【中風】從香港神經外科醫生了解中風成因、徵兆及治療

最後更新日期 五月 26, 2021.

中風為香港第四大致命疾病,死亡率可達40%以上。根據世界中風組織(World Stroke Organization)的數據,全球每年約有1500萬人受中風影響,更每6秒就有人死於中風。中風不但死亡率高,而且對患者及家人帶來持續性的影響和壓力,故此中風是一項不容忽視的疾病。

中風是什麼?

中風是一種可致命的急症疾病,亦稱為腦血管意外、腦病突發、腦卒中。當大腦的血液供應被切斷時,腦部細胞則無法取得氧氣和營養,導致這些腦細胞受損或死亡。中風患者或永久喪失重要的腦部功能,如推理能力、語言能力、視覺、肢體活動協調能力、其他器官的調節功能等。

中風主要可分為兩類:

  • 缺血性中風:即因血栓或狹窄血管斑塊(血塊和脂肪組織)阻塞於腦血管中,使腦血管收窄,導致腦細胞的血量供應不足,甚至完全失去血液供應。缺血性中風是較為常見的中風類型,約佔80%的中風案例
  • 出血性中風:是因腦血管破裂而引致的中風類型。由於腦血管破裂而導致腦內出血,因此令腦細胞失去血液供應。出血性中風亦可因不受控的高血壓或腦動脈瘤而引致。

暫時性腦缺血發作並非中風

暫時性腦缺血發作(Transient Ischaemic Attacks, TIA),即「小中風」,雖然可見中風症狀,但並非中風。暫時性腦缺血發作的大腦血液供應為短暫中斷,一般持續幾分鐘至一小時。血液供應恢復後,則見況態好轉,並不會造成持久損傷。

雖說暫時性腦缺血並非中風,但仍絕對不能忽視!TIA可大大增加中風風險,約10-15%的TIA患者於3個月內可繼發中風。因此,若你經歷小中風,請立即求醫。

Advertisements

中風症狀及體徵

中風的表現和影響取決於腦血管阻塞的位置和損傷程度。大部分中風體徵和症狀皆為突發性的。

寫字FAST」可幫助快速識別主要中風症狀

  • Face:不對稱面部表情。單側面部或見下垂,尤其嘴唇。因面部肌肉僵硬,患者可能無法微笑。一般面言,眼部並無影響。
  • Arms:患者可因肌肉乏力而無法抬起單側手臂或下腿。中風症狀大多偏向單側。
  • Speech:中風患者的說話和理解能力或會受損,其語言能力可能受限或含糊不清。可以要求患者嘗試複述簡單句子,以便檢查。
  • Time:如果發現任何以上症狀或體徵,請立即致電999。緊急醫療處理能有效減輕腦部損害和提高康復機會。

其他中風體徵和症狀

  • 頭暈、行動不便、喪失平衝或協調能力。
  • 無法解釋的突發性嚴重頭痛。
  • 單側或雙側視力問題(例如:模糊視力、雙重形象、甚至單側視盲)。
  • 突發性精神混亂、定向障碍、記憶喪失力減退。
  • 單側肢體麻木、單側協調欠佳。
  • 吞嚥困難、垂涎。
  • 意識轉變、昏迷
  • 膀胱失約、甚至尿液滲漏。
  • 嘔吐。

如何應對中風發作?

  1. 保持冷靜,並立即致電999。
  2. 記錄中風症狀的開始時間,並告知救護人員。中風藥物的作用僅於有限時間內有效。
  3. 如患者嘔吐,應將其側卧,以防嘔吐物阻塞呼吸氣道。
  4. 鬆開或脫除患者的緊身衣著。
  5. 陪伴並安撫患者。
  6. 如果患者沒有心跳呼吸,立即執行心肺復蘇法。
  7. 切勿給予任何藥物、食物、或飲料予患者。
  8. 切勿自行將患者送至急診室。
Advertisements

中風的成因與風險因素

身體病況

  • 高血壓:為中風最主要風險因素。
  • 糖尿病:可繼而引致其他風險因素,如高血壓。 同時,糖尿病亦可損壞血管組織。
  • 心血管疾病:如心房顫動、動脈瘤、腫瘤。
  • 高血脂水平:高血脂水平可促進動脈內壁的斑塊積聚,收窄血管,從而限制血液流動。
  • 睡眠窒息症:又名睡眠呼吸中止症。研究顯示睡眠窒息症與中風存在聯繫
  • 外傷:頸部血管損傷可導致中風。

可控制的風險因素:

  • 吸煙:吸煙可損傷血管並提升血壓。
  • 不健康飲食習慣。
  • 缺乏運動、肥胖。
  • 酗酒:可增加患有高血壓的風險,並增加體重。
  • 壓力。
  • 藥物:例如非法藥物、避孕藥、激素補充劑等。

不可控風險因素:

  • 年齡:中風可發生於任個年齡,尤其55歲以上人士
  • 性別:雖然男士的中風發生率較高,但女性的中風死亡率更高。中風是第三大女士死亡原因。懷孕亦可增加中風風險。
  • 種族:南亞、非洲、加勒比族人士有較高中風風險。
  • 家族中風病史
  • 中風病史、短暫性腦缺血發作、心臟病發作、等病史皆可增加中風風險。

中風如何診斷?

醫生會檢查患者症狀、藥物服用史、病史等,以推斷出中風成因。為準確診斷,醫生亦會量度患者血壓、血糖水平、評估精神狀態、檢查平衡與協調能力、視力、臉部和四肢肌肉的無力感或麻木感等。

醫生亦可透過以下測驗來診斷中風:

  • 血液測試:可以檢查出您的血脂和血糖水平。
  • 影像診斷學(如磁力共振、電腦掃描):可以確診中風類型、檢查嚴重程度、出血情況、損傷形式、中風血管位置。
  • 心血管檢查:如心電圖可檢查出與中風相關的心臟問題、超聲心動圖可以檢查出血栓來源、頸動脈超波檢查可以發現血管的收窄或阻塞、腦血管造影術能詳細檢查大腦中的血液流動過程。
  • 吞嚥測試:以評估吞嚥能力。吞嚥困難常見於中風後期,除胸腔感染外,臨床上並不易於發現。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

Advertisements

中風如何治療?

缺血性中風

  • 組織纖維溶酶原活化劑(Tissue Plasminogen Activator, tPA)組織纖維溶酶原活化劑可溶解血栓,在中風發作4.5小時內進行靜脈注射最為有效。tPA例子包括阿替普酶(Altepase)、瑞替普酶(Reteplase)、替奈普酶(Tenecteplase)等。
  • 顱內動脈取栓術:即血栓切除術,是外科手術治療方法。血栓切除術使用導管和微型手術儀器取出腦血管內之血栓。建議用於主要大動脈閉塞的患者,並應在中風症狀出現後的24小時內盡快進行手術。
  • 抗血小板藥(Antiplatelets):它們防止血小板凝聚,來減少血栓形成。抗血小板藥例子包括阿士匹靈Aspirin)、雙嘧達莫(Dipyridamole)、氯吡多Clopidogrel)。
  • 抗凝劑(Anticoagulants):通過改變血液的化學成分,令血液變得稀薄和減少血栓形成。抗凝劑對於預防與心房顫動有關的中風尢其有效。例子如華法林Warfarin)、達比加群Dabigatran)、阿哌沙班Apixaban)、肝素等。
  • 他汀類藥物(Statins):他汀類藥物是降膽固醇藥,有助於穩定血管斑塊,並減低中風復發的風險。他汀類藥物例如阿托伐他汀Atorvastatin)和辛伐他汀Simvastatin )。

為避免再次中風,亦可採取動脈內覆膜支架置入手術或頸動脈內膜切除術,以減低由血班和血栓阻塞腦血管而引致的中風風險。對於腦血管嚴重收窄和血管受損者,也可以考慮置入覆膜支架,以恢復大腦的血液供應。

出血性中風

  • 手術:以手術過程來清除腦血管內的血栓、釋放腦脊隨液、移除部分顱骨,以釋放顱內壓。
  • 栓塞/夾閉型顱內動脈瘤:如果顱內出血與腦動脈瘤破裂有關,必須盡快考慮手術切除,以防止再次大量出血。
  • 停止服用任何可能增加出血風險的藥物

醫生亦可能處方降血壓藥,例如氫氯噻嗪Hydrochlorothiazide)、賴諾普利Lisinopril)、氨氯地平Amlodipine)。

中風的復康過程

中風可嚴重損害各種身體機能和心理健康。中風的康復過程一般需要不同醫療專業人士的提導,而且部分患者需要較長時間支持。以下是部分中風後可能遇見的常見問題和其應對方法: 

  1. 抑鬱、焦慮、行為或性格轉變:您可能需要藥物治療,或諮詢心理學家的輔導和認知行為療法。醫護人員亦應提供情感支持。
  2. 認知功能降低:例如記憶、注意力、計劃能力、解決問題能力、推理能力等。應尋求家人和朋友的協助。亦可尋求職業治療師的協助,解決日常活動中遇到的問題。
  3. 運動困難:由於肌肉無力或單側麻痺而導致運動困難。應尋求物理治療師的協助,以便評估病情、提供物理療治、提供肌肉力量鍛煉等。您亦可以根據自己的能力進行鍛煉,並可在需要時使用輔助工具。
  4. 失語症(由於負責語言的大腦區域受損而無法理解和說話):言語治療師可為患者改善說話能力。電腦設備也可以幫助患者進行語言交流。
  5. 吞嚥障礙可能引致誤吸情況並誘發肺部感染。患者或需要插喉餵食。言語治療師可協調訓練,讓患者恢復進食能力。流質飲食的風險致高,可能需要配合增稠劑食用。
  6. 失認症(視空間視覺,感覺和空間關係判斷轉變):註意避免身體損傷。如應註意避免意外燒傷、多註意周圍環境以避免意外發生。
  7. 膀胱及腸道蠕動失控:可引致漏尿、尿道感染、便秘、腹瀉等問題。治療失禁藥物和骨盆鍛鍊可緩解情況。不應拒絕液體攝入。
  8. 痙攣:中風患側的肌肉張力會有所增加,增強的肌肉張力會導致肌肉疼痛、康復受阻、和護理問題。應經常伸展拉筋,亦可偶爾服用口服藥物或肉毒桿菌注射以減輕痙攣和改善生活質量。
  9. 恢復工作:讓醫療專家評估,以了解患者是否適合反回工作。可嘗試與雇主進行工作調整,以協調工作情況。
Advertisements

如何有效預防中風?

健康的生活習慣能有效預防中風。

  1. 均衡飲食、低脂飲食、高纖飲食:應保持均衡、低脂、高纖、大量果蔬的飲食習慣。攝取過多鹽分可導致血壓上升,因此應控制食鹽量於每天1茶匙內(6克)。
  2. 定期運動以保持健康體重:建議最少每周進行150分鐘的中等強度帶氧運動。例如游泳或輕步跑。
  3. 戒煙:可以降低中風和其他嚴重疾病(如肺癌)的風險。
  4. 避免過量飲酒男性每天最多可喝2杯酒,女性則建議為一杯
  5. 治療和控制潛在疾病:尤其是中風的風險因素,如高血壓、高脂血症、糖尿病、心臟病等。
  6. 定期進行身體檢查以及早發現任何健康風險。
  7. 壓力管理。
  8. 曾患中風者,應按照醫生處方服用預防藥物。中風患者再次中風的風險為其他人的15倍
  9. 了解中風的風險因素和警告體徵及症狀,並時刻注意。

在香港治療中風的費用

香港公立醫療系統的治療費用

對於持有香港身份證的人士,公立醫院急診科的收費為每次$180港元。住院(急性普通科病床)的費用包括$75港元的入院費和每天$120元的病床費。康復醫院的費用為每次$55港元。

對非香港身分證的人士,公立醫院急診科的每次診症費用為$1,230元。綜合醫院的住院費為每天$5100元。康復醫院的費用為每人$1,320元。

注意公立醫療的等待時間,公立醫院的等待時間可能較長。

有關詳情,請致電2300 6555醫院管理局查詢

香港私家醫療的治療費用:

不同的私家醫療部門的中風治療收費皆有所不同,收費一般由醫生費、藥物費、實驗室檢查費、造影檢查費、手術費、等組成。

一般而言,香港的神經外科專科醫生或神經科專科醫生的會診費用約為$800 – 2,000不等,藥物費用分別計算。診斷和評估費用約為$10,000 – 25,000元以上。私家醫院提供的急性中風治療套餐費用大約為$70,000 – 90,000元,其中不包括醫院費用和額外檢測費用。

*以上金額均為港幣,最近一次更新於2021年5月。對於任何誤差、錯誤或遺漏,我們概不負責。建議提前致電以確保資訊的準確性。

Advertisements

香港的醫療保險承保中風治療嗎?

根據AD MediLink的專業資訊,神經外科醫生或神經科醫生的診症費用可納入醫療保險中的醫生費用範圍。高端的醫療保險計劃一般可全額補償醫生諮詢費用和手術費,,而本地醫療保險計劃通常具有醫生和手術限制。關於中風後的治療和康復過程,通常可納入門診醫療保險的承保範圍內(例如言語治療,物理治療等)。注意檢查您的門診承保範圍及任何限制。如有任何醫療保險問題,請通過[email protected]2606 2668與AD MediLink的專家查詢。

更多香港中風資訊

此文章經由黃秉康醫生Dr Wong Ping Hong Derek核對。黃秉康醫生現為香港腦神經外科中心的註診神經外科醫生,同時為港怡醫院神經外科專科的名譽顧問醫生。自2016起,黃秉康醫生亦同時於香港中風學會和香港神經科放射學會擔任學會理事。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

A Neurosurgeon’s Guide to Strokes

Last updated on May 4, 2021.

Advertisements

Stroke is the fourth leading cause of death in Hong Kong. Globally, it affects 15 million people every year and takes a life away every 6 seconds, according to the World Stroke Organization. What makes stroke a devastating disease is not only the possibility of death, but also its continuous impacts on patients and their family members.  

What is a Stroke?

Also known as cerebrovascular accidents or a brain attack, stroke is a life-threatening emergency condition. It happens when blood flow to the brain is cut off. Brain cells then cannot get oxygen and nutrients, resulting in injuries or even death of these cells. Stroke patients may not be able to carry out important brain functions permanently, such as reasoning, speech, vision, limb movement and regulation of other organs. 

There are two main types:

  • Ischaemic stroke: is caused by a blood clot in the brain blood vessels, or accumulation of plaque (blood clots & fatty substances) that narrows the blood vessels. Around 80% of the cases are ischaemic
  • Haemorrhagic stroke: is caused when a brain vessel bursts, which leads to bleeding in or around the brain. It can also be a result of uncontrolled high blood pressure or a brain aneurysm

Transient Ischaemic Attacks Are Not Strokes!

Transient ischaemic attacks (TIA) or mini-strokes are similar to strokes. They share the same signs and symptoms. In TIAs, blood supply to the brain is interrupted briefly, usually lasting for less than a few minutes but it can be up to an hour. You will get better quickly. TIAs do not bring lasting damages. 

DO NOT IGNORE TIAs. You should seek medical help promptly as they often signal a greater risk of developing a major stroke soon. About 10-15% of people who have a TIA will get a full stroke within 3 months. 

Advertisements

Signs and Symptoms of a Stroke

The presentation and effects of strokes depend on the location of blood vessels in the brain and the extent of damage. All signs and symptoms often occur suddenly without warning. 

The acronym FAST will help you immediately recognize the main symptoms

  • Face: Uneven facial expression. One side of the face, especially the lips, may droop. The person may not be able to smile. Typically eyes are spared.
  • Arms: The person will lose strength to lift either side of arms or legs up due to weakness. For stroke, symptoms would usually like to one side.
  • Speech: Ask the person to repeat a simple sentence. He or she may have difficulties speaking or understanding you. Their speech is strange or slurred. 
  • Time: Dial 999 right away if you notice any of these signs or symptoms. Urgent medical care is critical in reducing brain damage and improving recovery chances. 

Other possible signs and symptoms

  • Trouble walking, dizziness, loss or balance or coordination. 
  • Unexplained sudden, severe headache.  
  • Vision problems in one or both eyes, e.g. seeing blurred or double images, or loss of vision in one eye.
  • Sudden confusion, disorientation, or loss of memory.
  • Numbness or poor coordination of one side of the body and/or limbs
  • Swallowing difficulties, drooling saliva.
  • Altered consciousness or coma.
  • Loss of control of the bladder which may lead to urine leakage. 
  • Vomiting. 

What To Do if Someone Has a Stroke? 

  1. Stay calm and call 999 immediately. 
  2. Record the time when symptoms first started and notify the ambulance staff. Medications only work within a limited period of time. 
  3. Lay the person on one side in case he/she vomits. 
  4. Loosen or remove any tight clothing, e.g. unbuttoning the shirt.  
  5. Accompany and reassure the person. 
  6. Perform CPR if the person is not breathing. 
  7. Do not give any medications, food or drinks. 
  8. Do not drive the person to the emergency room yourself. 
Advertisements

Causes and Risk Factors of Strokes

Medical conditions:

  • High blood pressure: is the main risk factor.
  • Diabetes: can cause other risk factors of strokes, e.g. raised blood pressure. Diabetes also damages blood vessels.
  • Heart and blood vessel diseases: e.g. atrial fibrillation, tumor, aneurysm.
  • High blood lipid level: it promotes the buildup of plaque on the inside of the artery walls, which can restrict blood flow.
  • Sleep apnea: it has been shown that there is an association between sleep apnea and strokes.
  • Trauma: Damage to neck vessels can cause a stroke

Risk factors that can be controlled:

  • Smoking: can injure blood vessels and increase blood pressure.
  • Unhealthy diet
  • Lacking physical exercise or obesity
  • Alcohol abuse: can also raise risks for high blood pressure and make you gain weight.
  • Stress
  • Drugs: e.g. illegal drugs, birth control pills and hormone replacement therapy. 

Risk factors that cannot be controlled:

  • Age: stroke affects all people from children to elderly, especially those aged above 55 years.
  • Sex: while men are more likely to have strokes, strokes cause more death in women. It is the third leading cause of death for women. Pregnant women also have an increased risk.
  • Race: South Asian, African or Caribbean people are at a greater risk.
  • Family history
  • Prior strokes, transient ischaemic attacks, or heart attacks.

How is a Stroke Diagnosed?  

Your doctor will look at the symptoms, medications you have been taking and your medical history to determine the probable causes of your stroke. He or she will also measure blood pressure & glucose level, evaluate mental status, and check your balance and coordination, eyesight problems, weakness or numbness of muscles including in the face and limbs. 

Several tests can also be run. For instance:

  • A blood test to find out the lipid and sugar levels in your blood.
  • Diagnostic imaging tests like CT scans and MRI scans to confirm the type of stroke, to show the severity,  bleeding or damage and their location in the brain.
  • Heart and blood vessel tests, such as electrocardiogram to see if there are heart conditions related to the stroke, echocardiography to find sources of blood clot in the heart, carotid ultrasound to detect any narrowing or occlusion of blood vessels, and cerebral angiogram to review blood flow through the brain in details. 
  • A swallowing test to assess ability to swallow and the risk of aspiration. Swallowing difficulties are common after strokes, and can be silent clinically until chest infection occurs.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Advertisements

How Are Strokes Treated?

Ischaemic stroke

  • Tissue Plasminogen Activator (tPA): they dissolve blood clots and are most effective within 4.5 hours of stroke onset through intravenous injection. Examples include Alteplase, Reteplase and Tenecteplase.
  • Thrombectomy: is a surgical procedure using a catheter and a small device to remove blood clots. It is recommended for patients with large vessel occlusion, to be performed as soon as possible up to 24 hours of symptoms onset in selected case.
  • Antiplatelets: they reduce blood clot formation by preventing platelets from sticking together. Examples include aspirin, dipyridamole and clopidogrel.
  • Anticoagulants: they reduce blood clot formation and thin the blood by changing the chemical composition of blood. It is particularly useful to prevent stroke related to atrial fibrillation. Examples include warfarin, dabigatran, apixaban and heparins.
  • Statins: they are lipid-lowering agents, which also help to stablize plagues and reduce the risk of recurrent stroke, for example atorvastatin and simvastatin

To avoid another stroke, endovascular stenting or carotid endarterectomy may be performed. It reduces the risk of another stroke caused by the plague within the vessel.

Stenting may also be considered for severely narrowed vessel or dissected (damaged) vessel to restore blood flow to the brain, 

Haemorrhagic stroke

  • Surgery: to relieve pressure within the skull by clearing the blood clot in the brain, releasing the cerebrospinal fluid, or to remove the skull bone to allow room for pressure to be relieved.
  • Embolization / clipping of aneurysm: if bleeding is related to rupturing of cerebral aneurysms, these surgeries have to be considered as soon as possible to prevent another devastating bleeding.
  • Stop medications that may increase bleeding risks

Your doctor may also prescribe blood pressure medications, such as hydrochlorothiazide, lisinopril and amlodipine

Stroke Recovery & Rehabilitation 

Strokes can impair a wide range of body functions and mental health greatly. The process of recovery often needs help from different medical professionals and some patients need long-term support. Below is a list of common problems encountered after strokes, and what to do to cope with them better. 

  1. Depression, anxiety, changed behavior or personality. You may need medications, or speak to a psychologist for counseling or cognitive behavioral therapy. Caregivers should also provide emotional support.  
  2. Reduced cognitive functions, for instance memory, attention, ability to make plans, problem-solving, orientation and reasoning, etc. Get help from your family members and friends if needed, and write down notes to remind yourself. Occupational therapist may help to consolidate training programs and seek ways to solve problems encountered during daily activities.
  3. Movement difficulties due to muscle weakness or one-side paralysis. Meet up with a physiotherapist so he or she can assess your condition, provide physiotherapy and teach you simple exercises to strengthen your muscles. You can also exercise based on your ability and use walking aids if needed.
  4. Aphasia (unable to understand and speak as a result of injuries in brain areas responsible for languages). See a speech therapist to help you understand the conversation, and improve your ability to speak correctly and clearly. Computerized apparatus may also help patients to communicate.
  5. Dysphagia (problems with swallowing), which can lead to aspiration and cause lung infections. Using a feeding tube may be needed but would deprive patients of the joy of eating. A speech therapist may help to coordinate training to allow patient to eat again. Liquid is usually the more risky type of food, a thickener may be required.
  6. Changes in vision, sensation and spatial relations judgment, etc. Acknowledge the deficit and pay attention to avoid bodily injury. For example if part of sensation is lost, patients need to be reminded to avoid unintentional burn injuries. If part of the visual field is affected, they need to pay extra cautions to the environment by turning the head to see.
  7. Difficulties controlling bladder and bowel movement, causing problems such as urine leakage, urinary tract infections, constipation and diarrhea, etc. Incontinence products and doing pelvic floor exercises may be useful. Do not refuse fluid intake.
  8. Returning to work. Evaluate your ability and challenges with your healthcare professionals to see if you can meet the demands and expectations of your work. It is common and often necessary to make adjustments at work with your employer.
  9. Spasticity, In general the muscle tone of the affected side would be raised. The increased muscle tone can lead to pain, deterred rehabilitation and caring problems. Frequent stretching, use of splints, and sometimes use of oral medications or Botox injections can help to reduce spasticity and improve quality of life.
Advertisements

How to Best Prevent Strokes? 

A healthy lifestyle plays an important role in preventing a stroke from occurring. 

  1. Eat a balanced, low-fat and high-fiber diet with plenty of fruits and vegetables. Limit your salt consumption to 1 teaspoonful (6g) a day. Too much salt increases blood pressure. 
  2. Exercise regularly to stay at a healthy weight. You are encouraged to do at least 150 minutes of moderate-intensity aerobic exercise, for example swimming or brisk walk, weekly. 
  3. Quitting smoking can lower the risk of strokes and other serious diseases, for example lung cancer
  4. Avoid excessive alcohol intake. Men should only have up to 2 drinks and only one drink for women every day
  5. Treat and control underlying conditions, especially risk factors of strokes such as high blood pressure, high lipid level in blood, diabetes, and heart diseases. 
  6. Get regular checkups for early detection of any problems. 
  7. Proper stress management. 
  8. Take your preventive medications as prescribed if you have had a stroke. Second stroke risk is 15 times higher in stroke patients compared to others. 
  9. Know the warning signs of a stroke. 

How Much Does it Cost to be Treated for a Stroke in Hong Kong?

Cost of treatment in Hong Kong’s Public Sector:

For eligible persons with an HKID card, the cost for Accident & Emergency Departments (A&E) in public hospitals is $180 per attendance. The cost for inpatient (acute general beds) includes $75 admission fee and $120 hospital bed fee per day. Each attendance at Rehabilitation Day Hospital is $55. 

For non-eligible persons without an HKID card, the cost for A&E is $1,230 per attendance. Inpatient services in general hospitals are $5,100 per day. The cost for Rehabilitation Day Hospital is $1,320 per attendance. 

Beware of waiting times which can be very long in the public sector.

For details, call the Hospital Authority at 2300 6555.

Cost of treatment in Hong Kong’s Private Sector:

The cost of stroke treatment in the private sector varies in different private settings, and would be determined by doctor fees, medication fees, laboratory test and imaging test charges, and surgery charges, etc.

Generally, consultations with a doctor specialist neurosurgeon or neurologist in Hong Kong cost around $800 to $2,000, excluding medication fees. Diagnostic and assessment cost ranges from about $10,000 to over $25,000. Treatment packages offered in private hospitals for acute stroke cost roughly $70,000 – $90,000, excluding hospital charges and additional investigational test fees.

* All amounts are in HKD and were last updated in May 2021. No responsibility is accepted for any inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. It is always best to call ahead to make sure the information is still up-to-date.

Advertisements

Does Insurance Cover Stroke Treatments in Hong Kong?

According to AD MediLink, consultations from a specialist neurosurgeon or neurologist are reimbursed under doctor specialist fees. Generally, high-end medical plans reimburse consultations and surgical fees in full without any sub-limit whereas local plans usually have surgical and doctor specialist limits. In regards to treatments and rehabilitation following a stroke, these are usually covered under outpatient benefits (eg. speech therapy, physiotherapy, etc.). It is important to check the extent of your outpatient benefits as well as any sub-limits. If you have any health insurance questions, contact an expert at AD MediLink at [email protected]

Useful Resources in Hong Kong

This article was reviewed by Dr. Wong Ping Hong Derek 黃秉康醫生. Currently, Dr. Derek Wong is a practicing neurosurgeon at the Hong Kong Neurosurgery Centre and an Honorary Consultant in Neurosurgery at Gleneagles Hospital Hong Kong. He has also been a Council member of the Hong Kong Stroke Society and the Hong Kong Society of Interventional & Therapeutic Neuroradiology since 2016.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.