您應該要食朱古力的8個原因

食朱古力令您帶來罪惡感嗎?不要再擔心了。2012年的一項研究確認了一個國家的人均朱古力消耗量與諾貝爾獎得獎者人數之間的相關。朱古力消耗量越高,得獎者人數比率越高。這只是巧合嗎?我們認為可能不是!以下是您應該要食朱古力的8個原因。

1. 朱古力可能可以改善認知功能

多得可可中的天然營養成分黃酮醇(flavonol),朱古力可以通過增加腦血流量來改善您的認知功能。黃酮醇還可以減少老年人的記憶力喪失並提高口語流利度。難以置信? 可以查閱英國的一項研究,該研究證明朱古力可以幫助您更好和更快地思考。

2. 朱古力可以降低高血壓

2007年的一項研究表明,經常食朱古力的人可以降低患心臟病、膽固醇和動脈鈣化斑塊的風險。多得當中的表兒茶素(epicatechin) 和兒茶素(catechin) 等類黃酮(flavonoids),朱古力可以使動脈和靜脈保持柔軟。

3. 朱古力可能有助於增加注意力

含至少60%可可的朱古力含有大量的茶氨酸(theanine),眾所周知,茶氨酸可增強注意力和鬆弛感。

4. 朱古力具有抗氧化作用

朱古力含有多種化合物,例如多酚(polyphenols)、兒茶素(catechins)和黃烷醇(flavanols),具有非常有效的抗氧化作用。抗氧化劑對心臟有好處,並可能降低某些類型癌症的風險。據說朱古力抗氧化劑的含量比綠茶高3倍、比紅酒高2倍

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

5. 朱古力可以幫助改善情緒

由於可可鹼(theobromine) 和鎂(magnesium) 含量很高,朱古力對壓力、焦慮和抑鬱有積極影響。研究表明,食用朱古力的人更鎮定、更快樂。朱古力還含有苯乙胺(phenylethylamine),苯乙胺是一種化學物質,可促使您的大腦釋放內啡肽(endorphins)。這些荷爾蒙在體內可以觸發良好的感覺。

6. 朱古力有助於皮膚防曬

倫敦藝術大學進行的一項研究表明,與不食朱古力的人或食用低黃酮含量朱古力的人士相比,食用黑朱古力的人可以更長時間地暴露在陽光下而不被曬傷。黃酮醇可改善皮膚的水合作用和密度,從而幫助保護您免受日曬傷害。

7. 朱古力可以幫助減輕體重

適量食用朱古力有助於降低體重指數(BMI)。朱古力中的兒茶素有助於減輕體重,並令肌肉更苗條。此外,黑朱古力有助於引發飽腹感,可防止您過度吃零食。

8. 朱古力對準媽媽有好處

由於朱古力有助於減輕壓力,因此2004年一項芬蘭的研究把微笑和大笑的嬰兒與其母親在懷孕期間吃黑朱古力的事實聯繫在一起。

另外,由於可可鹼(theobromine) 能使心臟活力起來、擴張血管和放鬆肌肉,因此朱古力可以減少妊娠併發症,例如先兆子癇preeclampsia(特徵是極高的血壓)。

實用貼士:您應該選擇哪種朱古力?

絕對不是牛奶或白朱古力。上面列出的健康益處適用於可可含量至少70%的黑朱古力。

70%以上的黑朱古力含有:

  • 纖維Fiber
  • 鐵Iron
  • 鎂Magnesium
  • 銅Copper
  • 錳Manganese
  • 鉀Potassium
  • 磷Phosphorus
  • 鋅Zinc
  • 硒Selenium

但要注意:黑朱古力非常濃郁,最好適量食用!

如果您像Healthy Matters的團隊一樣,那麼您可能每天都會沉迷於黑朱古力…好吧,也許有時可以一天食兩次。我們辦公室最喜歡存放著78%的黑朱古力!我們是快樂的團隊,但對著美味的黑朱古力時也許並不那麼冷靜…

參考的研究:

本文由Healthy Matters獨家撰寫,無經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

8 Reasons Why You Should Eat Chocolate

Is chocolate your guilty pleasure? Stress no more and think big. A 2012 study established a correlation between the consumption of chocolate per capita in a country and their number of Nobel Prize winners. The higher the consumption, the higher the rate. Coincidence? We think not! Here are 8 reasons why chocolate is good for you.

1. Chocolate may improve cognitive functions

Thanks to flavonol, a natural nutrient found in cacao, chocolate may improve your cognitive function by boosting brain blood flow. Flavonol is also known to reduce memory loss and increase verbal fluency for the elderly. Too good to be true? Read up the British study that proves chocolate may help you think better and faster.

2. Chocolate may reduce high blood pressure

A 2007 study has shown that people consuming chocolate regularly lowered their risk of heart disease, cholesterol, and calcified plaque in their arteries. Thanks to its flavonoids such as epicatechin and catechin, chocolate allows arteries and veins to stay supple.

3. Chocolate may help enhance attention span

Chocolate with at least 60% cacao have a high amount of theanine which is known to enhance attention span and relaxation.

4. Chocolate has an antioxidant effect

Chocolate has many compounds such as polyphenols, catechins and flavanols that have a very active antioxidant effect. Antioxidants are good for the heart and may lower risks of some types of cancers. Levels are said to be 3 times higher than in green tea and two times higher than in wine

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

5. Chocolate may help improve your mood

Due to its high levels of theobromine and magnesium, chocolate has a positive impact on stress, anxiety and depression. Studies have shown that chocolate-eaters are calmer and happier. Chocolate also contains phenylethylamine which is a chemical that pushes your brain to release endorphins. These hormones trigger a feel-good feeling in the body.

6. Chocolate contributes to skin protection against the sun

A study conducted by the London University of Arts has shown that people who were eating dark chocolate could handle sun exposure longer without burning compared to non-chocolate eaters or people eating chocolate with low flavonols. Flavonols improve skin hydration and density which in turn help protect you against sun damage.

7. Chocolate may help reduce weight

Eaten in moderation, chocolate contributes to lower body mass index (BMI). The catechin within chocolate helps reduce weight and leads to slimmer muscles. Moreover, dark chocolate helps triggering the satiety feeling that can prevent you from over-snacking.

8. Chocolate is good for expecting mothers

Because chocolate helps reduce stress, a 2004 Finish study has linked smiling and laughing babies with the fact that their mothers were eating dark chocolate during pregnancy.

Plus, chocolate could reduce pregnancy complications such as preeclampsia (characterised by very high blood pressure) thanks to the theobromine that dynamizes the heart, dilates blood vessels and relaxes muscles.

Practical tip: What sort of chocolate should you chose?

Definitely not milk or white chocolate. The above listed health benefits are for dark chocolate with at least 70% cacao.

70% + dark chocolate contains:

  • Fiber
  • Iron
  • Magnesium
  • Copper
  • Manganese
  • Potassium
  • Phosphorus
  • Zinc
  • Selenium

But beware: dark chocolate is very rich and is best consumed in moderation!

If you are like the Healthy Matters’ team, you may want to indulge every day… ok maybe twice a day. Our office ultimate favorite is 78% dark chocolate! We’re a happy team but maybe not that calm…

Studies:

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.