【月經】一般持續幾日?經血量幾多才是正常?

相信月經應該不是您每個月會期待的事。月經每年出現大約十二次。子宮每個月都會準備一個新的子宮內膜,為懷孕做準備。當女性沒有懷孕時,子宮內膜便會脫落,導致出血。

我們與Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生合作,為您解答何謂正常的經期,以及一些經期所遇到的情況可能暗示的問題。

由經期的第一日至下次經期的第一日相隔的日數為一週期,正常的月經週期為23至35日。少於21日即是「月經提前」,而超過35日則是「月經逾期」。

一般「姨媽到」的日數

經期出血通常會持續5日。正常範圍為2至7日。出血超過8日可能是身體有潛在疾病的徵兆。

經期不準確

您的月經週期屬於正常範圍之內而且有規律是十分重要。當然,每個人的身體都不同,而很多女性都曾經歷過週期日數的改變。如果您的正常月經週期突然改變,可能是由於壓力、焦慮、藥物、青春期、更年期、事後丸或荷爾蒙避孕丸所致。如果您發現自己的經期變得越來越無規律而且不「正常」,您應該向醫生求診。

在您「姨媽到」的前幾日至來到的頭幾日期間,有些痛楚和不適感是正常的,但有些女性會有經痛,即是高於正常出血時的疼痛水平。如果非處方止痛藥和敷熱水袋等方法無法舒緩您的經痛,請去求醫。

月經流量

「經血過多」的定義為每個週期流失80毫升以上的血。如果您並非使用月經杯,英國國家健康與照顧卓越研究院(NICE)指如果經血量足以「擾亂您的生活」,而且情況在前六個經期大部分都有出現,您便是「經血過多」。如果您有如此經驗,應向婦產科醫生求診。

經血顏色

經血的顏色有可能會在同一個經期內改變。有機會是由鮮紅色去到棕色再變黑色 – 在這個光譜範圍內都屬於正常。這種變化是由血液在體內停留過長時間,令血液氧化所造成。棕紅色和暗紅色表示您的子宮內殘留著較舊的血液。鮮紅色則是較新的血液。如果您有灰色分泌物,可能是感染的跡象,應向婦產科醫生求診。

非經期出血:滴血

滴血是指在非經期時出血。在兩次月經中間有些滴血是正常的,特別是在排卵期。如果您的滴血不是在排卵期發生、有奇怪的血液顏色、或是由於腹部受傷所引起,那麼您可能需要看醫生。

月經:什麼情況下需要擔心?

如果以下跡象適用於您,請告知您的醫生:

  • 月經時大量出血
  • 出現灰色分泌物
  • 血塊大過香港二元硬幣
  • 兩個經期之間相隔的日數突然改變
  • 您的週期少於21日或超過35日(連續2個週期)
  • 經期出血超過8日
  • 出現嚴重經痛
  • 滴血得異常

記錄經期小貼士

記錄您的月經週期是非常有用的,可以幫助您和您的醫生進一步了解您的身體狀況。Healthy Matters認為Clue是至今最受歡迎和最可靠的應用程式之一,作為您的iPhone或Android機的免費經期追蹤app。Clue有超過250萬用戶,來自180個不同國家。該app與斯坦福大學、哥倫比亞大學、華盛頓大學和牛津大學等大學合作,以推進女性健康研究。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink的專家,發郵件至[email protected]查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公立醫療系統及私營醫療界)有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生是婦產科醫生,在中環的Hong Kong Health Practice執業。彭醫生在香港威爾斯親王醫院完成了婦產科培訓。她獲得英國皇家婦產科學院的專業資格證書。目前是香港港安醫院的婦產科顧問。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Menstruation | What’s Normal, and What’s Not

While perhaps not the highlight of your month, the menstrual cycle rolls around twelve-ish times a year. Every month the uterus prepares a new lining in preparation for a potential pregnancy. When a woman doesn’t find herself pregnant, the lining sheds, causing bleeding.
 
In collaboration with Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生 , we explain what a normal period looks like and what some common abnormalities may mean.
 
 

Length of your cycle

A normal menstrual cycle lasts from 23-35 days, measured from the first day of your period to the first day of your next period. Looking at 2 consecutive cycles, anything less than 21 days is considered ‘advanced menstruation’ or more than 35 days is considered ‘delayed menstruation’.
 
 

Length of your bleeding

Bleeding usually lasts for 5 days. The normal range is 2-7 days. Bleeding more than 8 days could be a sign of an underlying condition.
 
 

Irregular cycles

Each body is different so it’s the regularity that’s important within this range. That’s your normal. Of course, many women will experience some variation in the length between period in their lives. If the length between your normal period cycle suddenly changes, it may be due to stress/anxiety, medication, puberty or menopause, emergency contraception or hormonal birth control. If you find your period timing is becoming more ‘irregular’ than ‘regular’, it’s worth checking in with your doctor.
 
 

Menstrual cramps

Some pain and discomfort right before and during the first few days of your period is normal but some women experience dysmenorrhoea, a higher-than-normal amount of pain accompanying their bleeding. If at-home remedies like over-the-counter pain relief and hot water bottles aren’t helping the pain subside, mention this to your doctor.
 
 

Flow

Heavy menstrual bleeding (HMB) is defined as losing more than 80mL per cycle. For those of us not using a measuring cup, the UK’s National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) defines HMB as enough to ‘disrupt your life’ and should be present for the majority of your previous six periods. If this sounds like you, you should visit your gynecologist.
 
 

Color

The color of your period blood likely varies throughout your cycle. It can range from bright red to brown to black – anything in this spectrum is normal. Like a fresh cut’s bright red blood to a scab’s brown hue, the variation is due to the age of the blood. Brown and dark red indicate older blood that has been sitting in your uterus; red is newer blood. If you have gray discharge, this could be a sign of an infection and requires a visit to your gynecologist.
 
 

Period clots

Blood clots are normal on the heaviest days of your period. The blood leaves your body quickly during heavy flow days and your body’s anticoagulants don’t have time to break down blood. They are chunky and/or jelly-like clumps of blood. If they’re regularly bigger than a HK$2 coin, mention this to your doctor.
 
 

Spotting

Spotting is bleeding outside of your normal period. Some spotting in between periods, especially during ovulation, is normal. If your spotting is not during ovulation, is a strange color, or is due to an abdominal injury, it could be a sign of something to talk to your doctor about.
 
 

So, what should you worry about?

You should talk to your doctor if you have any of these signs. 
  • Heavy menstrual bleeding
  • Grey discharge
  • Clots larger than a HK$2 coin
  • The timing between periods changes suddenly
  • Your cycle is less than 21 days or more than 35 days for 2 consecutive cycles
  • Bleeding for more than 8 days
  • Excessive pain
  • Abnormal spotting
 
 

Healthy Matters’ tip on tracking your cycle

Tracking your menstrual cycle can give you and your doctor some really helpful insight into what might be going on. One of the most popular and scientifically reliable apps Healthy Matters has identified is Clue, a free period tracker for iPhone and Android. The app has over 2.5 million users from 180 different countries and has partnered with universities such as Stanford, Columbia University, the University of Washington, and the University of Oxford to advance female health research.
 
 
Doctor Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生 is a Specialist in Obstetrics and Gynecology, practicing at Hong Kong Health Practice in Central. Dr. Pang completed her obstetrics and gynecology training at the Prince of Wales Hospital, Hong Kong. She received her specialization qualification from the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists in the U.K. She is currently Consultant Obstetrician and Gynecologist at the Hong Kong Adventist Hospital.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.