阿茨海默病(老人痴呆症):原因、症狀和治療方法

就大部分人而言,隨著年齡增長,偶爾出現健忘是正常的。但是,阿茨海默病(俗稱老人痴呆症)並不僅是偶爾的健忘,因此應該受到重視。根據《全球認知障礙症報告》,約每3秒就會出現一個新的認知障礙症病例。在香港,65歲以上的人口中有5-8%的人和80歲以上的人口中有20-30%的人被診斷出患有認知障礙症,其中多於60%的病例是由阿茨海默病造成的。

什麼是阿茨海默病(老人痴呆症)?

阿茨海默病是一種長期、隨著時間而惡化、不可逆轉的神經退化性疾病,會殺死腦細胞和神經。它導致持續性的認知和智力功能喪失,從而削弱記憶力、思考和執行日常事務的能力以及社交技能,最終完全需要他人幫助。有些人可能還會遇到情緒和行為問題。被診斷出患有阿茨海默病的女性多過男性。

由於無法替換退化的腦細胞,病情會隨著時間而惡化;因此,這種疾病是無法治癒的。藥物有時可以有效地減慢疾病的發展,但不能阻止或逆轉病情的惡化。阿茨海默病的進展速度因人而異。

普遍認為阿茨海默病僅對老年人有影響,但事實並非如此。年輕人也會受到影響。早發性阿茨海默病發生在65歲之前,佔所有病例約1%。它通常是由基因突變引起的。在這組人中,他們可能在40或50多歲時出現症狀。遲發性阿茨海默病更為常見,並在65歲之後出現。

阿茨海默病和認知障礙症

認知障礙症(Dementia)是一個術語,用於描述與認知能力下降相關、及由於認知能力下降從而導致許多功能(例如學習、溝通和感覺)出現困難和變化的疾病。認知障礙症可由至少100種不同類型的疾病引起,包括阿茨海默病(Alzheimer’s disease)、血管性失智症(vascular dementia)路易體癡呆症(dementia with Lewy bodies)額顳葉認知障礙症(frontotemporal dementia)

阿茨海默病是最為人所知和最常見的認知障礙症類型,佔全球所有認知障礙症病例的一半以上。重要的是,有些人身上會出現兩種或以上的認知障礙症。例如,同時有血管性失智症及阿茨海默病並不罕見。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

徵兆和症狀

阿茨海默病通常會逐漸惡化。症狀因人而異,可能包括:

  1. 記憶力下降而干擾日常活動,導致忘記新接收的資訊和/或重覆問問題。
  2. 規劃或解決問題的能力降低。
  3. 難以執行熟悉的日常事務,例如駕駛上班。
  4. 對時間、日期或地點有困惑。
  5. 視覺空間功能受損,例如難以分辨距離或顏色對比度。
  6. 說話、寫作和閱讀有困難。
  7. 遺忘東西而無法追溯發現東西遺失前的事。
  8. 推理和判斷力減低。
  9. 性格和行為的改變,例如變得不信任他人。
  10. 逃避例如參與興趣活動、工作或社交活動等的社會接觸。

阿茨海默病的階段

阿茨海默病的發展大致可分為三個階段。

早期

主要和首要問題之一是記憶障礙。患者亦可以在社交和工作環境中維持獨立和活躍;但是,家人和朋友可能開始發現問題。患有早期阿茨海默病的人可能會出現情緒變化。

中期

隨著大腦更多區域受到影響(包括處理推論、語言和感覺的區域),症狀變得更加明顯。患者仍然能夠回憶起生活中重大事件的細節,但在識別家人和朋友方面會出現困難。他們還可能會喜怒無常、語言能力出現退化、妄想和多疑。他們有時會被發現四處徘徊和迷路。此階段的患者通常需要其他人的支援。

晚期

此階段的特徵是腦部組織明顯收縮,導致無法執行日常活動。患者無法對周圍環境作出反應並無法控制自己的活動。溝通具有困難。他們可能無法正常進食、吞嚥或走動。自理能力完全喪失,因此他們患上感染的風險更高。

如何分辨出是阿茨海默病還是正常衰老現象?

人們經常將阿茨海默病的症狀與年齡相關的記憶力喪失混為一談。後者經常會隨著年齡增長而發生,但並不表示是認知障礙症。

以下是可能令人把阿茨海默病與典型的年齡相關問題混淆的5種常見情況:

阿茲海默症

衰老現象

不記得最近發生的事件或對話的細節

不記得多年前發生的事件或對話的細節

說話時經常停頓、忘記或誤用詞語、或重複相同的句子

說話時間中難以想到正確的詞語來使用

忘記身邊親密的人

忘記熟人的名字

視力出現變化但與眼睛本身問題無關

白內障、青光眼等引起的視力問題

思考和計算方面有困難

一次忘記了交月費

阿茨海默病的併發症

  • 行為問題:例如由於患者逐漸喪失推理能力,他們會變得躁動、有敵意和挑釁性。他們也可能由於喪失記憶和對時間及地點方面有混亂而四處徘徊。
  • 精神問題:例如抑鬱焦慮
  • 身體問題:例如膀胱和腸道問題(如失禁)。患有阿茨海默病的人可能無法識別或無法控制其身體功能。肺炎等感染在晚期患者中更為常見。
  • 代謝問題:例如脫水和營養不良。
  • 容易跌倒:由於阿茨海默病會影響平衡與協調能力,骨折的風險會增加。

抑鬱症指南:原因、症狀、評估及治療方法

成因和危險因素

受阿茨海默病影響的腦部會有的特徵是神經細胞之間的化學訊息溝通失效和死亡,導致腦部明顯萎縮。雖然尚未清楚發生這種情況的原因,但已知有兩種蛋白質牽涉在疾病發展的過程中:

  1. β-澱粉樣蛋白(Beta-amyloid)是一小塊蛋白質,可以形成對神經細胞有毒的斑塊。
  2. Tau蛋白(Tau proteins)負責傳送和提供營養至大腦的細胞和組織。在阿茨海默病中,Tau蛋白出現病變,形成神經元纖維纏結(neurofibrillary tangles),從而破壞它們的原本功能。

導致疾病發展的一些因素為:

    • 年齡:這是第一大危險因素。65歲以後,風險每年都會增加一倍
    • 性別:阿茨海默病對女性的影響大過男性。這可能至少部分是由於女性的平均壽命更長,因為年齡是最重要的因素。
    • 家族史:阿茨海默病患者的近親患上阿茨海默病的風險會增加大約30%
    • 唐氏綜合症:導致大腦中澱粉體斑塊積聚。
    • 心血管疾病:例如高血壓、高膽固醇和糖尿病
    • 生活方式:例如缺乏運動、肥胖和吸煙。
    • 教育水平:教育水平較低的人的患病風險可能會增加。
    • 有嚴重的頭部創傷。
    • 抑鬱

診斷

由於患者容易將早期症狀誤認為是衰老的正常現象,因此通常造成延遲診斷。您的醫生一般會使用幾種檢測方法來診斷阿茨海默病。但是,只有死後進行驗屍才能100%明確地診斷出阿茨海默病。

您的醫生會透過詢問您和您的家人或朋友一些問題來評估症狀。這些問題涵蓋的主題包括例如進行日常活動的能力、醫療和用藥史以及性格和行為改變等。

神經科檢查將進一步協助您的醫生評估您的協調、平衡和感覺功能,以排除其他潛在原因。

醫生亦可以進行各種心理狀態測試,例如簡短智能測試(Mini-Mental State Examination)蒙特利爾認知評估(Montreal Cognitive Assessment),以更全面地評估您的認知和心理機能。這些測試評估您的方向感、語言、記憶和計算等能力。

您的醫生也可能會進行實驗室測試,包括血液檢查和腦成像檢測,以排除造成您出現症狀的其他可能原因。

您可能會被轉介至專科醫生,例如老人科醫生、神經科醫生精神科醫生

神經科醫生 – 香港全方位指南

如何治療阿茨海默病

儘管已有大量資金被安排用於研究阿茨海默病,但迄今為止尚無已知的治癒方法。

減慢記憶力退化的藥物

這些藥物可能會短暫改善症狀,但並不適合所有人。

輕度至中度阿茨海默病

膽鹼酯酶抑制劑(Cholinesterase inhibitors)可防止乙酰膽鹼的分解(乙酰膽鹼是學習和記憶必要所需的化學物質),因此其可增加大腦中乙酰膽鹼的可用性。例子包括多奈哌齊(donepezil)、卡巴拉汀(rivastigmine)和加蘭他敏(galantamine)。

常見的副作用包括噁心、嘔吐、腹瀉、腹痛、厭食和頭痛。

中度至重度阿茨海默病

美金剛(Memantine)透過防止神經細胞降解來保護神經系統,神經細胞降解是由於一種稱為穀氨酸(glutamate)的化學物質過多而令神經系統受過度刺激而引起的。美金剛的常見的副作用是頭暈。

多奈哌齊(Donepezil)也被批准用於治療中重度阿茨海默病。

改善精神和行為症狀的藥物

行為和心理症狀在晚期阿茨海默病變得更加明顯,其中可能包括有攻擊性、躁動、會四處徘徊、有幻覺、焦慮和睡眠問題。您的醫生可能會開以下藥物:

屬於此類的藥物包括阿普唑侖(alprazolam)勞拉西泮(lorazepam)

其他藥物或補充品

有其他一些藥物或補充品被提議用來保持認知能力和神經元完整性,例如維他命E銀杏奧米加-3(omega-3)阿士匹靈 (aspirin)、雌激素(oestrogen)、及布洛芬(ibuprofen)等非類固醇類消炎止痛藥。

但是,只有很少證據支持以上物質的使用。研究表示它們的有效性並不一致和有矛盾。服用任何藥物或補充品之前,請務必諮詢您的醫生。

香港的藥物及保健食品指南

非藥物之控制症狀方法

目前有幾種非藥物方法可以幫助阿茨海默病患者。例如:

  • 認知刺激治療(Cognitive Stimulation Therapy):一組針對注意力、創造力、方向感和數字的活動和任務,旨在改善記憶和其他生活技能,從而提高患者的生活質素。
  • 懷緬治療(Reminiscence Therapy:鼓勵患者利用各種感官來憶起和分享自己的往事。除了幫助患者重溫回憶,這種治療還可為自我價值和歸屬感帶來正面影響。
  • 音樂治療(Music Therapy:與音樂相關的大腦區域相對地較少受阿茨海默病影響。研究顯示,音樂治療具有減慢認知能力下降和改善其他症狀的潛質。

預防方法

儘管目前尚無已證實的預防措施,但是採取健康的生活方式可以幫助減少罹患阿茨海默病的機會,其中包括:

  • 定期做運動
  • 均衡飲食
  • 戒煙
  • 避免過量飲酒
  • 保持精神和社交活躍
  • 定期進行身體檢查
  • 適當管理慢性疾病,例如糖尿病和高血壓

香港全城認知無障礙大行動

為了提高公眾對認知障礙症的認識並幫助建設一個認知無障礙的社區,香港政府於2018年9月發起了為期三年的「全城認知無障礙大行動」。這是政府部門與活躍於香港的非政府組織合作舉辦的。

該行動包括一系列教育活動,例如電視廣播節目和「認知友善好友」簡介會。 每個地區每月都會有不同的活動,包括培訓工作坊、支持小組、和為公眾、患者及其護理者而設「現實導向」的露營活動以及嘉年華。

大行動下的「智友醫社同行計劃」亦根據個人需求向患有輕度至中度認知障礙症的老年人及其護理者提供支援服務。

按此查看更多資訊。

在香港進行阿茨海默病治療的費用是多少?

香港公營部門的治療費用:

對於持香港身份證的合資格人士,專科門診的費用為$135( 首次診症),其後每次診症為$80。每種藥物$15。

對於沒有香港身分證的不合資格人士,專科門診的費用為每次診症$1190。

請注意在公營部門的輪候時間,可能會非常長。

想得到更多相關的詳細資訊,請致電2300 6555醫院管理局聯繫。

香港私營部門的治療費用:

阿茨海默病在私營部門的治療費用因患者的病情而異。最好先諮詢您的醫生,並討論什麼選擇最適合您情況。一般而言,香港專科的診症費用在$600到$2000間,不包括藥物費用。專家提供的認知評估費用約為$1100至$2400間。

* 以上列出的收費資訊是截至2020年6月調查所得,以上所有價錢以港元作單位。如有不準確或錯漏之處,本網站概不負責,亦不承擔相關之責任。在前往診所之前,最好先提前打電話以確保獲得最新資訊。

香港的實用資源


Dr. Sarah Borwein是一位在加拿大受培訓的全科醫生,她有份創立Central Health Group,並在香港從事家庭醫學工作超過15年。在獲得加拿大家庭醫學學院的家庭醫學證書後,她完成了倫敦大學衛生與熱帶醫學院的傳染病碩士課程。她曾在北京和睦家醫院任職醫生,在沙士爆發期間在中國擔任感染控制主任。Sarah懂得講法文,是法國駐香港領事館的顧問和轉診醫生。她是香港GeoSentinel(一個國際疾病監控網絡)的實地總幹事,並曾擔任亞太旅遊健康協會(Asia Pacific Travel Health Society)的主席。此外,她是衛生防護中心傳病媒介疾病科學委員會的成員,該委員會就這類疾病向香港衛生署提供建議。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Alzheimer’s Disease: Causes, Symptoms and Treatment

For most people, occasional forgetfulness is normal as we age. However, Alzheimer’s Disease, or Alzheimer’s in short, is more than just “senior moments’ and should be taken seriously. According to the World Alzheimer Report, a new case of dementia occurs about every 3 seconds. In Hong Kong, 5-8% of the population above age 65 and 20-30% of those older than 80 years are diagnosed with dementia, with more than 60% of these cases caused by Alzheimer’s disease. 

What is Alzheimer’s Disease?

Alzheimer’s disease is a chronic, progressive, irreversible brain disorder that kills brain cells and nerves. It causes ongoing loss of cognitive and intellectual function that impairs memory, ability to think and perform everyday tasks, and social skills, eventually requiring complete assistance from others. Some may also experience emotional and behavioural problems. More women than men are diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. 

As degenerated brain cells cannot be replaced, the condition worsens over time; hence the disease is incurable. Medications are sometimes effective in slowing down the disease, but cannot halt or reverse the deterioration. The rate of progression of Alzheimer’s varies among individuals. 

Contrary to popular belief, Alzheimer’s is not a disease that affects only the elderly. Younger people can also be affected. Early-onset Alzheimer’s occurs before the age of 65 and accounts for up to 1% of all cases. It usually results from an inherited genetic mutation. In this group, people may develop symptoms in their 40s or 50s. Late-onset Alzheimer’s is much more common and develops after the age of 65. 

Alzheimer’s and Dementia 

Dementia is a term used to describe a group of diseases associated with cognitive decline, resulting in difficulties and changes in numerous functions such as learning, communication and feelings. Dementia can be caused by at least 100 different types of disease, including Alzheimer’s, vascular dementia, dementia with Lewy bodies and frontotemporal dementia

Alzheimer’s is the best-known and most common form of dementia, accounting for over half of all cases of dementia globally. It is important to note that some people develop more than one type of dementia. For example, it is not uncommon to have both vascular dementia and Alzheimer’s. 

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Signs and Symptoms 

Alzheimer’s typically gets worse progressively. Symptoms vary from person to person and may include:

  1. Memory loss that interferes with daily activities, resulting in forgetting new information and/or asking questions repetitively.
  2. Reduced ability to plan or solve problems.
  3. Difficulty performing familiar and routine tasks, for example, driving to work.
  4. Confusion about time, dates or places. 
  5. Impaired visuospatial functions, for instance, difficulty determining distance or colour contrasts.
  6. Struggles with speaking, writing and reading. 
  7. Losing things and not being able to retrace steps. 
  8. Decreased reasoning and judgement. 
  9. Changes in personality and behaviour, such as becoming distrustful. 
  10. Social withdrawal from hobbies, work or social events. 

Stages of Alzheimer’s 

The progression of Alzheimer’s can be broadly divided into three stages. 

Early Stage

One of the primary and first problems is memory impairment. Patients can remain independent and active in social and work settings; however, family members and friends may start to detect problems. People with early Alzheimer’s may exhibit mood changes. 

Middle Stage

Symptoms become more pronounced as more areas of the brain become affected, including reasoning, language and sensory processing. Patients are still able to recall details of significant events in their lives, but display difficulties recognising family members and friends. They may also experience moodiness, confusion with words, delusions and paranoia. They are sometimes found wandering and getting lost. Patients in this stage usually require support from other people. 

Later Stage

This stage is characterised by a significant shrinkage of the brain tissues, causing inability to perform everyday functions. Patients fail to respond to their surroundings and to control their movement. Communication is challenging. They may not be able to eat, swallow or walk properly. There is a complete loss of autonomy. They are at a higher risk of developing infections. 

Is it Alzheimer’s or normal ageing?

People often confuse the symptoms of Alzheimer’s with age-related memory loss. The latter frequently occurs as people age but does not signify dementia.

Here are five common situations where Alzheimer’s can be confused with typical age-related issues: 

Alzheimer's

Ageing

Not remembering details of recent events or conversations

Not remembering details of events or conversations which occurred years ago

Frequently pausing, forgetting or misusing words, or repeating the same sentence

Having difficulty finding the right word sometimes

Not knowing people who are close to them

Forgetting names of acquaintances

Vision changes not related to eyesight problems

Vision problems caused by cataracts, glaucoma, etc

 Challenges in thinking and calculation

Missing a monthly payment

Complications of Alzheimer’s

  • Behavioural issues: e.g. agitation, hostility, aggression as patients gradually lose the ability to reason. They may also wander due to memory loss and confusion relating to place and time.
  • Psychiatric issues: e.g. depression and anxiety
  • Physical issues: e.g. bladder and bowel problems such as incontinence. People with Alzheimer’s may not recognise or be able to control their bodily functions. Infections such as pneumonia are more common in the later stages.
  • Metabolic issues: e.g. dehydration and malnutrition. 
  • Falls: risks of fractures increases as Alzheimer’s affects balance and coordination. 

Depression in Hong Kong: Symptoms, Treatment & Support

Causes and Risk Factors

Brains affected by Alzheimer’s are characterised by death and loss of connection between nerve cells, resulting in significant shrinkage of the brain. While it is not clear exactly why this happens, it is known that two proteins are involved in the disease process: 

  1. Beta-amyloid is a small piece of protein that can form plaques toxic to nerve cells. 
  2. Tau proteins transport and supply nutrients to cells and tissues in the brain. Tau proteins in Alzheimer’s form structures called neurofibrillary tangles that disrupt their original functions. 

Some factors contributing to the development of the disease are: 

    • Age: it is the number one risk factor. The risk doubles each year after age 65
    • Gender: Alzheimer’s affects more women than men. This may be at least partly due to women’s longer life expectancy, as age is the most significant factor. 
    • Family history: having a close relative with Alzheimer’s increases risk by about 30%.
    • Down’s syndrome:  causes a build-up of amyloid plaques in the brain. 
    • Cardiovascular diseases: e.g. high blood pressure, high cholesterol and diabetes.
    • Lifestyle: e.g. lack of physical activity, obesity and smoking.
    • Education level: a lower education level may increase the risk.
    • Severe head injury.

Diagnosis 

Diagnosis is often delayed as patients easily mistake early symptoms for signs of normal ageing. Your doctor will usually use several tests to diagnose Alzheimer’s. However, diagnosis can only be 100%, definitively, confirmed by autopsy after death. 

Your doctor will assess symptoms by asking you and your family members or friends questions. The questions will cover topics such as ability to perform daily activities, medical and medication history, and changes in personality and behaviours. 

A neurological examination will further help your doctor assess your coordination, balance and senses to eliminate other potential causes. 

Various mental status tests, such as the Mini Mental State Examination (MMSE) and the Montreal Cognitive Assessment (MoCa), can be conducted to more extensively evaluate your cognitive and mental function. These tests assess abilities such as orientation, language, recall and calculation. 

Your doctor may also carry out laboratory tests, including blood tests and brain imaging, to rule out other possible causes for the symptoms you are experiencing. 

You may be referred for a more definitive diagnosis to a specialist, such as a geriatrician, neurologist or psychiatrist

The Complete Guide to Neurologists in Hong Kong

How to treat Alzheimer’s 

Despite significant funding allocated to research on Alzheimer’s, there is no known cure to date.

Medications for memory loss

They may temporarily improve the symptoms but do not work for everyone.

Mild to moderate Alzheimer’s

Cholinesterase -inhibitors prevent the breakdown of acetylcholine (an essential chemical for learning and memory) and therefore increase the availability of acetylcholine in the brain. Examples include donepezil, rivastigmine and galantamine. 

Common side effects include nausea, vomiting, diarrhoea, abdominal pain, anorexia and headache.  

Moderate to severe Alzheimer’s

Memantine protects the nervous system by preventing nerve cell degradation, which results from over-excitation of the nervous system by excessive levels of a chemical called glutamate. A frequent side-effect is dizziness. 

Donepezil is also approved for the treatment of moderate to severe Alzheimer’s. 

Medication for mental and behavioural symptoms 

Behavioural and psychological symptoms become more pronounced in the late stages of Alzheimer’s and may include aggression, agitation, wandering, hallucinations, anxiety, and sleeping problems. You doctor may prescribe the following medications: 

  • Antidepressants: to treat depression and anxiety. They regulate chemicals responsible for mood and emotions in our brain. Examples include citalopram, escitalopram, fluoxetine and sertraline
  • Antipsychotics: to limit aggression, agitation and hallucinations. They work by blocking the action of dopamine, which is a chemical transmitting signals between brain cells. Examples are aripiprazole, olanzapine and quetiapine.
  • Anti-anxiety medications: to treat anxiety and insomnia. These medications work by enhancing the effects of a specific natural chemical in the body (GABA).

Drugs belonging to this class include alprazolam and lorazepam.  

Other medications or supplements 

Some other drugs or supplements are proposed to play a role in maintaining cognition and neuronal integrity, for example, vitamin E, Ginkgo biloba, omega-3, aspirin, oestrogen, non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs such as ibuprofen, etc. 

There is, however,  minimal evidence supporting the use of these substances. Studies show inconsistent and conflicting results for their effectiveness. Be sure to consult your doctor before taking any drug or supplement. 

MEDICINES & SUPPLEMENTS A-Z

Non-drug management

There are several non-pharmacologic approaches to helping people with Alzheimer’s. For example: 

  • Cognitive Stimulation Therapy: a group of activities and tasks geared towards attention, creativity, orientation and numbers, which aim to improve memory and other life skills, and thus enhance patients’ quality of life. 
  • Reminiscence therapy: patients are encouraged to recall and share their past stories by using all senses. As well as maintaining memory, this kind of treatment promotes a sense of value and belonging.
  • Music therapy: brain areas associated with music are relatively protected from Alzheimer’s. Research suggests that music therapy shows potential in slowing cognitive decline and improving other symptoms. 

Prevention

Although there are no proven prevention measures, adopting a healthy lifestyle can help reduce the likelihood of developing Alzheimer’s. These include:

  • Regular physical exercise
  • A balanced diet
  • Smoking cessation
  • Avoiding excessive alcohol consumption
  • Staying mentally and socially active
  • Regular check-ups
  • Proper management of chronic conditions, e.g. diabetes and hypertension

Dementia Friendly Community Campaign in Hong Kong

To raise public awareness of dementia and help build a dementia-friendly community, the Hong Kong Government launched a 3-year Dementia Friendly Community Campaign in September 2018. It is a joint cooperation between government departments and non-governmental organisations active in Hong Kong. 

The campaign consists of a series of educational programmes including television broadcasts and “Dementia Friends” information sessions. There are different activities organised every month in various local districts, including training workshops, support groups, reality orientation camps and funfairs for the public, patients and their carers.

The Dementia Community Support Scheme under the Campaign also provides support services to older adults with mild to moderate dementia and their caregivers according to individual needs.

Click here for more information. 

What is the cost of Alzheimer’s Treatment in Hong Kong?

Cost of treatment in Hong Kong’s Public Sector:

For eligible persons with a HKID card, the cost for specialist outpatient services in public hospitals is $135 for the first attendance and $80 per subsequent attendance. Each drug item costs $15.  

For non-eligible persons without a HKID card, the cost of attending specialist outpatient clinics is $1190 per attendance in public hospitals. 

Beware of waiting times which can be very long in the public sector.

For details, call the Hospital Authority at 2300 6555.

Cost of treatment in Hong Kong’s Private Sector:

The cost of Alzheimer’s treatment in the private sector varies according to the condition of the patient. It is best first to consult your doctor and discuss the options that are most appropriate for your situation. Generally, consultations by specialists in Hong Kong cost between $600 and $2000, excluding medication fees. Cognitive assessment provided by specialists costs around $1100 to $2400. 

*All amounts are in HKD and were last updated in June 2020. No responsibility is accepted for any inaccuracies, errors, or omissions. It is always best to call ahead to make sure the information is still up-to-date.

Useful Resources in Hong Kong


Dr. Sarah Borwein is a Canadian trained General Practitioner who co-founded the Central Health Group and has been practicing family medicine in Hong Kong for over 15 years. After obtaining Certification in Family Medicine from the College of Family Physicians of Canada, she completed a Masters degree in Infectious Diseases from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. She worked as a staff physician at the Beijing United Family Hospital where she was Director of Infection control during the SARS outbreak in China. A French speaker, Sarah is the advising and referral doctor for the French Consulate in Hong Kong. She is the site director for GeoSentinel (an international disease surveillance network) in Hong Kong and is past President of the Asia Pacific Travel Health Society. In addition, she sits on the Centre for Health Protection's Scientific Committee on Vector-borne Diseases, which advises the Hong Kong Department of Health on this type of illness.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.