乳癌在香港:症狀和篩查選擇

每年的10月,我們都自豪地全力支持讓大眾提高對乳癌的認識之乳癌宣傳月。但是,全年在香港,乳癌仍然是影響女性的第一大癌症,也是同時影響男性和女性的第三大癌症,其他癌症包括結腸癌(第一大)、肺癌(第二大)、前列腺癌(第四)和肝癌(第五)。 此外,與十年前相比,由於人口老化和人口增長,香港的乳癌發病率顯著上升。

預防乳癌非常重要,包括每日監測或改變生活方式,例如飲食、酒精攝取量、運動和保持健康體重。其他措施包括基因檢測和習慣進行自我乳房檢查,這些也有助於預防和檢測乳癌。此外,尋找有關乳癌篩查的資訊,並盡快與醫生討論何時開始進行乳房檢查和乳房X光檢查。

乳癌統計數字在香港

自1993年以來,乳癌成為了影響女性的最常見癌症,發病率至今增加了三倍,以及被認為是繼肺癌結腸癌之後香港女性死亡的第三大原因。

令人震驚的是,據估計,每日有10名女性被確診患有乳癌,佔2015年香港在女性中診斷出的所有新發癌症的26.1%。

在1983年至2015年間,女性乳癌的年齡標準化發病率呈上升趨勢。女性年紀越大,患乳癌的風險越高。在香港,乳癌患者的中位年齡為56歲,與此同時,被診斷的女性中有55%為40-59歲(作為比較,在美國的中位年齡是62歲,而澳洲是60歲)。

乳癌的症狀和徵兆是什麼?

婦產科醫生Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生認為,乳癌最常見的徵兆和症狀可能包括:

  • 乳房有腫塊或不規則的部位,而其與乳房其他周圍組織不同。
  • 乳房的大小、形狀或外觀發生變化。
  • 乳房或乳頭周圍的皮膚紋理發生變化,例如發紅、脫屑、脫皮、剝落、凹陷或變色/脫色。
  • 乳頭周圍有皮疹、或在一個或兩個乳頭有液體排出。
  • 出現倒置的乳頭。
  • 有如“橙色皮膚”的外觀。
  • 腋下有新的腫塊或增厚現象。

如果您發現乳房出現變化,例如有腫塊或其他異常跡像,請立即求診。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

每隔多久便應該自我檢查乳房和進行篩查?

很多國家建議大眾每年一次看醫生進行檢查。而在香港,公共醫療系統並沒有就不同組別的人士應隔多久進行一次篩查而作出建議,特別是無症狀或處於中等風險的本地女性。這是由於現時缺乏可用的研究和數據。

以下是香港乳癌基金會就篩查測試作出的建議:

  • 20-40歲以上的女性必須每月進行自我檢查。
  • 對於20-39歲的女性,應每3年進行一次臨床檢查,對於40歲或以上的女性,應每2年進行一次臨床檢查。
  • 40歲或以上的女性亦應每2年進行一次乳房X光檢查(而其他組織建議每年進行一次)。

在香港可進行篩查的地點和方法

如果您居住在香港,則必須在私家診所中進行身體檢查。請注意,香港的私營部門尚未標準化,而檢查套餐、費用和獲得的體驗會因服務提供者而異。您還可以選擇非私人機構,例如醫院管理局、香港乳癌基金會和家庭健康服務。

正如婦產科醫生Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生所解釋,乳房篩查的方法包括自我檢查、年度婦科檢查、乳房X光片、磁力共振成像和超聲波掃描、以及基因檢測:

  • 自我檢查可以提高自己對乳房的認識,有助了解乳房的正常變化及識別可能逐漸發生的任何異常徵兆或症狀。
  • 乳房X光片是罹患乳癌風險增加的女性、以及40歲或以上女性的標準篩查方法。
  • 磁力共振成像常用於年輕女性和對乳癌具有遺傳傾向性的女性。
  • 對於乳房放射線密集的女性,超聲波可作為乳房X光檢查的輔助方法,並有可能描繪出乳房X光檢查中未見的乳癌。與磁力共振成像相比,超聲波檢查相對便宜、安全性高、更廣泛被使用。

是否想搵醫生?

查看我們的健康目錄

在香港,乳癌的治療費用是多少?

公營醫療機構和非牟利組織收費

乳健中心是一個非牟利組織,由香港乳癌基金會運營,該中心提供包括乳房X光片和超聲波檢查在內的篩查服務,您可以在此處找到有關價格的詳細資訊。

婦女健康服務提供婦女健康服務,包括篩查、檢測、教育和諮詢。合資格人士的年費為港幣310元,每次乳房X光攝影檢查的收費為港幣225元,非合資格人士的年費為港幣850元,每次檢查費用為港幣510元。在此處查看更多資訊。

醫院管理局在東華東院的婦女健康普查部提供服務;平面乳房造影的收費為港幣800元,3D立體乳房X光斷層造影的收費為港幣1,800元,乳房超聲波掃描的收費則為港幣800元,在此處可查看更多資訊。

私家收費

香港慈善基金會WeCareBill Foundation旨在提高醫療收費的透明度。跟據WeCareBill主要手術(除去乳房的主要部分及淋巴結)的基本費用一般在港幣80,000至120,000之間,而最昂貴的私家醫院和醫生(及半私人病房)的收費則高達港幣250,000至300,000。

WeCareBill強烈建議為進行植入手術的可能做準備(即使手術可能看起來不像需要植入物),因為備用作準備的費用比要進行第二次手術的費用便宜。植入的基本費用在港幣30,000至50,000之間。是否需要乳房植入物可以在手術過程中由醫生決定。

至於化學治療,香港最昂貴的私家醫院可收取高達港幣70萬。有時候,癌症治療中心會按每個週期收取港幣30,000-35,000。

需要記住的非常重要一點是在香港,私家醫療收費並沒有受監管或標準化。

醫療保險是否涵蓋在香港進行的乳癌篩查和治療?

根據我們的合作夥伴,醫療保險和醫療保健專家AD MediLink指,香港大部分保險公司都承保癌症的診斷和治療。但是,保險公司所提供的腫瘤科利益差異很大,因此,在香港的私家部門接受治療時,找到一個100%涵蓋、並無財務或時間限制的保險計劃至關重要。

另請注意,如果您過去曾被診斷出患有癌症,某些保險公司能會把其列入既往疾病當中,因此拒絕涵蓋所有有關費用。

文章引用或參考過的資料之出處:

https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/healthtopics/content/25/53.html

https://www.chp.gov.hk/files/pdf/recommendations_on_breast_cancer_screening_2010.pdf

http://www3.ha.org.hk/cancereg/

http://www3.ha.org.hk/cancereg/pdf/factsheet/2015/breast_2015.pdf

http://www3.ha.org.hk/cancereg/pdf/overview/Summary%20of%20CanStat%202015.pdf

https://hkbcf.org/en/

https://www.fhs.gov.hk/english/centre_det/cent_pwhs/14734.html

—-

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

—-

本文的臨床資訊由Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生核對。彭醫生是婦產科專科醫生,在中環的Hong Kong Health Practice執業。彭醫生在香港威爾斯親王醫院完成了婦產科培訓。她獲得英國皇家婦產科學院的專業資格證書。她目前是香港港安醫院的婦產科顧問。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Breast Cancer Symptoms and Screening Options in Hong Kong

This October we are very proud to be supporting Breast Cancer Awareness Month. In Hong Kong, breast cancer is the number one cancer affecting women and the number three most frequent cancer affecting both men and women, alongside colon (one), lung (two), prostate (four), and liver cancer (five). Furthermore, in comparison to a decade ago breast cancer has shown a substantial rise due to the aging and growing population in Hong Kong.
 
Breast cancer prevention is very important and includes monitoring or changing your lifestyle choices on a daily basis including diet, alcohol consumption, exercise, and maintaining a healthy weight. Other measures include genetic testing and becoming accustomed to self-examination of your breasts which can also help prevent and detect breast cancer. In addition, seek information on breast cancer screening and start discussing when to begin breast exams and mammograms with your doctor early on.
 
 

Breast cancer statistics in Hong Kong

Breast cancer has become the most common cancer affecting women since 1993, it has tripled in incidence rate, and is considered the third leading cause of death for women in Hong Kong after lung and colon cancer.
 
Alarmingly, it is estimated that 10 women are diagnosed with breast cancer every day and has accounted for 26.1% of all new cancers in females diagnosed in Hong Kong in 2015.
 
The age-standardized incidence rate of female breast cancer had an upward trend between 1983 and 2015. The older in age a woman is the higher the risk of breast cancer she has. The median age of breast cancer patients is 56 in Hong Kong, parallel to this, 55% of the women diagnosed were 40-59 in age (compared with age 62 in the US and age 60 in Australia).
 
 

What are the signs and symptoms of Breast cancer?

The most common signs and symptoms of breast cancer according to obstetrician gynecologist Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生 may include:
  • A breast lump or irregularity that is different from the surrounding tissues around the breast.
  • A change in size, shape, or appearance of the breast.
  • Change in skin texture of the breast or around the nipple, for example, red, scaling, peeling, flaking, dimpling, or pigmented discoloration.
  • A rash around the nipple or discharge from one or both nipples.
  • A newly inverted nipple.
  • An “orange-skin” appearance.
  • New lump or thickening in the armpit.
 
If you notice a change in your breasts such as lumps or other unusual signs, talk to your doctor promptly.
 
 

How often should I self-exam my breasts and be screened?

Several countries recommend visiting your physician on an annual basis. In Hong Kong, unlike a lot of comparable countries, the public health system does not have a set of recommendations for when various populations should undergo screening tests specifically among local women who are asymptomatic or at average risk. This is due to lack of research and data currently available.
 
Below are the recommendations from the Hong Kong Breast Cancer Foundation on screening tests: 
  • Self-examination for women age 20-40+ must be done every month.
  • Clinical examination should be done every 3 years for ages 20-39 and every 2 years for 40 and over.
  • Women aged 40 and over should go for mammography screening once every 2 years (while other organizations recommend this to be every year).
 
 

Where and how to be screened in Hong Kong?

If you reside in Hong Kong you must access body checks in private clinic settings. Note that the private sector is not standardized in Hong Kong and that packages, costs, and user experience vary greatly depending on the provider. You can also visit non-private options such as the Hospital Authority, HKBCF, and Family Health Service.
 
As explained by obstetrician gynecologist Dr. Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生, the methods of breast screening include self-examination, gynecologic annual check-ups, mammograms, MRI and ultrasound scanning, as well as, genetic testing:
  • Self-examination can promote breast awareness which can help bring an understanding to the normal changes the breasts undergo and may help to identify any unusual signs or symptoms that can happen gradually.
  • Mammography has been the standard screening modality for women at increased risk of breast cancer, and women aged 40 and over.
  • MRIs are common for younger women and those with a genetic predisposition to breast cancer.
  • Ultrasound is used as an adjunct to mammography in women with radiologically dense breasts and has the potential of depicting breast cancers not seen on mammography. Ultrasound is relatively inexpensive, well tolerated, more widely available than MRI.
 
 

How much does breast cancer treatment cost in Hong Kong?

Public fees and non-profit organization fees
The Breast Health Center is a non-profit organization which is run by HKBCF the center offers screening services including mammograms and ultrasounds, you can find price details here.
 
The Family Health Service, Department of Health offer Women’s Health Services including screenings, examinations, education, and counseling. For an eligible person, there is an annual fee of HK$310 and each mammography screening costs HK$225, for a non-eligible person there is an annual fee of HK$850 and each screening fee costs HK$510. Find more information here
 
The Hospital Authority offers services at the Well Women Clinic at Tung Wah Eastern Hospital; 2D mammography is listed at HK$800, 3D mammography is HK$1,800, and breast ultrasound is HK$800, find more information here.
 
Private fees
According to WeCareBill Foundation, a Hong Kong-based charity that promotes patient price transparency, baseline major surgery costs (main part of breast removed with lymph node) are between HK$80,000 and HK$120,000 with most expensive private hospitals and medical doctors charging as high as HK$250,000-300,000 for semi private room.
 
WeCareBill strongly advises to prepare for implant surgery (even though the surgery may not look like needing implants) as the stand-by preparation fees are less expensive than having to pay for a second operation. Baseline implant costs are between HK$30,000 and HK$50,000. The necessity of breast implants can be decided by the doctor during the operation.
 
As for chemotherapy treatment, it can reach HK$700,000 in Hong Kong’s most expensive private hospitals. Some day cancer treatment centers charge HK$30,000-35,000 per cycle. 
 
It is very important to keep in mind that in Hong Kong, private medical fees are not subject to regulation or standardization. 
 
 

Does insurance cover breast cancer screening and treatment?

According to our health insurance partner and healthcare expert AD MediLink, many insurers in Hong Kong cover cancer diagnosis and treatment. Oncological benefits vary greatly between insurers and finding a plan that covers you 100% with no financial limits or time limits is of the outmost importance when being treated in private sector in Hong Kong.
 
Also note that if you have if you were diagnosed with cancer in the past, some insurers may consider this a pre-existing condition and refuse to pay for its care.
 
 
Sources cited:
 
 
Clinical information reviewed on 22 October 2018 by Doctor Selina Pang 彭敏華醫生, a Specialist in Obstetrics and Gynecology practicing at Hong Kong Health Practice in Central. Dr. Pang completed her obstetrics and gynecology training at the Prince of Wales Hospital, Hong Kong. She received her specialization qualification from the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists in the U.K. She is currently Consultant Obstetrician and Gynecologist at the Hong Kong Adventist Hospital.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.