-depth breakdown of fees.
Private HospitalsVaginal Birth FeesC-section Birth Fees
Canossa Hospital $18,810 – $88,220$21,610 – $140,220
Gleneagles HK Hospital$19,800 – $42,800$25,800 – $62,300
Hong Kong Adventist Hospital $20,800 – $40,800$25,800 – $71,800
Hong Kong Baptist Hospital $20,800 – $48,000$23,000 – $55,000
Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital$22,300 – $38,600$28,800 – $55,200
Matilda International Hospital$21,500 – $49,500$29,500 – $100,500
Precious Blood Hospital$16,000 – $47,400$18,000 – $52,000
St Paul’s Hospital$15,000 – $47,000$18,000 – $ 45,000
St Teresa’s Hospital $14,800 – $35,800$16,800 – $39,800
Tsuen Wan Adventist Hospital$22,800 – $41,000$29,000 – $57,600
Union Hospital$20,000 – $35,000$31,800 – $55,300
* Last updated on 29 June 2018. Subject to change. 
 
In the private sector, doctors’ fees are correlated to the room type. In other words, the more expensive the room, the more expensive all the other fees. When planning your budget, adjust the doctors’ fees according to the room chosen – private, semi-private or standard – and ensure your budget or health insurance can accommodate an emergency C-section and other additional costs, like a birth on a public holiday. You will be paying for your obstetrician’s fees plus your anesthetist’s fees (if your require such services), and the pediatrician’s fees. Moreover, parents often forget to budget for prenatal and postnatal care, which is not included in the hospital or obstetrician’s delivery fees.
 
For a complete list of private obstetrician delivery packages, get the Hong Kong Maternity & Baby Book.
 
 

Shared care or the half-half route

Some women choose to combine public and private services during their pregnancy. This is known as either ‘shared care’ and the ‘half-half route’. Most commonly, women will access some private pre-natal services and give birth in a public hospital.
 
Some common private services women may access during pregnancy are:
  • Private consultations and ultrasounds with an obstetrician;
  • Additional testing (i.e. the NIPT blood test for chromosomal abnormalities at 9 weeks);
  • Private consultations with a midwife for additional ultrasounds or to discuss birth plans; and
  • A private and external midwife attending the birth (only some hospitals allow this if the midwife is attending as a companion of the patient and not as a member of the medical team).
The ‘half-half’ option gives patients the security of personalized medical care during pregnancy but the cost savings of giving birth in a public hospital.
 
 

Quality of medical care

Both the private and public options offer a very high standard-of-care in Hong Kong.
 
PUBLIC – Hong Kong’s Hospital Authority (HA) operates 10 obstetric wards and 31 Maternal and Child Health Centers across the SAR. Maternal and infant health care in Hong Kong is amongst the best in the world, with excellent maternal and infant mortality rates. Public obstetric wards are clean and very safe.
 
PRIVATE – There are 11 private obstetric wards in Hong Kong. The private hospitals in Hong Kong do not have the same stringent reporting requirements so unfortunately, there are few statistics available. That being said, they attract a very high standard of medical professionals, have fluent English speakers on-staff and have a financial incentive to provide a very high standard-of-care that is patient centered.
 
 

Neonatal Intensive Care and Neonatal Intensive Care Units (NICUs)

At present, public hospitals and the new private hospital Gleneagles can offer grades 2B and 3 NICUs, are best trained and equipped to handle neonatal emergencies.
Most other private hospitals in Hong Kong offer category 1 neonatal care and several hospitals also provide the category 2A neonatal care called Special Care Baby Unit (SCBU). Generally, premature deliveries at less than 34 weeks gestational age and certain high-risk births are only handled by public hospitals.
 
 

Freedom of choice of choosing your medical providers

PUBLIC – Going through the public system, you will be assigned to the obstetric ward in your local area and the closest MCHC associated with that hospital. The majority of your appointments will be in the MCHC, with only a few diagnostic tests (Down syndrome screening, fetal morphology and any other medically-necessary tests) conducted in-hospital. Public care for pregnancy and birth is, for the most part, midwife-led unless major complications arise, in which case, an obstetric team will be available. At every visit, you will see the midwife working in the MCHC or on the ward at the time.
 
PRIVATE – One of the primary benefits of going through the private system is the ‘continuity of care’ model. Using a private obstetrician means you will see the same doctor at every appointment throughout your pregnancy and, if you choose to give birth privately, during childbirth. You also get to select any other doctors present at your birth – the most common being your anesthetist and pediatrician. Your obstetrician may prefer working with some doctors and institutions, but you have the freedom to choose the hospital, anesthetist and pediatrician.
 
 

Wait times and waiting room during pregnancy

PUBLIC – In the public system, there are often long waiting times for your appointments in a crowded wait room. You will usually have 5 minutes with a midwife or obstetrician during which they will conduct any required tests. You will not have time to ask too many questions so it’s helpful to come to your appointment well-prepared.
 
PRIVATE – Like in any doctor’s office, despite having an appointment slot, it’s likely you will have to spend some time in your private doctor’s waiting room as well. This is often due to the obstetrician spending extra time with their patients to answer all their questions – take advantage and make sure you get your questions answered too. If you opt to, you will be given multiple opportunities to discuss your birth plan and labor options with your OB.
 
 

Consultations, tests and ultrasounds

PUBLIC – Going through the public system, you will have your routine antenatal checkups, plus medically-necessary testing and ultrasounds done. The following is a sample schedule for a normal, single, uncomplicated pregnancy:
 
  • 11-12 weeks – registration with your MCHC or hospital – you can expect blood tests and an ultrasound (often in 2 separate appointments)
  • 16 weeks – routine checkup and consultation with an obstetrician and midwife
  • 18 weeks – early Oral Glucose Tolerance Test (OGTT) for women who are at higher risk for diabetes only (those with a personal or family history or over 35 years)
  • 20 weeks – anatomic anomaly ultrasound
  • 24 weeks – routine checkup
  • 28 weeks – OGTT for all and Rh-negative injection if necessary
  • 30 – 32 weeks – routine checkup
  • 34 weeks – routine checkup and Rh-negative injection if necessary
  • 36 weeks – routine checkup and Strep B test
  • 37 weeks – routine checkup
  • 38 weeks – routine checkup
  • 39 weeks – routine checkup
  • 40 weeks – routine checkup and booking of induction in case of need
  • 41 weeks –  induction of labor if necessary
 
PRIVATE – In the private system, women usually have appointments every 4 weeks from 6 – 32 weeks; every 2 weeks from 32-36 weeks and every week from 36 weeks until the birth.  If it is an uncomplicated pregnancy, women will have the same schedule of tests and examinations. You may be offered an ultrasound at every appointment. Take note that the number and cost of prenatal consultations vary between doctors and increase if you have a high-risk pregnancy.
 
For a complete list of private sector prenatal care consultations and visits, get the Hong Kong Maternity & Baby Book.
 
 

Patient privacy

PUBLIC – Maternity wards host many women at one time in early labour. You may have a curtain separating you from your neighbor, but not always. The birthing suite is private but you will be in a shared ward once you have finished giving birth. It can get noisy!
 
PRIVATE – Private hospitals offer both shared and private room options and the level of privacy is much higher.
 
 

Freedom of choice – service and comfort during labor and birth

PUBLIC – The public system has a very high quality of medical services but is very much based on protocols of efficient and effective ‘best-practice’ and rarely deviates from anything medically-necessary. You can be sure to receive exemplary care but it’s unlikely you’ll be able to have a ‘personalized’ birth experience. You will be offered TENS machine, nitrous oxide, pethidine but if you request an epidural, you may not get it. Epidurals are not guaranteed in public hospitals. There may be a quota on epidurals and the anesthetist may not be available.
 
While they don’t provide them, some public hospitals will allow you to bring in items such as yoga/birthing balls. If this is important to you, bring it up in one of your prenatal visits to see what is and isn’t allowed.
 
Public wards do not allow partners in the maternity room though they are allowed in the birthing suite. They also restrict the number of people allowed in the birth suite; this is an important consideration if you’re considering having a private midwife assist you during childbirth. Each public hospital has a slightly different policy so it is best to check in advance under which circumstances your partner can be by your side.
 
PRIVATE – The private system runs on a customer-service model, meaning you are more likely to get a ‘personalised’ birth experience, deciding with your doctor whether and when you’d like certain interventions. Going private, you can either leave all decisions up to your physician or you can create a detailed birth plan. An anesthetist will be available within a reasonable amount of time should you request an epidural. Similar to public hospitals, it’s worth checking in with different hospitals to see what equipment they allow, what they already have on-site and what you should bring. Rules at each hospital differ but they generally offer more flexibility than going through public hospitals.
 
At the time of writing, no hospitals in Hong Kong (private or public) allow underwater births. Some private hospitals will offer a bathtub for early labour pain relief.
 
 

Caesarean sections

At 41%, Hong Kong’s caesarean section rate is much higher than the WHO’s recommended 10-15% rate. There is a rumour that if you go through the private hospital system, you will be pushed to have a caesarean even if it’s not medically-necessary; and if you go through the public system, you will either not be able to have a c-section or only be offered an emergency c-section in extremely dire situations. Privately, this is really dependent on the obstetrician you choose. All private OBs can do scheduled c-sections, but they vary on their preference of vaginal vs. c-section births. Finding an obstetrician who aligns with your birth preference is key when seeking out a private OB. In the public system, if a caesarean is medically necessary (both emergency and planned), they are readily conducted. Public hospitals do offer elective C-sections for medical reasons but they do not offer planned C-section for non-medical reasons.
 
 

Postnatal care – in hospital

Post-natal care in the hospital varies substantially between public and private hospitals. Mothers who have had uncomplicated vaginal births in a public hospital can expect to be in hospital for 1 day to recover post-birth; for uncomplicated c-sections, in-hospital recovery is 3 days. In private hospitals, it’s usually 3 and 5 days for uncomplicated vaginal and c-section births, respectively. In public hospitals, it’s important to be proactive if you have a concern or issue – nurses and midwives are knowledgeable and helpful but overstretched.
 
PUBLIC – The public obstetric wards are all at different stages of aiming for Baby-Friendly Health Facilities Designation (BFHFD). This means that as much as possible, babies will be placed on mother’s chest for skin-to-skin if possible after birth, help initiate breastfeeding after birth, and provide assistance with lactation issues. Unless medically necessary that they be put in the nursery, babies will room-in with mothers. Again, if you have issues or concerns while in hospital, speak up.
 
PRIVATE – As mentioned, the private system is based on a customer-service model. There are no private hospitals in Hong Kong working towards BFHFD but some hospitals are well-equipped to assist mothers with breastfeeding if that’s what they choose. Likewise, patients in private obstetric wards can choose either to have their newborns sleep in their room or in the nursery if they need to rest and recover from labour.
 
For more information on breastfeeding in public vs. private hospitals, see the Healthy Matters interview with breastfeeding expert, Dr. Marie Tarrant.
 
 

Postnatal care – out of hospital

PUBLIC – Post-natal care in the public system is accessed at the MCHC. You will have several scheduled check-ups for mother and baby and can access their services at any time if you have a concern with your recovery, the baby, or breastfeeding.
 
PRIVATE – The private post-natal options in Hong Kong are extensive, and many services are available at home or in-clinic. There is a huge range in cost for private services. Some examples of private postnatal services are:
  • Mother and baby clinics
  • Post-natal massage
  • Pui Yet or confinement nurses
  • Night nurses
  • Lactation consultants
For more details on pregnancy options and services in Hong Kong, get the Hong Kong Maternity & Baby Book.
 
This article was reviewed in April 2018 by Obstetrician Gynecologist Dr. Edmund Hon 韓慶璋醫生.
Dr. Edmund Hon 韓慶璋醫生 is an Obstetrician Gynecologist who received his medical training at the University of London Guy’s Medical School. He specialises in obstetrics and gynecology and has obtained advanced level in laparoscopic surgery. He started his private practice in 2008 after working for 12 years in public sector at Queen Mary Hospital 瑪麗醫院. He is currently Honorary Assistant Professor at the University of Hong Kong.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.