糖尿病在香港:您應該知道的資訊

糖尿病是最常見的慢性疾病之一,全世界有數百萬人與糖尿病一起生活。在香港,這也越來越引起人們的關注。實際上,由於糖尿病的複雜性,這給公共醫療系統和私人醫療費用帶來了沉重負擔。這是關於糖尿病在香港的全方位指南,其中包含所有您需要的詳細資訊和資源。

什麼是糖尿病?

血糖或葡萄糖是人體所需的能量,也是大腦需要的燃料。胰腺分泌的胰島素是一種激素,可通過促進體內葡萄糖的使用和儲存來維持最佳葡萄糖水平。糖尿病是一種功能異常和疾病,它使葡萄糖濃度升高。

糖尿病有2類:

  •   第1類型:通常始於兒童時期,也被認為是遺傳基因而導致的。如果兒童的家庭成員中有糖尿病患者,那兒童患上的風險更大。1型糖尿病是由於胰島素生產不足而引起的,因此患者必須每天注射胰島素來控制血糖水平。
  •   第2類型:至今為止,它是成年人中最常見的糖尿病類型(全球90%),主要是由不健康的生活習慣引致的。由於人體細胞不再對胰島素有反應或反應較弱,導致血糖水平升高。

糖尿病管理不善可導致急性休克或死亡,同時通常會帶來多種健康問題,例如視網膜病或腎病。糖尿病前期和妊娠糖尿病時也會發生,但是這是兩種可逆轉的糖尿病類型,它們可能會隨著時間而消失。

糖尿病的關鍵數據

2017年,全球約有4.25億人患有糖尿病,佔成年人口的8.8%。糖尿病對男人和女人的影響均等,使早期死亡的風險增加2倍。當前的趨勢表示,糖尿病患病率將繼續上升。

香港的糖尿病統計

糖尿病是香港發病率和死亡率的主要原因。它是香港第十大最常見的死亡原因,每年造成約400至500人死亡。

最近的一項研究表示,香港的糖尿病患者最年輕的有3歲。可悲的是,香港十分之一的人患有糖尿病,其中五分之一的人年齡在40歲以下。據估計,到2030年,香港的糖尿病成年人總數將從目前的70萬增加到近100萬。

在中國,被診斷出患有糖尿病的人數目前是世界上最高的,因為這種疾病影響著大約1億人,尤其是老年人。在過去的幾十年中,糖尿病的患病率幾乎翻了一倍。今天,全世界有三分之一的成年糖尿病患者生活在中國。

糖尿病的徵兆和症狀

從患者經歷的徵兆症狀,往往可以從中診斷出糖尿病。這些可能包括:

  • 渴感增加
  • 頻尿
  • 飢餓感或食慾增加
  • 體重不正常減輕
  • 由於生酮的存在,使尿液呈甜味或水果味
  • 不明原因容易疲勞
  • 傷口癒合慢
  • 頻繁的牙齦、皮膚和陰道感染
  • 模糊的視線

糖尿病的常見並發症

糖尿病會影響幾乎整個身體,主要原因是不受控制的高血糖水平。1型和2型糖尿病常見的並發症是:

  1. 糖尿病性神經病:這是神經受損最常見的並發症。症狀是手腳麻木和疼痛。後果包括知覺喪失,肢體受損並可能要截肢、男性陽痿和足部潰瘍。
  2. 糖尿病腎病:腎臟中的小血管受損。由於腎臟負責過濾並排除尿液中的體內廢物,此功能受損可能會導致死亡。沒有預警信號,但疲勞可能會逐漸變頻繁。
  3. 糖尿病性視網膜病變:眼後層的小血管受損,導致視力模糊甚至失明。
  4. 糖尿病酮症酸中毒:通常發生在1型糖尿病人上。由於沒有足夠的胰島素就無法利用葡萄糖來提供能量,身體便會分解脂肪來提供能量,這時會累積大量的酮(血液中的酸)。症狀為噁心、嘔吐和口臭。
  5. 冠心病和中風

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

糖尿病的原因

1型和2型糖尿病都可以出現在任何年齡,但1型在兒童和年輕人中更為常見,而2型主要始於中年和老年人。

對於1型,這種自身免疫性疾病,並沒有有根據的病因。人體的免疫系統錯誤地襲擊胰腺,因此無法產生胰島素。遺傳因素和家族史也可能是起因之一。

對於2型,不健康的生活方式,例如缺乏運動,高脂肪和高糖飲食以及肥胖是主要因素 – 因此可以預防。話雖如此,如果有家族史,罹患2型糖尿病的風險會更高。

預防糖尿病

作出努力可以延遲發作並控制疾病,特別是2型糖尿病。

  • 吃低脂肪和高纖維的健康食品。綠葉蔬菜、水果和全穀物是絕佳的選擇。另外,必須避免食用高糖食品。
  • 控制體重,因為肥胖與2型糖尿病有著非常密切的正向關係。
  • 定期運動,即使每天20-30分鐘,每週5次,都是很好的預防措施。
  • 某些情況下需要用藥,例如,如果您是糖尿病前期或邊緣性糖尿病患者,藥物則可以幫助預防2型糖尿病。

糖尿病篩查

在香港,糖尿病的篩查是關鍵,因為發病率很高。篩查有助於早期發現,有時有助於阻止進展為糖尿病(從糖尿病前期)。最常見的機制是收集和測試尿液樣本中的酮,以及在空腹和飽腹時都進行血液測試。

您可以在這裡找到一些有關在香港進行的糖尿病篩查資訊。如果存在危險因素,則必須每12個月重複檢查一次,如果沒有,則應在45歲以後每3年重複一次檢查。含有風險的篩查在香港十分普遍。

FPG或空腹血糖是此類篩查程序的主要測試內容。

香港哪裡可以進行糖尿病篩查?

在香港,成年人中的糖尿病患病率約為10%。醫院管理局(公營部門的其中之一)管理著約40%患有一種或多種並發症的糖尿病患者。您可以在香港大多數私家醫院和診所篩查糖尿病。香港糖尿聯會之類的非政府組織也提供篩查糖尿病並發症的方法。

1995年,香港中文大學(CUHK)和威爾斯親王醫院(PWH)共同發起了一項研究式的質素改進計劃,以了解糖尿病的成因和後果並提高非臥床糖尿病護理的質素。這涉及糖尿病護士協調的綜合風險評估計劃,此計劃收集了有關擁有危險因素和並發症的患者的數據,以建立香港糖尿病登記處(HKDR)。

The Complete Guide to Body Checks in Hong Kong | at Every Age

如何管理糖尿病?

糖尿病本身無法治療;它需要進行管理。通常,結合一種或多種以下列出的糖尿病管理方式會獲得更好的結果。 

1型糖尿病管理:

目的是盡可能的保持血糖水平接近正常水平,以防止不必要的並發症。多次注射胰島素仍然是最有效,最常見的治療方法。

此外,下面提到的2型糖尿病的管理技巧也有助於1型糖尿病。 

2型糖尿病管理:

  1. 減肥:主動進行減重,例如運動、飲食控制等。
  2. 定期運動:即使您不肥胖,也應要定期運動以保持肌肉健康。杜興氏肌肉營養不良症是糖尿病的常見副作用。
  3. 藥物治療:最古老且仍被普遍處方的藥物是甲福明,作用是降低肝臟的葡萄糖生成量,並同時提高人體對胰島素的敏感度。

有較新類別的藥物,例如:

  • 噻唑烷二酮:像甲福明一樣,使人體組織對胰島素更敏感。
  • DPP4抑製劑:它們抑制胰高血糖素釋放,進而增加胰島素分泌,減少胃排空和降低血糖水平。
  • GLP-1受體激動劑:它們是可注射的藥物,可減緩消化並幫助降低血糖水平。它們的使用通常與減肥有關。
  • SGLT2抑製劑:這些藥物可防止腎臟將糖吸收到血液中。相反,糖會從尿液中排出。

其他較舊類的藥物包括磺脲類藥格列奈類(sulfonylureas meglitinides)

4. 胰島素療法:當嚴格的生活方式管理和口服藥物治療,也沒有改善糖尿病的時候,您可能需要注射胰島素。對於2型糖尿病,通常晚上注射一次長效藥就可以了。

5. 血糖監測:這是2型糖尿病管理中的重要一步,因為這可以幫助醫生在不同時段中觀察疾病的進展和階段,並安排藥物圖表。

妊娠糖尿病管理:

如果您在懷孕期間被診斷出患有糖尿病,則必須遵循非常嚴格的監測時間表,尤其是在懷孕的最後三個月。通常,分娩後妊娠糖尿病會自行消失,但與此同時,盡量在進餐前進行注射,及應避免進食任何類型的甜食,以保持適當的血糖水平。在孩子出生後的36至48小時,需要對孩子進行多次測試,以檢查是否有糖尿病徵兆,並且有可能嬰兒在出生後會立即休克,因此,在緊急情況下,應預先插入靜脈輸液管作為預防措施。在此處查看香港妊娠糖尿病指南。

自我監測血糖:

使用便攜式血糖儀(SMBG)進行自我監測血糖是糖尿病患者預防低血糖(血糖水平過低)管理的重要環節。如果您進行多次胰島素注射,建議您在進餐前、運動前後、就寢前測試血糖水平。查看此處以獲取有關該過程的更多詳細資訊。

與糖尿病有關的其他問題

糖尿病足部護理

您需要記住,足部檢查對於避免將來可能要截肢是關鍵,因為血糖升高會增加神經病變、感染和周圍動脈疾病的風險,從而加劇潰瘍。為了保持腳的健康,您應該:

  •   定期檢查腳部
  •   每天用溫水洗腳
  •   將保濕乳液塗在腳上,以免產生龜裂
  •   絕對不要赤腳走路
  •   保持對糖尿病的良好控制

駕駛

糖尿病患者的血糖水平低,視網膜病變和神經病變是導致駕駛危險的原因。根據香港運輸署的資料,如果您的糖尿病得到良好控制,您就有資格申請駕駛執照,但您應通知該部門您的情況。如果您有任何憂慮,請諮詢您的醫生。

旅行

有時由於處於完全不同的時區,糖尿病患者旅行有時會造成很大的混亂,因此用藥常規時間可能會搞亂。必須告知您的藥劑師或醫生,這樣他們才能為您做出最好的改變。

在香港,糖尿病的治療費用是多少?

香港公營部門的糖尿病治療費用:

香港身份證的合資格人士,首次到專科門診就診的費用為135元,其後就診費用是80元,每種藥物是15元。

沒有香港身分證的不合資格人士,每日需要支付1,190元以獲得專科門診服務。

請注意輪候時間,在公營部門可能會很長。

有關詳細資訊,請致電2300 6555與醫院管理局聯繫。

香港私家機構的糖尿病治療費用:

私家部門中糖尿病治療的費用將根據患者的病情而定。不同類型和不同階段的疾病需要不同的治療程序,因此最好諮詢醫生並討論最適合您情況的選擇。通常,諮詢費用約為1,000到3,000元(不包括藥物費)。

*所有金額均以港幣為單位,最後更新於2019年7月。如有不準確或錯漏之處,本網站概不負責,亦不承擔相關之責任。在前往診所之前,最好先提前打電話以確保獲得最新資訊。

香港的保險通常會包括治療糖尿病嗎?

根據AD MediLink,糖尿病治療通常由保險提供者根據住院和門診患者的利益進行賠償。通常,高端醫療計劃將全額退款,並沒有任何限制,而本地計劃則有限制。還要注意,高端計劃可能會限制糖尿病等慢性疾病的常規治療費用。如果您有任何醫療保險問題,請透過[email protected]與專家聯繫。

 有關糖尿病在香港的有用資源:

文章由Dr. Ernest Li 李恆輝醫生於2019年7月16日審閱。李恆輝醫生是香港華裔加拿大胃腸病學家和肝病學家。李醫生在麥基爾大學(McGill University) 物理學科畢業後,在香港中文大學學習醫學。然後,他在政府醫院接受了12年的培訓,並獲得了腸胃病、肝病和內科方面的專業資格。目前,他是在中環設有辦事處的私人執業醫生,還是醫院管理局的兼職助理顧問。

Diabetes in Hong Kong: What You Should Know

Diabetes is one of the most common chronic diseases, and millions of people are living with it worldwide. It is also a growing concern in Hong Kong. Indeed it puts a significant burden on the public healthcare system and individual health costs, due to the complications it can cause. Here is your complete guide to diabetes in Hong Kong, with all the details and resources you need.

What is Diabetes (Diabetes Mellitus)?

Blood sugar, or glucose is a substance that the human body needs for energy and the brain for fuel. Insulin, secreted by the pancreas, is a hormone that maintains optimal glucose level by facilitating the use and storage of glucose in the body. Diabetes Mellitus or Diabetes, is a group of malfunctions and diseases, which manifest as raised glucose levels. 

There are 2 types of Diabetes:

  • Type 1: it usually starts in childhood and is genetically inherited. Children are at a greater risk if their family members have it. Type 1 diabetes is due to insufficient insulin production, so patients have to inject insulin every day to ensure their body can control the blood glucose level. 
  • Type 2: it is by far the most common type of diabetes in adults (90% globally) and is largely caused by unhealthy lifestyles. Because body cells no longer respond or are less responsive to insulin, the level of blood glucose rises. 

Poorly managed diabetes can lead to shock or death in acute attacks, but normally it brings diverse health issues like retinopathy or nephropathy. Pre-diabetes and gestational diabetes also occur, but these are two reversible forms of diabetes which might or might not go away by themselves with time.

Key figures 

In 2017, about 425 million people, meaning 8.8% of the adult population, suffered from diabetes in the world. Diabetes affects men and women equally, and increases the risk of early death by 2 times. Current trends suggest that diabetes prevalence will continue to rise. 

Diabetes statistics in Hong Kong

Diabetes is a major cause of morbidity and mortality in Hong Kong. It is the 10th most common cause of death in Hong Kong, killing around 400 – 500 people each year. 

A recent study shows that diabetic patients in Hong Kong can be as young as 3 year olds. Sadly, one in ten Hong Kong people suffers from diabetes, of which one fifth is below 40 years of age. It is estimated that the total number of diabetic adults in Hong Kong will increase from 700,000 currently to nearly a million by 2030.

In China, the number of people diagnosed with diabetes is now the highest in the world as the disease affects approximately over 100 million people, especially elders. The prevalence of diabetes nearly doubled in the past few decades. Today, one in three diabetic adults in the world lives in China. 

Signs and symptoms 

Diabetes is very often diagnosed because of the signs and symptoms that a patient experiences. These can include:

  • Increased thirst
  • Frequent urination
  • Increased hunger or appetite
  • Rapid and unexplained weight loss
  • Sweet or fruity-smelling urine due to the presence of ketones
  • Fatigue
  • Slow-healing sores
  • Frequent gum, skin and vaginal infections
  • Blurred vision

Common complications 

Diabetes mellitus affects almost the entire body mainly driven by uncontrolled high blood glucose level. Common complications of Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes are:

  1. Diabetic Neuropathy: It is the most common complication in which nerves are damaged. Symptoms are numbness and pain in hands and feet. Consequences include sensory loss, damage to limbs with possibility of amputation, impotence in men and foot ulcers. 
  2. Diabetic Nephropathy: Small blood vessels in the kidneys are damaged. Because the kidneys are responsible for filtering body wastes so they can be removed in urine, this function is impaired and potentially lead to death. There are no early warning signs but tiredness and confusion can happen gradually. 
  3. Diabetic retinopathy: Small blood vessels at the back layer of the eye are damaged, leading to blurry vision and even blindness. 
  4. Diabetes Ketoacidosis: It usually happens in Type 1 diabetes. Large amounts of ketones (acids in the blood) build up as a result of fat breaking down to provide energy because glucose cannot be utilized without enough insulin. Symptoms are nausea, vomiting and sweet-smelling breath. 
  5. Coronary heart disease and stroke

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Causes of Diabetes

Both Type 1 and Type 2 can appear at any age, but Type 1 is more common among children and youngsters, while Type 2 mostly starts in middle-aged and older adults. 

For Type 1, there is no known cause to this autoimmune disease. The body’s immune system mistakenly attacks the pancreas so no insulin can be produced. Genetic factors and family history may also play a role. 

For Type 2, unhealthy lifestyle such as physical inactivity, high fat and sugar diet, and obesity are the main factors – which makes it preventable. This said, risks of developing Type 2 diabetes are higher if there is a family history. 

Prevention 

Making conscious efforts can delay the onset and control the disease, especially in Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus.

  • Eat healthy foods that have lower fat content and higher fibre content. Green leafy vegetables, fruits and whole grains are an excellent choice. Also, high sugar foods must be avoided.
  • Keep your weight under control, as obesity and Type 2 diabetes has a very close positive correlation.
  • Regular exercise, even for 20-30 minutes every day, 5 times a week, is a great preventive measure.
  • Medication is some cases, like if you are pre-diabetic or borderline diabetic, it can help to keep Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus at bay.

Screening of Diabetes

Screening of diabetes is essential in Hong Kong, because the rate of incidence is very high. Screening helps for early detection, and sometimes helps stop the progression to diabetes mellitus (from pre-diabetes). The most common mechanisms are collecting and testing a urine sample for ketones, and blood tests that are done both on an empty and full stomach. 

You can find here some guidelines about screening in Hong Kong for Diabetes Mellitus. If risk factors are present, screening must be repeated every 12 months, and if not, every three years after 45 years of age. Risk-based screening is prevalent in Hong Kong.

FPG or fasting plasma glucose is the main test involved in such screening programmes.

Where to get Diabetes screening in Hong Kong?

In Hong Kong, the prevalence of diabetes among adults is about 10%. Hospital Authority manages about 40% of the patients with diabetes (in one of its public sector facilities), who have one or more complications. You can get screened for diabetes mellitus in most of the private hospitals and clinics in Hong Kong. Non-governmental organizations such as Diabetes Hong Kong also provides screening for diabetes complications.

In 1995, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) and Prince of Wales Hospital (PWH) jointly pioneered a research-driven quality improvement programme to understand the causes and consequences of diabetes and improve the quality of ambulatory diabetes care. This involved a diabetes nurse-coordinated comprehensive risk assessment programme, in which patient data on risk factors and complications were collected prospectively to establish the Hong Kong Diabetes Registry (HKDR).

The Complete Guide to Body Checks in Hong Kong | at Every Age

How to manage it?

Diabetes cannot be treated per se; it needs to be managed. Often, one or more of the following options for the management of diabetes are clubbed together for better results.

Type 1 Diabetes Management:

The goal is to keep the blood sugar levels as close to normal as possible to prevent unwanted complications. Multiple insulin injections remain the most effective and most common line of treatment.

Furthermore, the management tricks mentioned below for Type 2 Diabetes are also helpful in Type 1 diabetes.

Type 2 Diabetes Management:

  1. Weight loss: Active weight loss mechanisms like exercise, diet control, etc.
  2. Regular Exercise: Even if you are not obese, diabetes requires regular exercise to keep the muscles fit and strong. Muscular dystrophy is a common side effect of diabetes.
  3. Medication: The oldest one and still commonly prescribed is metformin, that works by lowering glucose production by the liver, and by improving the body’s sensitivity to insulin at the same time.

There are newer classes of drugs such as:  

  • Thiazolidinediones:  like metformin, make the body’s tissues more sensitive to insulin. 
  • DPP4-inhibitors: they inhibit glucagon release, which in turn increases insulin secretion, decreases gastric emptying, and decreases blood glucose levels. 
  • GLP-1 receptor agonists: they are injectable medications that slow digestion and help lower blood sugar levels. Their use is often associated with weight loss. 
  • SGLT2 inhibitors: these drugs prevent the kidneys from reabsorbing sugar into the blood. Instead, the sugar is excreted in the urine. 

Other older classes of drugs include sulfonylureas meglitinides. 

  1. Insulin Therapy: You may need insulin injection if your diabetes does not improve even with strict lifestyle management and oral medications. For Type 2 diabetes, mostly one single long-acting shot is given in the night.
  2. Blood Sugar monitoring: This is an important step in Type 2 diabetes management, as this can help the doctor figure out the progression and stage of your disease from time to time, and also ease out drug charting.

Gestational Diabetes Management:

In case you are diagnosed with diabetes during pregnancy, you will have to follow a very strict monitoring schedule, especially in the last three months of the pregnancy. Usually gestational diabetes goes away by itself after the delivery, however in the meantime, injections are given usually prior to meals, and sweets in any form are to be avoided so as to maintain the right blood sugar levels. The child is also tested multiple times, for 36 to 48 hours after birth, to check for signs of diabetes and there is a risk of the infant going in shock immediately after the birth, so an Intravenous line is pre-inserted as a precaution in case of an emergency. Check the guidelines for gestational diabetes in Hong Kong here.

Self – Monitoring Blood Glucose:

Self – monitoring blood glucose (SMBG) with a portable glucose meter is an important part of management for diabetic patients to prevent hypoglycemia (blood glucose level is too low). If you are on multiple insulin injections, you are advised to test your blood sugar level before meals, before and after exercise and at bedtime. Click here for more details on the procedures.  

Other important issues 

Diabetic foot care 

You should bear in mind that foot examination is critical in avoiding possible amputation in the future as an elevated sugar blood level increases risk of neuropathy, infection and peripheral arterial diseases that worsens ulcers. To keep your feet healthy, you should 

  • Check your feet regularly
  • Wash feet every day with warm water
  • Apply moisturizing lotions to feet to avoid cracks
  • Never walk barefoot
  • Maintain good control of your diabetes

Driving

Low glucose level, retinopathy and neuropathy in diabetes are what makes driving dangerous for diabetic patients. According to the Hong Kong Transport Department, you are eligible for applying for a driving license if your diabetes is well-controlled but you should notify the Department. Consult your doctor if you have any worries. 

Travelling

Travelling with diabetes can be quite confusing sometimes as you are in completely different time zones, so your medication routine will probably be messed up. It is essential to inform your pharmacist or doctor so they can make the best changes for you. 

What is the cost of Diabetes treatment in Hong Kong?

Cost of Diabetes treatment in Hong Kong’s Public Sector:

For eligible persons with a HKID card, the cost for a specialist outpatient clinic is $135 for first attendance, $80 per next attendance, $15 per drug item. 

For non-eligible persons without a HKID card, the cost for a specialist outpatient service is $1,190 per day.

Beware of waiting times which can be very long in the public sector.

For details, call the Hospital Authority at 2300 6555.

Cost of Diabetes treatment in Hong Kong’s Private Sector: 

Cost of diabetes treatment in the private sector would be determined according to the condition of the patient. Different types and stages of the disease require different treatment procedures therefore it is best to consult a doctor and discuss the options that best suit your situation. Generally, consultations cost around $1000 to $3000 excluding medication fees. 

* All amounts are in HKD and were last updated in July 2019. No responsibility is accepted for any inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. It is always best to call ahead to make sure the information is still up-to-date.

Does insurance usually diabetes treatment in Hong Kong?

According to AD MediLink, diabetes treatment is usually reimbursed by insurance providers under inpatient and outpatient benefits. Generally, high-end medical plans will reimburse in full without any sub-limit whereas local plans will have sub-limits. Also note that high-end plans may cap reimbursements for the routine management of chronic conditions such as diabetes. If you have any health insurance questions, contact an expert at [email protected] 

Useful resources about Diabetes in Hong Kong:

This article was reviewed by Dr. Ernest Li 李恒輝醫生 on July 16, 2019. Dr. Ernest Li is a Hong Kong based Chinese Canadian Gastroenterologist and Hepatologist. After graduating in Physics at McGill University, Dr. Li studied medicine at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He then received 12 years of training at government hospitals, and achieved specialist qualifications in gastroenterology, hepatology and internal medicine. Currently, he is a private practitioner with an office in Central, and also a part-time associate consultant for Hospital Authority.