【瑜伽】10個經科學證實的瑜伽好處

很多人喜歡做瑜伽,因為瑜伽能為他們帶來內心的平靜,特別是在現時如此艱難的時期。如果您對瑜伽抱有懷疑的態度,以下為10個經科學證實的瑜伽好處,可能會說服到您給瑜伽一次機會。

【瑜伽入門必讀】最適合您的瑜伽類型

1. 瑜伽能提升身體力量

瑜伽是一流的力量提升運動,因為瑜伽要求您以各種不同方式支撐自己身體的重量或維持一些需要大量肌力和耐力的姿勢以保持身體平衡。事實上,某些瑜伽姿勢是針對提升身體力量及增強肌肉而設的,例如「木板姿勢」「椅子姿勢」

一項研究顯示,173名參與者經過12星期的瑜伽練習後,他們的力量和耐力得到了改善。Harvard Health Publishing亦指出,在一項研究中,擁有久坐的生活方式而從未練習過瑜伽的人進行了8星期的瑜伽後,他們的肌力和耐力皆有提高。

想健康但討厭運動?5種鍛鍊方法讓運動成為習慣

2. 瑜伽有助減輕壓力

相信大家看到瑜伽有這個好處並不會感到驚訝,因為瑜伽本身出名有助人們放鬆。的確,瑜伽主要透過一系列動作同時控制呼吸和(有時候)冥想來讓身體和思想得到平靜。

科學上,已有研究證實瑜伽可以減少產生稱為皮質醇的主要壓力荷爾蒙之一。一項研究顯示,24名女性參與者經過三個月的瑜伽鍛煉後,皮質醇水平得到下降

冥想入門指南:冥想技巧、好處和貼士

3. 能夠提升生活質素

瑜伽已成為一種流行的運動,能夠作為各類不同人士改善生活質素的方法。

在癌症患者中,有研究發現,瑜伽可以幫助他們改善精神健康、社交能力和情緒一項研究發現,患有乳癌、正接受化療的女性參與者練習瑜伽後,不但生活質素得到提升,噁心等的化療治療症狀亦減輕了。

在老年人中,這項研究將135位老年參與者分為3組,每組分別被安排進行6個月的瑜伽課程、步行運動課程或作為等待名單控制組。結果顯示,與其他組相比,瑜伽課程組的參與者之情緒、精神和整體生活質素都得到明顯的改善。

【增加能量食品】20種對抗疲勞的食物和飲品

4. 瑜伽有助減少慢性疼痛

導致慢性疼痛的原因可以有很多,例如姿勢不正確和關節炎。慢性疼痛是影響很多人的長期問題,而越來越多研究顯示,瑜伽可以舒緩甚至消除各類型的慢性疼痛。一項研究有系統地回顧了一系列針對慢性腰背痛的瑜伽治療之隨機臨床試驗。得出的結論為練習瑜伽可以安全地讓患者的疼痛和行動不便得到改善。

一般而言,瑜伽有助糾正不良的姿勢,從而減輕身體緊張感和疼痛。如果您有慢性頸部或背部疼痛,可以嘗試適合頸部疼痛背部疼痛的姿勢,最好在合格的瑜伽導師的指導下進行!

The Ultimate Guide to Osteopathy in Hong Kong

5. 瑜伽能改善睡眠質素

睡眠質素差或睡眠不足會導致很多問題,例如皮膚差和高血壓。因此,您需要確保每晚有充足的睡眠,而瑜伽可以幫到您。

這項研究的研究人員把120名居住在老人院的老人家隨機分到瑜伽練習組、草藥服用組或控制組。結果顯示,瑜伽組別人士的入睡需時明顯減少、睡眠時長增加、而且經過一夜睡眠後的感覺得到改善。其餘兩組則無明顯變化。

您可能因壓力、慢性疼痛或其他因素而導致難以入睡,其中一些因素可以透過瑜伽來幫助改善,這亦可能是瑜伽能夠改善睡眠質素的原因。

睡不著覺、失眠嗎?改善睡眠的技巧

6. 瑜伽減輕焦慮

透過結合緩慢的身體動作、呼吸控制和冥想,瑜伽旨在放鬆我們的神經系統,從而減輕焦慮。有些人是基於這個好處而開始練習瑜伽。的確,有很多研究支持瑜伽可以舒緩焦慮。

一項研究中,65名患有焦慮症的女性被隨機分配到實驗組(持續2個月每星期2次參加瑜伽課)或控制組(不進行任何瑜伽)。2個月後,與控制組相比,實驗組的焦慮程度明顯有下降。

另一項研究根據其實驗結果,指出瑜伽能改善焦慮。練習了12個星期瑜伽的研究參與者大腦中的γ-氨基丁酸水平比起被分配進行步行運動的參與者大腦中γ-氨基丁酸水平高。而較高的γ-氨基丁酸水平與較低的焦慮水平有關

焦慮症:症狀、原因、診斷和治療

7. 可以抗炎、減少炎症

發炎是正常的免疫反應。但是,長期發炎可能會導致炎症性疾病,例如糖尿病癌症。因此,減少體內炎症可以幫助預防由慢性炎症引起的疾病。有一些研究暗示瑜伽可以減輕炎症,但是仍需要更多的研究來證實這個好處。

2014年的一項規模小的研究顯示,16名患有持久性疲勞的乳癌康復者在進行了12個星期的瑜伽後,身體的炎症指標出現下降。

另一項在2015年的研究將218名參與者分為瑜伽組(經常練習瑜伽的人)和非瑜伽組(沒有練習瑜伽的人)。兩組均進行中度和劇烈運動。結束後,發現瑜伽組的炎症指標比非瑜伽組的低。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

8. 增加身體靈活度和平衡力

已練習瑜伽一段時間的人可能已經感覺到身體靈活度和平衡力方面有明顯變化。的確,有大量的研究能夠支持這個好處。

例如,2014年的一項研究分別向22和20位老年人分配瑜伽或徒手體操(一種重量訓練)。經過一年的瑜伽或徒手體操練習後,瑜伽組人士的總身體柔軟度之增加比徒手體操組的高出近4倍。

如果您有興趣,可嘗試將這些瑜伽動作包括在您的日常運動訓練中,以達到更好的拉筋效果!

居家運動的貼士及最佳的健身Apps

9. 瑜伽可促進心臟健康

Harvard Health Publishing指出,一些研究發現瑜伽可以降低某些心血管疾病的風險因素。例如,瑜伽可以幫助降低血壓減低導致心臟病發展的「壞膽固醇」。此外,另一項研究顯示,瑜伽可以明顯降低甘油三酸酯的水平。甘油三酸酯是血液中可發現到的一種脂肪,如果脂肪水平升高,可能暗示您有患心臟病的風險。

到目前為止,與控制飲食等其他方法相比,瑜伽對促進心臟健康有多大作用尚未確定。話雖如此,瑜伽能夠為我們帶來平靜、減輕壓力;而高的壓力水平是心臟病的最常見原因之一

為什麼女性更容易死於心臟病

10. 瑜伽有助對抗抑鬱

有研究顯示,瑜伽可以有助減輕抑鬱症狀。原因之一可能是由於瑜伽擁有令壓力荷爾蒙皮質醇水平下降的能力。皮質醇會影響血清素(一種「快樂荷爾蒙」)的水平,血清素水平過低的話,有機會導致抑鬱

一項研究為28名情緒低落而沒有明顯瑜伽經驗的研究志願者,隨機分配給其中部分人為期5週的瑜伽課程,課程集中進行被視為可以舒緩抑鬱的瑜伽動作。在研究結束時,參加了瑜伽課程的志願者的自我評估抑鬱症狀明顯減輕。

抑鬱症指南:原因、症狀、評估及治療方法

我們Healthy Matters團隊最近在辦公室一同進行了一次瑜伽練習。我們進行了一種現代瑜伽,稱為大笑瑜伽,當時我們的心情立即得到改善 : ) 如果您想嘗試不同種類的瑜伽,不妨考慮一下大笑瑜伽!

注意:在開始進行新的運動之前,如果您有任何健康狀況,最好先諮詢醫生 – 以確保新的運動不會對自己造成問題。

希望您喜歡這篇文章!歡迎分享本文並訂閱我們的電子刊物,以定期收到更多有關健康的免費文章!

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Yoga: 10 Benefits Backed by Science

Many people like yoga because it provides them with the peace of mind they miss, especially in this difficult year. If you are skeptical about it, here are 10 benefits of yoga, backed by science, that might convince you to give it a go.

Yoga 101: Which Style is Right for You?

1. Yoga Increases Body Strength

Yoga is a great exercise to increase strength. It requires you to carry your body weight in various ways or to hold a pose which involves a lot of muscle strength and endurance to stay balanced. In fact, some yoga positions are designed to gain body strength and build muscle, such as plank pose and chair pose.

One study shows that the strength and endurance of 173 participants improved after 12 weeks of yoga practice. Harvard Health Publishing also states that in a study, a small number of sedentary individuals who had never practiced yoga before enhanced their muscle strength and endurance after 8 weeks of practice.

5 Workouts for People Who Hate Exercising

2. Yoga Helps Getting Rid of Stress

This benefit should not be surprising as yoga has a reputation for encouraging relaxation. Indeed, yoga emphasises on calming the body and mind through a series of movements with controlled breathing and sometimes mediation.

Scientifically, there have been studies proving that yoga can reduce the production of a major stress hormone called cortisol. One of the studies shows that 24 female participants had lower levels of cortisol after a three-month yoga program.

Beginner’s Guide to Meditation: Techniques, Benefits & Tips

3. It Improves Quality of Life

Yoga has become a popular option as additional treatment or therapy for all walks of life to improve the quality of life.

In cancer patients, there are studies found out that yoga may help them improve spiritual health, social functioning and mood. A study observed females with breast cancer undergoing chemotherapy. It shows that while practicing yoga promoted their quality of life, it also helped decrease symptoms of the treatment, such as nausea.

In elderlies, this research divided 135 senior participants into 3 groups, which were assigned to either a 6-month yoga class, walking exercise class, or wait-list control. The results indicate that, compared to the other groups, people in the group with yoga class had their mood, energy, as well as the quality of life in general significantly boosted.

Energy Boosters: 20 Best Foods and Drinks to Get More Energy

4. Yoga Helps Easing Chronic Pain

There are different possible causes contributing to chronic pain, such as incorrect posture and arthritis. While chronic pain is a long-term problem that affects many of us, more and more research has proven that yoga could ease, or even eliminate, various types of chronic pain. One study systematically reviewed a range of randomised control trials addressing yoga treatment for chronic low back pain. It concludes that yoga could be practiced safely to reduce pain and disability.

Yoga in general helps correct poor posture, and hence relieve any tension and pain. If you are suffering from chronic neck or back pain, try out these poses for neck pain and these for back pain, preferably under the guidance of a qualified yoga instructor!

The Ultimate Guide to Osteopathy in Hong Kong

5. Yoga Improves Sleep Quality

Having poor sleep quality or not getting sufficient sleep can lead to a lot of problems, such as bad skin and hypertension. Therefore, you need to ensure that you have enough and good sleep every night, which yoga can help.

Researchers from this study randomly allocated 120 residents from an elderly nursing home to either practice yoga, take a herbal substance or be in the control group. The results show that the yoga group demonstrated a remarkable drop in the time taken to fall asleep, growth in the number of hours slept, as well as an improvement in the feeling after a night of sleep. The rest 2 groups, on the other hands, had no significant changes.

You might have trouble sleeping due to stress, chronic pain or other factors, some of them can be improved by yoga, which may also be the reason why yoga can promote sleep quality.

Having Trouble Sleeping? Tips to Sleep Better and Longer

6. Yoga Relieves Anxiety

As the integration of slow physical movements, controlling breathing and meditation, yoga intends to relax our nervous system, and thus reduce anxiety. Some people start practicing yoga because of this benefit. In fact, quite a few studies are supporting that yoga can relieve anxiety.

In one study, 65 women suffering from anxiety disorders were randomly assigned to either experiment group (participating in yoga classes twice a week for 2 months) or control group (not receiving any yoga classes). After 2 months, the experiment group had a significant decrease in anxiety when comparing to the control group.

Another study argues that yoga has beneficial effects on anxiety based on the results of its experiment. The brain’s gamma-aminobutyric (GABA) levels in participants who practiced 12 weeks of yoga had greater increases than participants who were assigned to walking. Higher GABA levels are associated with lower levels of anxiety.

Anxiety: Symptoms, Causes, Diagnosis & Treatment

7. It Reduces Inflammation

Inflammation is a normal immune response. However, chronic inflammation can lead to pro-inflammatory diseases, such as diabetes and cancer. Therefore, reducing inflammation in the body may help prevent such diseases caused by chronic inflammation. There is some research implying that yoga can lessen inflammation, although more studies for verifying such a benefit are needed.

A small-scale study in 2014 shows that 16 individuals who are breast cancer survivors with persistent fatigue had decreases in their inflammatory markers after 12 weeks of yoga.

Another study in 2015 divided 218 participants into either yoga group (those who practiced yoga regularly) and non-yoga group (those who did not). Both groups were assigned to a bout of moderate and strenuous exercises. At the end of the study, the yoga group had lower levels of inflammatory markers than the non-yoga group.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

8. It Increases Flexibility and Balance

People who have been practicing yoga for a while probably can already feel the obvious changes in terms of flexibility and balance. Indeed, there are an abundant amount of studies supporting this benefit.

For example, a study in 2014 looked at the effects of yoga and calisthenics (a type of body weight exercise) on 22 and 20 senior individuals respectively. After one year of practicing either yoga or calisthenics, total flexibility of the yoga group enhanced by almost 4 times compared to the calisthenics group.

If you are interested, try to include these poses to your workout routine for a good body stretch!

Best Free Fitness Apps This Year

9. Yoga Promotes Heart Health

According to Harvard Health Publishing, some studies have found that yoga reduces several cardiovascular risk factors. For example, it can help lower blood pressure and ‘bad’ LDL cholesterol that contribute to the development of heart disease. What’s more, another study shows that yoga can significantly lower levels of triglycerides. They are a type of fat found in your blood that can indicate a risk for heart disease when at elevated levels.

So far it is uncertain as to how much yoga contributes to promoting heart health compared to other aspects, such as diet. Still, yoga can give us peace of mind and relieve stress. A high level of stress is one of the most common causes of heart disease.

Why Women Are More Likely To Die Of Heart Attack

10. Yoga Helps Fight Depression

There is some research showing that yoga might help reduce symptoms of depression. One of the reasons could be due to the ability of yoga to minimise levels of the stress hormone cortisol. Cortisol influences levels of serotonin (a happiness hormone), which when at low levels, can lead to depression.

A study looked at 28 volunteers with mild levels of depression and no significant yoga experience. It assigned randomly to some of them 5 weeks of yoga classes focusing on yoga poses believed to alleviate depression. At the end of the study, the subjects who participated in the yoga classes demonstrated remarkable decreases in self-evaluated symptoms of depression.

Depression in Hong Kong: Symptoms, Treatment & Support

We the Healthy Matters team recently had a yoga session together in the office. We practiced a modern type of yoga called laughter yoga and our mood lifted immediately : ) Check it out if you want to try a different kind of yoga!

Note: Before you start practicing and if you have any health conditions, it is best to consult your doctor before you begin new physical exercises – talk to him/her just to make sure there is no issue on your side.

We hope you enjoyed this article! Share it and sign-up to our newsletter to get healthy tips and guides straight to your inbox! 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.