35歲或之後懷孕:風險及減低風險的方法

年齡仍然是影響女性生育能力的最重要因素之一。研究顯示,生育能力在35歲之後急劇下降。但是,隨著現代技術和醫學知識的發展,到35歲後懷孕的可能性比以前更高。

您懷孕或打算懷孕的年齡是一個非常個人的決定。在香港,越來越多夫妻在晚年建立家庭。香港政府統計處的資料(第32頁)顯示,女性首次生育年齡中位數由1986年的26.6歲上升至2017年的31.6歲。

如今,女性在30歲或之後亦能夠分娩出健康的嬰兒,但傳統上,35歲或以上的孕婦會被視為高危妊娠。在產科中,初次懷孕的35歲或以上的孕婦被稱為“高年初產”(“Elderly Primigravida”),而懷孕次數多於一次的孕婦則被稱為“高年經產”(“Elderly Multigravida”)。與35歲之後懷孕的其他有關術語為“高齡產婦“。

我們與婦產科中心的婦產科專家Dr. Alexander K. Doo杜堅能醫生仔細研究了35歲後的產前保健和生育需知 – 杜醫生早在2018年10月就為Healthy Matters舉辦的懷孕及育兒的大型活動中擔任特別演講者,就此事進行了深入討論。

為什麼35歲會被視為高齡產婦?這個數字是何時決定的,適用於所有35歲或以上的人嗎?

35這個數字是在30多年前定義的,有人認為年齡本身不應成為高風險的主要標準。例如,一個39歲的女性可能比29歲的女性更健康。但是,隨著年齡的增長,與年輕女性相比,您的確更有可能出現某些健康狀況,這些健康狀況可能會在懷孕前和懷孕期間引起併發症。

而且,受孕的機率會隨著年齡增長而下降,在35歲時,成功率與生育高峰期的女性相比減半。卵子的質素也會下降,因此染色體異常的風險也會增加。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

35歲之後的準媽媽會更容易面臨什麼風險(例如流產)?

35歲或以上的女性在懷孕前和期間可能出現的風險或併發症包括:

  • 生育問題
  • 流產風險
  • 暨存糖尿病
  • 妊娠糖尿病
  • 高血壓
  • 妊娠毒血症
  • 早產
  • 嬰兒出生體重過輕
  • 多胎妊娠 – 不論是自然或人工受孕
  • 染色體異常,例如唐氏綜合症
  • 胎兒先天性異常
  • 胎盤早期剝離
  • 要進行剖腹分娩(年齡越大,出現妊娠併發症的可能性越大,因此有必要進行剖腹分娩)
  • 死胎率隨著年齡的增長而提高:18至34歲 – 死胎率為4.7 / 1,000或0.47%;35至40歲 – 死胎率為每1000例6.1或0.61%;40歲或以上 – 死胎率為每1000例8.1個或0.81%。

35歲之後產前保健有何不同?我需要更經常去看醫生嗎?

一般而言,只要一切進展順利,沒有發現任何特殊的風險因素,35歲之後的產前檢查與其他年齡相同。即是每週看4次醫生,直到第28週,之後進行每星期2次,直到第36週,然後再每週1次。如果您有特別的風險因素,那麼醫生將會建議您更頻繁地進行檢查。

對35歲以上的孕婦進行基因檢測有何建議?

年紀較大的女性更容易生出染色體異常的嬰兒,因此建議您進行一些產前檢測。例如,在懷孕10週時,胚胎患有唐氏綜合症的機率為:孕婦25歲時每1,064有1個、在30歲時為每66有1個、在35歲時為每240有1個、在40歲時,唐氏綜合症的發病率上升至每53有1個、在45歲時更達到每19就有1個。

篩查測試,例如無創性胎兒DNA產前篩查,是通過檢查母親的血液來檢查染色體異常。但是,它仍然是一項篩查測試,如結果為陽性,您仍需要進行羊膜穿刺術來定奪。

建議35歲以上的孕婦進行哪些診斷檢查?這些診斷測試有哪些風險?

在過去,進行無創性胎兒DNA檢測之前,通常會向所有35歲以上的母親提供絨毛取樣術或羊膜穿刺術的檢查,因為它們是診斷嬰兒可能存在染色體問題的方法,但其風險約為1%的流產或胎兒受損。隨著NIPT(非侵入性產前檢查)的發展,大多數孕婦將會首先被提供此作為篩查測試,並且只有在結果為陽性或在掃描過程中發現到遺傳疾病的標記時才會進一步進行侵入性檢查,因為NIPT對嬰兒和母親沒有風險。但是,必須記住,由於這仍然是一項篩查測試,可能會產生假陽性和假陰性結果。

什麼是分娩風險?如何預防?(即分娩時增加發生併發症的風險:滯產、需輔助分娩、需剖腹產或胎死腹中)。

為了減低分娩併發症的風險,我們需要從懷孕前開始著手。您的醫生可能會建議您改變生活方式,並解決可能影響懷孕和嬰兒健康的任何慢性疾病。

其他預防方法包括:

  • 定期進行產前檢查,以幫助監測嬰兒和您的健康。
  • 飲食健康,每日服用產前維他命,可能有助於額外補充孕婦所需的葉酸、鈣、鐵和維他命D。
  • 定期進行運動鍛煉以增加體力和肌肉力量,幫助您為分娩做好準備。
  • 避免煙酒。
  • 為了減少足月死胎的風險,請考慮在約39週時催生。
  • 為了讓會陰部​​準備分娩並減低它撕裂的機會,請鍛煉骨盆底或使用EPI-NO等練習器伸展會陰部。
  • 嘗試減少子宮頸擴張術使用的硬膜外麻醉劑量(或減少加藥的劑量),以鼓吹分娩時更加用力推的感覺,這有助於減少需要輔助分娩的機會。

【懷孕分娩】經婦產科醫生核對 – 香港生育須知

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

Dr. Alexander K. Doo 杜堅能醫生在香港執業已有二十多年。他是各個國際生殖組織的成員,並且是the Asian Pacific Fertility Preservation Society 的副主席。也當了香港生殖醫學會的理事超過十年,亦是Quality Assurance Committee of the Hong Kong College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists 的委員,目前是明德國際醫院的名譽顧問以及婦產科中心的主任和IVF診所的主任。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Pregnancy After 35: Risks and How to Prevent Them

Age remains one of the most important factors influencing women fertility. Research shows that fertility declines steeply after age 35. However, with modern technology and medical knowledge, the likelihood of getting pregnant after 35 is higher than before.

The age at which you conceive or decide to conceive is a very personal decision. In Hong Kong, more and more couples start a family later in life. According to the Census and Statistics Department Hong Kong (pg.32), the median age at first childbirth rose from 26.6 years in 1986 to 31.6 in 2017.

While today women are delivering healthy babies throughout their 30s and beyond, traditionally 35 and older is considered a high-risk pregnancy. In obstetrics expectant mothers who are 35 or over are referred to as “Elderly Primigravida” for a first pregnancy and “Elderly Multigravida” for having been pregnant more than once. Other terms associated with being pregnant after 35 are “advanced maternal age” and “geriatric pregnancy”.

We take a closer look at prenatal care and childbirth after 35 with Dr. Alexander K. Doo 杜堅能醫生, Obstetrician-Gynecologist from The Women’s Clinic – Dr. Doo discussed the matter in depth back in October at the Healthy Matters Maternity + Baby Event 2018 as one of our featured speakers.

Why is 35 considered a downhill number when it comes to pregnancy? When was it chosen, and does it apply to everyone in their mid-thirties and older?

The number 35 was defined more than 30 years ago and some would argue that age by itself should not be major criteria for high-risk. For example, a 39-year-old woman could be healthier than a 29-year-old. However, as you get older, you are more likely than younger women to have certain health conditions that can cause complications before and during pregnancy.

Also, the chance of conception declines with age, and at 35 the success rate is halved compared to a woman at her peak fertility. The quality of the eggs also declines, and therefore the risk of chromosome abnormalities is also increased.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

What are the higher risks for expectant moms after 35 (e.g. miscarriage)?

Risks or complications that may occur before and during pregnancy for women 35 and over include:

  • Fertility problems
  • Miscarriage risks
  • Preexisting diabetes
  • Gestational diabetes
  • High blood pressure
  • Preeclampsia
  • Premature birth
  • Low birthweight
  • Being pregnant with multiples – both naturally and with fertility treatment
  • Chromosomal abnormalities, for example, Down syndrome
  • Fetal congenital anomalies
  • Placental abruption
  • Caesarean section (the older you are, the more likely you are to have pregnancy complications that make a C-section necessary)
  • Stillbirth rates increase at an older age: 18 to 34 – stillbirth rate of 4.7 per 1,000 or 0.47%; 35 and 40 – stillbirth rate of 6.1 per 1,000 or 0.61%; 40 and older – stillbirth rate of 8.1 per 1,000 or 0.81%.

How is prenatal care different after 35? Will I be seeing my doctor more often?

In general, the ante-natal visit is similar to others, provided that all is going well, and no particular risk factors are identified. This means 4 weekly visits until 28 weeks, 2 weekly visits till 36 weeks, and then weekly after that. Should you have particular risks factors, then more frequent monitoring would be advised by your doctor.

What are the recommended genetic tests for pregnant women 35 or older?

Older women are more likely to have a baby with chromosome abnormalities, so you will be advised to have some prenatal tests to check. For example, the rate of an embryo having Down syndrome at the 10-week mark of pregnancy is 1 in 1,064 at age 25, whereas it rises to 1 in 686 at age 30 and 1 in 240 by the age of 35 years. At the age of 40, the Down syndrome rate increases to 1 in 53, and down to 1 in 19 embryos at age 45.

Screening tests, like cell-free fetal DNA screening check for chromosome abnormalities via a blood test from the mother. However, it is still a screening test and if it is positive you would still need to do amniocentesis to confirm.

What are the recommended diagnostic tests for pregnant women 35 or older? What are the risks of these diagnostic tests?

In the old days, before cell-free DNA testing, a CVS or Amniocentesis would be routinely offered to all mothers over 35 years old as these are diagnostic tests of chromosome problems that the baby may have, but it carries about a 1% risk of miscarriage or damage to the fetus. With the development of NIPT (non-invasive prenatal testing), most people would first be offered this as a screening test and would only proceed to invasive testing if the result is positive, or markers for genetic disease is noted during scanning, as it has no risk to the baby and the mother. However, it must be remembered that this is still a screening test and may have false positive and negative results.

What are childbirth risks and how can they be prevented? (i.e. increased risk of complications during delivery: prolonged labor, assisted delivery, C-section, or stillbirth).

In order to reduce the complications of childbirth, we need to start from pre-conception. Your doctor may suggest lifestyle changes and address any chronic diseases that may affect your pregnancy and the baby’s health.

Other prevention methods include:

  • Attend prenatal care regularly to help monitor both baby and your health.
  • Eat a healthy diet and take daily prenatal vitamins which may help to supplement the additional folic, calcium, iron, and vitamin D required in pregnancy.
  • Regular physical activity can help prepare for labour by increasing your stamina and muscle strength.
  • Avoid alcohol and tobacco.
  • To reduce the increased risk of stillbirth at term, consider induction of labour at about 39 weeks.
  • In order to prepare the perineum and reduce tearing, exercise the pelvic floor> or use devices such as an EPI-NO to stretch the perineum.
  • Try to tail off (or reduce top-up dose) the epidural towards the end near full dilatation to try and improve the sensation of the urge to push, this would help to reduce the chances of instrumental delivery.

Looking for health insurance? Want to better understand your current plan or healthcare options in Hong Kong? Contact our partner AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2296 9773 for expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system to answer all your questions; on both the public and private sectors.

Featured image courtesy of John Looy via Unsplash.

Dr. Alexander K. Doo 杜堅能醫生 has been practicing in Hong Kong for over two decades. He is President of the Hong Kong Society for Reproductive Medicine, Vice President of the Asian Pacific Fertility Preservation Society as well as a member of various international reproductive organizations. He is at present Honorary Consultant at the Matilda International Hospital as well as the Director of The Women’s Clinic and Director of The IVF Clinic.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.