【戒煙】全方位實用戒煙指南

如果您正在考慮戒煙(或者如果有親朋戚友想戒),這個實用指南就是為您而設的,內容包括所有您需要了解有關戒煙的資訊,以幫您達成這個目標!

香港有多少人吸煙?

根據香港政府統計處最新統計,香港大約有667,500名吸煙人士。當中有93%的人指自己每日都會吸煙,而間中吸煙的人則有7%。統計中的吸煙人士年齡範圍由15歲開始,據指出,考慮到有些人不願意報上自己有吸煙習慣,吸煙人士的數字可能更高。

這項統計發現約有275,000人已戒煙。他們指戒煙是基於「吸煙已經危害了健康」(佔34.5%)、「健康雖然未受吸煙影響,但想避免影響健康」(佔33.2%)、以及「家人或朋友反對吸煙或不想家人或朋友吸入二手煙」(佔26.9%),亦有基於醫生建議、煙草產品價格、為兒童樹立榜樣等原因。

吸煙帶來什麼壞處?

近幾十年來,吸煙已被證實與很多不同的健康問題有關。香煙煙霧中含有7,000多種化學物質,人體接觸到這些化學物質的話,會令身體的有效日常運作受嚴重影響,並造成很多健康風險。持續吸煙的習慣可能導致的健康風險是長期累積而成或即時出現的。關於短期和即時的不良影響,除了呼吸急促、心律加快之外,其他影響包括自我評估健康狀況較差、以及對急性疾病和呼吸道症狀的易感性增加,這可能導致需要停學和工作。經常吸煙帶來的長期影響包括呼吸系統疾病、冠心病、癌症和慢性阻塞性肺病(一種隨著時間而惡化的進展性肺病)。這些健康風險不但適用於吸煙人士,亦適用於接觸到吸煙人士吸煙時產生的二手煙的人。

人們開始吸煙的年齡也可能對個人造成不同的健康風險。如果某人在童年或青春期開始吸煙或接觸二手煙,這可能會對身體部位以及重要器官的發育和有效運作帶來負面影響,並阻礙其成年後的發展,從長遠來看會帶來更高的健康風險。在懷孕期間有人吸煙的情況下,胎兒會更容易遇到各種發育問題,甚至可能導致早產、出生體重過輕或口唇缺陷。心血管疾病是成年吸煙人士死亡的最主要原因,而60歲以上的老年吸煙人士則更傾向死於肺癌

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

吸煙與肺癌

很可惜,吸煙與香港最主要的致死癌症之一有關。自1980年代以來,肺癌一直是癌症中的頭號殺手。肺癌導致令人震驚的高死亡率是由於早期肺癌的症狀並不明顯。到可以診斷出有肺癌時,可能已經太遲。

您可以閱讀以下文章,了解更多有關肺癌及治療方案的資訊 – 內容經過腫瘤科醫生核對:

肺癌在香港:成因到治療全方位指南

吸煙與新冠肺炎(COVID-19):有何風險?

新冠肺炎是一種傳染性疾病,可透過空氣傳播,人們可能會因為與新冠病毒感染人士接觸、或當受感染人士咳嗽或打噴嚏時接觸到其飛沫而被傳播。吸煙過程會損害肺部組織,並可能影響肺部清除毒素和有害物質的保護功能,從而削弱免疫系統。

您可以閱讀以下文章,了解更多有關吸煙與新冠肺炎的關係等資訊:

[新冠肺炎]吸煙會增加感染新冠病毒的風險嗎?

流行的戒煙方法

尼古丁替代療法是一種涉及使用戒煙貼片、口香膠、咀嚼片或口腔吸入劑以暫時取代煙草中尼古丁的方法。這會大大減少為了尼古丁而吸煙的衝動,並令戒煙人士作出其他身體行為而非吸煙的行為,從而讓他們最終能成功戒煙。這些代替品通常具有良好的耐受性,而且幾乎沒有副作用,它們通常被用作戒煙計劃的其中一部分,您可以透過下面提供的網站連結找到這些代替品。

戒煙輔助藥物傾向是不含尼古丁的處方藥,並能夠影響大腦中的神經遞質以穩定您在戒斷期間的情緒。在香港,較常見的藥物包括「伐尼克蘭」(亦稱為「戒必適」)和安非他酮。進行戒煙治療同時通常會處方戒煙輔助藥物。

催眠戒煙已成為一種越來越流行的戒煙方法。其涉及催眠術的使用,這種療法進行時,戒煙人士會被引導進入催眠狀態及放鬆。有發現催眠戒煙的成功個案得出的結果與輔導戒煙成功的結果相似。

您可透過以下資訊尋找催眠戒煙的服務:

Balance Health
中環亞畢諾道3號環貿中心27樓
電話:2530 3315
電郵:[email protected]
網址:按此

Ellen McNally
中環蘭桂坊8-9號昌隆商業大廈6樓614室
電話:9261 5040
電郵:[email protected]
網址:按此

Renewed Edge
中環皇后大道中59-65號泛海大廈11樓1108室
電話:9884 8036
電郵:[email protected]
網址:按此

Susan Jamieson
皇后大道中59-65號泛海大廈1300室
電話:2523 8044
電郵:[email protected]
網址:按此

針灸亦是本港流行的戒煙方法,您可在全港共90個地點找到針灸戒煙服務。針灸師會把針刺到吸煙人士身體周圍的特定穴位,以舒緩那些部位的緊繃及最終減少他們對吸煙的渴望。治療期通常約為8週,而針灸可以與輔導戒煙結合作為整個戒煙計劃。

以下是香港一些提供針灸戒煙服務的地方:

Balance Health
中環亞畢諾道3號環貿中心27樓
電話:2530 3315
電郵:[email protected]
網址:按此

盧文健中醫師
九龍旺角彌敦道585號富時中心22樓01室
電話:2386 6388
電郵:[email protected]
網址:按此

博愛醫院針灸專科中心
電話:2607 1222 / 2416 7721
電郵:[email protected]
網址:按此

戒煙輔導利用對話方式,以支援吸煙人士戒煙的過程。本港有很多熱線和短訊服務支持吸煙人士戒煙。

其中一些包括:

戒煙輔導熱線 -「無煙熱線」
電話:2300 7272

香港大學青少年戒煙熱線
電話:2855 9557 / 5111 4333(設有WhatsApp服務)

本港實用戒煙資源

以下是一些其他組織,它們提供廣泛不同的服務來支持您的戒煙之旅:

衞生署綜合戒煙熱線
電話:1833 183(按1字)

九龍樂善堂前線企業員工戒煙計劃
電話:2272 9890

基督教聯合那打素社康服務無煙俱樂部
電話:3156 9012

香港大學女性戒煙服務
電話:3917 6658 / 6752 6266

您亦可以按此查閱香港醫管局轄下的戒煙輔導中心的資料。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Your Practical Guide to Quit Smoking in Hong Kong

If you’ve been thinking for a while about quitting smoking (or have a friend or relative who wants to), here is your Healthy Matters guide with all you need to know to make it happen!

How many people smoke in Hong Kong?

From the most recent study carried out by the Hong Kong Census and Statistic Department, there are around 667,500 smokers in Hong Kong. Out of this figure, 93% reported to be daily smokers, while some 7% smoke occasionally. The age range of smokers included in the study range from 15 years onwards, and it was stated that there are likely to be higher numbers of smokers in consideration of those who may not wish to report about their smoking habits.

In the study, about 275,000 people were found to have quit smoking. Their reported reasons for quitting smoking include “health has already been harmed from smoking” (34.5%), “wanting to prevent health from being harmed by smoking” (33.2%), and “objection from family members / concern for exposing family and friends to secondary smoke” (26.9%), as well as other reasons regarding doctor’s advice, costs of tobacco products, and setting an example to children.

Reminder: what are the risks of smoking?

Smoking has continually been linked to an extensive range of health concerns for decades. Cigarette smoke contains more than 7,000 chemicals, and exposure of the body to these chemicals greatly impacts the effective daily functioning of the body and contributes to many health risks. The health risks that can result from continuous smoking habits vary from long-term to immediate effects. With regards to the short-term and immediate adverse effects, other than shortness of breath, heightened heart rate, other effects also include lower self-reported health, and greater susceptibility to acute illnesses and respiratory symptoms, which can lead to absence from school and work. Long-term impacts that result from a regular smoking habit include respiratory diseases, coronary heart disease, cancer and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, which is a progressive form of lung disease that worsens over time. These health risks are not only applicable to those who smoke, but also the people around smokers who are exposed to the secondary smoke produced from smoking.

The age at which one begins smoking can also contribute to varying health risks to the individual. If someone begins to smoke or was exposed to secondary smoke during childhood or adolescence, this can negatively impact the development and effective functioning of body parts as well as vital organs, and hinder their progressions into adulthood, giving rise to more health risks in the long run. In the case that someone smokes during pregnancy, the foetus is also susceptible to the various developmental problems, and can even lead to premature birth, low birth weight, or defects of the mouth and lip. While cardiovascular diseases are the more prominent causes of death in smoking adults, it is found that smoking in elderly over the age of 60 are more likely to die from lung cancer.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Smoking and lung cancer

Smoking is sadly associated with one of the top death-causing cancers in Hong Kong. Lung cancer has been a leading cause of cancer deaths since the 1980s. The alarmingly high mortality rate of lung cancer is due to the lack of visibility of symptoms during early stages of the disease. By the time the disease can be diagnosed, it may be more difficult to receive timely treatment.

You can read more about lung cancer and its treatment options in Hong Kong – reviewed by an oncologist – here:

Lung Cancer in Hong Kong: From Causes to Treatment

Smoking and COVID-19: what are the risks?

COVID-19 is an infectious disease that is spreadable through the air and can be passed on through person-to-person contact or through direct contact with respiratory droplets when an infected person coughs or sneezes. The process of smoking causes damage to lung tissues and can adversely impact the protective functions of the lungs in removing toxins and harmful substances, weakening the immune system.

You can read about the connections between smoking and COVID-19 here:

Smoking and COVID-19: All You Need to Know

Popular methods to help you quit smoking in Hong Kong

Nicotine Replacement Therapy is a method that involves temporarily replacing the source of nicotine from tobacco, and makes use of patches, gums, lozenges or inhalers instead. This minimises the urge to use cigarettes for nicotine, and switches the physical behaviour to others and eases the smoker into stopping eventually. These replacements are generally well tolerated and come with few side effects, and are often incorporated in cessation programs, you can find these through the links provided below. 

Smoking cessation medications tend to involve prescription medicine that is free of nicotine, and is supposed to influence neurotransmitters in the brain to maintain your moods during withdrawal periods. The more common ones in Hong Kong include varenicline (also known as Champix) and bupropion. Cessation medications are commonly prescribed in accompaniment of therapy.

Hypnosis has become an increasingly popular method people use to quit smoking. It involves the use of hypnotherapy, where the patient is guided and encouraged into relaxation. Hypnosis cessation operates as a program and has been found to yield successful results similar to counselling for cessation. 

You can try hypnosis cessation at the below locations:

Balance Health
27/F, Universal Trade Centre, 3 Arbuthnot Road, Central
Phone: 2530 3315
Email: [email protected]
Website: here

Ellen McNally
#614 6/F, The Cosmos Building, 8-9 Lan Kwai Fong, Central, Hong Kong
Phone: 9261 5040
Email: [email protected]
Website: here

Renewed Edge
Hypnotherapist Christine Deschemin
Suite 1108, 11/F Asia Standard Tower, 59-65 Queen’s Road, Central
Phone: 9884 8036
Email: [email protected]
Website: here

Susan Jamieson
1300 Asia Standard Tower, 59-65 Queen’s Road, Central
Phone: 2523 8044
Email: [email protected]
Website: here

Acupuncture is also a popular method people use to quit smoking in Hong Kong, and is widely accessible across 90 locations. Acupuncturists will apply needles to specific acupoints around the body, which is supposed to ease tension from those areas and eventually reduce the craving to smoke. Treatment periods tend to last around 8 weeks, and may be used in conjunction with counselling sessions.

Here are some places in Hong Kong which offer acupuncture as a way to stop smoking:

Balance Health
27/F, Universal Trade Centre, 3 Arbuthnot Road, Central
Phone: 2530 3315
Email: [email protected]
Website: here

William Lo – Registered Chinese Medicine Practitioner
Flat 01, 22/F, The Righteous Centre, Nathan Road 585, Mong Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Phone: 2386 6388
Email: [email protected]
Website: here

Pok Oi Smoking Cessation Service using traditional Chinese medicine and Acupuncture
Phone: 2607 1222 / 2416 7721
Email: [email protected]
Website: here (Chinese version)

Mediation involves conversational approaches to support the process of cessation. There are many hotlines and text services that have been supporting people to quit smoking all across Hong Kong.

Some of these include:

Quitline” (Smoking Counselling and Cessation Hotline)
Phone: 2300 7272

Youth Quitline of the University of Hong Kong
Phone: 2855 9557 / 5111 4333 (also available for whatsapp)

Hong Kong organisations offering services to help you quit smoking 

Here are several other organisations that provide a wide range of services in support of your smoking cessation process:

Integrated Smoking Cessation Hotline of the Department of Health
Phone: 1833 183 (Press 1)

Smoking Cessation Program in Workplace by The Lok Sin Tong Benevolent Society, Kowloon
Phone: 2272 9890

United Christian Nethersole Community Health Service Smoke Free Club
Phone: 3156 9012

Women Smoking Cessation Service of the University of Hong Kong
Phone: 3917 6658 / 6752 6266

You can also click here to find a list of the local Smoking Counselling and Cessation Centres available across Hong Kong under the Hospital Authority HK.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.