燕麥奶對健康的5大益處

最後更新日期 六月 3, 2021.

近年越來越多人選擇以燕麥奶取代牛奶來沖調咖啡,而在咖啡店以外,這款植物奶同樣流行,更是一種為乳糖不耐症人士而設的絕佳牛奶替代品,成為了許多新食譜的創作靈感。燕麥奶成為了不少家庭的新寵食品,在本地超市亦越來越常見。燕麥奶不僅具有絲滑的口感和獨特的味道,還為身體帶來許多益處。現在就讓我們探索這種不含奶類、堅果、乳糖、豆類製品的植物奶對健康的5大益處。

燕麥奶含多種豐富營養素

燕麥奶含各種營養素,其中包括礦物質和維他命。燕麥奶通過用水混合傳統無麩質燕麥(old-fashioned rolled oats),再隔走燕麥奶中的纖維殘留物製作而成。在此過程中,一些營養素會遺留在被隔走的燕麥殘留物中,繼而從燕麥奶中流失。因此很多奶品公司會在燕麥奶中添加礦物質和維他命,來添加奶品的營養素含量,同時補充燕麥奶在生產過程中流失的營養素。常被加進燕麥奶產品的營養素有:維他命A、B2、B12和D以及鈣。

研究指出,與其他奶類相比,燕麥奶通常具有更高卡路里、碳水化合物和纖維。但由於燕麥含有胰蛋白酶抑製劑(trypsin inhibitor),會令蛋白質消化率降低,所以燕麥奶含較少蛋白質。如果完全以燕麥奶來替代牛奶,尤其對素食主義者來說,應該特別留意燕麥奶相對較低的蛋白質含​​量。在這種情況下,可以借助吸收其他植物來源的蛋白質,例如豆類和堅果,以彌補身體的蛋白質需求,並確保均衡地攝取各種氨基酸(amino acid)(蛋白質組成單位),以便身體進行細胞生長和修復。

燕麥奶能降低膽固醇

燕麥奶的纖維含量是牛奶和其他植物奶的兩倍,其中包括可溶性纖維β-葡聚醣(soluble fiber beta-glucan)。燕麥中的β-葡聚醣通過與膽固醇結合,特別是「壞」的低密度脂蛋白(low density lipoprotein)(LDL)膽固醇,來幫助降低血液膽固醇水平。如果血液中有太多膽固醇,可能會導致高脂血症(hyperlipidemia)、動脈粥樣硬化(atherosclerosis)(膽固醇在動脈內壁沉積),甚至心臟病發作。一杯250毫升燕麥奶便可提供每日三分之一的β-葡聚醣所需,有助防止心臟病。

一項為期五週的臨床試驗研究中發現,飲用燕麥奶的參加者血液內總膽固醇和LDL膽固醇,比飲用米奶的參加者顯著地低。假如飲用燕麥奶的參加者在試驗前有較高的血液膽固醇水平,其試驗後的LDL膽固醇水平有更顯著的下降。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

Advertisements

燕麥奶能改善骨骼健康

雖然燕麥奶不含天然的鈣,但基於鈣質對成長和發育的重要幫助,很多燕麥奶都被加入鈣和維他命D。鈣是骨骼的主要成分,負責維持其結構和堅韌度。雖然維他命D不是骨骼的成分之一,但它有助促進鈣吸收,有助保持骨骼健康。劍橋大學出版社出版的「飲食和骨骼健康」研討會論文表示,缺乏鈣和維他命D吸收會降低骨骼礦物質密度(bone mineral density),增加骨折和骨質疏鬆症的風險。婦女的雌激素水平由更年期開始急劇下降,她們骨骼內的鈣水平也會隨之下降。因此,更年期婦女和正值發育期的青少年應多喝加入鈣和維他命D的燕麥奶,以保持骨骼健康。

燕麥奶含有益生元

燕麥奶的纖維除了能降低膽固醇,還能提供另一種營養素——益生元。人們經常將益生元與益生菌混淆。那什麼是益生元呢?根據一項關於功能性穀物類飲料的研究,益生元是由天然纖維組成的食物,通過促進腸道中某些微生物群的生長和活性來改善腸道健康。燕麥奶內的纖維殘留物便含有益生元,讓其不會在腸道分解。這不但能增強有益腸道細菌(beneficial gut bacteria)的多樣性,還能改善人體的免疫力。此外,燕麥奶內的益生元有助降低患慢性疾病的風險,如結直腸癌、肥胖、心血管疾病和糖尿病等。

下次自製燕麥奶時,請不要直接將燕麥的纖維殘留物扔掉,並把它存放在冰箱裡,留待下次製作曲奇餅的時候,可以將燕麥的纖維拌入其他材料中,為腸道提供額外的纖維。

燕麥奶含豐富的維他命B

燕麥奶經常被添加額外的維他命B,特別是核黃素(riboflavin)(維他命B2)和維生素B12。維他命B是一組微量營養素(micronutrient),負責維持身體的正常功能,其一大作用是將食物經過代謝(metabolism)轉化成能量,促進不同的身體功能,如製造新的血細胞、皮膚細胞、腦細胞和其他身體組織。 此外,除了鈣和維他命D之外,維他命B12可以降低患骨質疏鬆症的風險。

Advertisements

FAQs

燕麥奶適合每個人嗎?

燕麥奶不適合乳糜瀉(celiac disease)患者。除非是通過認證以無麩質燕麥製成,燕麥奶一般含有麩質,。雖然燕麥自身並沒有麩質,但燕麥奶可能在一家同時生產其他含麩質食品的工廠製造。儘管如此,乳糜瀉患者不需要完全避免燕麥奶,只需在購買燕麥奶時,選擇包裝上印有「無​​麩質」標籤的產品。

燕麥奶有什麼壞處?

燕麥奶比其他植物牛奶含有較高的碳水化合物和卡路里。儘管大多數燕麥奶中的碳水化合物是天然糖,但仍不建議減肥人士每天飲用,而無添加糖的燕麥奶會是更好的選擇。

燕麥奶的保鮮期有幾天?

4-7天左右。未開封的燕麥奶可以儲存幾個月,而已開封的燕麥奶必須冷藏及在4-7天內飲用。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

5 Health Benefits of Oat Milk

Last updated on July 19, 2021.

You might have swapped dairy milk in your daily dose of coffee with oat milk, but this super popular plant-based milk is not just for coffee — it is a dairy alternative for people who are lactose intolerant and a magic ingredient for many creative recipes coming on the way. Oat milk has become more accessible even at your local supermarkets, thanks to its rising popularity in the grocery lists of many. Not only is oat milk delicious with its smooth, silky texture and distinctive flavor, but it also offers numerous health benefits. Let’s explore the health benefits of this dairy-free, nut-free, lactose-free, soy-free and plant-based milk.

Oat milk is full of nutrients

Oat milk contains a variety of nutrients with a rich source of minerals and vitamins. Oat milk is produced by blending preferably old-fashioned gluten-free rolled oats with water, then straining away the oats from the milk. In this process, some nutrients are retained in the strained oats and absent in oat milk, which thus is usually fortified with minerals and vitamins to simulate the nutritional benefits of dairy milk and to replace the loss during production. For instance, vitamin A, B2, B12 and D, as well as calcium are commonly used to enrich commercial oat milk.

As research shows, when compared to other types of milk, oat milk usually has more calories, carbohydrates and fibers, but less proteins due to its poor digestibility with the existence of a trypsin inhibitor in oats. It is noteworthy of the relatively low protein content in oat milk if it is used to completely replace dairy milk intake, especially for vegans. In that case, other plant sources such as legumes and nuts can be consumed to make up the protein uptake and ensure intake of the whole spectrum of essential amino acids (the basic unit of protein) for growth and repair of cells.

Oat milk can lower blood cholesterol level

In addition to minerals and vitamins, oat milk is unique for its high fiber content which is two times that of dairy milk and other plant-based milk, with a particularly high level of soluble fiber beta-glucans. Beta-glucans in oats help lower blood cholesterol level by binding to cholesterol, especially the “bad” lower density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol, to reduce its absorption. If there is too much cholesterol in the blood, it may potentially cause hyperlipidemia, atherosclerosis (accumulation and deposition of cholesterol in the inner wall of arteries) and even heart attack. A 250ml glass of oat milk provides one-third of the daily requirement of beta-glucans and protects against heart diseases.

In a 5-week clinical trial study, participants who drank oat milk were shown to have significantly lower blood total cholesterol and LDL cholesterol than those who drank the control drink, rice milk. The decrease in LDL cholesterol level was even more remarkable in participants who started off with a high blood cholesterol level.

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Oat milk can improve bone health

Although oat milk does not naturally contain calcium, an essential mineral to promote growth and development, it is often fortified with both calcium and vitamin D. Calcium is the major component of bone that is responsible for its structure and strength, whilst vitamin D is necessary for the absorption of calcium, both being essential to promote bone health. A symposium on “Diet and bone health” published by Cambridge University Press stated that calcium and vitamin D deficiency will lower bone mineral density and increase risk of bone fracture and osteoporosis (hollow and porous bone). Women after menopause experience a rapid drop in bone calcium level due to bone thinning induced by the reduced estrogen (sex hormone) level. Thus, it is recommended for menopausal women and children going through growth spurt to drink oat milk fortified with calcium and vitamin D regularly to maintain bone health.

Oat milk contains prebiotics

Another health benefit offered by the high fiber content in oat milk is prebiotics. Prebiotics is often confused with probiotics. So what is prebiotics exactly? According to a study on functional cereal-based beverages, prebiotics are identified as food consisting of natural fibers that improves gut health by promoting the growth and activity of certain microbiota in the colon. Oat milk, in particular its fiber residuals, possess prebiotic properties which make it indigestible in the upper gastrointestinal tract, effective in enhancing diversity of beneficial gut bacteria and improving immunity of the host. Additionally, prebiotics in oat milk fiber residuals lower the risk of diseases, such as colorectal cancer, obesity, cardiovascular disease and diabetes.

Next time when you prepare your homemade oat milk, remember not to toss the fiber residuals away, but store it in the refrigerator and save it for your next batch of cookies, as an extra source of fiber for better gut health.

Oat milk has great sources of vitamin B

Oat milk is usually fortified with vitamin B, specifically riboflavin (B2) and vitamin B12. Vitamin B is a group of essential micronutrients that plays important roles in normal body functionings. A significant role of vitamin B is to metabolize energy from food to fuel different body processes, such as the production of new blood cells, skin cells, brain cells and other body tissues. Furthermore, besides calcium and vitamin D, vitamin B12 can also lower the risk of osteoporosis.

FAQs

Is oat milk for everyone?

Oat milk is not suitable for celiac disease patients because oat milk is not gluten-free unless they are made with certified gluten-free oats. Although oats are naturally gluten-free, oat milk may be produced in the same factory as other gluten-containing food products. Nonetheless, celiac patients need not to completely exclude oat milk from their plant-based milk options, they just have to make sure to always look for the “gluten free” label when choosing oat milk.

What is bad about oat milk?

Oat milk contains relatively higher levels of carbohydrates and calories than other plant-based milk. Despite the fact that most of the carbohydrates in unflavored oat milk are natural sugars, it may not be suitable for people who are losing weight to drink oat milk on a daily basis and it is best to choose an unsweetened option for weight management.

How long does oat milk last after opening?

Around 4–7 days. Unopened oat milk can be stored for a couple of months, while opened oat milk must be refrigerated and consumed within 4-7 days.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.