六種茶類之養生功效

研究一下,您就會發現茶的種類多不勝數。不同的國家有自己的茶種類,也有不同的製茶方式和香味(無錯,就像咖啡一樣!)。我們深入探索了茶的世界,收集了市面上最常見的茶,並為您彙編了它們對健康的益處。

有什麼種類的茶?

市場上有很多對我們健康有益的茶。以下列出了對您有益的茶類以及它們的功效。

綠茶及其功效

類別:煎茶、玄米茶、抹茶、茶、茉莉(泡)綠茶。

綠茶和其他茶種類,如紅茶、白茶和烏龍茶,都來自同一個品種的樹,稱為茶樹(camellia sinensis)。

綠茶是經過洪青(烘乾)或炒青(炒乾)而製作而成的。此步驟是用來防止氧化,避免葉子變棕色而變成紅茶。中國綠茶中的圓茶及龍井茶主要是以炒青製成。日本綠茶則是以蒸青(以蒸氣導熱)製成,使茶葉呈現出更豐富的顏色。茶葉再進行進一步加工後,會產出不同的類別:煎茶是最基本的綠茶。在高溫下烘烤的煎茶可以製成茶。煎茶也可以與炒過的糙米混合製成玄米茶。

綠茶的功效:綠茶中含有高濃度的多酚,有助於抗和减少炎症。此外,一種叫茶胺酸( L-theanine的物質會刺激多巴胺和α 波(alpha wave)的釋放,使我們感到心情平靜。

紅茶及其功效

類別:錫蘭茶、大吉嶺茶、伯爵茶、英式早餐茶、阿薩姆茶。

紅茶和綠茶之間的唯一差別是製茶過程。茶葉從茶樹上採摘後,會進行萎凋,也就是將茶葉平均攤放在太陽下,使其枯萎、氧化。茶葉乾了以後,下一步就是將茶葉卷起來揉捏。在乾燥過程中,茶葉將逐漸變黑。

紅茶的功效:由於紅茶也含有豐富的多酚類物質和其他抗氧化物質,它有助於降低癌症等細胞疾病的風險。此外,紅茶可以作為咖啡的絕佳代替品,因為它是所有茶類中咖啡因含量佔最高比例的。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

烏龍茶及其好處

由於綠茶和紅茶來自同一個品種的植物,它們有一些共同的特點,而烏龍茶則介於兩者之間。與紅茶相比,烏龍茶只經過部分發酵,因此沒有紅茶那麼強烈。

烏龍茶的益處:烏龍茶很受眾人喜愛,因為它有助於降低血糖及加速消化。如果您想喝含咖啡因的飲品,但又不想喝太多紅茶,烏龍茶是一個很好的選擇。建議不要喝超過一公升的烏龍茶,因為喝過多的烏龍茶會使您吸收太多的氟化物(含在茶葉中)。

烏龍茶還有其他種類,其中包括人參烏龍茶。這是一種中國茶,在綠茶的製茶過程中加入了人參。

白茶及其好處

白茶是在茶樹的葉子完全打開之前採摘的茶葉。「白茶」這個名字源於採摘過程中留在幼芽上的白色茸毛。白茶是加工程度最低的茶,因為它的茶葉氧化程度低。白茶通常較軟、精緻,帶有輕微的花香或水果口感。

白茶的益處:由於白茶是在最新鮮的時候採摘的,也經過了最少的加工,白茶被視為抗氧化劑含量最豐富的茶。白茶中的兒茶素含量也比其他茶的含量高;兒茶素是一種特殊的抗氧化劑,可以幫助促進新陳代謝,並有效對抗牙箘斑。

普洱茶及其好處

普洱茶是雲南產的一種特殊種類綠茶。這些茶葉是利用潮濕的環境進行兩次發酵過程,增加普洱茶裡有益健康的細菌和真菌。

普洱茶的益處:普洱茶除了含有所有“真茶”所具有的全方位抗氧化特性,還被用於在中醫學,以改善脾臟及幫助過濾血液,從我們的循環系統中排除毒素。

普洱茶除了含有所有“真茶”所具有的全方位抗氧化特性,還被用於在中醫學,以改善脾臟及幫助過濾血液,從我們的循環系統中排除毒素。

草本茶(Tisanes)之養生功效

草本茶是一種不用茶樹的茶葉製造而成的茶。通常是使用其他種開花植物,也可能包括香料和水果。

博士茶

博士茶是一種來自南非的無咖啡因茶,也被視為草本茶。這種茶是由一種稱南非红灌木植物( Aspalathus linearis的植物針葉製作而成。一些理論聲稱,博士茶含有一種特殊的抗氧化劑叫aspalathin,據說有助於平衡2型糖尿病患者的血糖水平,但目前還在研究中。

洋甘菊茶

洋甘菊茶是由乾洋甘菊花製成的。它通常被用作鎮靜。洋甘菊茶也是可以舒緩經痛,同時也可以減輕壓力和焦慮,讓身心放鬆從而得到更好的睡眠

菊花茶

菊花茶起源於中國南方,是一種很受歡迎的飲品。它是由沖泡乾菊花所製成的。它除了具有鎮靜作用以外,還有助於降低身體體溫,有抗炎作用,這就是為什麼它是常用的中國傳統草藥之一。

薄荷茶

薄荷茶是用薄荷植物的葉子製成的。高濃度的薄荷醇有緩解頭痛和清新口氣的作用。薄荷葉中所含的薄荷油能製成精油,吸入後能提神醒腦、通暢鼻竇。在感冒時,這是最適合不過的茶了。

奶茶 (Chai)

奶茶(Chai)實際上是加入了豆蔻、薑、肉豆蔻和肉桂等香料的阿薩姆紅茶。它是一種起源於印度的飲品,在西方文化中很受歡迎。奶茶(Chai) 加薑有助於緩解噁心,而茶中所含的其他香料有助於防止有害細菌引起的消化問題。

茶會對您有害嗎?

基本上,沒有茶是有害的。但是攝取過多茶會引起一些問題,比如高血壓和消化問題。以下是一些需要注意的事項:

茶葉勝過茶包

茶包裡的茶葉一般挑選得不太仔細,因此通常茶葉的品質較好。此外,越便宜的茶包越有可能是用便宜的材料製成,或在生產過程中有漂白,因此飲用的話可能會有危險。

避免沖泡過頭

沖泡茶的時間會影響一杯茶的咖啡因含量。不僅如此,長時間沖泡也可能會導致金屬含量釋出,例如鉛。所以最好不要泡超過3-4分鐘。限制沖泡時間不僅會减少吸收潛在金屬的量,還會降低我們接觸氟化物的機率。

要注意飲用的茶

檸檬茶

檸檬茶一直是非常受歡迎的選擇,但專家表示,在紅茶中添加檸檬會降低茶的pH值,導致金屬溶進茶中。

奶茶及珍珠奶茶

這比較像是有很多添加成分的飲品多於茶。混合飲品中添加了大量人工甜味劑和人工香料,使它們更加不健康。更可能會出現代替材料來降低成本,令它們對身體更無益,例如奶粉代替鮮奶,或者調味糖漿代替真材料。

要緊記的飲茶學問

  1. 如果您一天會喝4杯以上的茶,那麼請選擇更純的茶葉,並嘗試更高品質的茶。
  2. 不要沖泡過頭,避免泡茶超過4分鐘。
  3. 儘量飲用在攝氏60-80度的茶飲。喝沸騰的茶會增加食道方面的疾病風險,並降低其營養益處。

我們希望您能透過本文了解到市場上各種各樣的茶及它們的養身功效。歡迎查閱我們其他關於健康生活的文章,並訂閱我們的電子刊物以獲取更多資訊!

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

6 Types of Tea and their Health Benefits

There are so many kinds of tea out there. Different countries have their own variation on this beloved beverage, with a wide array of roasts and aromas (yes, just like coffee!). To help you understand it better, we delved into the world of tea and compiled their health benefits, just for you. 

Popular types of tea and their health benefits

There is a great variety of teas on the market that can be beneficial to our health. Here is a list of teas considered good for you along with their health benefits.

Green tea

Variations: Sencha, Genmaicha, Matcha, Hojicha, Jasmine (infused) green tea.
Green tea and some other variations of teas, such as black tea, white tea and oolong tea come from the same plant family called camellia sinensis.

Green tea is made by quickly heating or frying the tea leaves. This step is used to prevent oxidation that turns leaves brown and creates a variation of black tea. Chinese green tea is mainly made using frying technique which produces a ‘gunpowder green tea’ and a ‘dragon well green tea’, whereas Japanese green tea uses a steaming procedure which gives its tea leaves a richer green colour. The leaves are then further processed to produce different variations: “sencha”, which is the basic green tea, is roasted over a high heat to produce “hojicha”. Sencha can also be put in a blend with roasted and popped rice to make “genmaicha”.

Health benefits of green tea: a high concentration of polyphenols contained in green tea helps to reduce inflammation and fight cancer. In addition, a substance called L-theanine stimulates the production of dopamine and alpha waves giving us a calming effect. 

Black tea

Variations: Ceylon, Darjeeling, Earl grey, English breakfast, Assam.

The only difference between black tea and green tea is the type of processing that has been applied to the tea leaves. After being picked from the plant, tea leaves are left to wither and oxidise under the hot sun. Once the leaves have dried, the next step is to collect the dry tea leaves, roll them up and crush them. During the drying process, tea leaves will gradually acquire a distinct black color.

Health benefits of black tea: since black tea is also a rich source of polyphenols and other antioxidant properties, it helps to minimise the risk of cellular diseases such as cancer. Furthermore, black tea can be used as a good replacement for coffee as it contains the highest percentage of caffeine amongst all other tea options. 

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Oolong tea

While green tea and black tea come from the same plant family and share some common characteristics, oolong tea stands somewhere in between. In contrast to black tea, oolong tea is only partially fermented making it less strong.

Health benefits of oolong tea: this type of tea is highly popular in Chinese culture as it helps reduce blood sugar levels and speed up digestion. Oolong tea is an excellent middle ground option for those of you who still want to reap the caffeinating properties but don’t want to drink a lot of black tea. It is recommended to not drink more than one liter of oolong tea as more than that would be exposing yourself to too much fluoride (contained in the tea leaves).

There are other variations of oolong tea that are infused with other ingredients, these include ginseng oolong, which is a Chinese variation that incorporates ginseng in the processing of green tea leaves.

White tea

White tea is made from tea leaves that are harvested before tea plants’ leaves are fully open. The name “white tea” comes from the small white hairs that are left on the young buds during tea leaves’ picking process. White tea is a variety of tea that has the least processing since its tea leaves are subject to little or no oxidation. White teas are generally softer and bring more delicate flavors with hints of floral or fruity notes.

Health benefits of white tea: due to being picked at its freshest and having been through minimal processing, white tea is considered to be the tea with the highest amounts of antioxidants. White teas are also higher in catechins than other variations of teas; catechins are a specific type of antioxidant that can help boost metabolism and fight bacteria that causes plaque on our teeth.

Pu’er tea

Pu’er tea is a specific variation of green tea leaves produced in Yunnan.

Health benefits of pu’er tea: the processing of these leaves consists of a two-part fermentation procedure that makes use of the humid environment, increasing the beneficial bacteria and fungi that contribute to the health benefits of pu’er tea.

Other than containing the all-round antioxidizing properties that come with all “true teas”, pu’er tea is also specifically used in Chinese medicinal practices to support the spleen, and aid in filtering the blood to remove toxins from our circulatory system.

Tisanes (herbal tea): health benefits

Tisanes are variations of tea that are not made with tea leaves from the plant camellia sinensis. These usually consist of other flowering plants and may also include spices and fruits.

Rooibos
Rooibos tea is a caffeine-free variation of tea that comes from South Africa. This tea stems from the plant Aspalathus linearis and is considered to be herbal. Some theories claim that rooibos tea is contains a specific antioxidant called aspalathin, which supposedly helps in balancing blood sugar levels for those with type-2 diabetes, but research is still being done to support this.

Chamomile
Chamomile tea is made from dried chamomile flowers. It is commonly used for its calming properties. Chamomile tea is also a good remedy for soothing menstrual pain, as well as reducing stress and anxiety to ease the mind for better sleep.

Chrysanthemum
Chrysanthemum tea is a very popular drink that originates from southern China. It is made by brewing dried chrysanthemum flowers. Besides its calming properties, it helps to cool the body and is an anti-inflammatory agent which is why it is commonly used as a Chinese traditional remedy.

Peppermint
Peppermint tea is made using leaves from the peppermint plant. A high concentration of menthol serves some functions such as relieving headaches and refreshing our breath. The peppermint oil that is contained in the peppermint leaves can also produce aromas that, when breathed in, refreshes the mind and clears the sinuses, making it a great tea to drink when we feel a cold creeping up on us.

Chai
Chai tea is actually Assam black tea infused with spices such as cardamom, ginger, nutmeg and cinnamon. It is a drink that originated in India, and is a popular drink amongst Western cultures. Chai tea with ginger helps relieve nausea while other spices contained in chai help prevent digestive issues caused by harmful bacteria.

Can tea be bad for you?

Essentially, there are no bad teas. But drinking tea in large quantities can cause some problems like high blood pressure and digestive issues. Here are some things to watch out for: 

Tea leaves over tea bags
The leaves for tea bags are generally less carefully selected, therefore, loose leaf teas are usually better quality. Furthermore, cheaper tea bags are more likely to have been made with cheaper materials or bleached in the production process so could be dangerous for our consumption. 

Don’t over brew it
The caffeine content of the tea is directly linked with how long it’s been brewing for. But not only that, brewing for longer could also mean higher concentrations of metals such as lead. That is why it’s best to not steep tea for longer than 3-4 minutes. Limiting the brewing time not only reduces the absorption of potential metals, but also lowers our exposure to fluoride. 

Teas to watch out for

Lemon tea
Lemon tea has always been a very popular choice but experts are saying that adding lemon to black tea actually lowers the pH of the tea and creates an environment for harmful metals to seep into the tea.

Milk tea & Bubble tea
This is not so much about the tea itself, but about the ingredients that are added to the tea-based drinks. There is a lot of artificial sugars and flavourings added to these mixed drinks making them more unhealthy. Not to mention the use of substitute ingredients to cut down costs such as the case of adding milk powders instead of fresh milk or flavoured syrups instead of the real ingredients. 

What to remember

  1. Go for purer types of tea leaves and try higher quality blends if you tend to drink more than 4 cups a day. 
  2. Don’t over steep it, avoid brewing your tea for more than 4 minutes.
  3. Try to drink your tea at 60-80 degrees Celsius. Drinking tea when it’s boiling increases the risk of disease in the oesophagus area and minimises the nutritional benefits. 

We hope you enjoyed learning more about the wide variety of teas available on the market and their various health benefits. Check out our other articles on healthy living, and subscribe to our newsletter for more updates!

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.