六個小貼士助您提升免疫力

您有無注意到有些人特別容易生病,而且在流感季節期間經常受病菌病毒感染?抑或您自己已感受過身體不適並需要長時間才能康復的痛苦?本文為您提供有關免疫系統如何對抗疾病的一些知識,以及幫您提升自身防禦力的簡單小貼士!

何謂免疫力?

簡單而言,免疫力是人體自身防禦機制的識別和消滅病菌病毒的功能。

當我們的免疫系統正在有效地運作時,您可能不會意識到。但是,當它無法正常運作時,就可能是由於免疫力較弱或無法對抗具攻擊性的病菌所致,此時您會發現自己生病了。要注意,生病是我們身體對抗疾病時造成的自然反應。例如,為了清除進入我們的呼吸系統(如鼻子)的刺激物和異物,我們的身體會刺激打噴嚏這個自我防禦機制,以清除刺激物和異物並阻止它們傷害身體。但是,我們每個人對細菌和疾病的反應都不同。免疫力較強的人病的症狀會較輕、恢復得較快,而免疫力較弱的人受同一感染物影響可能會病得較重、恢復需時較長。

我們的免疫系統由什麼組成?

我們的免疫系統在多個層面上起作用。如前所述,免疫力包括識別和消滅病菌病毒。從皮膚表面到每個細胞的外層,我們的身體都配備了各種各樣的「識別器」,可以檢測灰塵顆粒、微生物(例如病毒或細菌)等任何異物,這些異物可以通過我們的鼻子、嘴巴、眼睛或任何皮膚傷口及其他方法以進入我們體內。我們的身體能夠產生例如鼻涕等黏液和其他排泄物等物質,這些物質的目的是捕獲異物並讓其保持於黏性物質中,以便身體通過打噴嚏和咳嗽將其排出。當我們流眼水或流鼻涕時,道理也是如此。在器官組織和血液系統的層面上,還有多種細胞和蛋白質可以捕獲有害的細菌,這些有害的細菌闖過皮膚和黏液進入我們的血液。白血球會釋放出抗體和類似荷爾蒙的物質,此等物質可以檢測出異物並鎖定它們,以防止它們依附著在我們進行日常身體反應的細胞上。

由此可見,我們的免疫系統並非只是一種僅採取單一簡單步驟來阻止我們生病的機制。事實上,許多因素會影響人體對細菌和感染所作出的反應。雖然強化免疫力的方法並不簡單直接,但是您可以做到最好的事就是努力實踐健康的生活方式。以下有一些小貼士,可以有助我們提升自身免疫系統對抗感染和預防疾病的能力。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

#1 貼士:健康及均衡的飲食習慣

健康的飲食習慣包括在日常飲食中定期均衡攝取各種不同的營養素。這包括適當數量的宏量營養素,例如碳水化合物、蛋白質和脂肪,亦應定期攝取微量營養素,例如纖維、維他命和礦物質。例子有維他命C維他命B6。維他命C是幫助抵抗自由基和抵抗疾病的重要營養素之一,而維他命B6和鐵都有助於支持免疫系統中的生化反應。有興趣歡迎查看我們獨家的「藥物及保健食品指南」,指南內所有內容均經過香港的藥劑師核對,讓您能夠得到均衡飲食中各種營養素的專業見解。

#2 貼士:有充足的睡眠

睡眠期間,我們的身體會進入最有效率的修復狀態,補充和修復日常運作所需的組織和物質,並支持我們的免疫系統。在夜晚,我們的各個器官會參與清除毒素和死細胞組織、重建組織及形成新細胞的工作。雖然睡眠愈多並不代表您就不會生病,但睡眠不足會使我們更加脆弱、更容易生病。長期睡眠不足亦會降低我們對流感疫苗的反應度,從而可能導致疫苗的效用降低。只有當我們有充足的睡眠時,我們的身體才能為第二日做好準備,並有效抵抗疾病,因此,請確保每晚有7至8個小時的睡眠。

有困難入睡嗎?改善睡眠的技巧

#3 貼士:減少壓力

研究顯示,壓力可能會對我們的免疫健康帶來不利影響。目前已經發現到患有長期輕度抑鬱症的人傾向有較弱的免疫反應,而且與壓力有關的免疫變化通常可能在老年人或已經患病的人身上出現。我們大腦中的神經遞質負責平衡荷爾蒙和情緒,同時它們也負責指揮我們其他身體反應,包括免疫系統的反應。當我們承受巨大壓力時,神經遞質的有效性會降低,並有可能使我們更容易生病。

冥想入門指南:冥想技巧、好處和貼士

#4 貼士:定期運動

運動與我們身體產生安多芬有很大關係,安多芬有助於平衡情緒及減少壓力反應。運動亦會讓我們透過流汗排出體內毒素,同時促進身體血液循環,血液循環好可改善我們身體的新陳代謝。除了改善我們整體的血液和心臟健康外,定期進行低至中強度的運動亦被證實有助減低呼吸道感染的機會,而且讓我們較難患上普通感冒、流感或其他透過空氣傳播的感染。

居家運動的貼士及最佳的健身Apps

#5 貼士:充分接觸陽光

這個貼士可能會令人驚訝,但是充分接觸陽光也可以幫助改善我們的整體健康狀況並增強免疫力。當我們暴露於陽光下時,紫外線會刺激維他命D產生於皮膚中。維他命D對我們的骨骼健康以及免疫系統中必要細胞的新陳代謝至關重要。在以前,維他命D已被用作結核病等感染的治療其中一部分。研究也顯示,維他命D的缺乏亦與身體對感染和疾病的敏感度有關。雖然市面上有維他命D補充劑可供服用,但對於我們大多數人而言,最簡單的方法是確保每日出去戶外20至30分鐘以獲取我們每日所需的維他命D量。

您的孩子攝取足夠的維他命D嗎?

#6 貼士:減少飲酒和吸煙

同樣是很重要的一點,我們最好保持中等水平的酒精攝取量,並且戒煙以提升免疫系統效能。過量飲酒會嚴重損害我們的肝臟,並影響我們身體排出可能從飲食中攝取的毒素的能力。從體內排出毒素的效率降低,會對其他身體機能造成很大壓力,從而削弱我們的免疫系統。同樣地,吸煙會嚴重損害我們的肺部組織,也可能對我們的心臟健康帶來不利影響,並增加患上呼吸道疾病和心臟病的風險。當我們的呼吸系統變弱時,我們便會更容易患上呼吸道疾病。這也可能會影響我們的心臟健康,從而影響我們的整體健康,這是因為心臟負責推動血液流動,而血液會傳遞營養素到我們身體各部分以讓其執行日常功能。

酒精:與您的健康有什麼關係?

健康的生活方式是提升免疫力的關鍵,有良好免疫力才可以更有效地防止感染和疾病。我們希望您覺得這些貼士有趣而有用。歡迎分享本文並訂閱我們的電子刊物以獲取更多健康資訊!

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

6 Tips to Boost Your Immunity

Have you ever noticed someone who easily gets sick, and will always catch whatever is going around when it gets to flu season? Or perhaps you’ve personally experienced the struggle of becoming unwell and taking a very long time to recover? Here are some insights into how our immune system combats disease and easy tips to try and support your body’s natural line of defence!

What is immunity?

Put simply, immunity is our body’s innate ability to identify and eradicate foreign substances that could be harmful and cause disease and infections in our bodies. 

When our immune system is functioning effectively, it is one that you will likely be unaware of. However, when it is not working as it should, which may be because of weak immunity or inability to fight against aggressive germs, this is when you will notice yourself becoming ill. It is important to note that becoming ill is our body’s natural reaction to fighting disease. For example, to remove irritants and foreign substances that enter our air pathways such as our nose, our body stimulates the sneeze mechanism as a means to remove them and prevent them from causing harm to our bodies. However, our individual reactions towards germs and disease differ from one to another; while those with a stronger immune system may show milder symptoms to getting ill and recover quicker, those with weaker immunity may feel more ill from the same infectant and take longer to recover.

How does our immune system work?

Our immune system functions on multiple levels. As mentioned, immunity consists of identifying and eradicating potentially harmful substances. From the surface of our skin, to the outer layer of a single cell, our body is equipped with a diverse variety of ‘identifiers’ that detect any foreign substances, from dust particles to microbes such as virus or bacteria, which can enter through our nose, mouth, eyes, or any open wounds and other means which are connected to our inner body parts beneath the skin. Our body is able to create substances such as mucus and other excretions that serve the purpose of catching foreign substances and holding them in a sticky substance for the body to push out which could be by sneezing and coughing. This would also be the case when our eyes water or our noses become runny. At the level of organ tissue and blood system, there are also multiple cells and proteins that work to catch any harmful germs that get past the skin and mucus levels and make it into our bloodstream. White blood cells release antibodies and hormone-like substances which can detect any foreign particles and latch on to them to prevent them from attaching onto our cells that carry out our regular bodily reactions.  

As you can see, our immune system is not one simple mechanism that takes part in one simple step to stop us from getting sick. There are many elements that can contribute and influence the way our body works to respond to germs and infections. While the way to maximising our immunity is not as straightforward as going from point A to point B, your best approach would be to aim for achieving a balanced healthy lifestyle. Here are several tips that can be implemented to better support our immune system in combating infections and preventing disease. 

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Tips to boost immunity and fight infections and disease:

Tip #1: Having a healthy and balanced diet

A healthy diet involves having a regular intake of a wide and well-balanced variety of nutrients in our everyday meals. This would include a good amount of macro nutrients such as carbohydrates, proteins and fats, and also a regular intake of micronutrients such as fibre and the necessary vitamins and minerals. Specific mentions include Vitamin C, Vitamin B6 and Iron; while Vitamin C is one of the crucial nutrients to help fight free radicals and combat disease, Vitamin B6 and Iron both contribute to support biochemical reactions in the immune system. Feel free to check out our exclusive “Medicines and Supplements A-Z” section, all reviewed by pharmacists in Hong Kong, in order to get expert insights into the individual nutrients to a balanced diet. 

Tip #2: Getting adequate sleep

It is during our sleeping hours that our body carries out the most optimum processes to replenish and repair the necessary tissues and substances for our daily functions and also to support our immune system. During the night, our various organs take part in removing toxins and dead cell tissue and rebuilding tissue and forming new cells. While sleeping excessively will not necessarily mean you will no longer get sick, not getting enough of it may make us more vulnerable and prone to getting sick. Chronic sleep loss can also make us less responsive to flu vaccines, potentially making them less effective. Only when we have adequate sleep can our bodies prepare us well for the next day and effectively fight off disease, so be sure to get a good 7 to 8-hours shut-eye each night.

Having Trouble Sleeping? Tips for a Better Night

Tip #3: Reducing stress

Research has shown that stress can have an adverse effect on our immune health. It has been found that those who suffer from chronic mild depression tend to have a weaker immune response, and that stress-related immune changes can often occur in people who are elderly or those who are already ill. While neurotransmitters in our brain work to balance hormones and our moods, they are also responsible for delegating our other bodily reactions, which include those of our immune system. When we are under immense stress, the effectiveness of our neurotransmitters can be lowered and potentially make us more susceptible to becoming ill.

Beginner’s Guide to Meditation: Techniques, Benefits & Tips

Tip #4: Regular exercise

Exercise is greatly related to our production of endorphins that contribute to balancing our moods and reducing our stress responses. During exercise, our bodies also benefit from stimulated blood flow that improves the metabolism of our bodies, whilst also removing toxins in our sweat. Other than improving our overall blood and heart health, it is also found that carrying out low to moderate amounts of exercise regularly helps us to be less prone to respiratory infections, and we are less likely to catch the common cold, flu or other infections that can spread through the air. 

Best Free Fitness Apps This Year

Tip #5: Exposure to sunlight

This may come as a surprise, but getting sufficient exposure to sunlight can also help to improve our overall health and boost our immunity. When we are exposed to the sun, the UV rays stimulate Vitamin D to be produced in our skin. Vitamin D is crucial for our bone health and the metabolism of necessary cells in our immune systems. In the past, Vitamin D has been used as part of the treatment of infections such as tuberculosis. Research has also shown that deficiency in Vitamin D is also linked to greater susceptibility to infections and disease. While Vitamin D is available as a form of a supplement, it may be most convenient for most of us to just make sure to step outside for a good 20-30 minutes each day and get our daily dose of Vitamin D. 

Is Your Child Getting Enough Vitamin D?

Tip #6: Reduce drinking and smoking

Last but not least, it is best to maintain drinking alcohol to a moderate level and stop smoking to achieve a more effective immune system. Drinking excessively can cause great damage to our liver and affect our body’s ability to flush out toxins that may be taken in in our diet. A less effective removal of toxins from our body can cause great stress to our other bodily functions, thus weakening our immune system. Similarly, smoking causes great damage to our lung tissues and can also adversely affect our heart health and increase our risk of respiratory and heart diseases. When our respiratory system is weakened, we are more susceptible to respiratory diseases. This can also impact our heart health and thus also affect our overall health as the heart is what moves the blood that carries nutrients around our body to carry out our daily functions.

Alcohol: What’s the Deal for Your Health?

A healthy, balanced lifestyle is key to having good immunity and thus greater protection against infections and disease. We hope you found these tips interesting and helpful. Share it and subscribe to our newsletter for more!  

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.