前列腺癌:徵狀、篩查和治療

在過去的20年中,前列腺癌是香港男性癌症中,發病率增長最高的癌症。根據香港癌症登記處的資料,前列腺癌是僅次於大腸癌和肺癌的第三大男性癌症,每年影響近2,000名男性。前列腺癌是香港男性致命癌症中排第四

什麼是前列腺癌?

前列腺位於膀胱下方和直腸前方。當前列腺中的細胞開始失控地生長時,就會出現前列腺癌。癌細胞會擴散到身體的其他區域,從而引起主要是在骨骼和淋巴結中的問題。只有男性有前列腺,這使前列腺癌成為全球最大的男性健康憂慮之一。

徵兆和徵狀

在初期階段,前列腺癌沒有任何警告徵狀。但是,隨著它的發展,以下徵狀可能會逐漸出現:

  • 小便困難;緩慢,不暢順的尿液
  • 尿中有血
  • 在晚上頻繁有小便的需求
  • 腰部、骨盆和臀部疼痛
  • 坐著不舒服或疼痛
  • 勃起功能障礙
  • 精液中有血液

前列腺癌的原因

儘管暫時仍未完全了解前列腺癌的確切原因,但許多因素被認為會增加患病的機會:

預防前列腺癌

沒有已證實的預防策略,但是可以採取一些措施來降低風險,包括:

  • 保持體重在健康標準
  • 飲食健康及均衡
  • 多運動
  • 避免吸煙和飲酒
  • 50歲以後定期接受篩查

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

篩查與診斷

由於初期前列腺癌是無徵狀的,因此篩查是初期診斷重要的一步,應儘早開始治療以預防進展。

醫生通常會通過以下方式篩查前列腺癌

  • 前列腺特異抗原 (PSA): PSA是前列腺製造的物質。醫生通常會採集血液樣本。大量的PSA可能會導致前列腺癌。 
  • 數字直腸檢查(DRE):醫生會戴上手套,用手指插入肛門來進入直腸,以感覺前列腺來檢查前列腺的大小和形狀。

如果篩查結果有異常,那就需要進一步檢查。前列腺癌的診斷方法有:

  • 超聲波:將一個小探測器伸入直腸,利用超聲波描繪出您的前列腺。
  • 針吸活組織檢查:利用針管插入前列腺取出一些組織,以分析是否是癌細胞。

Movember Hong Kong(Movember Foundation的一部分)是致力於改善全球男性健康的領先非營利組織。據Movember Foundation稱,越早診斷從而能存活5年以上的機會為98%,如果發現較晚,存活率會降至26% 。

前列腺癌的階段

為了診斷出患者前列腺癌的期數,大多數醫生會使用TNM分期系統,有助於描述腫瘤生長的程度。.

  • 第1期:癌腫瘤體積小,在前列腺中緩慢生長,因此醫生在肛探檢查時不太能測驗到。
  • 第2期:癌腫瘤仍在前列腺內部,但由於比第1期癌腫瘤大,因此可以被醫生檢查出。
  • 第3期:癌腫瘤生長在前列腺外。它們可能已經生長到精囊,但未到達膀胱或直腸。已經發展到這一階段的癌腫瘤在治療後有可能復發。
  • 第4期:癌腫瘤處於最嚴重的階段,因為它已擴散到附近的器官,例如膀胱、直腸或附近的淋巴結。儘管有些可以治愈,但大多數的第4期癌症無法治愈。對於無法治癒的癌症,治療的目的是盡可能長時間地控制癌症,並在可能的情況下改善患者的生活質素。

怎樣治療前列腺癌?

治療取決於疾病的類型和階段。前列腺癌一般治療選項有:

  • 手術干預:主要手術是前列腺根治性切除術,在手術中,外科醫生會切除整個前列腺,以及周圍的一些組織和精囊。通常,當癌症僅限於前列腺癌還未擴散到前列腺癌之外時,才會進行手術。
  • 放射治療:這種治療是直接將放射線對準腫瘤。它可以用X射線或其他高能量射線殺滅異常細胞。通常,這可以作為避免手術的方法,或者在某些情況下,可以在手術後進行。
  • 化學療法:給予藥物以阻止細胞的生長。
  • 荷爾蒙療法:睪酮是一種男性荷爾蒙,是前列腺細胞生長的主要動力。因此,荷爾蒙療法試圖減低睪酮產生。
  • 免疫療法:這是使用藥物來刺激患者自身的免疫系統,以識別和破壞癌細胞。前列腺癌的免疫療法包括:
  1. Sipuleucel-T:一種疫苗,針對患有轉移性前列腺癌,而且對荷爾蒙治療有抵抗力的男性。
  2. PD-1抑制劑:它們是“免疫檢查點抑制劑”,一類免疫療法,能夠阻斷掩蓋癌細胞的化學信號並激活免疫細胞殺滅腫瘤。吉舒達 (Pembrolizumab)是PD-1抑制劑的其中一個例子

腫瘤科醫生 – 香港全方位指南

在香港治療前列腺癌的費用是多少?

香港公營部門的治療費用:

對於持香港身份證的合資格人士,住院費用為入院費75港幣,每日120港幣。不包括需要的額外藥物或其他注射劑。

沒有香港身分證的非合資格人士,住院費用為每日5,100港幣。

請注意在公營部門的輪候時間,可能會非常長。有關詳細資訊,請致電2300 6555與醫院管理局聯繫。

香港私家部門的治療費用:

前列腺癌的治療費用取決於患者的病情。不同的階段需要不同的手術程序,因此最好向醫生查詢並討論最適合您情況的選擇。在香港,費用也是根據房間的類型(私人、半私人、多人病房)、醫生費、藥物費和每個醫院或診所的管理費有所不同,因此可能會有很大的差異。

私家部門的診症收費從800港幣到2,000港幣不等,香港私家部門的一輪化療週期從12,000港幣到25,000港幣不等。放射治療的費用從30,000港幣到150,000港幣不等,但是在很大程度上取決於您醫生分配的劑量。這些是估算值,僅供參考。

* 以上列出的收費資訊是截至2019年7月調查所得,以港元計算。如有不準確或錯漏之處,本網站概不負責,亦不承擔相關之責任。在前往診所之前,最好先提前打電話以確保獲得最新資訊。

香港保險會包括前列腺癌的治療費用嗎?

根據AD MediLink,前列腺癌手術通常在醫院/外科手術的收益下獲得報銷,而化學療法/放射療法通常在癌症的承保範圍內得到報銷。通常,高端醫療計劃將全額補償癌症治療費用,而沒有任何分項限制,而本地計劃則會有分項限制。若有任何醫療保險方面的問題,請聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢。

香港的有用資源

醫學相關的內容由Dr. Patricia Poon 潘智文醫生於2019年7月17日審核。她在1995年於南澳洲阿德萊德大學畢業。隨後在香港伊利沙伯醫院接受了腫瘤學培訓,潘醫生於2002年成為皇家放射科醫學院院士,於2005年獲得香港放射科醫學院院士和香港醫學院放射科院士獎學金。2010年,她還獲得了英國卡迪夫大學舒緩醫學碩士學位。 除了在香港伊利沙伯醫院接受培訓外,她還在香港浸信會醫院擔任腫瘤顧問醫生,直到2014年。她目前在香港擔任私家臨床腫瘤學家。

Prostate Cancer in Hong Kong: Symptoms, Screening and Treatment

In Hong Kong, prostate cancer has seen the largest increase in cancer diagnosis for men in the past 20 years. According to the Hong Kong Cancer Registry, prostate cancer is the third most common male cancer after colorectal cancer and lung cancer, affecting nearly 2000 men each year. Prostate cancer is the no. 4 cause of cancer deaths for men in Hong Kong. 

What is Prostate Cancer?

The prostate gland is underneath the bladder and in front of the rectum. Prostate cancer appears when cells in the prostate gland begin to grow out of control. The cancerous cells can spread to other areas of the body, causing new problems mostly in bones and lymph nodes. Only men have a prostate gland, which makes it one of the biggest men’s health conditions worldwide.  

Signs and Symptoms

At its earliest stage, prostate cancer does not have any symptoms. However, as it develops, the following symptoms can gradually appear:

  • Difficulty passing urine; a slow and weak stream of urine
  • Blood in the urine
  • Urge to urinate frequently at night
  • Pain in the lower back, pelvis and hips
  • Discomfort or pain while sitting
  • Erectile dysfunction
  • Blood in semen

Causes of Prostate Cancer

Although the exact causes of prostate cancer are not fully known, a number of factors are understood to increase the risk of developing it:

  • Age: Older people are at a greater risk: 6 in 10 cases are men aged 65 or above. Prostate cancer is rare in men below 50 years old, but the number of younger patients is increasing. 
  • Obesity: Recent research suggests there may be a link between obesity and prostate cancer. 
  • Ethnic group: Prostate cancer is more common in African-American men and Caribbean men of African descent than in Caucasian or Asian men. The reason behind this is not entirely clear.
  • Family history: Having a male relative who had prostate cancer when he was young increases risks of getting prostate cancer. In addition, the research also shows that risks of developing prostate cancer may be higher if having a close female relative who developed breast cancer.

Prevention 

There is no proven prevention strategy but certain actions can be taken to reduce the risk, including:

  • Maintain a healthy weight
  • Have a healthy and balanced diet
  • Exercise most days of the week
  • Avoid smoking and alcohol consumption 
  • Receive screening regularly after the age of 50

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Screening & Diagnosis 

As early prostate cancer is asymptomatic, screening is an important step towards early diagnosis to start treatment as soon as possible to prevent progression. 

Doctors would usually screen prostate cancer by:

  • PSA (prostate-specific antigen tests): PSA is a substance produced by the prostate gland. Doctors usually take blood samples. A high amount of PSA may point to prostate cancer.
  • DRE (digital rectal examination): Doctors will check the size and shape of the prostate gland by inserting a gloved finger into the rectum to feel the prostate.  

Further investigations are required after screening if there is anything abnormal about the screening results. Diagnosis of prostate cancer is done by:

  • Ultrasound: A small probe is inserted into the rectum. The probe uses sound waves to create a picture of your prostate gland.
  • Prostate Tissue Sampling: This is done by inserting a thin needle into the prostate to collect tissue, for analysis of possible cancer cells.

According to Movember Hong Kong, part of the Movember Foundation which is the leading non-profit organization fighting to improve men’s health globally, the chance of survival beyond 5 years is 98% with early diagnosis, and the rate drops to 26% if detected late. 

Stages of Prostate Cancer

In order to determine the stage of a patient’s prostate cancer, most doctors would use the TNM staging system, which helps describe different aspects of the cancer’s growth.

  • Stage 1: The cancer is small and grows slowly within the prostate gland, so it is unlikely to be detected during an examination by a doctor. 
  • Stage 2: Cancers are also inside the prostate but can be detected by a doctor as they are larger than stage 1 cancers.
  • Stage 3: Cancers grow outside the prostate. They may have reached the seminal vesicles but not the bladder or rectum. Cancers that have developed to this stage are more likely to return after treatment.
  • Stage 4: The cancer is in its most serious stage as it has spread more widely to nearby organs such as the bladder, rectum or nearby lymph nodes. While a few may be curable, most stage 4 cancers are not. With incurable cancers, treatments aim at keeping cancer controlled for as long as possible, and if possible improve the patient’s quality of life.

How to treat it?

Treatment depends upon the type and the stage of the disease. The general treatment options for prostate cancer are:

  • Surgical Intervention: The main one is radical prostatectomy, where the surgeon removes the entire prostate gland, plus some surrounding tissues and the seminal vesicles. Surgery is usually undertaken when the cancer is confined only to the prostate and has not spread beyond.
  • Radiation therapy: This involves exposing the area to radiation; it can be either with x-rays or other high-energy rays to kill abnormal cells. Usually, this can be done as a step to avoid surgery, or in some cases, it can be done after surgery.
  • Chemotherapy: Drugs are given to stop the unwanted growth of cells.
  • Hormone Therapy: Testosterone, a male hormone, serves as the main drive for the growth of prostate cells. Therefore, hormone therapy seeks to suppress testosterone production.
  • Immunotherapy: It is the use of medicines to stimulate a patient’s own immune system in order to recognize and destroy cancer cells. Immunotherapy treatments for prostate cancer are:
  1. Sipuleucel-T: a cell based vaccine for men with metastatic prostate cancer resistant to hormone therapy).
  2. PD-1 inhibitors: they are are “immune checkpoint inhibitors”, a class of immunotherapies that block chemical signals masking cancer cells, and activate immune cells to kill tumors. One example of PD-1 inhibitors is Pembrolizumab.

The Expert Guide to Oncologists in Hong Kong

What is the cost of Prostate Cancer Treatment in Hong Kong?

Cost of treatment in Hong Kong’s Public Sector:

For eligible persons with a HKID card, the cost for inpatient service is a $75 admission fee and $120 per day. Extra medications or other injections needed are not included.

For non-eligible persons without a HKID card, the cost for inpatient general hospital is $5,100 per day.

Beware of waiting times which can be very long in the public sector. For details, call the Hospital Authority at 2300 6555.

Cost of treatment in Hong Kong’s Private Sector:

The cost of prostate cancer treatment depends on the patient’s condition. Different stages require different surgical procedures therefore it is best to consult a doctor and discuss the options that best suit your situation. In Hong Kong, fees are also determined according to the choice of room (private, semi private, ward), doctor fees, medication fees, and administration fees of each hospital or clinic, therefore it may vary significantly. 

A consultation in the private sector ranges from $800 to $2,000 and a cycle of chemotherapy in Hong Kong’s private sector can range from $12,000 to $25,000. Fee for radiation therapy can range from $30,000 to $150,000 but depends highly on the number of doses assigned by your doctor. These are estimates, for information only.

* All amounts are in HKD and were last updated in July 2019. No responsibility is accepted for any inaccuracies, errors or omissions. It is always best to call ahead to make sure the information is still up-to-date.

Does insurance usually cover the cost of Prostate Cancer treatment in Hong Kong?

According to AD MediLink, prostate cancer surgery is usually reimbursed under hospital/surgical benefits whereas chemotherapy/radiation therapies are usually reimbursed under cancer cover. Generally, high-end medical plans will reimburse cancer treatments in full without any sub-limit whereas local plans will have sub-limits. If you have any health insurance questions, contact an AD MediLink expert at +852 2606 2668 or [email protected].

Useful Resources in Hong Kong

Medical-related content was reviewed by Dr. Patricia Poon on July 17, 2019. She graduated from the University of Adelaide, South Australia in 1995. She subsequently received her Oncology training at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Hong Kong and became a fellow of the Royal College of Radiologists in 2002. Dr. Poon earned the Fellowship of Hong Kong College Radiologists and Fellowship of the Hong Kong Academy of Medicine (Radiology) in 2005. She also obtained a Master degree in Palliative Medicine at Cardiff University, U.K. in 2010. Besides training at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Hong Kong, she was a Consultant Oncologist at the Hong Kong Baptist Hospital until 2014. She is currently working as a private Clinical Oncologist in Hong Kong.