藥物及保健食品指南 > 奧米加-3脂肪酸 (Omega-3 Fatty Acids)

奧米加-3脂肪酸 (Omega-3 Fatty Acids)

最後更新日期 九月 28, 2019.

概要   |   劑量   |   副作用   |   購買地方  

保健品

學名:奧米加-3脂肪酸

英文名:Omega-3 Fatty Acids

香港常見含有奧米加-3脂肪酸的品牌名:Centrum 善存,Doctor’s Choice 醫之選,Scott’s 司各脫,Swisse

奧米加-3脂肪酸(Omega-3 Fatty Acids)的作用

奧米加-3脂肪酸是多元不飽和脂肪酸(PUFA)的一種。 奧米加-3脂肪酸的主要成分為二十碳五烯酸(EPA)、α-亞麻酸(ALA)和二十二碳六烯酸(DHA)。 ALA是一種必需脂肪酸,不能由人體產生,必須在飲食中攝取。攝取後,ALA可進一步分解為EPA和DHA。

奧米加-3脂肪酸對我們的細胞膜的形成至關重要。服用奧米加-3脂肪酸作保健品已經被證明可以降低體內甘油三酯的含量,從而降低心血管疾病的風險和心臟病。有研究還發現在懷孕期間服用奧米加-3脂肪酸尤其是DHA可能有助於孩子的早期發育。

建議成人每日膳食攝入的奧米加-3脂肪酸(以ALA計)為男性1.6g,非孕婦1.1g。如果您正在懷孕,建議的每日膳食攝入量(以ALA計)至少為1.4g。如果您在飲食中無法獲得足夠量的奧米加-3脂肪酸,便可以服用奧米加-3脂肪酸的保健品。 缺乏奧米加-3脂肪酸的症狀包括皮膚粗糙和發炎。

用法及用量

奧米加-3脂肪酸可以魚油,植物油或磷蝦油的形式口服。魚肝油除了有豐富的奧米加-3脂肪酸,通常還含有維生素A維生素D。常見成人劑量是200-400mg的EPA + DHA。有關具體劑量,請參閱產品標籤。

奧米加-3脂肪酸(Omega-3 Fatty Acids)的副作用

服用奧米加-3脂肪酸保健品的副作用是腹瀉,噁心,打嗝,出血。如果您正在服用其他抗血小板藥物(例如阿士匹靈)或抗凝血劑(例如華法林),請在服用奧米加-3脂肪酸保健品之前告知您的醫生或藥劑師,因為奧米加-3脂肪酸可能會導致出血。

膳食來源

大多數人應該從健康的飲食中攝取足量的奧米加-3脂肪酸。奧米加-3脂肪酸存在於許多食物中,包括魚類(尤其是油性或深色魚類),魚油,大豆,蝦,海藻,奇亞籽,亞麻籽,核桃和芸豆。

購買途徑

在香港,你可以在沒有處方的情況下從香港的任何零售店購買奧米加-3脂肪酸。這包括雜貨店,便利店,藥店和藥房。它也可以從醫生那裡獲得。如想查找你附近的藥房,請參閱香港衛生署的獲授權毒藥銷售商名單

如想了解更多藥物資訊,您可瀏覽衛生署的藥物辦公室 http://www.drugoffice.gov.hk

想要更多信息?

有關奧米加-3脂肪酸在兒童,懷孕和母乳喂養中的用法或有關藥物相互作用的問題,請諮詢藥劑師或醫生。

本網站上的藥物資訊只提供了最相關的資訊和最常用的劑量。這些資訊並不是醫療建議。有關具體的治療建議,請徵詢你的醫生或藥劑師,並按照你所服用的藥物說明使用。

FIND OTHER MEDICINES

LEARN ABOUT YOUR HEALTH IN HONG KONG

Practical, doctor-reviewed guides and articles to stay informed (and healthy!)

Medicines & Supplements A to Z > Omega-3 Fatty Acids (Supplement)

Omega-3 Fatty Acids (Supplement)

Last updated on 19/03/2021.

Overview   |   Dosage   |    Side Effects   |   Precautions  |   Tips  |   Where To Buy  

GENERIC NAME: Omega-2 Fatty Acids

CHINESE NAME: 奧米加-3脂肪酸

BRAND NAME(S) IN HONG KONG: Centrum 善存, Doctor’s Choice 醫之選, Scott’s 司各脫, Swisse, Omacor 

DRUG CLASS: Antilipemic agent 

USED FOR: Cardiovascular risk reduction, high blood levels of triglycerides

OTHER DRUGS IN THE SAME CLASS: N/A

AVAILABLE DOSAGE FORMS: 300mg, 1000mg (softgels)

What is Omega-3 Fatty Acids for?

Omega-3 Fatty Acids are one of the classes of polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs). The major components of Omega-3 are commonly known as eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA), alpha-linolenic acid (ALA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). ALA is an essential fatty acid and cannot be  produced by the human body and must be either consumed in the diet. ALA can be further broken down into EPA and DHA after ingestion.

Omega-3 Fatty Acids are essential for our cell membranes. Taking an Omega-3 Fatty Acids supplement has already been proven to lower the level of triglycerides in your body which may reduce cardiovascular risks and events such as heart attacks and stroke. It is also found that taking Omega-3 especially DHA during pregnancy may help with the early development of your child.

The recommended daily dietary intake of Omega-3 Fatty Acids (as ALA) for adults is 1.6 g in men and 1.1 g in non-pregnant women. If you are pregnant, the recommended daily dietary intake (as ALA) would be at least 1.4 g. You can take an Omega 3 fatty acid supplement if you have a deficiency or if you cannot obtain a sufficient amount from your diet. Symptoms of Omega-3 Fatty Acids deficiency include rough and inflamed skin.

How to use them?

Omega-3 Fatty Acids supplements are taken by mouth in the form of fish, plant, or krill oils. Cod liver oil also contains Vitamin A and Vitamin D. The usual adult dose is 200-400 mg of EPA + DHA. For specific dosages, refer to the product label.

What are the side effects of Omega-3 Fatty Acids?

The side effects of taking Omega-3 supplements are diarrhoea, nausea, fishy belches, and rarely bleeding. Advise your doctor or pharmacist before taking Omega-3 if you are currently taking other antiplatelet drugs (e.g. Aspirin) or anticoagulants (e.g. Warfarin) as Omega-3 fatty acids may cause bleeding.

Who should not take Omega-3 Fatty Acids?

People allergic to Omega-3 Fatty Acids or any formulation ingredient. 

Pharmacist Tips:

Most people should obtain adequate amounts of Omega-3 Fatty Acids from a healthy diet. Omega-3 Fatty Acids are present in many foods including fish (especially oily or dark meat fish), fish oils, soybeans, shrimp, seaweed, chia seeds, flaxseeds, walnuts and kidney beans.

You are recommended to have adequate intake of Omega-3 Fatty Acids during pregnancy.

Omega-3 Fatty Acids supplements are not a substitute for standard cholesterol-lowering therapy. You should continue the treatment directed by your healthcare provider and are encouraged to modify your daily diet at the same time.

Common dosing schedule:
Take Omega-3 Fatty Acids with food.
Do not break, crush or chew the capsule. Swallow whole to avoid unpleasant taste and texture.

This schedule is for reference only, adjustments may be made according to individual needs.

Some common medications Omega-3 Fatty Acids may interact with:
Anticoagulants, e.g. Apixaban, Warfarin
Antiplatelets, e.g. Aspirin, Clopidogrel
Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, e.g. Ibuprofen, Diclofenac

Please notify your doctor or pharmacist if you are taking the above medication, dosage adjustments might be needed.

What are other sources of Omega-3 Fatty Acids?

Most people should obtain adequate amounts of Omega-3 fatty acids from a healthy diet. Omega-3 fatty acids are present in many foods including fish (especially oily or dark meat fish), fish oils, soybeans, shrimp, seaweed, chia seeds, flaxseeds, walnuts and kidney beans.

Where to buy Omega-3 Fatty Acids in Hong Kong?

In Hong Kong, Omega-3 Fatty Acids supplements can be purchased without a prescription from any retail outlet in Hong Kong. This includes grocery stores, convenience stores, medicine shops, and pharmacies. It can also be obtained from doctors. To find a pharmacy near you, refer to the list of pharmacies (“Authorized Sellers of Poisons”) from the Hong Kong Department of Health. 

For more information about drug names and ingredients, you can visit Hong Kong’s Drug Office at https://www.drugoffice.gov.hk/

Need more information?

For detailed information about the use of Omega-3 Fatty Acids in children, pregnancy and breastfeeding, and for questions about drug interactions, please check with your pharmacist or doctor.

Disclaimer: our goal is to provide you with the most relevant drug information and common dosage for Hong Kong. This information does not constitute medical advice. For specific treatment recommendations and advice, always discuss with your doctor or pharmacist, and follow the instructions included with your specific medicine.