認識社交恐懼症:不僅僅是害羞

最後更新日期 九月 8, 2021.

社交恐懼症是什麼 | 徵兆及症狀 | 成因 | 診斷 | 預防 | 治療方法 | 即時支援

一想到要面對社交場合、與別人交談或需要參加聚會,你會否心跳加速、手心出汗或胃痛?

如果你曾有這樣的經歷,你並不孤單。社交恐懼症不僅僅是在社交場合表現膽怯,亦是在兒童和青少年時期最普遍的焦慮症 (anxiety disorder)。現時香港3至6歲兒童的社交恐懼症的患病率為7.5%,其流行程度絕對值得社會關注。

社交恐懼症是什麼?

成長過程中,我們或多或少都曾有過在社交場合中感到煩躁不安及緊張焦慮的經歷。最常見是上台演講時,我們的心跳會變得很快。大多數人都能克服這種害羞的反應,但對於社交恐懼症患者來說,被迫面對社交場合所造成的痛苦或者難以克服,更是於其他人無法想像的。

社交恐懼症亦稱為社交焦慮症,是一種心理疾患,導致患者對於被人評頭品足或仔細觀察感到強烈及持續的恐懼。一般的害羞通常只會維持短時間,並不會影響個人的日常生活。然而,社交恐懼症最終會帶來持續且令人疲勞的影響。

社交恐懼症的徵兆及症狀

身處社交環境時,社交恐懼症患者可能會出現以下徵兆和症狀:

  • 臉紅、出汗
  • 手震或發抖、聲音震顫
  • 心悸
  • 大腦一片空白
  • 噁心、腹痛或胃部不適
  • 僵硬的身體姿勢,很少與他人有眼神交流及說話出現困難
  • 非常擔心在他人面前做出令自己尷尬或出醜的事
  • 極度恐懼及焦慮自己會被人評論
  • 在與別人的相處中感到不安,尤其是與陌生人
  • 傾向遠離有人的地方

社交恐懼症患者通常會對社交活動感到恐慌,並且在事件發生幾天甚至幾週前已經會開始感到焦慮不安。由於患者會避開社交場合,他們可能會因為可預見的焦慮而缺席課堂或上班。

社交恐懼的症狀未必會在所有社交場合出現,患者可能僅會在某些特定場合或情況下才會感到焦慮。

社交恐懼的成因

社交恐懼症的確切成因尚未清楚。目前研究指出社交恐懼症是由生理及環境等多方面的因素形成。雖然社交恐懼症可能遺傳自其他家庭成員,但研究人員仍在理清遺傳因素及養育環境分別對這種疾病的影響,以下是一些可能的成因:

  1. 血清素失衡 (Serotonin imbalance):血清素水平失衡會削弱神經系統的情緒調節功能。
  2. 杏仁核過度活躍 (Overactive amygdala):杏仁核是負責控制恐懼及焦慮反應的大腦結構。杏仁核過度活躍的人容易產生強烈的恐懼反應,在身處社交場合時更容易感到焦慮。
  3. 成長環境:社交恐懼症可以通過社會學習 (social learning) 形成——患者可能因為曾經歷不愉快的社交經驗後對社交場合產生焦慮。不論是否直接影響到子女,父母養育方式和童年經歷對子女的成長有極大影響。如果父母過度控制、過分保護或向子女展示焦慮的社交行為,孩子可能會因此患上社交恐懼症。

其他因素也可能會增加患上社交恐懼症的風險,包括:

  1. 負面經歷:曾經被戲弄、欺凌、拒絕或羞辱的兒童更容易患上社交恐懼症。家庭衝突、創傷或虐待亦可能令孩子更容易患上疾病。
  2. 新的社交或工作環境:結識新朋友、公開演講或報告可能會引起相關症狀。
  3. 出現一些引人注意的外在特徵:毀容、口吃或顫抖可能會增加個人的自我意識,更害怕受到他人關注。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

如何診斷出社交恐懼症?

現時沒有任何醫學測試能用於診斷社交恐懼症。然而,根據求診者報告的症狀,臨床心理學家或精神科醫生可以就求診者的行為模式作診斷。診斷標準包括:

  1. 對至少一種可能受到他人仔細觀察的社交場合表現出明顯的恐懼或焦慮。
  2. 害怕表現出焦慮症狀或害怕以一種會受到負面評價的方式行事。
  3. 在某些社交場合中反復感到恐懼或焦慮。
  4. 避免或極力忍耐會帶來強烈焦慮或痛苦的社交場合。
  5. 經歷過度或與現實所構成威脅不成比例的恐懼或焦慮。
  6. 因焦慮所引起的不安及逃避行為嚴重干擾正常生活、職業(或學業)、社交活動或社會關係。
  7. 上述情況並非由藥物或其他疾病引致。

如何防止患上社交恐懼症?

一些行為或許有助於應對社交環境中所遇到的焦慮:

  1. 寫日記:日記可以作為記錄,幫助你觀察生活中的高低起伏,亦能幫助你確定壓力的成因,從而針對性地制定預防措施。
  2. 計劃你的日程表:好好管理時間能確保自己有足夠的時間完成事情,並有助於減少由於太多不確定性而引起的焦慮。有效的時間管理會讓空出餘暇來享受休閒時光的樂趣,而不是沉溺於負面情緒和為即將發生的事情而緊張。
  3. 避免物質使用:使用酒精、毒品、咖啡因及尼古丁都會產生或加劇焦慮。由於這些物質可能會上癮,戒斷其中任何一種物質亦可能會引發焦慮。

社交恐懼症的治療方法

經過診斷後,臨床心理學家或精神科醫生可能會建議患者接受合適的心理治療、藥物治療或結合兩者的治療方法。

心理治療

認知行為治療 (Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, CBT) 可有效治療社交恐懼症。通過臨床評估,認知行為治療可以幫助患者識別消極負面的思維模式、挑戰及改變功能失調的思維 (dysfunctional thinking) 和適應不良的行為 (maladaptive behaviors)。治療師將採用不同的方法,例如應對策略 (coping strategies),幫助患者減少焦慮及恐懼,同時幫助他們練習社交及溝通技巧。

小組形式的認知行為治療 (Group CBT) 也能有效幫助治療社交恐懼症,能讓參與治療人士在不作批判 (non-judgmental) 的情況下互相交流,從中得到真實、不偏頗的反饋,改變他們從前功能失調的思維。在治療的過程中,患者亦可以觀察及學習其他人在社交場合中克服焦慮的方法。

治療師也可能會使用暴露療法 (Exposure therapy) 鼓勵患者面對焦慮的源頭,而非逃避社交場合。

【認知行為治療】帶你認識CBT如何治療心理疾病

藥物

醫生可能會提供藥物以緩解恐懼或焦慮:

  1. 抗抑鬱藥:通過增加大腦中的血清素水平,選擇性羥色胺再攝取抑制劑 (SSRIs),例如西酞普蘭 (citalopram) 及帕羅西汀 (Paroxetine) 可以幫助治療焦慮症。醫生亦能以血清素與正腎上腺素再吸收抑制劑 (SNRI) 代替。
  2. 抗焦慮藥物苯二氮平類藥物 (Benzodiazepines) 是有效減少焦慮的短期治療方法。然而,由於身體可能會習慣這種藥物並產生耐藥性 (drug tolerance),隨着時間需要增加用藥劑量才能達致同樣的效果。通常醫生只會建議短期使用這類藥物,以免形成不良習慣或帶來鎮靜反應。
  3. β受體阻斷劑 (Beta-blockers):這些藥物能夠阻斷腎上腺素的刺激作用,從而幫助減輕焦慮的身體症狀,例如心跳加速及顫抖。β受體阻斷劑不適用於一般治療,只適用於治療「演出焦慮」。

社交恐懼症的治療,尤其藥物治療,需要由相關專業人士提供

即時支援

如果你正在尋求專業的幫助,你可以聯繫以下服務:

醫院管理局精神健康專線 (24小時)
電話: 2466 7350
支援語言: 粵語、英語、普通話

社會福利署熱線服務
電話: 2343 2255
支援語言: 粵語、英語、普通話

香港心理衛生會
電話: 2772 0047
支援語言: 粵語、普通話

如果你需要即時的支援,請立即尋求專業幫助。以下熱線提供24小時服務:

撒瑪利亞會
熱線:2896 0000
支援語言:粵語、英語、普通話

生命熱線
熱線:2382 0000
支援語言:粵語

香港撒瑪利亞防止自殺會
熱線:2389 2222
支援語言:粵語

FAQs

社交恐懼症通常在甚麼時候會出現?

社交恐懼症通常出現在童年或早期青少年的時期,可能與欺凌、虐待或過往的負面經歷有關。害羞的孩子更容易患上社交恐懼症。父母的過度控制或保護亦可能令孩子更容易患上社交恐懼症。

我是否患有社交恐懼症,或者我只是害羞?

社交恐懼不僅僅是害羞。社交恐懼症是一種心理疾患,最終導致持續地極度害怕被他人評頭品足或仔細觀察。害羞通常只會持續一段很短的時間,不會影響一個人的日常生活。然而,社交恐懼症可能會持續存在並且令人筋疲力盡。

社交恐懼症可以有多嚴重?

如果不治療,社交恐懼症可能會變得非常嚴重。因為社交恐懼症的症狀可能會損害社交、職業(或學業)、社交活動或社會關係。患有社交恐懼症的人可能會缺乏社會支持或有較差的人際關係。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Social Anxiety Disorder: Beyond Shyness

Last updated on September 8, 2021.

What is social anxiety disorder | Signs & symptoms | Causes | Diagnosis | Prevention | Treatments | Support

Does the thought of networking, making small talk or going to a party set your pulse racing and palms sweating, with a slightly sick feeling in the pit of your stomach?

You are not alone if it does. Social anxiety disorder is so much more than being timid in social settings and is the most prevalent anxiety disorder in childhood and adolescence. In Hong Kong, the prevalence of social anxiety disorder among children between ages of 3 and 6 is currently 7.5%. The high prevalence of the disorder is definitely worthy of our attention to understand how to manage it.

What is Social Anxiety Disorder?

We all have experienced feeling uneasy, fidgety, jumpy in social settings. For instance, when giving a presentation, our heart pounds rapidly. Most people can get through the shyness, but when it comes to social anxiety, the distress caused can be much harder to bear.

Social anxiety disorder, also known as social phobia, is a mental health condition causing an intense, persistent fear of being judged or scrutinized by others. Shyness often stops after a short period of time and does not impair one’s daily functioning. However, social anxiety disorder culminates in persistent, exhausting repercussions.

Signs & Symptoms of Social Anxiety Disorder

During social interactions and social settings, individuals with social anxiety disorder may develop the following signs and symptoms:

  • Blushing, sweating, trembling or shaking
  • Rapid heart rates
  • Feeling of “mind going blank”
  • Nausea or stomachache
  • Rigid body posture, little eye contact and difficulty speaking
  • Extremely high self-consciousness in front of others, which culminates in feelings of embarrassment and awkwardness
  • Extreme fear and anxiety towards possible judgments by others
  • Feeling of uneasiness during interactions, especially with strangers
  • Tendency to stay away from places with other people

People with social anxiety disorder often panic and are on tenterhooks days or even weeks before the event. Since they are avoidant of social settings, they may miss school or work because of foreseeable anxiety.

Note that symptoms of social anxiety may not appear in all social situations. People with social anxiety disorder may experience selective anxiety under certain circumstances only.

Causes of Social Anxiety Disorder

The exact cause of social anxiety disorder is unknown. Current research suggests that the condition is caused by a combination of environmental factors and genetics. While social anxiety disorder can possibly run in families, researchers are still unraveling the effects of genetic factors and nurturing environments on the disorder. Below are some possible causes:

  1. Serotonin imbalance: An imbalance in serotonin levels will weaken the mood regulation function of the nervous system.
  2. Overactive amygdala: Amygdala is a brain structure that controls fear response and anxiety. People with an overactive amygdala are prone to a heightened fear response, experiencing increased anxiety in face of social situations.
  3. Nurturing environment: Social anxiety disorder may be acquired through social learning — individuals may develop anxiety in the wake of unpleasant social encounters. Direct or not, the effects of parenting and influences in childhood are cases in point. Children whose parents are controlling, overprotective or model anxious social behaviors, may endure social anxiety disorder consequently.

Other factors may also increase the risk of social anxiety disorder, including:

  1. Negative experiences: Children who have experiences of being teased, bullied, rejected or humiliated are more susceptible to developing the condition. Family conflict, trauma or abuse may also play a role.
  2. New social or work situations: Meeting new people, having a public speech or presentation may trigger symptoms.
  3. Having conditions that draw attention: Disfigurement, stuttering or tremors may increase the self-consciousness of an individual.

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Diagnosis of Social Anxiety Disorder

No medical tests can be used to check for social anxiety disorder. However, based on self-report of symptoms, clinicians can make a diagnosis with regards to the behavioral patterns of an individual. The diagnostic criteria include:

  1. Marked fear or anxiety about at least one social situation where one may come under the scrutiny of others.
  2. Fear of showing anxiety symptoms or acting in a way that will be negatively evaluated.
  3. Repeated sense of fear or anxiety in certain social situations.
  4. Avoidance or endurance of social situations with intense fear or anxiety.
  5. Experience out-of-proportion fear or anxiety towards threat posed by social situations or socio-cultural contexts.
  6. Significant distress over the symptoms or impairment of functioning in social, occupational or other major life areas.
  7. The above symptoms cannot be explained by the physiological effects of a substance or any other general medical conditions.

Prevention of Social Anxiety Disorder

Several practices may be helpful to cope with anxiety in social settings:

  1. Keeping a journal: A journal can serve as a record to help you observe and recognize the ebbs and flows in your personal life. It helps identify the causes of your stress and thus formulating preventive measures.
  2. Planning your schedule: Time management offers reassurance and helps reduce anxiety due to uncertainty. It will give you breathing room for idle pleasure, leisure time rather than dwelling on negativity and getting worked up over forthcoming events.
  3. Avoiding substance use: Alcohol, drugs, caffeine and nicotine use can create or aggravate anxiety. As these substances are potentially addictive, withdrawal from any of them may also trigger anxiety.

Treatments of Social Anxiety Disorder

After valid diagnosis by a clinician, people with social anxiety disorder may be advised to receive psychotherapy, medication or a combination of both as deemed suitable by a mental health professional.

Psychotherapies

Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is effective in treating social anxiety disorder. Through its clinical sessions, CBT can help the individual identify negative thought patterns, challenge and change these cognitive distortions and maladaptive behaviors. Different methods, such as coping tools, will be adopted to help them reduce anxiety and fear, whilst allowing space to practice social and communication skills.

Group CBT is also beneficial for individuals diagnosed with the disorder, where they can receive unbiased, genuine feedback from one another without judgment, so as to realize any distorted evaluation they have. Along the way, they can observe and learn from others’ approaches to overcoming anxiety in social situations.

Exposure therapy may also be delivered to encourage you to face the target anxiety source and not to avoid or escape from social situations, steadily supporting you to face them.

How Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) Can Treat Mental Illnesses

Medications

Several medications may be prescribed by a medical doctor to alleviate the condition:

  1. Antidepressants: By increasing serotonin levels in the brain, selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) such as citalopram and paroxetine can help treat anxiety. Substitutes may be serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor (SNRI).
  2. Anti-anxiety medications: Benzodiazepines are an effective short-term treatment for reducing anxiety. However, as your body may become accustomed to the drug and develop tolerance overtime, more doses will be needed to attain the same effect. Only short-term use of the medications is recommended as they can be habit-forming and sedating.
  3. Beta-blockers: These medications can fend off the stimulating effect of adrenaline, thus helping in mitigating physical symptoms of anxiety, such as pounding heart and tremors. They are not recommended for general treatment but only people of the “performance anxiety” type.

Please note that social anxiety disorder treatments, particularly medications, need to be conducted and prescribed by a medical doctor.

Do you need help?

If you are looking for professional advice, you may reach out to the services below:

Hospital Authority Mental Health Direct (24 hours)
Tel: 2466 7350
Available languages: English, Cantonese, Mandarin

Social Welfare Department Hotline Service
Tel: 2343 2255
Available languages: English, Cantonese, Mandarin

The Mental Health Association of Hong Kong
Tel: 2772 0047
Available languages: Cantonese, Mandarin

If you need immediate support, please do not hesitate to reach out for professional help. Below is a list of hotlines with 24-hour support:

The Samaritans
Hotline: 2896 0000
Available languages: English, Cantonese, Mandarin

Suicide Prevention
Hotline: 2382 0000
Available language: Cantonese 

The Samaritan Befrienders Hong Kong
Hotline: 2389 2222
Available language: Cantonese

FAQs

When does social anxiety become a disorder?

Social anxiety disorder usually emerges during childhood or early adolescence. It may be associated with a history of bullying, abuse or negative experiences. Shy children are more prone to develop social anxiety. Children with parents who are controlling or overprotective may also be susceptible to social anxiety disorder.

Do I have social anxiety disorder, or am I just shy?

Social anxiety is more than just shyness. Social anxiety disorder is a mental health condition that culminates in an intense, persistent fear of being judged or scrutinized by others. Shyness often only persists for a short period of time and does not impair one’s daily functioning. However, social anxiety disorder can be persistent and exhausting to bear.

How severe can social anxiety be?

Without treatment, social anxiety can be overwhelming as the symptoms may impair daily functioning in social, occupational or other major life areas. Individuals with social anxiety may experience a lack of social support and reduced quality of relationships.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.