益生菌:「有益健康」的細菌

最後更新日期 七月 20, 2021.

定義 | 功能 | 健康益處 | 免疫力 | 減肥 | 疾病預防 | 濕疹 | 食物來源

Advertisements

益生菌的熱潮可以追溯到1980年代。當時,科學家主要以乳酸菌作為益生菌研究內容。隨後,市場上逐漸興起不同含有益生菌的發酵食品,如來自韓國的泡菜、來自日本的味噌(豆醬)和納豆(發酵大豆)等。 至今,為了提升免疫力和預防病毒感染,許多人趨向留意益生菌補充品。而在補充品以外,益生菌其實亦存在於不同的食物之中,例如乳酪和不同發酵食品。

什麼是益生菌?

益生菌泛指對人體消化和免疫系統有益的活性微生物,它們以酵母或細菌的形式存在,一般能在乳酪、發酵食品和膳食補充品中發現它們的蹤影。最廣為人知的益生菌是乳酸菌和雙歧桿菌。經消化道進入身體後,腸道內無氧 (anaerobic) 且營養充足的環境有利益生菌繁殖,有利於增加腸道菌群的生物多樣性,帶來多重健康益處。

最近的研究顯示,從消化系統的角度而言,重點並不是要攝取特定份量或類型的益生菌,而是增加腸道內益生菌菌株的多樣性。

益生元和益生菌都一樣嗎?

兩者並不一樣。益生元是製造益生菌的必要元素,它們可以刺激益生菌的生長和活性。蔬菜和水果中的纖維都含有益生元。

益生菌的作用是什麼?

腸道負責分解和吸收食物和補充品中的營養素,因此保持健康的消化系統是獲取所需營養的關鍵。腸道菌群生態一旦失衡,就會阻礙消化過程,影響身體健康。莫納什大學撰寫的一篇評論文章指出,很多疾病都與腸道微生物群失衡有關,包括結直腸癌、心臟病、代謝綜合症、二型糖尿病、肥胖、阿茨海默病 (Alzheimer’s disease/老人痴呆症)和抑鬱症等。

益生菌可以幫助人體消化食物、抵抗有害的外來物質和製造維他命(例如維他命 K),同時平衡腸胃生態環境,維持健康。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

Advertisements

益生菌的健康益處

免疫力

當遇到有害的外來物質,體內的益生菌就會啟動防禦機制來保護免疫系統,消滅腸道中具傳染性的細菌。

然而,抗生素和其他藥物、不良的飲食習慣和疾病都有機會導致腸道微生物群失衡,影響消化系統健康。南加州循證實踐中心的一項研究發現,益生菌可以減少抗生素引起的腹瀉。益生菌進入腸道後,便會開始與「壞」細菌爭奪資源,並迅速生長。由於資源短缺,「壞」細菌的數量會逐漸減少。因此,益生菌有助維持腸道中「好」和「壞」細菌的平衡。

減肥

益生菌可以通過改善脂肪代謝率和食慾來控制體重。加拿大一所大學進行的一項隨機對照試驗發現,服用鼠李糖乳桿菌(一種益生菌)3個月的女性與未服用的女性相比,體重減輕了 50%。另一項研究顯示,服用另一種益生菌——加氏乳桿菌的參加者,研究的12個月期間腹部脂肪平均每天減少8.5%。

益生菌之所以有助於減肥,是因為它能阻止脂肪吸收,繼而令脂肪排出體外,防止脂肪在體內累積。另一項解釋是,益生菌通過釋放調節食慾的激素(例如胰高血糖素樣肽-1和多肽YY)令身體長時間保持飽腹感,降低食慾,甚至可以幫助燃燒卡路里和脂肪,從而達到減肥的效果。

然而,並非所有益生菌都有助減肥。研究發現,嗜酸乳桿菌會導致體重增加,而一些益生菌可能在到達腸道前被胃酸破壞。

疾病預防

益生菌能降低不同疾病的風險,例如癌症、肥胖和阿茨海默病。

精神生物素 (psychobiotics) 是一組新興的細菌,亦屬於益生菌的一種,有助提高腸腦軸 (gut-brain axis) 的功能。腸腦軸的作用是將身體的中樞神經系統和內在神經系統(負責控制消化)聯繫起來。最近的研究發現,精神生物素可以降低認知疾病的風險,例如阿茨海默病和帕金森病等。

濕疹

濕疹是一種常見的皮膚病,通常由免疫系統失調引起。濕疹會導致皮膚乾燥、發炎,甚至破裂和流血。益生菌有助於維持健康的免疫系統,改善濕疹的情況。儘管以益生菌作為濕疹治療方法的研究結果不一許多研究均得出正面的臨床數據。總而言之,益生菌可以配合現有的濕疹治療方法,但不可以直接取代藥物。

其他健康益處

一些研究指出,益生菌可以改善以下狀況:

含有益生菌的食物

將含有益生菌的食物融入日常飲食中,可以優化腸道健康和免疫力!

乳酪

乳酪由牛奶發酵而成,含有乳酸菌和雙歧桿菌。

某些乳酪甚至適合乳糖不耐症患者,因為乳酪中的細菌有機會能將乳糖分解,轉化為乳酸。

芝士

發酵芝士,如車打、高達和茅屋芝士都含有益生菌。

醃菜

用鹽水醃製的蔬菜,如橄欖、韓國泡菜、醃黃瓜和德國酸菜(由捲心菜製成)都含有豐富乳酸菌。

黑巧克力

巧克力可以促進體內活性益生菌的繁殖。

味噌

由大豆發酵而成的味噌含有益生菌。

泡菜

韓國泡菜由捲心菜與各種各樣的調味料發酵而成,含有維持消化系統健康的乳酸菌。

納豆

納豆是另一種源自日本的發酵豆製品。它含有枯草芽孢桿菌,是益生菌的一種。

FAQs

選擇益生菌補充品時有什麼特別考慮嗎?

哈佛女性健康觀察指出,消費者在購買益生菌補充品時,應注意補充品中的CFU值(益生菌單位)。成人益生菌補充品的每日劑量一般含有10億至100億個CFU,但確切的CFU值取決於益生菌菌株的類型和微生物活性,以及用家年齡和健康需求。

益生菌補充品是否適合所有人?

並非所有益生菌補充品都適合所有人。用家一定要根據自己的身體狀況選擇合適的益生菌,特別是患有嚴重疾病或免疫系統受損患者、容易過敏人士、孕婦、哺乳期婦女或正在服用藥物的人士,更應注意補充品的成分。上述人士在服用任何補充品前應先諮詢醫生。

益生菌補充品有哪些副作用?

只有部分人在開始服用益生菌補充品時出現輕微的腸胃不適,例如腹脹、胃氣和噁心。這些症狀通常會在幾天內消失,但如果症狀持續出現,請立即停止服用補充品並諮詢醫生意見。

 

以下人士使用益生菌補充品時必須更加謹慎:

  • 免疫系統較弱的人(例如正在接受化療)
  • 患有嚴重疾病的人
  • 剛做完手術的病人
  • 生病的嬰兒

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Probiotics: The “Good” Bacteria in Your Body

Last updated on August 6, 2021.

Definition of Probiotics | Functions | Health benefits | Immunity | Weight loss | Disease prevention | Eczema | Foods

The popularity of probiotics can be dated back to the 1980s. At that time, lactic acid bacteria were mostly used for probiotics research, which were then brought to the public eye by a showcase of fermented foods on the market that contain probiotics, such as Korean kimchi, Japanese miso (soybean paste) and natto (fermented soybeans). These days, many people turn to supplement probiotics to improve their immunity and to prevent viral infection. If you are not a fan of supplements, probiotics are readily available in many foods as well, from yogurt to fermented foods. 

What are probiotics?

Probiotics generally refer to live microorganisms beneficial to the human digestion and immunity systems. They exist in forms of yeasts or bacteria and can be found in yogurt and fermented foods, as well as in dietary supplements. The most widely known probiotics are lactic acid bacteria and bifidella. After ingestion, the anaerobic and nutritious environment in the intestines favors the breeding of probiotics to enhance the biodiversity of gut microbiota and bring multiple health benefits.

In terms of digestive health, recent research revealed that it is not the amount or specific type of probiotics intake that matters, but the diversity of probiotics strains.

Are prebiotics the same as probiotics?

No, they are not. Prebiotics are essential elements for probiotics as they stimulate the growth and activity of beneficial probiotic bacteria. They are the non-digestible components in food, for example fiber in vegetables and fruits.

What are the functions of probiotics?

“You are what you eat.” The functions of your body are provided by the food you eat. Therefore, maintaining a healthy digestive system is a key to obtaining the required nutrients, because the gastrointestinal tract is responsible for breaking down and absorbing all the nutrients in the food and supplements you eat. An imbalanced gastrointestinal environment will disrupt this process, leading to a vicious circle, and affect your health. A review article written by Monash University stated that diseases linked to a disrupted gut microbiota include colorectal cancer, heart disease, metabolic syndrome, type 2 diabetes, obesity, Alzheimer’s disease and depression.

Probiotics can balance the gastrointestinal environment and help you maintain your health. They are considered to be the “good” bacteria that help digest food, fight against infectious foreign substances and help produce vitamins (e.g. vitamin K).

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Health benefits of probiotics

Immunity

Probiotics exhibit the ability to destroy infectious bacteria in the intestines as a natural body defense mechanism to protect our immune system.

However, use of antibiotics and other drugs, poor eating habits and certain diseases can lead to imbalances in the gut microbiota, and cause digestive problems. A study by the Southern California Evidence-Based Practice Center found that probiotics can reduce diarrhea caused by antibiotics. After probiotics enter the intestines, they begin to compete with the “bad bacteria” for resources and grow. With less resources available for “bad” bacteria, they gradually decline in number. Thus, probiotics help restore the balance of “good” and “bad” bacteria in the intestines.

Weight Loss

Probiotics can bring about weight loss by influencing fat metabolism and appetite control. A randomized controlled trial conducted by a Canadian university found that women who took Lactobacillus rhamnosus, a type of probiotics, for 3 months lost 50% of their weight compared to women who did not take it. Another study showed that participants taking Lactobacillus gasseri, another type of probiotics, daily lost an average of 8.5% of their belly fat in 12 weeks.

The proposed mechanism is that some probiotics block the absorption of fat in the intestines, causing  fat to be excreted through bowel movements instead of being stored in the body. Another explanation is that probiotics can sustain fullness for a long period of time and reduce appetite by releasing appetite-regulating hormones (e.g. glucagon-like peptide-1 and peptide YY), which can even help burn calories and fat, leading to weight loss.

However, not all probiotics can help weight loss. Studies have found that Lactobacillus acidophilus can cause weight gain, while some probiotics may have been destroyed by gastric acid before reaching the intestines.

Disease prevention

Probiotics are associated with the reduced risk of many different diseases, for example, cancer, obesity and Alzemer’s disease.

In particular, psychobiotics is an emerging group of bacteria that affect the function of the gut-brain axis, which links the body’s central and intrinsic nervous systems (the latter controls digestion). Recent research explored the potential role of psychobiotics in reducing cognitive diseases, such as Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease.

Eczema

Eczema is a common skin condition caused by a defective immune system reaction, resulting in dry, inflamed skin that may crack and bleed. Probiotics helps maintain a healthy immune system to fight against the defective immune response that causes eczema. Although there are mixed research results on the effect of probiotics as an eczema treatment, numerous studies show positive clinical outcomes. Altogether, probiotics is best used as a complementary medicine together with the existing eczema treatment, but not a replacement.

Other health benefits

Some research stated that probiotics can help with the following conditions:

Foods that contain probiotics

Here are some examples of probiotics foods for your everyday meal to optimize your gut health and immunity!

Yogurt

Yogurt is fermented from milk, and it contains lactic acid bacteria and bifidella.

Yogurt may even be suitable for people with lactose intolerance, as the bacteria in yogurt may be able to convert lactose into lactic acid.

Cheese

Fermented cheese, such as Cheddar, Gouda and Cottage cheese contain probiotics.

Pickled vegetables

Vegetables pickled in brine, such as olive, Korean kimchi, pickled cucumber and sauerkraut (German shredded cabbage) are rich in lactic acid bacteria.

Dark chocolate

Dark chocolate can cultivate the growth of active intestinal probiotics in the body.

Miso

Miso is fermented from soybeans, so it also contains probiotics.

Kimchi

Korean kimchi is a fermented cabbage which contains lactic acid bacteria that benefit digestive health.

Natto

Natto is another fermented soybean product that originated from Japan. It contains Bacillus subtilis as the source of probiotics

FAQs

Any special considerations when choosing probiotics supplements?

Harvard Women’s Health Watch stated that when purchasing probiotic supplements, consumers should pay attention to the CFU value (number of probiotic bacteria) in the supplements. Usually a daily dose of probiotic supplements for adults contains 1 billion to 10 billion, but the exact amount depends on the type of probiotic strain, age and purpose of the user, and microbial activity of the probiotic bacteria.

Are probiotics supplements suitable for everyone?

Not all probiotics supplements are suitable for everyone. You must choose the appropriate probiotics according to your physical condition. In particular, people with severe diseases or impaired immune systems, people with allergies, pregnant women, breastfeeding women or people who are taking medication, should pay attention to the ingredients of the supplements. The above-mentioned people should consult their doctors before taking any kind of supplement.

What are the side effects of probiotics supplements?

Only some people experience mild gastrointestinal discomfort, such as bloating, gas and nausea, when they start to take probiotics supplements. These symptoms normally fade away in a few days. But if they continue to appear, stop the supplementation and consult a doctor.

Some people have to be more cautious when using probiotic supplements, particularly:

  • people with a weakened immune system (e.g. undergoing chemotherapy)
  • people with serious illness
  • post-surgery patients
  • sick infants

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.