地中海飲食:最健康的飲食模式之一

最後更新日期 十月 7, 2021.

簡介 | 什麼是地中海飲食 | 身體健康益處 | 心理健康益處 | 關鍵

地中海飲食歷史悠久,可以追溯到1960年。科學家發現同年代地中海周邊地區國家如法國、希臘、義大利和西班牙,人民通常都比較長壽和健康。

科學家因而展開了仔細的研究和觀察,試圖解釋這個現象。他們發現地中海一帶的傳統飲食模式,或者就是長壽的秘訣。「地中海飲食」只是一個總稱,不同地區的居民會根據個人需要、偏好,以及文化習俗等調整他們的膳食,所以這種飲食沒有特定的模式。

簡介

近年,地中海飲食再次成為城中熱話,備受注重健康的人士追捧,早前更被聯合國教科文組織列為人類非物質文化遺產許多科學研究指出,地中海飲食能降低患上心血管或其他慢性疾病的風險,如高血壓和高膽固醇。最近有研究甚至探討了地中海飲食對延緩衰老的作用。

想體驗地中海飲食,又苦於不會烹飪正宗地中海菜?其實地中海飲食的食材可以在本地超市輕易找到,再配合健康的烹調方法,你便可一嘗這種飲食模式,遠在千里也可感受地中海風味。

什麼是地中海飲食

地中海飲食是一種植物性的飲食模式,含高纖維、不飽和脂肪、優質蛋白質和不同微量營養素,以及少量肉類,同時避免任何加工食品。

應進食的食物

  • 每日攝取:水果、蔬菜、全穀物、高脂肪的魚類(如鮭魚、金槍魚、鯖魚和沙甸魚)、海鮮(如蛤蜊、扇貝、海參和螃蟹)、堅果、種子、豆類、橄欖油、牛油果油、香料
  • 適量攝取:家禽、雞蛋、乳製品(如芝士和乳酪)
  • 限制攝取:紅肉

應避免的食物

避免加工食品、過量酒精、含糖飲料、飽和脂肪、反式脂肪、精製碳水化合物和紅肉。 這些食物會在體內產生氧化應激,有機會引起炎症。

溫馨提示

建議每周至少2次食用高脂肪的魚類和海鮮,以攝取充足的健康脂肪——多不飽和脂肪,尤其是Omega-3脂肪酸

飲料的首選是或無糖飲料,如黑咖啡。地中海飲食文化中,人們通常都會飲用紅酒,但建議不要超過每日1杯的份量。

所謂地中海飲食並不限於餐桌上的佳餚,而是一種生活方式的改變。地中海飲食的精髓在於與親朋戚友一起準備食物,然一同享用家常便飯,分享美食的時光。這種飲食文化同時也鼓勵人們保持體育鍛鍊,學會活在當下。

身體健康益處

1. 心臟健康

健康脂肪(即不飽和脂肪)是地中海飲食的主要成分之一,對身體多種健康益處。

橄欖油是地中海飲食中的主要添加脂肪來源,負責提供單不飽和脂肪。一項2018年的研究發現,橄欖油可以降低中風、心臟病發作以及其引至死亡的綜合風險達31%。堅果和種子也是單不飽和脂肪的優質來源。JAMA Internal Medicine指出,堅果能減低代謝綜合症的發病機會。

多不飽和脂肪(如Omega-3脂肪酸)來自高脂肪的魚類和海鮮,有助減輕體內的炎症。美國心臟協會一項有關Omega-3脂肪酸與心臟健康的研究發現,Omega-3脂肪酸有助降低體內的甘油三酯,減低血液凝固的機會,並降低動脈粥樣硬化和中風的風險。

2. 抗衰老

所有染色體的頭尾兩端都各有一個帽形的結構,又名端粒,它的長度可以用來預測衰老速度和壽命,以及一些隨年齡增長且由壓力和炎症引致的疾病。

地中海飲食中的食物組合能產生抗氧化和抗炎的作用,改善健康。蔬果、堅果和全穀物裡的抗氧化物能對抗在體內累積的氧化應激(Oxidative Stress)——由體內製造或從外部環境累積的自由基,保持端粒的長度。The Nurses’ Health Study發現,地中海飲食能減慢端粒縮短的速度,延長壽命。

3. 減肥

雖然地中海飲食並不是專為減肥而設的,但相比其他限制卡路里攝取量的低脂飲食模式,地中海飲食能更有效減肥

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

心理健康

1. 抗炎症與心理健康

地中海飲食內的Omega-3食物能清除在體內積聚的自由基,減輕炎症。與此同時,亦能有助預防抑鬱症。植物性食物內的膳食抗氧化物能避免氧化應激在體內累積,以及對免疫系統的刺激,減低中樞神經系統受損的機會。

地中海飲食的抗炎作用能預防各種心理健康狀況,如認知能力下降、海馬功能障礙(hippocampal dysfunction)和情緒障礙等。

2. 血糖負荷與心理健康

地中海飲食限制了易引起炎症的精緻碳水化合物攝取量。

麵包、薄餅、意粉、糕點、白米、甜品……這些都是精製碳水化合物的常見食物。事實上,大量攝取精製碳水化合物會增加身體的血糖負荷,導致自主神經反調節激素(如皮質醇和腎上腺素)受損,觸發各種抑鬱症狀,影響心理健康。因此,地中海飲食能有助減緩焦慮的症狀,改善煩躁的情緒

3. 腸道菌群與心理健康

腸道微生物組群指的是包含數萬億微生物、細菌和病毒的體內生態,對心理健康至關重要。科學研究證實,腸道微生物組群與炎症、內分泌和神經系統息息相關,更與嚴重抑鬱症有密切關聯。

除了遺傳及環境因素外,飲食模式是影響腸道微生物組群多樣性、功能性及相對豐度的重要因素。在地中海飲食中,乳製品中的益生菌可以優化腸道微生物組群的生態。這種飲食方式包含高纖維、多酚及不飽和脂肪酸的攝取,有助提升腸道微生物組群的多樣性,從而將食物代謝為抗炎代謝物(anti-inflammatory metabolites)。一項針對腸道微生物群的益生菌研究進一步支持了腸道微生物群有助情緒調的說法。這表明攝取益生菌可以提高大腦對情緒控制的能力,從而減輕抑鬱症狀。

關鍵

地中海飲食中有不少能讓人變得快樂的食物選擇,能幫助我們改善情緒及身體健康。地中海飲食提倡的健康生活方式,正正適合注重健康的你!

FAQs

是否所有高脂肪魚類都適合食用?

不是。美國食品和藥物管理局 (FDA) 規定,應避免食用鯖魚、橙鯛、馬林魚、鯊魚、旗魚、瓦片魚和大眼金槍魚,因為這些魚類通常含有大量的汞,是一種會損害內臟器官功能的重金屬。適合食用的魚類包括鮭魚、黑線鱈、罐裝淡金槍魚和蝦。

地中海飲食有規定要喝紅酒嗎?

沒有規定。雖然在地中海文化中,飲用紅酒是一種常見膳食習慣,但對於一些不好酒品的人士而言,千萬不需要強迫自己喝酒。一些研究指出,紅酒內的多酚可以預防心臟病和糖尿病,但此說法並沒有一致的定論。

地中海飲食可以幫助減肥嗎?

雖然地中海飲食的主要目標並不是幫助減肥,但一些研究顯示,地中海飲食確實比低脂飲食有更好的減肥效果。地中海飲食有較多的健康脂肪和纖維,有助提升和延長飽腹感,減少進食的衝動,從而減低整體的卡路里攝取量,達至減肥的效果。

儘管如此,如果沒有留意食用份量,地中海飲食也有可能導致體重增加。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Mediterranean Diet — One of the Healthiest Diets

Last updated on August 10, 2021.

Mediterranean diet 101 | Introduction | What is Mediterranean diet | Physical health benefits | Psychological health benefits | Key takeaways

Mediterranean diet 101

The Mediterranean diet gives you a reason to eat like a Greek. This diet has a long history dating back to 1960 — a time when people from countries around the Mediterranean Sea, namely France, Greece, Italy and Spain were found to live longer and healthier than other countries. A remarkable coincidence, or was it not?

In fact, scientists tried to unlock the key to their longevity by taking a closer look at their traditional dietary patterns entailed in the Mediterranean diet. There is no definite answer as to what a Mediterranean diet must be like as it has been adopted widely over different areas with adjustments made according to individual needs, cultures and preferences.

Introduction

The Mediterranean diet is making a comeback in recent years, being recognized as a healthy, sustainable dietary pattern; and as an intangible cultural heritage of humanity by the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. Numerous studies suggested that people following this diet are less prone to cardiovascular diseases and other chronic diseases, such as high blood pressure and elevated cholesterol level. Recent research even explored how the Mediterranean diet may potentially slow down the process of aging. That’s some food for thought, right?

You don’t necessarily have to be a master chef in cooking authentic Mediterranean-style dishes in order to reap the benefits. All you have to do is to incorporate fresh, healthy food ingredients that are easily accessible in your local grocery stores, into your daily meals.

Excited to try out but still not sure where to start? The Mediterranean diet is not as far-fetched as you may think. Learn more about this best expert-reviewed diet in this article as we decode it for you.

What is a Mediterranean diet?

Say yes to green without committing yourself to becoming a vegan! The Mediterranean diet is largely a plant-based diet, with minimally processed food of high fiber, unsaturated fats, quality protein and different micronutrients, as well as a relatively low intake of animal-based foods.

Foods to include

  • Daily intake: fruits, vegetables, whole grains, fatty fish (e.g. salmon, tuna, mackerel and sardine), seafood (e.g. clam, scallop, sea cucumber and crab), nuts, seeds, legumes, olive oil, avocado oil, herbs and spices
  • Moderate intake: poultry, eggs, dairy products (e.g. cheese and yogurt)
  • Limited intake: red meat

Foods to avoid

Avoid processed food, excessive alcohol, sugary drinks, saturated fat, trans fat, refined carbohydrates and red meat. These foods generate oxidative stress in the body, and cause inflammation.

Additional reminders

You are suggested to eat fatty fish and seafood at least twice a week for the optimal intake of healthy fats — polyunsaturated fats, in particular omega-3 fatty acids.

Water and other sugar-free beverages, such as tea and coffee, are your go-to drink options. It is also common to allow a glass of red wine (preferably not more than that) per day in the Mediterranean diet.

The Mediterranean diet is not really a “diet” stressing what foods you consume, but rather a lifestyle that says how you eat matters. Practicing mindful eating is the essence of the Mediterranean diet, whereby people take time to prepare and share filling, nourish home-cooked meals with family and friends and enjoy every bite without distractions. In this case, it is no surprise you will get to be physically active and learn to savor the moment.

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Physical health benefits

1. Heart health

Healthy fats, namely unsaturated fats, are the staple of the Mediterranean diet with various benefits. 

Olive oil is the main source of added fat in the Mediterranean diet, which provides monounsaturated fats. A 2018 research found that a Mediterranean diet with olive oil may significantly reduce the combined risk of stroke, heart attack and death from heart disease by up to 31%. Nuts and seeds are other good sources of monounsaturated fats. In particular, JAMA Internal Medicine suggested that the consumption of nuts can reduce the prevalence of metabolic syndrome.

Polyunsaturated fats — omega-3 fatty acids from fatty fish and seafood can help reduce inflammation in the body. According to a study on Omega-3 Fatty Acids and Heart Health by American Heart Association, omega-3 fatty acids can also help decrease triglycerides, reduce blood clotting and decrease the risk of atherosclerosis and stroke.

2. Anti-aging

The length of a cap structure at the tip of all chromosomes — telomeres — is a biomarker to estimate how fast someone is aging, how much longer they can live, and it is also associated with age-related diseases caused by stress and inflammation. Shortened telomeres are a sign of premature aging and many chronic diseases.

It is in this light that the healthy food combinations in the Mediterranean diet can lead to life-changing impacts due to their antioxidative and anti-inflammatory properties. The antioxidants in fruits and vegetables, nuts and whole grains can fight against oxidative stress (i.e. build-up of free radicals generated within the body or exposed from external sources e.g. processed foods) accumulated in the body and preserve telomere length. The Nurses’ Health Study concluded that the Mediterranean diet is associated with longer telomeres, thus promoting longevity.

3. Weight loss

The Mediterranean diet is not primarily about weight-loss. Nonetheless, compared to a calorie-restricted low-fat diet, a calorie-restricted Mediterranean diet may be more effective in weight loss

Psychological health benefits

Researchers suggest that the Mediterranean diet goes beyond the body and affects the mind:

1. Anti-inflammation and mental health

As mentioned, foods with omega-3 fats in the Mediterranean diet are believed to have anti-inflammatory effects, which help remove free radicals from our body. But do you know that this can help relieve or prevent depressive symptoms too? Thanks to the dietary antioxidants in plant-based foods, free radicals generated from bodily processes involving metabolism will not be accumulated to form oxidative stress and will be less likely to stimulate immune activation, thus preventing the impairment of the central nervous system.

As the inflammatory effects may potentially lead to cognitive decline and hippocampal dysfunction or even mood disorders, the anti-inflammatory effects of the Mediterranean diet can prevent the onset of various mental health conditions.

2. Glycemic load and mental health

The Mediterranean diet limits the intake of inflammation-induced highly refined carbohydrates.

Bread, pizza dough, pasta, pastries, white rice, sweet desserts… To name but a few are examples of highly refined carbohydrates you may consume every day. In fact, high consumption of refined carbohydrates poses a high glycemic load to the body, which may in turn result in an impairment in autonomic counter-regulatory hormones, such as cortisol and adrenaline, impacting psychological well-being by triggering various depression signs. Consequently, adopting the Mediterranean diet may help relieve anxiety and improve mental irritability.

3. Gut microbiome and mental health

Gut microbiome, i.e. an umbrella term encompassing trillions of microbial organisms, bacteria and viruses, has been increasingly known for its paramount role in mental well-being over the past decades. As the brain is closely associated with the gut microbiome in terms of neuronal, inflammatory and hormonal pathways, there is physiological evidence for the correlation of the change in gut microbiome and the occurrence of major depressive disorder.

Apart from the genetic and environmental factors, diet is a significant modifiable determinant of the diversity, functionality, and relative abundance of the gut microbiome throughout the lifespan. In the Mediterranean diet, probiotics in dairy products can optimize the operation of the gut microbiome. This dietary style consists of high fibers, polyphenols, and unsaturated fatty acids, which can help elevate the gut microbial taxa and consequently promote the metabolization of the food into anti-inflammatory metabolites. A study on probiotics that target the gut microbiome further bolsters the belief that the gut microbiome is beneficial for emotion regulation. It suggests that the ingestion of probiotics can enhance the brain’s performance on tasks that require emotional attention, and thereby reduces depressive symptoms.

Key Takeaways

As you can see, the Mediterranean diet includes “happy foods” with compounds that have been shown to improve our mood and body.

It can be a fun and realistic way to help you achieve your goals if you’re looking for a long-term lifestyle change to keep yourself wholesome and healthy or even better if you simply feel like eating the Greek way and exploring culinary happiness!

FAQs

Are all fatty fish safe to eat?

No. According to The Food and Drug Administration (FDA), avoid king mackerel, orange roughy, marlin, shark, swordfish, tile fish and big eye tuna because they may contain a high level of mercury, a heavy metal that can damage the function of different internal organs. Go for salmon, haddock, canned light tuna and shrimp instead.

Is it a must to drink red wine in a Mediterranean diet?

Definitely not! In some mediterranean cultures, it is common to add a glass of red wine to the meal. But if you are not a wine drinker, do not force yourself to drink. Although some previous research has stated that polyphenols found in red wine provide protection against heart disease and diabetes, the results are inconclusive.

Can Mediterranean diet help me lose weight?

While weight loss isn’t the main goal of Mediterranean diet, some research shows that a Mediterranean diet may have a better weight loss effect than a low-fat diet. The proposed rationale is that a higher intake of healthy fat and fiber in a Mediterranean diet provides satiety and sustain fullness longer, reducing the urge to eat and thus overall caloric intake. 

 

Nonetheless, without carefully observing the amounts of food and portion sizes, adopting a Mediterranean diet can lead to weight gain.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.