每日一蘋果,醫師遠離我:真的嗎?

我們都聽說過:「每日一蘋果,醫師遠離我」。如果您有興趣知道,這句話的歷史可以追溯到1913年。但是在當今世界,憑藉我們對健康和營養的豐富知識,它是否仍然值得信賴?讓我們來找出答案。

蘋果的健康益處

纖維

蘋果是可溶性和不可溶性纖維的重要來源。在我們的日常飲食中結合這兩種營養,有助於排便,幫助身體清除廢物和毒素,還有助於減少血糖負荷,從而降低血糖值激增並防止暴飲暴食。蘋果含有一種稱為果膠的可溶性纖維。果膠可以幫助防止膽固醇在血管內壁積聚,降低心血管疾病的風險。

豐富的植物營養

植物營養素具有強大的抗氧化功能:其有助於我們的身體抵抗自由基,從而減少我們患上細胞疾病﹝例如癌症﹞的機會。在蘋果中,植物營養素有十幾種變化,從黃烷醇(flavanols) ,例如兒茶素(catechins) 和山奈酚(kaempferol) ,至半乳糖苷(galactoside) 到蝶呤(phloretin) ,它們各自對我們的身體都有特定的作用。植物營養素還可以通過促進益菌的產生來改善我們的消化系統,從而有效地幫助分解我們所吃的食物。顯然,吃一個蘋果的果皮和果肉會比吃不帶果皮的蘋果多3-4倍益處!這是因為果皮中的類黃酮(flavonoids) 濃度高於果肉。

維他命C的重要來源

蘋果也是維他命C的重要來源。維他命C由於具有抗氧化能力,不僅對抵抗自由基有好處,而且對我們的免疫系統也很有幫助,它可以幫助我們抵抗流感和普通感冒。它還有助於提亮我們的皮膚! 因此,如果您不想再靠吃橙或服用補充丸來吸收維他命C,現在您有多個選擇。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

蘋果是很好的零食

在現代飲食中,食物種類比以往繁多。通過得到了更多的專業營養知識,我們許多人都希望從羽衣甘藍牛油果等潮流超級食品中獲得的健康益處,而較少考慮蘋果。但是,我們總是可以嘗試在日常飲食中加入蘋果:它們的營養價值已被證實真的存在,而且它們是很好的零食代替品(可以輕鬆替代餅乾或鬆餅!),側面放一匙花生醬,您就可以同時吸收健康的脂肪,讓飽肚感維持更長的時間。

牛油果對您有益的8個原因:

https://www.healthymatters.com.hk/zh/8-things-we-love-about-avocados/

醫生遠離我…

專家們實際上已經嘗試調查這句說話的真確性:每天吃蘋果是否真的使醫生遠離我。美國進行了一項研究,以驗證這有名的主張背後是否有任何具體證據。他們找來8400個研究對象,其中753人每天吃一個蘋果,並記錄了他們是否有去看醫生。

如果您每天都吃蘋果,是否就可以遠離醫生?答案很簡單 – 不是。但研究確實表明,那些定期吃蘋果的人似乎很少去看醫生。這意味著至少一般來說,定期吃蘋果確實對我們整體上的健康有好處。

現在,如果您真的不喜歡蘋果,那麼還有許多屬於“超級食品等級”的代替品,您可以嘗試將那些代替品定期納入飲食中。但是,如果您確實決定給蘋果一個機會,請記住,連皮一同整個水果食用而不是榨汁或去皮,因為連皮才最有營養。這樣一來,所有纖維和植物營養素都可以被吸收,從而為您帶來100%的益處。

我們希望您對蘋果及這個有關蘋果的「神話」有更多的了解!訂閱我們的電子刊物,獲取更多有關香港的健康和營養資訊!

想知道為什麼補健品如此受歡迎?

https://www.healthymatters.com.hk/zh/why-living-in-hong-kong-may-influence-your-need-for-supplements/

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

An Apple a Day Keeps The Doctor Away: True?

We’ve all heard it: “an apple a day keeps the doctor away”. In case you wondered, it dates back to 1913. But in today’s world and with our advanced knowledge of health and nutrition, does it still hold its credit? Let’s find out.

Health benefits of apples

Fibre

Apples are a great source of soluble and insoluble fibre. Having a combination of both in our daily diets helps with our bowel movements to remove waste along with toxins from our bodies, and also helps to reduce our glycemic load, which can lower spikes in our blood sugar and prevent overeating. Apples contain a source of soluble fibre called pectin. Pectin can help prevent the buildup of cholesterol in the lining of blood vessels, lowering the risk of cardiovascular diseases.

Abundant in phytonutrients

Phytonutrients have powerful antioxidant capacity: this helps our bodies fight free radicals, thus reducing our chances of cellular diseases, including cancer. In apples, there are over a dozen variations of phytonutrients, from flavanols such as catechins and kaempferol, to galactoside to phloretin, and they each serve a specific function for our bodies. Phytonutrients can also improve our digestive system by promoting the production of good bacteria, for better breakdown of the food we eat. Apparently, eating the skin and the pulp of one whole apple multiplies the benefits of eating apples up to 3-4 times more than just eating it without the skin! This is because the concentration of flavonoids is higher in the skin than the pulp.

Great source of vitamin C

Apples are also a great source of vitamin C; vitamin C is not only good for fighting free radicals due to its antioxidant ability, but it is also great for our immune system which helps us fight flus and common colds just that bit much better. It also helps to brighten our skin! So if you fancy a change from oranges or tablets, you have another option. 

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Apples are a great snack

In our modern day diet, there is so much more variety than there used to be. With greater nutritional insight and expertise, many of us seek to reap the health benefits of trendy superfoods like kale or avocados, rather than apples. However, we can always try to incorporate more apples in our daily diets for variety if we don’t already do so: their nutritional value holds true, and they are a great snack substitute (easily replacing biscuits or muffins!). With a spoonful of peanut butter on the side, you have a source of healthy fats that sustain you for longer. 

Here’s 8 reasons why avocados are good for you: https://www.healthymatters.com.hk/8-things-we-love-about-avocados/

Keeping the doctor away…

Experts have actually tried to investigate the validity of the old saying of whether eating apples everyday really do keep the doctor away. A US study was carried out specifically to find out if there is any concrete evidence behind the famous claim. They carried out a study on a sample size of nearly 8,400 individuals, of which 753 ate an apple every day and recorded if they made visits to doctors at all.

The short answer as to whether you will stay away from doctors if you eat apples every day, is NO. However, the studies did show that those who eat apples on a regular basis, do seem to have less frequent visits to clinics. It implies that at least more generally speaking, regular apple munching does actually contribute to making us healthier in general. 

Now if you’re really not into apples, there are many alternatives considered ‘superfood grade’ which you can try to incorporate into your diet on a regular basis. But if you do decide to give apples a better shot, keep in mind that they’re most nutritious when eaten as a whole fruit with the skin, rather than juiced or peeled. This is so that all the fibre and phytonutrients can be consumed, giving you 100% of their great benefits.

We hope you learnt more about apples and the myth around them! Sign-up to our newsletter for more tips about health and nutrition in Hong Kong!

Wondering why supplements are so popular? https://www.healthymatters.com.hk/why-living-in-hong-kong-may-influence-your-need-for-supplements/

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.