【認知行為治療】帶你認識CBT如何治療心理疾病

最後更新日期 八月 17, 2021.

認知行為治療是在心理學歷史上最著名的心理治療方法之一。根據美國心理學會(American Psychological Association),認知行為治療是一種有效的、以證據為基礎(Evidence-Based)的治療方法,甚至可以改善日常功能以及生活質素。

以下我們將會帶你認識認知行為治療。 

什麼是認知行為治療?

認知行為治療(Cognitive Behavioral Therapy; CBT),是一種用於治療精神疾病的心理教育干預(Psychoeducational Intervention)。心理健康專家通常會運用這種治療方法治療抑鬱症焦慮症。認知行為治療同時亦適用於治療精神分裂症、飲食失調以及躁鬱症等等的精神問題。

認知行為治療的原理建基於美國精神科醫生Aaron Beck所提出的認知理論以及其「想法引起情緒」的假設。治療通常側重於幫助病人了解和識別他們消極的思維模式(Negative Thought Patterns)並改善功能失調的思維(Dysfunctional Thinking)和適應不良的行為(Maladaptive Behavior)。

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

Aaron Beck對抑鬱症的研究

憂鬱認知三角

Beck在1979年提出「情緒是認知的結果」,換言之,我們的想法會直接影響我們的感受。基於這一假設,Beck提出了憂鬱認知三角並指出抑鬱症的患者對「自我」、「世界」和「未來」都會有消極的看法。例如,一個因工作壓力而變得抑鬱的人可能會不合常理地覺得自己一無是處,認為自己的未來黯淡而產生出「我永遠無法做好我的工作」與「因為我太沒用了,所以沒有公司會僱用我」等等的想法。

自動化思維

除了憂鬱認知三角,Beck(1979)亦提出抑鬱症的患者通常有自動化思維(Automatic Thoughts),也稱為認知扭曲(Cognitive Distortions)。抑鬱症患者的自動化思維都會導致患者產生負面情緒。有「以偏概全(Overgeneralization)」思維的人從微不足道的錯誤中得出不切實際的結論,例如「如果我沒有通過考試,我就會死」、「如果我在考試表現不好,我將永遠無法找到工作」等等。除此之外,有「個人化(Personalization)」思維的人會把無法控制的負面結果歸咎於自己身上,例如「我的孩子無法解決這個數學問題,我肯定是個糟糕的父母。」

以下是一些常見的自動化思維: 

  • 「全或無」思維
  • 以偏概全
  • 選擇性注意
  • 低估正面信息
  • 讀心術
  • 預測未來
  • 過分誇大(災難化)或過分貶低
  • 情感推理
  • 貼標籤或貼錯標籤
  • 個人化 / 攬責上身

抑鬱症指南:原因、症狀、評估及治療方法

認知行為治療療程

認知行為治療是一種實用且協作的治療形式,主要目標是改變患者非理性的思維模式,並讓患者明白他們正在經歷的負面情緒主要是來源於他們對世界、自我及未來的負面看法。 

認知行為治療師會應用各種工具教育抑鬱症患者以改變他們的消極的思維模式。一般而言,參加認知行為治療的患者通常會收到家課和思維記錄表,讓他們在治療的過程中認識自己的思維模式。除此之外,認知行為治療師更會鼓勵患者每天完成情緒日記,讓他們並進一步反思自己的思維模式和注意自己每天情緒的變動。

認知行為治療的結構

認知行為治療療程所需時間通常取決於病人的進度,因此並沒有固定的長短。 一般而言,標準認知行為治療(Standard CBT)的治療時間大概為20週,簡短認知行為治療(Brief CBT)則通常持續大約10到12週。每一節認知行為治療通常持續大約30到60分鐘。

一節認知行為治療內,治療師會與患者 1)審查作業、2)設置新目標以及 3)討論新作業。治療的流程亦可能會包括:

  1. 檢查情緒
  2. 總結上一節治療
  3. 複習作業
  4. 設立新目標
  5. 討論和派發新的作業
  6. 總結與反饋

認知行為治療的好處與壞處

好處

  • 大量的理論支持
  • 較短治療時間
  • 能夠與生物醫學治療互相結合,如抗抑鬱治療(Antidepressant Therapy)
  • 患者能夠在治療中學習實用的理論和面對負面情緒的策略,以防止在未來再次陷入情緒困擾

壞處

  • 無法讓有學習困難的人士從治療中受益
    • 由於認知行為治療鼓勵患者定期完成家課,因此患者必須具備良好的閱讀及寫作能力
  • 當下為本(Present-Oriented)的治療方法
    • 忽略患者過去的經歷,例如童年時期的心理創傷
  • 無法幫助患有嚴重的心理疾病的患者

【精神健康】心理學家之全方位指南

認知行為治療的效用

認知行為治療對多種精神健康問題都有療效。 以下是一些可以通過認知行為治療改善的常見精神疾病例字:

  • 抑鬱症
  • 焦慮症
  • 精神分裂症
  • 飲食失調
  • 躁狂抑鬱症
  • 驚恐症
  • 創傷後壓力症候群

為了讓患者有系統地反思負面思維模式如何導致他們的負面情緒,治療師可能會布置家課。

兒童青少年到、成人長者認知行為治療對所有年齡層的患者都有顯著治療效果。然而患者對治療的配合程度對於獲得最佳的治療效果至關重要。如果患者未能按時完成作業、未有遵從治療師指引,可能會降低治療的整體效果。因此,在參加認知行為治療前,患者必須確保自己能夠參與並完成整個療情。假如患者同時有嚴重成癮(Addiction)的問題,就必須在參與治療前先解決這些問題,否則可能會影響治療進度。

緊急求助

如有需要,請盡快聯繫精神及心理健康範疇的專業人士尋求協助。 以下是一些提供24小時情緒支持的熱線:

24小時緊急求助熱線

撒瑪利亞會
電話:2896 0000
語言:英語、廣東話、普通話

生命熱線
電話:2382 0000
語言:廣東話

香港撒瑪利亞防止自殺會
電話:2389 2222
語言:廣東話

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

How Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) Can Treat Mental Illnesses

Last updated on August 13, 2021.

What is CBT | Aaron Beck | How does CBT work? | Structure | Pros and Cons | Effectiveness | Immediate Help

One of the most famous psychological treatment approaches is cognitive behavioral therapy. According to the American Psychological Association, cognitive behavioral therapy is an effective intervention that can even improve daily functioning and quality of life. Here is a comprehensive guide of what cognitive behavioral therapy is, how this treatment approach works and more.

What is CBT?

Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is a psychoeducational intervention that is used to treat mental illness. This therapeutic approach is typically used by mental health professionals to treat depression and anxiety. However, CBT is also applicable among clients with schizophrenia, eating disorders, and bipolar disorder.

In general, CBT intervention is designed based on Aaron Beck’s cognitive theory and the assumption that feelings are the results of cognition. CBT generally focuses on helping the client to identify negative thought patterns and to change dysfunctional thinking and maladaptive behavior.

Weekly Discounts & Health Tips!

Hot deals. Sign up now.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Aaron Beck’s work on depression

The Negative Cognitive Triad

Beck (1979) proposed that our emotions are the result of our cognition, in other words, what we think will lead to what we feel. Based on this assumption, Beck proposed the negative cognitive triad model and suggested that major depressive disorder clients have a negative view of the self, the world and the future. 

The Negative Cognitive Triad

Automatic Thoughts

Apart from the negative triad, Beck (1979) also proposed that clients suffering from major depressive disorders usually possess automatic thoughts, also known as cognitive distortions. There are numerous automatic thoughts, all of which contribute to negative emotions. For example, people who have overgeneralization draw an unrealistic and broad conclusion from a tiny mistake (e.g. if I fail a test, I will die); while people who demonstrate personalization attribute uncontrollable negative consequences to themselves (e.g. My child cannot solve this mathematical problem, I must be a terrible parent.)

Here is a list of some common automatic thoughts:

  • All-or-nothing thinking
  • Catastrophizing
  • Disqualifying the positive
  • Emotional reasoning
  • Magnification/minimization
  • Mind reading
  • Overgeneralization
  • Personalization
  • Blaming
  • Jumping to conclusion

Depression in Hong Kong: Symptoms, Treatment & Support

How does CBT work?

The primary goals of CBT are to change the thought patterns of the client and lead clients to understand that the negative emotions they are experiencing are mainly caused by their negative view of the world, the self and the future. 

In order to change their negative thought pattern, CBT therapists will apply various tools to educate the client of the models. For example, clients in CBT interventions usually will receive take-home assignments and thought record forms, allowing them to realize their thought patterns. In addition to this, CBT therapists will also encourage clients to write a mood diary every day, allowing them to recognize and further reflect on their thought patterns and feelings.

Structure of a CBT session

The duration of CBT usually depends on the progress of the clients. Therefore, there is no fixed duration for a CBT. However, a standard CBT treatment length will be around 20 weeks. While a brief CBT usually lasts for approximately 10 to 12 weeks. Moreover, each CBT session usually lasts for approximately 30 to 60 minutes.  

The structure of one CBT session typically consists of 1) reviewing take-home assignments, 2)  setting new agenda, and 3) discussing new assignments. More specifically, the general flow of a CBT will be: 

  1. Mood check
  2. Bridge from the previous session 
  3. Review of homework
  4. Agenda-setting
  5. Discussion of new homework assignment
  6. Summary and feedback

What are the Pros and Cons of CBT

Pros of CBT

  • Strong theoretical support 
  • Only a short time is required for the treatment 
  • CBT can be combined with biomedical treatment

Cons of CBT

  • May not benefit clients with learning difficulties
    • Since CBT encourages clients to complete take-home assignments, clients are required to demonstrate good reading and writing ability 
  • Present-oriented approach
    • Failing to consider clients’ past experiences 
    • E.g. traumatic experience in childhood

Mental Health in Hong Kong | Time to Talk Day on February 1st

Effectiveness of CBT

CBT is effective for a wide range of mental disorders. The following are some common examples of mental illness which can be benefited from CBT:

  • Depression
  • Anxiety 
  • Schizophrenia 
  • Eating disorders 
  • Bipolar disorder 
  • Phobias
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

A client may expect to receive take-home assignments from the therapists and reflect on how thought patterns may have contributed to the client’s feelings. CBT is effective for all age groups, including children, adolescents, adults and the elderly. However, commitment and cooperativeness from patients are essential for the optimal outcome. Failing to complete an assignment on time may reduce the overall effectiveness of CBT. Consequently, it is essential to make sure that the client can commit to the therapy before attending the session. 

Do you need help?

In case of need for immediate support, please do not hesitate to reach out for professional help. Below is a list of hotlines with 24-hour support.

Suicide prevention hotlines

The Samaritans
Hotline: 2896 0000
Available language: English, Cantonese, Mandarin

Suicide Prevention
Hotline: 2382 0000
Available language: Cantonese 

The Samaritan Befrienders Hong Kong
Hotline: 2389 2222
Available language: Cantonese

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.