香港的生育治療入門課:IVF、IUI、PGD

無論您是考慮去生育診所還是已經找到生育專家,生育術語都很難理解。我們與婦產科專家Dr. Alexander Doo 杜堅能醫生進行了交流,解釋了與生育有關的基本術語。這是關於香港生育治療的專業指南,包括IVF、IUI、PGD等。

生育診斷

自然週期監測

週期監測通常是婦女在有生育問題的情況下前往生育診所時要採取的第一步。週期監測檢查您的排卵週期,並要求您每月檢查幾次,以跟踪卵泡和子宮內膜的進展。它還可以幫助診斷子宮和卵巢異常。超聲波和血液檢查有助於準確判定排卵的時間以及可能導致不孕症的任何潛在的荷爾蒙失調。輸卵管通暢性檢查也應該進行。這是診斷任何生育問題的第一步。

精液分析

這相當於男性的週期監視。為了評估任何存在的問題,男子必須提供精子樣本,然後在實驗室中做分析。幸運的是,男性不用每月去診所多次!

準備生育治療

刺激卵巢和週期監測

為了刺激卵巢來產生更多的卵,女人會被開處方口服藥物或注射激素刺激劑。女人生產的卵子越多,無論是自然、人工還是體外受精,受精的機會就越高,但可能會導致多次懷孕。像自然週期一樣,還必須監測刺激週期,以確定女性何時排卵。

精子清洗

精子清洗包括去除精液中的任何粘液和不活動的精子,以通過濃縮更“健康”的精子來提高受精的機會。精子清洗是在體外人工受孕(IVF)人工授精(IUI)期間使用精液樣本使卵子受精之前進行的,理想情況下是在性禁慾超過兩天但少於五天的時間採集。

輔助生育治療(ARTs):IUI和IVF

宮內人工授精(IUI)

IUI通常被視為較便宜的輔助生育治療(ART)形式,但懷孕率低於IVF – 實際上,它只是使患者的生育機會恢復到與自己年齡相同的女性。在IUI程序中,將處理過的精子(洗過的精液)插入子宮中,以便在排卵前更靠近卵巢,從而增加受精的機會。 IUI技術通常用於無法解釋的不育症、排卵問題、性功能障礙、精子數量減少、精子活力降低、宮頸瘢痕形成或粘液問題。在某些情況下,IUI伴隨卵巢刺激,以確保排卵並增加受孕的機會。

體外人工受孕(IVF)

體外人工受孕是最著名的輔助生育治療。它是指精子在體外向卵子受精。體外人工受孕的過程需要四到六週的時間,包括六個階段:

  • 卵巢刺激:如上文所述,您的生育專家會開出荷爾蒙(或幾種激素的組合)來刺激卵巢產生卵子。通過超聲波和血液檢查對您進行密切監視,直到您的卵泡和激素處於正確的水平,然後再注射一劑人絨毛膜促性腺激素(HCG)來釋放您的卵子。
  • 精子收集:精子收集與在收集卵子同一天進行。通常精子會被沖洗以促進更好的效果。
  • 取卵或超聲引導的卵巢濾泡抽吸技術(UDFA):HCG注射後34-38小時之間將取回卵子。這是一種輕度侵入性手術,因此在麻醉下進行。您的生育專家能告訴您檢索了多少卵。
  • 卵子受精:卵子被取回後的幾個小時內,它們將把被洗淨的精子進行授精。第2天,您將知道受精了多少次。然後將胚胎培養至第3天或第5天,具體取決於數量和質素,並可以在那段時間內新鮮的植入,或者冷凍以便以後進行冷凍胚胎植入。如果您希望在此階段進行移植之前選擇正常的樣本,可以進行胚胎著床前基因診斷(PGD / PGS),即是對胚胎進行活檢 – 最好在第5天進行以獲得更準確的結果。
  • 胚胎移植:您的生育專家將使用超聲波引導您的可存活胚胎進入子宮。如果新移植後有過多的胚胎存活,則可以將它們冷凍以備將來使用。
  • IFV等待時刻:跟其他方法懷孕一樣,您必須等待發現自己是否懷孕。胚胎移植後9-14天之間您將會被採集血液,以查看胚胎是否已成功植入並開始妊娠。大多數生育專家還將開出額外的孕激素處方,以便在胚胎移植後服用,以增加您懷孕和保持懷孕的機會。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

一些與不育有關的詞彙

胞漿精子注射(ICSI)

ICSI是一種在IVF的卵子受精階段使用的技術,在IVF的卵子受精階段中,單個精子被注入卵子中。ICSI最常用於男性不育的情況。

胚胎著床前基因診斷 (PGD)

PGD​​使胚胎的診斷能夠在將胚胎植入女性體內之前查看它們是否具有特定的遺傳問題。這需要IVF,並在受精後三到五天進行。帶有遺傳病的人應該討論PGD是否適合他們。

十個在香港最常見有關生育的誤解

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

Dr. Alexander K. Doo 杜堅能醫香港執業已有二十多年。他是各個國際生殖組織的成員,並且是the Asian Pacific Fertility Preservation Society 的副主席。也當了香港生殖醫學會的理事超過十年,亦是Quality Assurance Committee of the Hong Kong College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists 的委員,目前是明德國際醫院的名譽顧問以及婦產科中心的主任和IVF診所的主任。

本文已於2019年6月3日進行審閱和更新。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Infertility Treatments in Hong Kong | The Basics of IVF, IUI and PGD

Perhaps you’re considering going to a fertility clinic or maybe you’re already seeing a fertility specialist. Regardless, the fertility jargon can be hard to wrap your head around. We spoke to Obstetrics and Gynecology specialist Dr. Alexander Doo 杜堅能醫生 to define some basic fertility-related terms.
 
 

Fertility diagnostics

Natural cycle monitoring

Cycle monitoring is often the first step women take when they visit a fertility clinic with suspected fertility issues. Cycle monitoring looks at your ovulation cycle and requires you to visit the clinic a few times a month, to track the progress of the follicle and endometrium. It can also help to diagnose abnormalities with the uterus and ovaries. Ultrasounds and blood tests help to determine exactly when you are ovulating and any underlying hormonal imbalances that may contribute to your infertility. Fallopian tubal patency checking should also be done. This is the first step in diagnosing any fertility issues.
 

Semen analysis

This is the male equivalent of cycle monitoring. In order to gauge any existing issues, the man is required to -ahem – produce a sample of sperm to be analyzed in the lab. Lucky guys, it’s a whole lot easier than visiting the clinic multiple times a month!
 
 

Preparing for fertility treatments

Ovarian stimulation and cycle monitoring

In order to stimulate the ovaries to produce an increased number of eggs, women will be prescribed oral medications or injectable hormonal stimulants. The more eggs a woman produces, the higher the chance one will be inseminated, whether it be natural, artificial or in vitro insemination but the tradeoff is multiple pregnancies. Like natural cycles, a stimulated cycle must also be monitored to determine when a woman is ovulating.
 

Sperm washing

Sperm washing involves removing any mucus and non-motile sperm in the semen to improve the chances of fertilization by concentrating the more “healthy” sperm. Sperm washing occurs before a semen sample is used to fertilize an egg during IVF or IUI and ideally perform after sexual abstinence for more than two but less than five days prior to collection.
 
 

Assisted reproductive treatments (ARTs)

Intrauterine insemination (IUI)

IUI is generally seen as the less expensive form of assisted reproductive treatments (ARTs) but the pregnancy rate is lower than IVF – in fact it only returns the patient’s fertility chances to the equivalent to a women of her own age. In an IUI procedure, treated sperm (washed semen) is inserted into the cavity of the uterus so that it is nearer the ovaries right before ovulation to increase the chance of fertilization. This technique is often used for unexplained infertility, ovulatory problems, sexual dysfunction, lower sperm count, decreased sperm motility, cervical scarring or mucus issues. In some cases, IUI is accompanied by ovarian stimulation to ensure ovulation and increase the chance of conception.
 

In vitro fertilization (IVF)

IVF is the most well known assisted reproductive treatment. It refers to when a sperm fertilizes an egg outside the body. The process takes four to six weeks and consists of six stages:
  • Ovarian stimulation: Like we’ve described above, your fertility specialist will prescribe a hormonal (or combination of several hormones) to stimulate your ovaries to produce eggs. You will be closely monitored with ultrasounds and blood tests until your follicles and hormones are at the correct level, at which time a shot of the human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) will be given to release your eggs.
  • Sperm collection: Sperm collection occurs on the day of the egg collection. It is often washed to encourage better results.
  • Egg retrieval or ultrasound directed follicular aspiration (UDFA): Your eggs will be retrieved between 34- 38 hours after your HCG shot. This is a mildly invasive procedure so is done under anesthesia. Your fertility specialist will be able to tell you how many eggs were retrieved.
  • Egg fertilization: Within a few hours of your eggs being retrieved, they will be inseminated with washed sperms. The next day you would know how many has fertilized. The embryos will then be cultured to day 3 or day 5 depending on the numbers and quality, and can be transferred back fresh on these days or frozen for frozen embryo transfer at a later date. PGD/PGS can be carried out if you wish to select for normal ones prior to transfer at this stage by taking a biopsy of the embryo – preferably on day 5 for a more accurate result.
  • Embryo transfer: Your fertility specialist will transfer your viable embryos into your uterus using an ultrasound to guide him or her. If you have excess viable embryos after a fresh transfer, they may be frozen for future use.
  • The waiting game: Like any other pregnancy, you will have to wait to find out whether you are pregnant. Your blood will be taken between 9-14 days post-transfer to see whether the embryo has successfully implanted and initiated a pregnancy. Most fertility specialists will also prescribe additional progesterone to take post-transfer to increase your chances of getting and staying pregnant.
 

Some more infertility-related vocabulary

Intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI)

ICSI is a technique used in the egg fertilization stage of IVF where one individual sperm is injected into an egg. ICSI is most often used in cases of male infertility.
 

Preimplantation genetic diagnosis (PGD)

PGD enables diagnosis of an embryo to see whether they have a particular genetic issue before implanting the embryo into a woman. This requires IVF and occurs three to five days after fertilization. People who are carriers of a genetic disorder should discuss whether PGD is an appropriate path for them.
 
 
Dr. Alexander K. Doo 杜堅能醫生 has been practicing in Hong Kong for over two decades. He is a member of various international reproductive organizations and is the Vice President of the Asian Pacific Fertility Preservation Society. He has also been a Council Member of the Hong Kong Society for Reproductive Medicine for over ten years, and a Member of Quality Assurance Committee of the Hong Kong College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. He is at present the Honorary Consultant at the Matilda International Hospital as well as the Director of The Women’s Clinic and Director of The IVF Clinic.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.