什麼是升糖指數?

最後更新日期 七月 20, 2021.

升糖指數的定義 | 高、中、低升糖食物例子 | 影響升糖指數的因素 | 低升糖飲食的益處 | 低升糖餐單

許多糖尿病患者都誤以為自己必須完全避免食用糖、澱粉或任何種類的甜食。事實上,碳水化合物是身體主要的能量來源,過度抑制糖分吸收反而可能會造成反效果。大多數糖尿病患者都比較注重減少卡路里攝取量;然而,他們最大的敵人其實是「高升糖食物」,也是糖尿病患者在用餐後血糖飆升的元兇。本文將會帶你了解升糖指數的應用,認識不同高、中、低升糖食物例子。

血糖指數的定義

升糖指數 (Glycemic Index / GI) 是根據進食碳水化合物食物後的血糖升高速度,以葡萄糖為參考食物(100分),給予這些食物由0-100的評分。

進食高升糖食物後,血糖會迅速飆升,並即時轉化為能量。然而,這種能量供給比較短暫,飢餓感亦會很快重現,所以高升糖飲食容易導致暴飲暴食和體重增加。另一方面,低升糖食物對血糖的影響較慢且較穩定,能提供持久的飽腹感和穩定的能量來源,有助於減少食物攝取量和維持體重。

高、中、低升糖食物例子

血糖指數基金會根據GI將碳水化合物食物分為3類:

高升糖食物(70分以上):白米、粥、白麵包、甜包、薯蓉、白糖、西瓜等。

中升糖食物(56-69分):糙米、小麥麵包、米粉、烏冬、木瓜、芒果等。

低升糖食物(55分或以下):燕麥、大麥、蕎麥麵、粉絲、意大利面、乾豆、蘋果、橙、奇異果等。

此外,血糖負荷 (Glycaemic Load / GL) 也是一項管理血糖的重要指標,用以計算每份食物的碳水化合物總含量。計算GL的公式為:每份食物的 GI X 碳水化合物含量 (以克為單位)。我們每餐會食用不同GI值的食物,所以GL是一個較GI實際和準確的升糖量度指標。

什麼因素會影響升糖指數?

一般來說,食物中的碳水化合物越容易被轉化成單醣,食物的GI越高,反之亦然。以下是影響升糖指數的因素:

食物的烹飪和加工

一些經過加工、精製或長時間烹飪的食品往往有較高的GI,因為它們在消化過程中能較快被分解,並在短時間內將單醣釋放到血液裡,導致血糖飆升。例如粥、白麵包、薯蓉、糊狀水果或果汁。

食物的生熟程度

以香蕉為例,剛被採摘時GI約為30分,成熟後可升至51分。食物的大小、結構、粘度和其他物理因素也可能影響GI。

食物的成分

食物的營養成分,尤其是脂肪、蛋白質、可溶性纖維、果糖和乳糖,也會影響GI。因為身體需要更多時間來消化和吸收這些營養物質,變相會延遲糖分釋放到血液的過程,減緩升糖速度。

其他因素

植酸鹽 (phytates)(存在於全麥麵包和穀物中)是植物中磷(phosphorus)的儲備,它會減慢食物的吸收速度,降低GI。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

低升糖飲食有什麼好處?

血糖控制

美國臨床營養學雜誌發表的一篇評論指出,低升糖飲食可以調節糖尿病患者的血糖水平和體重。進一步的研究顯示,低升糖飲食可以改善妊娠糖尿病,即非糖尿病女性在懷孕期間出現高血糖的症狀。

減肥

除了調節血糖水平,低升糖和低卡路里飲食還有助控制體重。低升糖食物中的碳水化合物在體內被消化和吸收的速度較慢,有效維持飽腹感,也能減低進食的衝動,有助於體重管理。

疾病預防

國際碳水化合物質量聯盟指出,低升糖飲食能有效控制血糖,預防慢性疾病,如糖尿病、肥胖、心血管疾病、中風,甚至癌症等。

以下是一些低升糖餐單:

早餐

2片全麥麵包 + 1隻水煮蛋 + 1杯低脂牛奶 或

1碗燕麥片 + ¼個木瓜 + 1杯脫脂牛奶 或

1碗牛肉番茄湯米粉 + 1杯低糖豆漿

午餐

1碗花椰菜飯配蝦 + 1碗時令蔬菜 + 1 碗玉米湯 或

1碗冷蕎麥麵 + 1份什菜沙律 + 1份冷豆腐 + 1杯綠

⅔碗(去皮)雞飯(無醬)+ 1碗蔬菜(少油)+ 1杯橙汁

晚餐

1碗雞肉米粉 + 1碗時令蔬菜 + 1個奇異果 或

1份(去皮)烤雞肉 + 1個烤薯仔 + 1份沙拉 或

1份鯖魚 + 1碗蕎麥麵 + 1份什菜沙律 + 1杯綠茶

零食

1小隻香蕉 或

2個奇異果 或

3塊約10g黑巧克力

每次用膳前都對餐單上的食物作評估,逐項對照GI,自然是不切實際的,但大原則上你可以考慮的是,低升糖食物通常含有較高纖維,加工程度亦相對較低。

FAQs

高升糖食物對身體有害嗎?

不一定。因為食用少量高升糖食物或食用大量高升糖食物對血糖水平的影響相若。此外,即便是高升糖水果,如西瓜和菠蘿,只要適量食用,並不會對健康造成影響。簡而言之,健康飲食的關鍵在於食物的攝取量。

升糖指數越低,代表食物越健康?

不一定,升糖指數只是其中一種食物營養的參考指標。僅用升糖指數判斷食物的營養價值並不恰當。如上所述,脂肪含量會影響食物的升糖指數,所以一些油炸或高脂肪食物的升糖指數偏低,例如方便麵(GI:47)、春卷(GI:50)和牛角包(GI: 46)等。然而,這些都是不健康的高脂食物,更會增加體內血膽固醇含量。

 

另一方面,一些代餐和健身蛋白飲品都屬於低升糖,因為它們碳水化合物含量很低,但卻含有大量蛋白質和脂肪。長遠而言,這些產品不適宜長期代替正常飲食,因為它們缺乏足夠的碳水化合物含量,有可能會導致營養不均,危及健康。

低升糖飲食可以幫助減肥嗎?

在一定程度上可以。這是因為低升糖食物並不會像高升糖食物那般快速地將碳水化合物分解成單醣,因此低升糖食物會釋放較少糖分到血液中,從而促進脂肪燃燒。要達至減肥效果,身體內燃燒須比消耗的卡路里多,因此,運動和減少卡路里攝取量能有效地達致減肥的效果。均衡飲食、進食低脂肪及低升糖食物,加上定期鍛煉,對減肥都至關重要。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

What is Glycemic Index?

Last updated on July 19, 2021.

Definition of Glycemic Index | Examples of high, medium, low GI foods | Factors affecting GI | Benefits of a low GI diet | Low GI meal plan

Many people with diabetes have a misconception that it is essential to completely avoid eating sugar, starch or any kind of sweet foods. In fact, carbohydrates are the major sources of energy in the body and an excessive suppression can lead to a greater desire for “sugar.” Most diabetic patients place a focus on reducing calories intake in their diet, but their biggest enemy is actually foods with high glycemic index (GI), which can lead to blood glucose spike after meals. This article will help you understand the functions and applications of GI.

Definition of Glycemic Index

Glycemic index (GI) is a measure of the rate of blood sugar rise after eating carbohydrate-containing foods, usually on a scale of 0-100. Glucose is used as a reference food, with a GI score of 100.

Foods with a high glycemic index will quickly raise blood sugar and be converted to provide energy. However, this energy is usually short-lived, and hunger may revisit very soon, easily leading to over-eating and weight gain. On the other hand, foods with a low glycemic index have a slower and more stable influence on blood sugar. These foods provide greater and longer-lasting satiety and more stable sources of energy, hence facilitating the reduction in food intake and body weight maintenance.

Examples of high, medium, low GI foods

The Glycemic Index Foundation classifies the GI of foods into 3 categories:

  • High GI foods (score: 70 or above): white rice, porridge, white bread, sweet bun, mashed potato, white sugar, watermelon, etc.
  • Medium GI foods (score: 56-69): brown rice, wheat bread, rice noodle, udon, papaya, mango, etc.
  • Low GI foods (score: 55 or under): oat, barley, soba noodle, vermicelli, pasta, dry beans, apple, orange, kiwi, etc.

Furthermore, glycaemic load (GL) is often taken into account to calculate the total amount of carbohydrate present per serving of your food. GL is calculated with the following equation: GI amount of carbohydrate (in grams) per serving 100. It is a realistic and accurate measure because normally in a meal, we eat a combination of foods with different GI values.

What factors affect GI?

Generally speaking, the easier the carbohydrate in foods to be metabolized into simple sugars, the higher the GI of the foods, and vice versa. The following are some factors that affect the GI of foods:

Cooking and processing of food

Some processed, refined food products or foods that have been cooked for a long time tend to have higher GI because they break down faster during the digestion process and release the simple sugar into the blood in a shorter time. These foods bring about a blood sugar spike. Examples include porridge, white bread, mashed potatoes, pureed fruit or juice.

Ripeness of food

Taking bananas as an example, their GI is about 30 when raw, but can rise to 51 after ripening. Size, texture, viscosity and other physical factors may also affect the GI of food.

Composition of food

Nutritional components of food, especially high fat, protein, soluble fiber, fructose (a carbohydrate found in fruits) and lactose (a carbohydrate found in milk and dairy products), also affect the GI of the food. Because the body needs more time to digest and absorb these nutrients, the release of sugar into the blood and thus the rise in blood sugar level would be delayed.

Other factors

Phytates (found in wholegrain breads and cereals), a storage form of phosphorus in plants, also slows down the rate of absorption of food and has a low GI.

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

What are the benefits of a low GI diet?

Blood sugar control

A review produced by The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition stated that low GI diets can regulate blood sugar level and body weight in prediabetic or diabetic patients. Further research showed that low GI diets can improve gestational diabetes, a condition in which a non-diabetic woman develops high blood sugar level during pregnancy.

Weight loss

A low GI and low calories diet can bring about weight loss, in addition to regulating blood sugar level. Carbohydrates in low GI foods are digested and absorbed slowly in the body, effective in sustaining the sense of satiety and reducing the urge to eat. Appetite control in the long term promotes weight management.

Disease prevention

According to the International Carbohydrate Quality Consortium, a low GI diet is ideal for blood sugar control, which is effective in preventing and managing chronic conditions such as diabetes, obesity, cardiovascular diseases, stroke and even cancer.

Low GI meal plan

Here are some low GI meal options for your easy reference:

Breakfast

  • 2 slices of whole wheat bread + hard boiled egg + 1 cup of low-fat milk or 
  • Oatmeal + ¼ papaya + 1 cup of skimmed milk or 
  • Beef with rice noodles in tomato soup + 1 cup of low-sugar soy milk

Lunch

  • Cauliflower rice with shrimp and seasonal vegetables + 1 bowl of corn soup or 
  • 1 bowl of cold soba noodles + 1 mixed vegetable salad + 1 tofu + 1 cup of green tea or 
  • ⅔ plate of (peeled) chicken rice (without sauce) + 1 bowl of vegetables (less oil) + 1 cup of orange juice

Dinner

  • Chicken rice noodles + 1 bowl of vegetables + 1 kiwi fruit or
  • Roasted (peeled) chicken + 1 baked potato + salad or
  • Salted mackerel + 1 bowl of soba noodles + 1 mixed vegetable salad + 1 cup of green tea

Snack

  • 1 small banana or
  • 2 kiwi fruits or
  • 3 10g squares of dark chocolate

It may be tedious to browse for the GI of foods every single meal. A general idea is that low GI foods are usually of high fiber content and minimally processed. Keep in mind that it is more important to maintain a balanced diet than to focus on a particular aspect of it, i.e. carbohydrates in the diet.

FAQs

Is high GI food all bad for your body?

Actually not. If you consume a small amount of high GI foods, the effect on blood sugar level is comparable to consuming a large amount of low GI foods. Furthermore, some high GI foods or fruits such as watermelon and pineapple can be healthy if consumed in moderate amounts. In a nutshell, the key to a healthy diet lies in the amount of consumption.

The lower the GI, the healthier the food?

Not necessarily. GI is only one of the reference values, and judging nutritional values of foods solely based on GI can be misleading. As mentioned above, fat content can affect the GI of food, so some fried or high-fat foods can have a low GI, such as instant noodles (GI: 47), spring rolls (GI: 50), and croissants (GI: 46). Nevertheless, such oily foods are unhealthy high-fat foods that raise cholesterol.

 

In addition, some foods that contain low carbohydrates have lower GI. Truth is, some meal replacement products or fitness protein drinks are “low GI”, due to the fact that they are low in carbohydrates but contain a lot of protein and fat. It is not recommended to replace proper meals with these products for the long-run as it may risk your health with an unbalanced nutrition, lacking the nutrients supplied by carbohydrates.

Can a low GI diet promote weight loss?

Yes, to a certain extent. Carbohydrates in low GI foods do not break down into simple sugar as efficiently as that in high GI foods, thus contributing less sugar to the body, which in turn promotes the utilization of stored fat. The underlying mechanism of weight loss is to burn more calories than to consume, and this can be achieved by the combination of increasing exercise and reducing caloric intake. The bottom line is to consume a well-balanced diet with low-fat and low GI foods, together with regular exercise.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.