大腸癌指南:原因、症狀、評估及治療方法

大腸癌指發生在大腸(結腸)的癌症。大腸的末端是直腸,生長在這個部位的癌就叫做直腸癌。大腸癌又稱為結直腸癌。因此術語「大腸直腸癌」經常被使用。這是大腸癌的香港完整指南,包括篩查和治療的選擇,大腸癌學家和肝病專家Dr. Ernest Li 李恆輝醫生在香港的公營和私營醫療健康領域擁有豐富的經驗。

香港大腸癌發病情況

大腸癌是香港最常見的癌症,根據香港癌症資料統計中心的數字顯示,在2016年,大腸癌佔全部癌症發病個案的17.3%,是香港癌病的第二殺手。本港於2016年有5,437新症確診患大腸癌,3,169宗為男性,2,268宗為女性,而男女患者比例則約為1.4 比1。按性別劃分的話,每十萬人口計算的粗發病率分別為男性93.9及女性57.3,而特定年齡組發病率則分別為男性50.6及女性31.4。在2017年,大腸癌導致2138人死亡,佔了癌症死亡總數的14.9%。

大腸癌的常見跡象、徵狀

早期大腸癌通常徵狀少,甚至無任何徵狀。常見的徵狀包括

  • 便秘或腹瀉
  • 糞便形態改變
  • 直腸出血或大便帶血
  • 下腹不適、腹部發脹或腸絞痛
  • 排便疼痛
  • 大便時有尚未排清的感覺
  • 體重無故下降
  • 缺鐵性貧血

大腸癌成因

大腸癌大多由腸瘜肉演變而來。大腸內壁會有細胞不正常生長,形成瘜肉。但這些瘜肉大部份為良性的,唯有小部份可能發展成為惡性腫瘤,演變成大腸癌。瘜肉產生病變、形成癌細胞的過程可能長達10年。如有發現,應及早治療。但若原發的癌細胞得不到治理,可能會局部侵犯周邊組織,還可經血液和淋巴系統擴散至身體各部位。

大腸癌的的高風險因素與飲食習慣有關,高動物性脂肪、高蛋白質和低纖維的飲食習慣有可能增加患大腸癌的風險。此外,肥胖、缺乏運動、吸煙、飲酒及遺傳因素也會增加患大腸癌的風險。

大腸癌期數

大腸癌期別判定取決於是否已擴散到結腸或直腸壁層和/或淋巴結或其他器官,以及擴散程度。

第零期:結腸和直腸有發現瘜肉,腫瘤只入侵至腸壁面層黏膜,癌細胞尚未增長和擴散,又稱為原位癌。

第一期:腫瘤入侵結直腸壁下層黏膜,但尚未超越內壁,未擴散至淋巴結或其他器官。

第二期:腫瘤入侵至結直腸內壁深處,但尚未超越結腸,但尚未擴散至淋巴結或鄰近組織。

第三期:腫瘤入侵至結直腸壁外膜層 ,擴散至淋巴結,但尚未擴散至身體其他部位。

第四期:腫瘤超越結腸壁,腫瘤逐漸擴散到身體其他器官及組織,如肝或肺。腫瘤不一定超越結直腸內壁,亦不一定擴散至淋巴結。

預防大腸癌

日常生活中注意以下要點可減低患上大腸癌的風險:

  • 進食足夠纖維(水果、蔬菜和全穀物類)
  • 減少進食飽和脂肪、紅肉和經加工醃製的肉類
  • 進行適量運動
  • 保持健康體重,保持BMI值在18.5至22.9之間
  • 不吸煙、少喝酒 
  • 定期做瘜肉檢查/大腸鏡篩查

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

大腸癌篩查

91%的大腸癌患者確診時年齡超過45歲。美國癌症協會建議,患大腸癌風險比一般人高的人士應在45歲後定期篩查,而有腸癌家族史的人士應盡早考慮大腸癌篩查。如果及時篩查、檢查,大腸癌是可以預防、治療和根治的。

常見的大腸癌篩查方法有三種。你可與你的基層醫療醫生商討,決定最合適的篩查方法。

1. 大便隱血測試 (FOBT):

在測試之前,基層醫療醫生會評估你的身體狀況是否適合參加計劃。確認參加計劃後,受檢者只需用醫生提供的採便管在家收集樣本。大便隱血測試能夠將大便中少量的血液檢測出來。採集樣本後,將採便管交回,醫生便會告知測試結果。

如果大便中驗出隱血,測試結果呈陽性,就可能是腸瘜肉或大腸癌所致。檢查過程中發現瘜肉就會被醫生立即切除,以減低瘜肉變癌的機會。如果測試結果呈陰性,建議繼續留意有否出現大腸癌的症狀並每兩年再接受測試。請留意,約80%的腸瘜肉不會出血,因此大便隱血測試也可能呈陰性。

2. 大腸鏡檢查 Colonoscopy

結腸內視鏡檢查(腸鏡)是利用一條可彎曲的軟管,其末端附有內視鏡或光纖鏡頭,由肛門進入直腸,檢查大腸和小腸遠端的情況。大腸鏡檢查是現時檢查下消化道的最佳方法。檢查過程約需十五分鐘至一小時。檢查前只可進食流質食物,並做好檢查前準備。大腸鏡檢查過程中,可抽取組織樣本作化驗,同時切除瘜肉。大腸鏡是現時預防大腸癌的最佳方法,減低大腸癌發生率達70%。

更多關於大腸鏡的資訊,可前往:

The Complete Guide to Colonoscopy in Hong Kong

3. 軟式乙狀結腸鏡檢查 Flexible sigmoidoscopy

軟式乙狀結腸鏡檢查是以內視鏡技術來觀察大腸(結腸)的下半部。軟式乙狀結腸鏡從肛門放進大腸內,末端附有攝錄鏡頭,讓醫生檢視直腸和乙狀結腸內壁。軟式乙狀結腸鏡檢查過程中,有需要時醫生會取活組織往化驗或切除腸內的瘜肉。但軟式乙狀結腸鏡檢查亦有缺點,因無法更深入,醫生無法檢查整條大腸,發現其他腫瘤或瘜肉。

香港的大腸癌篩查計劃

政府資助的「大腸癌篩查計劃」已恆常化,並分階段擴展至50至75歲及沒有症狀的香港居民。

更多相關資訊,請按此

香港哪些醫生提供大腸癌篩查服務?

查看香港境內提供大腸癌篩查服務的基層醫療醫生最新名單,請按此

大腸癌的治療方法

大腸癌患者的存活率與發現同接受治療的時機有極大關係。若篩查發現癌細胞,醫生會根據大腸癌的種類、大小和位置、對患者健康的影響,以及患者的健康狀況而決定最適合的治療方案。

治療大腸癌最常見的三種方法包括:外科腫瘤切除手術、化學治療或放射治療。 

1. 腫瘤切除手術 Tumour removal surgery

手術切除腫瘤、鄰近淋巴結及周圍健康組織或結腸,常稱作外科切除手術。手術是大腸癌最常見的治療方法。手術治療的副作用包括胃痛、便祕、腹瀉和胃部不適。近年來,醫生通過不同方法,如採用微創手術和鎮靜藥進行一些大腸癌切除手術,不但減低了患者出現併發症的機會,還能加快患者康復的過程。 

2. 化學治療 Chemotherapy

化學治療是以抗癌藥物來破壞身體中癌細胞的治療法,簡稱化療。化療也可以用於治療其他癌症,但對於大腸癌,如果腫瘤較大或已擴散至淋巴結,通常會在手術後再施以化療。化療有助消滅殘餘的癌細胞,以降低日後復發風險。若做手術前給予化療,有助於縮細腫瘤體積,有利進行根治性切除。在腫瘤無法手術切除,或甚至已經擴散至身體其他部位的情況下,化療還可用作紓緩大腸癌症狀。化療有時也合併放射治療共同使用。常見的副作用包括嘔吐、噁心、腹瀉、神經病變和口腔潰爛等,但是這些副作用也可以通過服藥得以控制。

3. 放射治療 Radiation therapy

放射治療是利用高能量輻射線,來破壞癌細胞。通常可以同時給予化療。較高劑量下,放射治療可殺滅癌細胞,或通過破壞癌細胞DNA來減慢其生長速度。DNA受到破壞將停止細胞分裂,導致細胞衰亡。受損細胞死亡後,會被人體分解清除。

在香港治療大腸癌的費用

香港公立醫療部門治療大腸癌收費

持有香港身份證的符合資格人士入院費75港元,住院費每日120港元,覆蓋手術、化學治療和放射治療費用,額外使用的藥品和注射品則作另行收費。

對無香港身份證的非符合資格人士,費用入院費為每日5,100港元

請留意輪候時間,在公營部門可能會非常長。

詳情可查詢醫院管理局資訊熱線2300 6555。

香港大腸癌治療私家服務收費

大腸癌手術(腫瘤切除手術)的具體費用按患者病情決定。不同期數的癌症需要的手術各有不同,因此最好詢問醫生意見,做出最適合個人的治療選擇。在香港,醫療費用受各種因素影響,包括每間私家醫院或診所的病房選擇(私家病房、半私家病房)、醫生費用、醫藥費和行政費用都各有關聯,費用高低各有差別。私家服務的化療費用可能由925港元至21,050港元不等,結直腸手術費用則從62,000港元至185,000港元不等。由醫院管理局轉介的門診病例在做任何檢查都可享受高達35%的優惠。放射治療費用則可達12,000港元,主要由醫生規劃的劑量決定。

香港的保險對大腸癌有無保險賠償?

根據本網站合作夥伴AD MediLink 提供的資訊,大腸癌手術通常可獲得住院/手術賠償,化學治療/放射治療則可獲得癌症賠償。高端醫療計劃通常會對癌症治療進行全額賠償,不另定分項限額,而本地提供的醫療計劃通常設有分項限額。若希望了解更多健康保險方面的細節,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢。

文章由Dr. Ernest Li 李恆輝醫生於2019年5月28日審閱。李恆輝醫生是香港華裔加拿大胃腸病學家和肝病學家。李醫生在麥基爾大學(McGill University) 物理學科畢業後,在香港中文大學學習醫學。然後,他在政府醫院接受了12年的培訓,並獲得了腸胃病、肝病和內科方面的專業資格。目前,他是在中環設有辦事處的私人執業醫生,還是醫院管理局的兼職助理顧問。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Colon Cancer in Hong Kong: Causes, Symptoms, Screening and Treatment

Colon cancer is a type of cancer that starts in the large intestine (colon). When the cancer starts in the lowest end of the colon (rectum), it is called rectal cancer. The term colorectal cancer is thus often used. Here is a complete guide to colon cancer in Hong Kong including options for screening and treatment, with Dr. Ernest Li 李恒輝醫生, a Gastroenterologist and Hepatologist with experience in Hong Kong’s public and private healthcare sectors.

Colon cancer statistics in Hong Kong

Colorectal cancer is the most common cancer in Hong Kong. According to the Hong Kong Cancer Registry, it accounted for 17.3% of all new cancer cases in 2016 and is the 2nd leading cause of cancer deaths in Hong Kong. There were 5,437 new cases of colorectal cancer in 2016: 3,169 cases for males and 2,268 cases for females. The male to female ratio was about 1.4 to 1. The crude incidence rates were 93.9 for male and 57.3 for female per 100,000 population of respective sex. The age-standardised incidence rates were 50.6 for male and 31.4 for female per 100,000 standard population. In 2017, 2138 deaths were caused by colorectal cancer, accounting for 14.9% of all cancer deaths. More than 90% of colorectal cancer cases occurred in patients 50 years of age or older.

Signs and symptoms of colon cancer

People often experience little or no symptoms in early stages of colon cancer. Common symptoms include:

  • diarrhea or constipation
  • changes in stool consistency
  • rectal bleeding or blood in the stool
  • abdominal pain, cramps, bloating or gas
  • pain during bowel movements
  • feeling of incomplete emptying after bowel movements
  • unusual weight loss
  • iron deficiency anemia

Causes of colon cancer

Colon cancer occurs because of an abnormal growth of cells on the wall of the large bowel.

Most colorectal cancers begin as a small polyp. Polyps are usually benign, but some may gradually develop into cancer. The development of a polyp into cancer may take more than 10 years, but it must be treated as early as possible, otherwise these cancer cells may invade and damage nearby organs, and can also spread to other parts of the body via the bloodstream and lymphatic system.

Risk factors for colon cancer are diet of high animal fat and protein while low in fibre, obesity, lack of exercise, smoking, alcohol and hereditary factors.

Stages of colon cancer

Colorectal cancer stages are determined by the extent to which the disease has spread through those layers of the colon or rectum wall and/or into lymph nodes or other organs.

Stage 0: Polyps are found in the colon or rectum. The cancer is still in a very early stage and is inside the mucosal (innermost) layer of the colon.  This stage is also known as carcinoma-in-situ.

Stage 1: The cancer has spread to the next layer of tissue but it has not touched the lymph nodes or other organs.

Stage 2: The cancer has reached the outer layers of the colon, but it has not spread beyond the colon. Lymph nodes or other organs are not touched.

Stage 3: The cancer has grown to the outer layers of the colon and it has reached lymph nodes. It has not spread to distant sites.

Stage 4: The cancer has reached other tissues beyond the wall of the colon. As stage 4 progresses, the cancer reaches distant parts of the body, such as the liver or lungs. The cancer may or may not have grown through the wall of the colon or rectum, and lymph nodes may or may not have been affected.

Prevention of colon cancer

Primary prevention needs to be implemented in our daily lives. These include:

  • Increase intake of dietary fibre (fruits, vegetables, whole grains)
  • Decrease consumption of saturated fat and red and processed meat
  • Regular exercise
  • Maintain a healthy body weight with body mass index between 18.5 to 22.9
  • Avoid smoking and excessive alcohol
  • Screening colon polyps: regular colonoscopy

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Screening of colon cancer

Around 91 percent of patients who receive a diagnosis of colon cancer are over 45 years old. According to the American Cancer Society, it is recommended that people of average risk of colon cancer start regular screening at age of 45 and those with a family history of colon cancer consider colon cancer screening early. With early screening and testing, colon cancer is preventable, treatable and beatable.

There are 3 common screening tests for colon cancer. You should consult with your primary care doctor to decide which of these screening tests is most suitable for you.

1. Faecal Occult Blood Test (FOBT):

Participants must first consult a primary care doctor to be assessed on medical fitness. After that, participants must take a Faecal Occult Blood Test (FOBT) that can be done at home using the tubes provided by the doctor. This FOBT test can detect small amounts of blood in stool. Participants shall return the tubes and will be notified of the result by their primary care doctors.

If blood is visible and the result of the test is positive, it means that polyps or cancers might exist. These polyps have to be removed using colonoscopy immediately, in order to prevent and reduce the chance for them to develop into cancer. If the result of the FOBT is negative, make sure to keep track of the colorectal cancer symptoms and make sure to take the FOBT test again in every 2 years. Note that around 80% of colon polyps do not bleed, therefore FOBT would be negative.

2. Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy is the endoscopic examination of the large bowel and the distal part of the small bowel with a CCD camera or a fiber optic camera on a flexible tube passed through the anus. It is currently the best method to examine the lower digestive tract. The procedure usually takes about 15 minutes to an hour. Before the test, participants must go on a low residue diet and bowel preparation. During the colonoscopy process, tissue samples for laboratory examination can be obtained and polyps can be removed. Colonoscopy is currently the best method to prevent the development of colon cancer, reducing the chance of colon cancer by up to 70%.

To learn more about colonoscopy in Hong Kong:

The Complete Guide to Colonoscopy in Hong Kong

3. Flexible sigmoidoscopy

A flexible sigmoidoscopy is used to evaluate the lower part of the large intestine (colon). A thin, flexible tube (sigmoidoscope) is inserted into the rectum with a tiny video camera at the tip of the tube allowing the doctor to see the inside of the rectum and most of the sigmoid colon. When necessary, tissue samples (biopsies) can be taken through the scope during a flexible sigmoidoscopy exam. However, flexible sigmoidoscopy alone cannot detect any cancers or polyps located further inside the colon because it doesn’t allow to show the entire colon to the doctor.

Hong Kong’s Colorectal Cancer Screening Programme

The Colorectal Cancer Screening Programme is a government-subsidized program that has been regularised and will be implemented to asymptomatic Hong Kong residents aged between 50 and 75 in phases.

To learn more, click here.

Where to get colon cancer screening in Hong Kong?

Here is an updated list of the private and public primary care doctors and clinics under the Colorectal Cancer Screening Programme, providing consultations across Hong Kong.

How to treat colon cancer?

Colon or colorectal cancer has a high curability if detected and treated early. If screening results detect cancerous cells, specialist doctors will conduct consultation and discuss the most suitable treatment each patient needs to take considering its size and location, the possible side effects of the treatment and the current health condition of the patient itself.

The 3 most common ways to treat colorectal cancer are through tumour removal surgery, chemotherapy and radiation therapy.

1. Tumour removal surgery

Surgery is the removal of the tumor, nearby lymph nodes, and some surrounding healthy tissue or colon, often called surgical resection. This is the most common treatment for colorectal cancer. Side effects of the surgery include pain in the stomach, constipation, diarrhea and irritation around the stomach. However, recently there are more and more ways that doctors use to minimize the complications of the surgery as well as speeding up the recovery, such as by using minimally invasive surgical techniques or sedatives.

2. Chemotherapy

Chemotherapy is the use of anti-cancer drugs to destroy cancer cells. Chemotherapy can be used to treat other forms of cancers as well but for colon cancer it is usually given post surgery if the cancer is larger or has spread to the lymph nodes. It may help to kill any cancer cells that remain in the body and thus reduce the risk of cancer recurrence. If used before the surgery, it may shrink a larger cancer and make it easier to be removed. Chemotherapy can also be used to relieve symptoms of colon cancer that can’t be removed with surgery or that has spread to other areas of the body. Sometimes it’s combined with radiation therapy. Side effects include vomiting, nausea, diarrhea, neuropathy, or mouth sores but medications exist to help prevent or reduce these side effects.

3. Radiation therapy

Radiation therapy is the use of high energy radiation to destroy cancer cells. It is commonly conducted together with chemotherapy. At high doses, radiation therapy kills cancer cells or slows their growth by damaging the cancer cells’  DNA. Damaged DNA will stop dividing or die. When the damaged cells die, they are broken down and removed by the body.

What is the cost of colon cancer treatment in Hong Kong?

Cost of colon cancer treatment in Hong Kong’s public sector:

For eligible persons with a HKID card, the cost is $75 admission fee and $120 per day, covering surgery fee, chemotherapy fee, and radiotherapy fee. Extra medications or other injections needed are not included.

For non-eligible persons without a HKID card, the cost is $5,100 per day.

Beware of waiting times which can be very long in the public sector.

For details, call the Hospital Authority at 2300 6555.

Cost of colon cancer treatment in Hong Kong’s private sector: 

The cost of colon cancer surgery (tumour removal surgery) depends on the patient’s condition. Different stages require different surgical procedures therefore it is best to consult a doctor and discuss the options that best suit your situation. In Hong Kong, fees are also determined according to the choice of room (private, semi private, ward), doctor fees, medication fees, and administration fees of each hospital or clinic, therefore it may vary significantly. Chemotherapy in private sectors range from $925 to $21,050 and the colorectal surgery can range from $62,500 to $185,000. Cases referred by the Hospital Authority’s (HA) will receive up to 35% discount for all kinds of examinations to be conducted as outpatient cases. Fee for radiation therapy can reach up to $12,000 but it depends highly on the number of doses assigned by your doctor.

Does insurance usually cover colon cancer treatment in Hong Kong?

According to AD MediLink, colon cancer surgery is usually reimbursed under hospital/surgical benefits whereas chemotherapy/radiation therapies are usually reimbursed under cancer cover. Generally, high-end medical plans will reimburse cancer treatments in full without any sub-limit whereas local plans will have sub-limits. If you have health insurance questions, contact an expert at AD MediLink at [email protected].

Article reviewed on May 28, 2019 by Dr. Ernest Li 李恒輝醫生. Dr. Ernest Li is a Hong Kong based Chinese Canadian Gastroenterologist and Hepatologist. After graduating in Physics at McGill University, Dr. Li studied medicine at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He then received 12 years of training at government hospitals, and achieved specialist qualifications in gastroenterology, hepatology and internal medicine. Currently, he is a private practitioner with an office in Central, and also a part-time associate consultant for Hospital Authority.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.