酒精:與您的健康有什麼關係?

在歡樂時光喝啤酒,晚上聚會時喝幾杯雞尾酒,小酌一杯美酒來鬆一下。酒在我們的生活中,特別是社交活動中,佔有特殊的地位。您想知道飲酒會否對您的健康有好處嗎?我們也想知道。一起來找出答案吧!

酒精與健康101

網上有很多對酒精飲品的不同講法;適量飲酒可以帶來一些健康益處,但是酒精對我們的身體也極具毒性,而且容易上癮。上癮會嚴重影響我們的身體健康和社交生活。

常見的酒精飲品類型

不同酒精飲料會對我們產生不同的影響。雖然“酒精”與一些特定的反應有關,這並不代表所有酒精類別都是一樣的。以下是我們審閱過的一些最常見的類別:

啤酒

啤酒是將穀物(通常是大麥)在溫水中煮,把穀物中的糖分取出來進行酵母分解,從而製成酒精,然後演變成我們所得到的啤酒。據推測,啤酒中含有多種對人體有益的礦物質和多酚。

葡萄酒:紅、白、桃紅

由於葡萄中含有一種稱為白藜蘆醇的營養物質,因此發酵的葡萄可以發揮抗氧化作用。與其他類型的酒精相比,葡萄酒是有比較多好處的酒精飲品,但不代表葡萄酒是“健康”的。要獲得更多的白藜蘆醇,吃葡萄比喝酒更好!

威士忌酒

威士忌有蘇格蘭威士忌和波旁威士忌兩種版本。威士忌是一種將穀物(如玉米(波本威士忌)或大麥(蘇格蘭威士忌))進行發酵的酒精。威士忌中所含的糖很少,直接飲用時卡路里較低。在醫學沒有像現在這麼先進時,威士忌酒在早期是被作為藥物的。

伏特加

伏特加酒無色無味,是一種經蒸餾發酵穀物或土豆穀物的酒精飲品。這通常是用於調雞尾酒的基酒。

雞尾酒

各種酒精混合的飲品,例如伏特加、白蘭地、杜松子酒、朗姆酒、龍舌蘭酒和威士忌。雞尾酒由酒精與各種糖漿、果汁和其他裝飾物混合而成。它們的糖分會比較高。

利口酒

這是添加了甜味劑、水果等調味劑的酒,其中包括梅子酒。高質量的梅子酒會摻入真實的水果,而質量較低的酒則會是使用人工香料。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

酒精對健康的危害

1.酒精有毒

酒精是一種毒素,會對細胞產生負面影響。分解酒精的過程中會產生出更多毒素,因此要多喝水來排除毒素。

2.酒精容易上癮

酒精會促進內啡肽的釋放。內啡肽是能令人產生愉快感覺的激素。但是,這種反應可能會演變成上癮。研究顯示,飲酒越多,內啡肽釋放越多,如果不注意酒精攝取量,可以導致成癮。

3.酒精會損害您的肝臟

肝臟負責過濾血液中的毒素,還有生產有助於整體消化的激素。它還可以調節我們的血糖和膽固醇水平。這就是為什麼如果長期飲酒會給我們整體健康帶來負擔。過度飲酒會造成肝臟中積聚毒素,太多毒素會導致我們的肝臟無法濾除毒素。

4.酒精會增加患癌症的風險

由於酒精會影響正常細胞式生產的過程,這可能意味著喝酒會使我們罹患癌症的風險更高。研究顯示,喝越多酒的人,患癌症的風險就越高。在癌症類型中,口腔癌、咽喉癌、食道癌、乳腺癌、腸癌和肝癌最有可能發生。

什麼是「適量」飲酒?

根據mayoclinic.org的資料,對於健康的成年人來說,適量飲酒是指所有年齡的女士和65歲以上的男性每天最多喝一杯酒,對於65歲以下的男士每天最多喝兩杯酒。

“一杯”的概念:葡萄酒(148毫升)、啤酒(355毫升)、蒸餾酒(44毫升)。

對於具有特定健康狀況的人,請向您的醫生查詢,以了解適合您的酒精上限。

可能的健康益處

1.有助於降低心臟病風險

研究發現,對於健康的人來說,適量的酒精會增加我們體內“良好”的HDL膽固醇。這有助於清除血液中“不良”的LDL膽固醇,而膽固醇的積累會導致高血壓和其他心血管疾病。

2.預防感冒

美國卡內基梅隆大學的心理學系在1993年對391名成年人進行的一項研究中發現,每週喝8到14杯葡萄酒的非吸煙者患普通感冒的風險降低至60%。據信是由於葡萄酒的抗氧化特性。

3.可以改善您的性慾

根據2009年發表在《性醫學雜誌》上的一項研究,研究人員發現,飲酒者患勃起功能障礙的機會減少了30%(這項研究測試了1,770名澳洲男性)。因此這與一些普遍看法有矛盾,但這並不代表您今晚需要過量飲酒!

4.可以幫助預防認知障礙症

根據研究,酒精可以使大腦更“健康”。適量的酒精會給予大腦輕微的壓力,據推測,這可以使大腦為將來可能出現的主要壓力(如認知障礙症)做好準備。

酒精:抑鬱劑或興奮劑?

酒精被指是一種抑鬱劑,但有些人可能不認同,因為許多人喝酒後會感到更活潑和快樂,而不是沉重或喜怒無常。為了澄清這一點,在研究這種反應時,我們還需要在整個飲用過程中考慮血液中的酒精含量(BAC)。根據心理學家,當我們開始喝酒時,BAC最初上升時會引起歡欣、興奮和活潑的感覺,但是,隨著我們的飲酒量增加和BAC的下降,它會變成抑鬱劑,導致疲勞、躁動和潛在的抑鬱感。酒精的作用類似於抑鬱劑:雖然它們可以是興奮劑,但作用不會持續很長時間。

結論是甚麼?

總而言之,我們不應為了得到酒精內“潛在的健康益處”而把飲酒納入在我們的日常生活中。這並不代表我們必須徹底禁止酒精。作為我們社交生活的一部分,經過繁忙的一日後,酒精可以用來放鬆身心。適量飲用也可以對我們健康有益。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Alcohol: What’s the Deal for Your Health?

A beer at happy hour, a few cocktails on a night out, a nice glass of wine to relax.. Drinks hold a particular position in our lives and are often part of social interactions. Do you ever wonder if and how drinking does benefit your health in any way? We did too. Let’s find out.

Alcohol and health 101

There are lots of resources online that make different claims about alcohol; in ‘moderation’ drinking alcohol can bring a range of health benefits, but alcohol is also extremely toxic for our bodies and can easily be addictive. Addiction can deeply interfere with our everyday life physically and socially. 

Common types of alcohol

The variations of alcoholic drinks bring about their own individual influences on us. When specific effects are associated to ‘alcohol’, it does not necessarily mean that all categories of alcohol are included. Here are some of the most common categories we reviewed:

Beer

Beer is made by brewing fermented grains, usually barley, in warm water, to extract the sugars from the grains for yeast to breakdown to make alcohol which forms the beer we get. Beer supposedly contains traces of several minerals and polyphenols which are good for the body.

Wine: red, white, rosé

Made by the process of fermentation of grapes, as grapes contain a nutrient called resveratrol, which supposedly brings an array of antioxidizing benefits. This makes wine an alcoholic drink with greater benefits in comparison to other types of alcohol, but does not necessarily make wine ‘healthy’; it would be better to eat grapes to obtain resveratrol in greater amounts, than to drink wine!

Whiskey

Available in scotch or bourbon versions, whiskey is an alcohol made by the fermentation of grains such as corn (bourbon) or barley (scotch). Whiskey contains very little sugar and is supposedly low in calories when consumed straight. It has a history of being used as medication during historical times, when medicinal practices were not as advanced as they are today. 

Vodka

Colourless and odourless, vodka is made by distilling fermented cereal or potato grains. This is commonly used as the alcohol base for many cocktail drinks.

Cocktails

Mixed drinks of variations of alcohol such as vodka, brandy, gin, rum, tequila or whiskey. Cocktails consists of alcohol mixed with a range of syrups, juices and other garnishments. They can be quite full of sugar.

Liqueurs

These are liquors with added flavourings, which could be sweeteners or fruits, examples of these include plum wines, where those of better quality will incorporate the real fruits, whereas the lower quality versions may use artificial flavours.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Health risks of alcohol

1. Alcohol is toxic

Alcohol is a toxin that has negative effects on cell production. The process of breaking down alcohol also bring about production of more toxins, before our bodies can effectively flush them out of our system, with drinking an extra load of water as compensation.

2. Alcohol is highly addictive

Alcohol is associated with stimulation of endorphins that are hormones that bring about a ‘good feeling’. However, this reaction can be highly addictive, and research shows that the heavier an individual drinks, the more endorphins can be stimulated to be produced, this can lead to an addiction to develop if individuals do not take more care to manage how much alcohol they are consuming.

3. Alcohol takes a toll on your liver

The liver is responsible for filtering toxins from our blood, as well as producing hormones that help with our overall digestion. It also regulates the blood sugar and cholesterol levels in our system. This is why it can be a burden to our overall health if we consistently consume alcohol, which can mean a build up of toxins in our liver –  too much means that our liver cannot catch up in terms of filtering out the toxins.

4. Alcohol can increase the risk of cancer

As alcohol affects the normal processes of cell production, it may mean that by drinking, we are at higher risks of developing cancer. Research has shown that the more people drink, the higher risks they are at for developing cancer. Cancers at the mouth, throat, oesophagus, breast, bowel and liver are the most likely amongst other types of cancer.

What is “moderate” drinking?

According to mayoclinic.org, for healthy adults, a moderate consumption of alcohol means up to 1 drink a day for women of all ages and men aged 65 and older, and up to 2 drinks a day for men aged 65 or younger.
Examples of one drink: wine (148 ml), beer (355 ml), distilled spirits (44 ml).

For those with specific health conditions, consult your doctor to get his/her thoughts on how much alcohol is appropriate for you.

Possible health benefits

1. Contributes to reduce risk of heart diseases

Research has found that, for healthy individuals, alcohol in moderate amounts is said to increase the ‘good’ HDL cholesterol in our bodies. This helps to remove ‘bad’ LDL cholesterol in our blood, which can build up to contribute to high blood pressure and other cardiovascular diseases.

2. Prevents Against the common cold

A study done in 1993 with 391 adults by The Department of Psychology at Carnegie Mellon University (USA) found that non-smokers who drank from 8 to 14 glasses of wine a week were at 60% lower risk of catching the common cold. It is believed to be due to wine’s antioxidant properties.

3. Can Improve Your Libido

In a 2009 study published in the Journal of Sexual Medicine, researchers found a reduction of up to 30% of the chances of erectile dysfunction among alcohol drinkers (1,770 Australian men were part of the study). This doesn’t mean that you need to overdrink tonight, but it contradicts some common beliefs!

4. Can help prevent dementia

According to research, alcohol can make the brain more ‘fit’; in moderation, alcohol serves to minutely cause stress on the brain, which supposedly better prepares the brain for other potential major stresses, such as dementia, in the future.

Alcohol: depressant or stimulant?

It is said that alcohol is a depressant but people get confused because we drink, many of us feel more lively and happier, rather than mellow or moody. To clarify, when looking at this effect, we also need to consider our blood alcohol content (BAC) throughout the process of drinking. According to psychologists, when we begin to drink, the initial rise of BAC causes elation, excitement and extroversion, however, as our drinking levels out and BAC begins to descend, it can then become a sedative, which brings about fatigue, restlessness and potentially depressiveness. Alcohol’s effects resemble those of depressants: while they can act as a stimulant for a moment, the effects don’t remain for long.

What’s the conclusion?

All in all, drinking should not be incorporated as part of a daily lifestyle for the purpose of reaping its “potential health benefits”. That’s not to say we must ban alcohol from our lives completely. Being part of our social life, alcohol can represent a time of relaxation from busy schedules, and when consumed in moderation, we may also gain from its health benefits.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.