頭痛和偏頭痛:Healthy Matters全面指南

您是否知道偏頭痛是世界上第三大常見疾病,而且比哮喘、糖尿病和癲癇症加起來更普遍?據估計,世界人口的2%受到慢性偏頭痛的影響,這種疾病很可能是荷爾蒙引起的。實際上,女性患有偏頭痛的機率高三倍。它們可以每月發生幾次,也可以在極罕有情況下發生。那麼是什麼原因導致偏頭痛、感覺如何、有什麼方法可以緩解偏頭痛?這是Healthy Matters關於嚴重頭痛(又稱偏頭痛)的完整指南。

偏頭痛和頭痛:有什麼區別?

偏頭痛是被認為是劇烈或嚴重的頭痛。偏頭痛通常除了頭部疼痛外還有其他症狀,並且通常在頭部的一側感覺到疼痛(但是,可能會影響到兩側)。

偏頭痛的原因

研究人員不確定為什麼有些人有偏頭痛而有些人沒有。目前的想法是它們是異常大腦的活動影響神經信號和大腦內部血管的結果。我們還知道,家族基因可以導致嚴重頭痛,而且某些環境觸發因素似乎會令頭痛加劇。

以下觸發因素與偏頭痛的發作有關:

    • 荷爾蒙的變化,尤其是雌激素的波動似乎與女性偏頭痛有關。當女性的雌激素水平下降時,許多婦女就會擁有這種激素:在她們的經期之前或期間、懷孕期間和更年期。
    • 每個偏頭痛患者都有一組會觸發偏頭痛的不同食物和食品添加劑組合。一些常見的催化劑是:陳舊的芝士(尤其是藍芝士)、鹽或含有硝酸鹽的加工食品。此外,味精和代甜是常見的偏頭痛誘因。
    • 兩餐之間的時間過長導致血糖下降。
    • 任何含有單寧的食物或飲料都會引起偏頭痛 – 酒、茶、紅蘋果/梨子和蘋果酒。還應避免使用含咖啡因的飲料。
    • 壓力
    • 知覺刺激,例如明亮的燈光、響亮的聲音和強烈的氣味。香水是常見的偏頭痛誘因。
    • 常見與天氣相關的觸發因素,包括陽光、極熱或極冷、高濕度、乾燥的空氣、大風/暴風雨的天氣或氣壓變化。

Accuweather.com根據天氣如何影響偏頭痛患者的方式來預測天氣。是很有用的資源!

偏頭痛的症狀

這些頭痛的特徵通常是在頭部的一側上出現失能、搏動或搏動性疼痛。它們通常一次持續幾個小時到幾天。

偏頭痛的階段

嚴重的頭痛會持續數小時或數天,並經歷四個階段-儘管並非每個人都會經歷這四個階段。

1)前期階段可能包括便秘、情緒變化、對食物的慾望、頸部僵硬、口渴和排尿增加以及經常打哈欠。它通常在發病前1-2天發生,並警告偏頭痛即將來臨。

(2)一些偏頭痛患者會出現偏頭痛之前或期間的症狀,稱為先兆。佔約四分之一的偏頭痛,先兆症狀包括頭暈、耳鳴、光線閃爍和/或感光度增加。

3)在偏頭痛發作期間,患者會遭受頭部一側或兩側的搏動或搏動性疼痛、視力模糊、頭暈、噁心、嘔吐以及極強的光和聲音敏感性。此階段可能持續4到72小時。

(4)偏頭痛後,最後階段稱為疼痛後期。大多數人會感到精力耗盡,有些人會感到困惑、喜怒無常、對光和聲音敏感、虛弱和/或頭暈。

偏頭痛的治療

當開始頭痛時,手頭上的一些工具可以減輕疼痛的嚴重程度和偏頭痛的持續時間,這很有幫助。阿司匹林或撲熱息痛配上可待因、咖啡因或止吐藥(抗噁心藥物)合用特別有效。

預防偏頭痛

有很多方法可以防止嚴重的頭痛。總部位於英國的Migraine Trust為尋求有關偏頭痛治療方法的人提供一組經過全面研究的資源。

觸發管理

預防偏頭痛發作的第一步是保留頭痛日記,以記錄每次偏頭痛的持續時間,記錄下您可能接觸過的任何潛在觸發因素​​以及持續時間。這將幫助您找到偏頭痛出現的模式並更好地管理偏頭痛觸發因素。

激素療法

如果偏頭痛發作與激素波動有關,則可以考慮激素療法或口服避孕藥。

補品

多項研究發現,每天服用維他命B2輔酶Q10補充劑的人在3個月後偏頭痛較少。某些維他命可以與其他藥物產生相互作用,因此,如果您正在服用其他藥物,與您的醫生交談很重要。

草藥

冬花和小白菊在預防偏頭痛方面均顯示出很有幫助的結果,但可能與其他藥物產生相互作用,對於肝病和/或糖尿病患者而言可能並不安全。尤其是冬花可能會引起肝臟毒性,因此只能在與醫生密切協商的情況下使用。

藥物治療

英國國家健康與照顧卓越研究院(NICE)建議在醫生的密切監督下,為患者提供托吡酯或普潘奈,以治療長期偏頭痛。

針灸

針灸是治療嚴重頭痛的有效方法。這對香港來說是個好消息。在香港,中醫是生活不可或缺的一部分。有趣的是,如果其他藥物無效,英國的公共醫療服務(NHS)將提供針灸作為偏頭痛治療。

如果偏頭痛或頭痛影響了您的生活質素,請務必積極主動尋求醫生、輔助醫療專家或在香港註冊的中醫師的治療。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

The Healthy Matters Guide to Migraines

Did you know that migraine is the third most common disease in the world and that it is more prevalent than asthma, diabetes, and epilepsy combined? It is estimated that 2% of the world population is affected by chronic migraines and that the disease is likely hormonally-driven. In fact, migraines are three times more common in women. Migraines can happen several times a month or on rare occasions. So what causes a migraine, what does it feel like and is there anything to help relieve them? Here is Healthy Matters’ guide to migraines.
 
 

Migraine and headaches: what’s the difference

Migraines are headaches that are considered intense or severe. Most often migraines have other symptoms in addition to head pain and the pain is typically felt on one side of the head (however, it is possible to have both sides affected).
 
 

Migraine causes

Researchers are not sure why some people get migraines and some don’t. Current thinking is that migraines are the result of abnormal brain activity affecting nerve signals and blood vessels inside the brain. We also know that migraines run in families and that certain environmental triggers seem to bring them on.
 
The following triggers are associated with the onset of a migraine:
    • Hormonal changes particularly estrogen fluctuations seem to be associated with migraines in women. Many women will have migraines when their estrogen levels drop: just before or during their periods, during pregnancy and during menopause.
    • Every migraine sufferer has a different set of foods and food additives that trigger an attack. Some common catalysts are: aged cheeses (particularly blue cheeses), salty or processed foods containing nitrates. Additionally, MSG and aspartame are common migraine triggers.
    • Drops in blood sugar caused by too long between meals.
    • Any food or drinks with tannins in them can cause a migraine – wine, tea, red apples/pears and ciders. Caffeine-containing drinks should also be avoided.
    • Stress.
    • Sensory stimuli such as bright lights, loud sounds, and strong smells. Perfume is a common migraine trigger.
    • Common weather-related triggers include sunlight, extreme heat or cold, high humidity, dry air, windy/stormy weather or barometric pressure changes.
 
 Accuweather.com rates its forecast predictions based on how it may impact migraine sufferers. A great resource!
 
 

Migraine symptoms

Migraine headaches are characterised by disabling, throbbing or pulsing pain usually on one side of the head. They often last for several hours to days at a time.
 
 

Migraine stages

Migraines span hours or days and go through four stages – though not everyone experiences all four stages.
 
(1) The prodrome stage may include constipation, mood changes, food cravings, neck stiffness, increased thirst and urination, and frequent yawning. It usually occurs 1-2 days before the onset and acts as a warning of the upcoming migraine.
 
(2) Some migraine sufferers will experience pre- or during-migraine symptoms known as aura. Accounting for about a quarter of migraines, aura symptoms consist of dizziness, ringing in your ears, flashes of light, and/or light sensitivity.
 
(3) During the migraine attack, sufferers will experience disabling pulsing or throbbing pain on one or both sides of the head, blurred vision, light headedness, nausea, vomiting and extreme light and sound sensitivity. This phase may last from 4 to 72 hours.
 
(4) After a migraine, the final phase is known as post-drome. Most people will feel drained of energy and some will experience confusion, moodiness, sensitivity to light and sound, weakness, and/or dizziness.
 
 

Migraine treatment

When an attack occurs, it’s helpful to have some tools at hand to alleviate the severity of your pain and duration of the migraine. Aspirin or paracetamol combined with codeine, caffeine or an anti-emetic (anti-nausea medications) are particularly effective.
 
 

Migraine prevention

There are a number of ways to prevent migraines. UK-based The Migraine Trust has a comprehensive set of well-researched resources for those seeking more information on migraines and treatments.
 
Trigger management
The first step to prevent onset of a migraine is to keep a headache diary to record the duration of each migraine, any potential triggers you may have been exposed to, and how long it lasted. This will help you find patterns and better manage migraine triggers. 
 
Hormone therapy
If the onset of your migraine is associated with hormonal swings, you may consider hormonal therapy or oral contraceptives.
 
Supplements
Multiple studies have found that people who took supplements of vitamin B2, CoQ10 or magnesium daily have had fewer migraines after 3 months. Some vitamins can interact with other pharmaceuticals so it’s important to talk to your doctor if you’re taking other medications.
 
Herbs
Both butterbur and feverfew show promising results in preventing migraines but can interact with other drugs and may not be safe for people with liver problems and/or diabetes. Butterbur, in particular, can cause liver toxicity so should only be used in close consultation with a doctor.
 
Medications
The UK’s National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) recommends patients be offered topiramate or propranolol to manage long-term migraines, under close physician supervision.
 
Acupuncture
Acupuncture has been found to be an effective treatment for migraine headaches. This is good news for us in Hong Kong where Chinese medicine is an integral part of life. Interestingly, acupuncture is offered in the UK’s public health service (NHS) as a migraine treatment if other medications have not been effective.
 
 
If migraines or headaches are affecting your quality of life, it’s important to be proactive and seek treatment from your physician, a complementary medicine practitioner, or a HK-registered Chinese medicine practitioner.
 
 
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.