冥想入門指南:冥想技巧、好處和貼士

冥想已經有幾千年歷史,隨著現時緊張的社會情況,可以令人內心帶來平靜的冥想變得越來越流行。如果您對冥想有興趣,這個冥想入門指南就十分適合您。來了解有關冥想的好處、適合初學者的實用冥想技巧以及香港的冥想課程等資訊。

何謂冥想?

冥想是一種心理鍛鍊,需要放鬆、專注和提高意識。冥想通常透過坐著同時閉著眼睛來進行,但亦有其他不同方法進行。冥想鍛鍊已經有幾千年歷史。

冥想的起源尚未清楚,而有關冥想的最早書面記錄來自印度教的傳統,其歷史可追溯至公元前1500年,被稱為「心性鍛鍊」。話雖如此,冥想在中國和日本的歷史上也有被提及。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

冥想有什麼好處?

冥想可以即時讓您能夠梳理自己的想法和感受,冥想的好處幾乎是無窮無盡的。以下是其中一些主要好處。

改善焦慮和抑鬱

患有焦慮症的人會將自己所擁有的一切想法視為真理,因此他們「假設性」的負面想法會變成對自己真正的威脅,從而令他們的大腦處於高度戒備的狀態。通過冥想,他們可以讓腦部及身心放鬆。很多研究表示,冥想可以改善抑鬱症焦慮症的症狀,例如這個研究,其分析了18,753份有關冥想的文獻及47個試驗,當中共涉及3,515名參與者。

降低血壓

肯塔基大學進行的一項研究顯示,冥想可以降低高血壓人士的血壓。一些冥想技巧會刺激產生端粒(telomerase)的基因,而端粒是一種與降低血壓和死亡率有關的酶。

改善睡眠

2015年,一項研究從49名患有失眠症的參與者中發現,有被安排進行冥想的參與者組別較少出現失眠症狀和日間疲勞。冥想通過幾種方式促進睡眠。它可以增加褪黑激素(睡眠荷爾蒙)的產生、降低心率和降低血壓,這些都可以使您入睡。

管理痛症

當我們冥想時,肌肉緊繃度和心率會降低。當我們處於高壓力的狀態時,疼痛會加劇,這是因為肌肉緊繃度會因壓力而增加,以及壓力荷爾蒙會使我們的關節和肌肉受壓。此外,當我們太在意自己的疼痛時,痛楚便可能會加劇。而冥想時,我們需將注意力集中在呼吸和正念上,這能讓我們遠離身體感受到的任何疼痛或緊繃感。一項關於長期下背痛患者的研究顯示,冥想可以作為有效的下背痛治療方法。

更持久的集中力

很多研究表示,冥想可以使您的集中力提高及變得更持久。其中一項研究顯示,冥想可以逆轉大腦中導致思維混亂、擔憂和注意力不集中的模式。

香薰療法入門:全方位新手指南

如何開始學習冥想?

先開始每日冥想短時間

一開始,您可能對冥想完全陌生,而冥想超過5分鐘的想法可能令人生畏,這是可以理解的。因此,您可以先開始每日只冥想2分鐘。一旦習慣了,才逐步增加持續時間。

簡單就可以

盡量不要太過擔心細節、需選擇的冥想方式和進行時間。如果方便的話,只要在一起床時進行就可以,或者在睡前亦可。盡量不要太過著重於冥想時一定要坐在完美的墊上或有良好的日光等細節,最重要是自己感到舒適。找出適合自己的姿勢並在冥想期間保持姿勢,特別是在剛開始接觸冥想和只是冥想短時間的情況下。

為自己進行身心檢查

開始進行冥想時,先問自己是否感到任何難以抵擋的情緒和任何痛苦。檢查您的身心是否感到正常。這亦可以使您將注意力從腦海中的想法轉移到集中在自己個人身上。

進行簡單的呼吸練習

當您「檢查」自己後,請將注意力集中在呼吸上。一開始可以進行數呼吸的簡單練習:每次吸氣為一下,每次呼氣亦為一下,一呼一吸默念至10下後再重新開始數10下,重複幾次。另一種簡單技巧稱為「4-7-8呼吸法」:通過鼻子吸氣默念至4,然後屏住呼吸同時默念至7,再通過嘴呼氣並默念至8。

選擇一種冥想方式

現時有很多不同的冥想方式:使用呼吸技巧、透過手機Apps、YouTube影片、聽音樂、引導冥想或結合不同的冥想。如果您容易分心,那麼跟隨引導冥想可能是個好主意。您可以在YouTube、podcasts、冥想課程甚至手機Apps(例如HeadspaceCalm)找到引導冥想的影片、教學及錄音。瑜伽亦結合了正念和冥想元素(尤其是哈達瑜伽),因此對於那些希望以更積極的方式進行冥想的人而言,瑜伽可能是一個很好的選擇。

冥想時有思想入侵之應對方法

當您冥想時分了心請不要感到灰心,因為這是完全正常的。相反,應將注意力重新集中在呼吸上。雖然您可能不希望自己分心,但是在冥想時產生的想法通常可以洞悉出您當時腦海中的思想。嘗試任由那些想法徘徊,看看那些想法令您感到如何。

瑜伽入門:最適合您的瑜伽類型

香港的冥想課程

您想開始學習冥想,但需要多一點支持和條理嗎?香港有豐富的冥想課程可供您選擇,以下是您可以考慮參與課程的地方:

aNAHAta Yoga Anahata Yoga

地址:中環一號廣場18樓
電話:2905 1822
網址:anahatayoga.com.hk

Enhale StudioEnhale Meditation Studio

地址:中環德己立街21號The Plaza,14樓
電話:9385 8389
網址:enhalems.com

Fivelements Habitatfive elements

地址:銅鑼灣勿地臣街1號時代廣場1座13A
電話:6803 5081
網址:fivelements.com

Samadhi Training Centre for the Soul

地址:上環太平山街4號
電話:9311 2915
網址:facebook.com/samadhicentre

我們希望本文章對您的正念旅途有幫助。歡迎訂閱我們的電子刊物以定期獲取不同的健康資訊!

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Beginner’s Guide to Meditation: Techniques, Benefits & Tips

Meditation has been around for thousands of years but is becoming increasingly popular at a time when all anyone wants is a little peace of mind. In case you’ve become more curious about it, we’ve put together a little guide for you. Read more about its benefits, discover practical tips for beginners and where to take meditation classes in Hong Kong.

What is meditation?

Meditation is a mental exercise which involves relaxation, focus and awareness. It is usually done sitting down with our eyes closed but it can be done in a variety of ways. This practice has been around for millenia. 

The origins of meditation aren’t exactly known. The earliest written records regarding meditation come from Hindu tradition dating back to 1500BCE where it is referred to as ‘training of the mind’. That being said, mentions of meditation are also found in Chinese and Japanese history. 

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

What are the benefits of meditation?

On a more immediate level, meditation allows you to process your thoughts and feelings from the day but the benefits of meditation are almost endless. Here are a few of the main ones.

Anxiety and depression

People who suffer from anxiety take every thought they have as the truth, their ‘what ifs’ turn into real threats for them which makes their brain go on high alert. By meditating they’re able to slow down their brains for a little while and relax. Many studies have shown that meditation can improve symptoms of depression and anxiety. Including this literary review which analyzed 18 753 citations and 47 trials with 3515 participants. 

Lower blood pressure

A study done at the University of Kentucky suggested that meditating could lower blood pressure in people suffering from hypertension. Some meditation techniques stimulate genes that produce telomerase – an enzyme linked with reduced blood pressure and mortality.

Improved sleep

A 2015 study worked on 49 participants suffering from insomnia. The group assigned meditation experienced fewer insomnia symptoms and daytime fatigue. Meditation works in a few ways to promote sleep. It can increase the production of melatonin (the sleep hormone), lower heart rate and blood pressure which all prepare you for sleep. 

Pain management

When we meditate muscle tension and heart rate lowers. Pain is worsened when we are stressed as muscle tension increases and stress hormones put more strain on our joints and muscles. On top of that, focusing on the pain can make it seem much worse. When meditating, we shift our attention onto our breathing and being mindful and away from our bodies and any pain or strain it may be feeling. A study on people suffering from chronic lower back pain revealed that meditation can be used as an effective treatment option. 

longer attention span

Many studies have demonstrated the wonders that meditating can do for your attention span and focus. One review in particular showed that meditation may reverse patterns in the brain that contribute to mind-wandering, worrying and poor attention.

Aromatherapy 101: The Complete Beginner’s Guide

How to get started with meditation?

Start small

At first, meditating might seem completely foreign to you and the thought of meditating for more than 5 minutes may be daunting and that’s understandable. Start by meditating for just 2 minutes, every day. Once you get used to it, build up gradually. 

Keep it simple

Try not to worry too much about the details, the how and the when. If it’s convenient to you, just do it right when you wake up or right before you go to sleep. Try not to focus on having the perfect cushion or the perfect lighting, instead, focus on comfort. Find a position that is comfortable to you and stick with it for the time being, especially if you’re just getting started and meditating for shorter periods of time. 

Look inwards 

Start your meditation by checking in with yourself, how you’re feeling if there’s any overwhelming emotion, any pain. Checking in with your mind just as well as your body. This can also allow you to draw your attention away from your thoughts and onto yourself. 

Simple breathing exercises

Once you’ve ‘scanned’ yourself,  focus your attention on your breathing. A simple exercise to begin with is counting your breath: each inhale as one count and each exhale as one count, count up to 10 and start over a few more times. Another simple technique is the 4-7-8 exercise: breathe in through your nose for 4 counts, hold your breath for 7 counts then exhale through your mouth for 8 counts. 

Picking a style of meditation

There are many different ways to meditate: using breathing techniques, using phone apps, youtube videos, listening to music, guided meditation or a combination of different ones. If you get easily distracted, it might be a good idea to follow along a guided meditation. These can be found as videos on youtube, as podcasts, lessons or even as apps (such as Headspace or Calm). The practice of yoga incorporates mindfulness and meditation (particularly Hatha Yoga) so this can be a good solution for those who wish to partake in a more active form of meditation.

What to do about intruding thoughts

It is completely normal for your mind to wander, when you feel yourself getting distracted don’t get frustrated. Instead, focus your attention back on your breathing. That being said, the thoughts that arise while you’re meditating can be very insightful into what’s going on in your head. Try to sit with them and see how they make you feel. 

Yoga 101: Which Style is Right for You?

Meditation classes in Hong Kong

You really want to get started with meditation but need a little support and structure? Lucky for you, Hong Kong has an abundance of meditation classes that you can choose from, here are a few places you may consider: 

Anahata Yoga 

Address: 18/F, 1 Lyndhurst Terrace, Central.
Phone: 2905 1822
Website: anahatayoga.com.hk

Enhale Studio

Address: 14th Floor, The Plaza, 21 D’Aguilar Street, Lan Kwai Fong, Central.
Phone: 9385 8389 
Website: enhalems.com

Fivelements Habitat

Address: 13A Tower One, Times Square, 1 Matheson St, Causeway Bay.
Phone: 6803 5081
Website: fivelements.com

Samadhi Training Centre for the Soul

Address: 4 Tai Ping Shan Street, Sheung Wan.
Phone: 9311 2915
Website: facebook.com/samadhicentre

We hope this article helped you take a few steps forward in your mindfulness journey. Sign-up to our newsletter to get regular health and wellness information! 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.