子宮內膜異位:沉默的女性健康危機

子宮內膜異位症是一種常見疾病,約有10%的女性受到影響。據估計,在香港,許多女性正遭受症狀的困擾,但仍未得到診斷。這是一種嚴重影響女性生活質素的疾病,因此,表現出同情心和提供治療方法來幫助遭受這種疾病困擾的女性很重要。我們與香港婦產科醫生Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生交談了有關子宮內膜異位的症狀、病因和治療方法。

什麼是子宮內膜異位症?

子宮內膜異位症是一種影響女性生殖器官的疾病。當與子宮內膜的子宮內膜細胞非常相似的細胞在腹壁內的其他位置生長時,就會發生這種情況。子宮內膜細胞組成子宮內膜,它會在月經期間每月脫落,或者在子宮內植入。對於患有子宮內膜異位症的女性來說,這些多餘的細胞在月經期仍然會對女性的荷爾蒙產生反應並流血,但是它們無法脫落,因此保留在體內。每月的出血會導致發炎和疼痛,隨著時間的流逝會引起疤痕組織,通常會引起疼痛和不育。當疤痕組織在腹壁內生長時,它可能會使子宮、腸、輸卵管和卵巢粘在一起。

根據疤痕的數量、發炎以及對生育力的潛在影響等,多種方法可以對嚴重程度進行分類。疼痛的程度不是由子宮內膜異位症的階段確定的 – 有些女性在第一期子宮內膜異位症中就出現使人衰弱的疼痛,而另一些女性可能在第四期中都沒有疼痛症狀。

以下是來自Women’s Health & Research Institute of Australia 的一個分類框架(請記住,您的醫生可能會使用其他框架):

  • 第一階段:少量子宮內膜沉積,少數疤痕和通常生育能力不會受影響。
  • 第二階段:子宮內膜沉積物較大,但不影響其他器官功能。
  • 第三階段:子宮內膜沉積物更大,會影響您的卵巢,並可能引起疼痛及影響生育能力。
  • 第四階段:子宮內膜沉積物更大並且分佈廣泛,卵巢上存在囊腫,其他器官也可能受到影響。
  • 第五階段:子宮內膜沉積物遍布整個腹部並影響多個器官。第五期子宮內膜異位非常罕見。

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

原因和危險因素

科學家們並不完全確定是什麼原因導致子宮內膜異位,但現有研究表明有許多潛在的原因和危險因素:

原因:

  • 遺傳 – 許多有子宮內膜異位症的女性的母親或姐妹會有這個病的家族史。
  • 當一些經血“倒流”到末端開放的輸卵管中而不是排出體外時,月經逆行會發生。科學家們認為,月經中的子宮內膜細胞可能會在離開輸卵管時粘附在任何東西上。

風險因素:

  • 肥胖
  • 家族史
  • 早期初潮(第一次月經),少於27天的月經期,血量多或非常痛苦的經期以及時間比較長的經期(超過一星期)
  • 接觸到毒素 – 有研究表明,長期接觸二噁英可能與子宮內膜異位症發展有關。

徵兆和症狀

  • 痛苦和血量多的月經
  • 生育能力下降
  • 骨盆疼痛
  • 性愛時會疼痛
  • 排便和/或排尿時疼痛
  • 排卵痛
  • 下背部和/或大腿疼痛
  • 噁心和昏睡

如您所見,它通常會帶來很多痛苦 – 有時僅在月經時,有時會持續不斷。疼痛和不適對某些婦女來說可能非常嚴重,它使她們無法進行日常活動,例如上學和上班。如果您痛苦不堪,請務必去看醫生。

子宮內膜異位症是如何診斷的?

如果您的月經很痛苦,在去看醫生之前,最好先記錄一下月經期以及您遇到的任何症狀。診斷子宮內膜異位症的過程從了解您的症狀開始,然後通常會通過醫學成像、腹腔鏡檢查和/或活檢來確認。

月經:什麼是正常現象以及何時需看醫生

子宮內膜異位症的治療選擇

注意:與往常一樣,每個病人的情況都不一樣。如果您要尋求治療,請務必與您的醫生協商。

治療方法將取決於子宮內膜異位症的階段、沉積物在哪裡、它們是否影響其他器官、疼痛的程度以及女性被受影響的生活質素。

我們根據對女性受異位症影響的程度來劃分治療方法:

無疼痛及無生育問題的子宮內膜異位症

如果女性沒有疼痛或生育問題,一些醫生可能會建議採取“觀望”的方法,並定期檢查身體狀況。

在少數情況下,患有子宮內膜異位症的婦女會繼續發展卵巢癌。在這些情況下,超聲檢查對於監測癌細胞是否在發展很有利。

有疼痛但無生育問題的子宮內膜異位症

患有疼痛的子宮內膜異位症但沒有影響生育能力的女性可以根據喜好、疼痛的嚴重程度和醫生的建議來選擇治療方法。

  • 女性健康物理治療或骨盆物理治療師可通過提供疤痕組織和粘連釋放、緩解肌肉緊繃和痙攣以及調整骨盆與腹部器官、骨骼和軟組織的位置來幫助緩解疼痛。
  • 某些藥物可以減輕您的痛苦
  • 如果子宮內膜異位症正在影響您的生活質素,則有許多手術選擇,從鎖眼手術到子宮切除術不等。

無疼痛但有生育問題的子宮內膜異位症

如果您的子宮內膜異位導致生育問題,治療將集中在確保輸卵管保持開放並且盡可能保持卵巢不受損的狀態。

有疼痛及生育問題的子宮內膜異位症

如果您的子宮內膜異位症引起疼痛和生育問題,治療將針對這兩種情況。根據每個患者的情況,建議使用藥物和/或物理治療來止痛,並且建議以保留生殖器官和輔助生殖為重點的手術來輔助生育。 

體外人工受孕和生育治療:香港指南

香港治療子宮內膜異位症的醫生

如果您經歷了血量多而痛苦的月經期,請務必諮詢醫生。如果您想到公營醫療部門,則需要先與您的全科醫生交談,然後再轉介給婦科醫生。如果您到私家部門,可以將自己轉介給婦科醫生。專科醫生名冊上有香港註冊婦科醫生的名單。

對子宮內膜異位症的支援

子宮內膜異位症的疼痛和生育問題可能會嚴重損害您的心理健康、人際關係和工作。與遭受類似疾病困擾的人們建立聯繫,談論您自己的經歷能很有幫助。儘管我們在香港沒有找到任何特定的支援小組,但您可以加入幾個Facebook子宮內膜異位症小組。 Endometriosis.org是全球領先的線上平台之一,可提供有關子宮內膜異位症的可靠且最新的資訊。

本文在2018年6月16日由Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生審核。彭醫生是婦產科專科醫生,在中環的Hong Kong Health Practice執業。彭醫生在香港威爾斯親王醫院完成了婦產科培訓。她獲得英國皇家婦產科學院的專業資格證書。她目前是香港港安醫院的婦產科顧問。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Endometriosis | The Silent Women’s Health Crisis of Our Time

Endometriosis is a common disease, affecting approximately 10% of women. In Hong Kong, it’s estimated that many women are suffering from the symptoms but remain undiagnosed. This is a disease that affect women’s quality of life so it’s important that our society develops compassion and the tools to help women suffering with the disease. We spoke to obstetrician gynecologist Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生 about the symptoms, causes, and treatments for endometriosis.
 
 

What is endometriosis?

Endometriosis is a disease that affects women’s reproductive organs. It occurs when cells very similar to the endometrial cells that grow inside the uterus grow elsewhere inside the abdominal lining. Endometrial cells make up the lining of the uterus and are either shed every month during menstruation or are where a pregnancy implants. For women with endometriosis, these extra cells still respond to a woman’s hormones and bleed during menstruation, however they cannot be shed so remain inside the body. This monthly bleeding causes inflammation and pain and, over time, scar tissue, usually causing pain and infertility. As scar tissue grows inside the abdominal lining, it may begin to stick the uterus, bowel, fallopian tubes and ovaries together.
 
There are multiple ways to classify the severity of endometriosis, depending on the amount of scarring, inflammation and potential impact on fertility. The amount of pain is not defined by the stage of endometriosis – some women can have debilitating pain with stage I endometriosis, while others may have few pain symptoms with stage IV.
 
Below is one classification framework (keep in mind your physician may use another framework), from the Women’s Health & Research Institute of Australia:
  • Stage I: Minor amounts of endometrial deposits, minimal scarring, and usually fertility is not affected.
  • Stage II: Endometrial deposits are bigger but not affecting other organ functioning.
  • Stage III: Endometrial deposits are larger, affect your ovaries and are likely to cause pain and affect fertility.
  • Stage IV: Endometrial deposits are bigger and widespread, cysts are present on ovaries, and other organs may be affected.
  • Stage V: Endometrial deposits are throughout the abdomen and affect multiple organs. Stage V endometriosis is very rare.
 
 

Causes and risk factors

Scientists aren’t entirely sure what causes endometriosis but existing research suggests a number of potential causes and risk factors:
 
Causes:
  • Genetics – Many women who develop endometriosis have a close family history of the disease in either a mother or sister.
  • Retrograde menstruation occurs when some of the menstrual blood gets ‘backed up’ into the open-ended fallopian tubes rather than exiting the body. Scientists posit that the endometrial cells in that menstrual material may stick to whatever it lands on when leaving the fallopian tubes.
 
Risk factors:
  • Obesity.
  • Family history of endometriosis.
  • Early menarche (first period), periods of less than 27 days, heavy or very painful periods, and long periods (more than a week.)
  • Exposure to toxins – there is some research to suggest that long term exposure to dioxin may be associated with developing endometriosis.
 
 

Signs and symptoms

  • Painful and heavy periods
  • Reduced fertility
  • Pelvic pain
  • Pain during sex
  • Pain during bowel movements and/or urination
  • Ovulation pain
  • Pain in the lower back and/or thighs
  • Nausea and lethargy
As you can see, endometriosis usually comes with a lot of pain – sometimes only at the time of menstruation, sometimes the pain is constant. The pain and discomfort can be so bad for some women, it prevents them from daily activities such as going to school and work. If you have painful periods, it’s important to visit your doctor.
 
 

How is endometriosis diagnosed?

If you have painful periods, it can be helpful to keep a diary of your period and any symptoms you experience before you go to the doctor. The process of diagnosing endometriosis starts with understanding your symptoms and then is often confirmed with either medical imaging, a laparoscopy and/or a biopsy.
 
 
 

Treatment options for endometriosis

Note: as always, every patient’s case is different. If you’re seeking treatment for endometriosis, it’s important to be in close consultation with your physician.
 
Treatment options will depend on the stage of endometriosis, where the deposits are, whether they affect other organs, the level of pain, and the quality of life of the woman affected.
 
We’ve divided the treatment options based on how the woman is affected:
 
Endometriosis with no pain and no fertility problems
If a woman isn’t experiencing pain or fertility issues, some physicians may suggest a ‘wait and see’ approach and keep tabs on its development with regular check-ups.
 
In a small number of cases, women with ovarian endometriosis will go on to develop ovarian cancer. In those cases, sonographic observation will be essential to monitor whether cancerous cells develop.
 
Endometriosis with pain and no fertility problems
Women who experience painful endometriosis but have no fertility concerns have a range of treatment options available, depending on preference, severity of pain, and physician’s advice.
  • Physiotherapy with a women’s health or pelvic physiotherapist can help with endometriosis pain by providing scar tissue and adhesion release, relief of muscle tightness and spasms, and restoring the correct alignment of pelvic and abdominal organs, bones, and soft tissues.
  • Certain medication can help alleviate the pain you experience with endometriosis.
  • If endometriosis is affecting your quality of life, there are numerous surgical options ranging from key-hole surgery to a hysterectomy.
 
Endometriosis with no pain and fertility problems
If fertility is an issue as a result of your endometriosis, treatment will focus on ensuring the fallopian tubes remain open and ovaries stay as intact as possible.
 
Endometriosis with pain and fertility problems
If your endometriosis is causing pain and fertility problems, treatment will be aimed at both. Depending on every patient’s situation, medication and/or physiotherapy is recommended for pain, and surgery with a focus on preserving reproductive organs and assisted reproduction is recommended to assist with fertility.
 
 
 

Endometriosis doctors in Hong Kong

If you’re experiencing heavy and painful periods, it’s important to consult your doctor. If you’re going through the public health system, you’ll need to speak first to your GP in order to be referred to a gynecologist. If you’re using private care, you can refer yourself to a gynecologist. A list of registered gynecologists in Hong Kong is available on the specialist registry list.
 
 

Support for endometriosis

The pain and fertility issues of endometriosis can take a significant toll on your mental health, relationships and work. It can help to reach out to a community of people suffering from a similar disease to talk about your own experience. While we have not found any specific support group in Hong Kong, there are several general Facebook endometriosis groups you can join. Endometriosis.org is one of the leading global online platforms that deliver reliable and up to date information about endometriosis. 
 
 
Reviewed on 16 June 2018 by Doctor Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生, a Specialist in Obstetrics and Gynecology practicing at Hong Kong Health Practice in Central. Dr. Pang completed her obstetrics and gynecology training at the Prince of Wales Hospital, Hong Kong. She received her specialization qualification from the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists in the U.K. She is currently Consultant Obstetrician and Gynecologist at the Hong Kong Adventist Hospital.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.