成人暗瘡完全指南:九種常見的原因及治療方法

成人暗瘡與青春期暗瘡(青春痘)症狀相同 – 青春痘引起的原因為皮脂腺分泌過度、毛孔阻塞、細菌感染及皮膚炎症。雖然成人暗瘡看似青春痘,但其背後誘因可能不同。早晚用專用於洗面、溫和的洗面乳清潔皮膚;使用含水楊酸或過氧苯甲(benzoyl peroxide)的產品,可能對治暗瘡有幫助,但不能保證有效。

本網站特此採訪了香港皮膚專科醫生陳珮瑤醫生關於成人暗瘡的成因及治療方法。如果您想治好自己的暗瘡,要知道長暗瘡的背後原因,才可能從根本解決問題,畢竟根治暗瘡好過治療表面的症狀。

激素變化

激素變化可能引發暗瘡,特別是在懷孕、生理期、環更年期(更年期早期)及更年期。暗瘡亦可能由多囊卵巢綜合症引起。青春痘一般較多生長於額頭、鼻頭、臉頰,而成人暗瘡則在臉頰及下顎部位。

治療方法:如果您的暗瘡是由激素變化引起,非處方藥物通常效果有限。口服避孕藥或抗雄激素等口服藥物對調節荷爾蒙可能有幫助,但亦可能出現副作用。使用前請諮詢醫生。

壓力

治療方法:如果您覺得暗瘡是由壓力所致,就需要想辦法減低自己壓力荷爾蒙(皮質醇)的水平。雖說知易行難,但是每日幾分鍾做下運動或冥想(加上適度清潔面部),都可以起到舒緩壓力的作用。

避孕藥

口服激素避孕藥可用來治療暗瘡,亦有可能加重症狀。避孕藥含有雌激素和黃體激素,可調節人體內雄激素的水平。雄激素正是皮膚油脂分泌過度,從而引發暗瘡的“罪魁禍首”。如果是只含黃體激素的避孕藥反而可能加重暗瘡。

治療方法:換一種口服避孕藥,或者嘗試其他非激素避孕方法,如銅製子宮內避孕器。

吸煙

吸煙人士更容易爆發成人暗瘡,特別是吸煙女性。

治療方法:顯而易見,就是停止吸煙。

基因風險

生來如此。部分人士因其基因傾向,天生就容易爆發暗瘡。

治療方法:每日用具舒緩功效的洗面乳潔面兩次;使用不含阻塞毛孔、致痘致粉刺成分的產品;減低慢性壓力;避免使用只含黃體激素的避孕藥,以降低爆發成人暗瘡的機會。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

化妝品及防曬霜

暗瘡即是毛孔阻塞、受感染所致。因此,任何用於面部的產品都有可能引發暗瘡。

治療方法:每日用舒緩的洗面乳潔面兩次;定期清潔化妝刷;使用無油及不含阻塞毛孔、致痘致粉刺成分的化妝品和防曬霜,以降低爆發成人暗瘡的機會。

污染

污染指數較高那幾日,我們不單止呼吸不暢,肺部不適,毛孔亦會阻塞。

治療方法:香港污染較嚴重,天氣又潮溼,定期潔面就尤為重要,特別是夜間。

食物

雖然科學研究未確認「垃圾食物」與成人暗瘡有因果關係,但是很多人在自己身上發現,部分食物會引發暗瘡,包括含糖量高的食品、奶類產品、精細碳水化合物及紅肉類。

治療方法:如果您偶然爆發暗瘡,回想一下近期的飲食,看看是不是由某種食品或者食品添加劑導致的。

藥物副作用

暗瘡亦有可能是藥物副作用所致。如果暗瘡與服用新藥物相關,您應在繼續服用藥物同時,諮詢醫生,了解藥物可能導致的副作用。

治療方法:諮詢醫生之後,可能醫生會給您另一種藥物,或您可以諮詢皮膚科醫生,了解一下控制暗瘡的方法。

如果您無法在家控制到暗瘡的生長,您可以諮詢普通科醫生或皮膚科醫生,更深入了解自己的皮膚狀況。請查看香港醫務委員會網站上的皮膚科註冊醫生名單。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

Dr. Nicola Chan 陳佩瑤醫生是私營醫療機構的一名皮膚科專科醫生。她於英國劍橋大學畢業,在劍橋、倫敦和香港分別接受研究生醫學訓練。之後,她在美國波士頓和巴爾的摩接受鐳射和美容皮膚科培訓。陳醫生是香港皮膚及性病學會、美國鐳射醫學及外科學會、亞洲皮膚科醫學會及香港皮膚科醫學院成員。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Adult Acne | 9 Most Common Causes & Treatments

Adult acne is essentially the same as teen acne – caused by excess skin oil, blockage of pores, bacteria and skin inflammation. The reasons why different people get acne in adulthood can differ from teen acne but it manifests very similarly. Washing with a gentle face-specific cleanser in the morning and night and using over-the-counter products containing salicylic acid or benzoyl peroxide can help some acne but is not always effective.
 
We spoke to Hong Kong-based specialist dermatologist, Dr. Nicola Chan 陳珮瑤醫生 for some answers on what causes adult acne and how to treat it. When thinking about how to treat your acne, it’s helpful to look at what you think the cause may be – addressing the actual cause rather than addressing your acne superficially will increase your chances of effective treatment.
 
 

Hormonal changes

Acne can be triggered by hormonal swings, notably during pregnancy, menstruation, peri-menopause (the early stages of menopause) and menopause, or as a result of polycystic ovarian syndrome. As opposed to adolescent acne which appears on your forehead, nose and chin, hormonal adult acne is usually on your cheeks or jawline.
 
Treatment: If your acne is related to hormones, usually topical over-the-counter options only show partial improvement. Oral medications such as appropriate oral contraception or anti-androgen drugs may help regulate your hormones. These come with potential side effects so it’s important to speak to your doctor about your treatment options.
 
 

Stress

While researchers are unsure about whether stress is a cause of adult acne, there is a relationship between stress and acne flare-ups in people who are already susceptible to acne. Stress hormones produce more androgens, a group of hormones that, in addition to many other important functions, stimulate oil glands, which can lead to acne in certain people.
 
Treatment: If you think stress is contributing to your acne, you need to find ways to reduce your stress hormone levels (cortisol). This is easier said than done but a few minutes of mindfulness or exercise (followed by proper face washing) may be just the stress outlet you need.
 
 

Birth control

Hormonal oral contraception pills can make acne either better or worse. Birth control pills containing both estrogen and progesterone will regulate the amount of androgen, the hormone that causes excess oil production and acne. Oral contraception containing just progesterone is likely to make your acne worse.
 
Treatment: Change your oral contraception pill or try a non-hormonal birth control method such as the copper IUD.
 
 

Smoking

People who smoke, especially women, are more prone to developing acne in adulthood.
 
Treatment: To state the obvious, stop smoking.
 
 

Genetic risk

Blame your parents. Some people simply have a genetic predisposition toward adult acne.
 
Treatment: Washing your face twice daily with a gentle cleanser, using non-comedogenic products, minimizing chronic stress and avoiding progesterone-only birth control will lower your chances of developing acne in adulthood.
 
 

Makeup and sunscreen

Acne is basically clogged and infected pores so anything that goes on your face could cause acne.
 
Treatment: Wash your face twice daily with a gentle face wash, wash your makeup brushes regularly and seek out oil-free and non-comedogenic makeup and sunscreen options to reduce your chances of acne.
 
 

Pollution

Those high-pollution days are not just clogging up our lungs but also our pores.
 
Treatment: Between Hong Kong’s pollution and sweat-inducing humidity, it’s important to wash your face regularly, especially at night.
 
 

Food

There hasn’t been any scientific truth establishing the link between junk food and adult acne in general. However, some people find that their acne is linked to certain trigger foods. Common trigger foods include sugar, dairy products, refined carbohydrates and red meat.
 
Treatment: If you have occasional acne outbreaks, take a look at your diet to see if there’s a link between a certain food/food additive and your breakout.
 
 

Medication side effect

Acne can be a side effect of some medications. If your acne is correlated with a new medication, continue taking that medication and check with your doctor that acne is a possible side effect.
 
Treatment: After speaking with your doctor, there may be another medication option or you can visit a dermatologist to discuss acne control options.
 
 
If you’re not able to control it at home, speak to your GP or visit a dermatologist for a more in-depth look at your skin. A list of dermatologists registered in Hong Kong is available on the Medical Council website.
 
 
Dr. Nicola Chan (陳珮瑤醫生) is a Specialist in Dermatology in private practice. She graduated from the University of Cambridge, UK, and received post-graduate medical training in Cambridge, London and Hong Kong. This was followed by further laser and aesthetic dermatology training in Boston and Baltimore, USA. Dr Chan is a member of the Hong Kong Society of Dermatology and Venereology, American Society of Laser Medicine and Surgery, Asian Dermatological Association, and Hong Kong College of Dermatologists.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.