如何為香港的季節性流感作準備

在香港,天氣終於轉涼,是一年中接種流感疫苗的好時機。接種流感疫苗是保護自己和親人免受香港流感影響的最好方法,它可以減少看病、請病假和住院的機會。最容易患流感併發症的人是年幼的兒童、孕婦、有長期健康問題的人和老年人。在香港,季節性流感是很常見的,特別是因為人口稠密可以促進流感的傳播。以下是有關香港流行性感冒和香港疫苗接種資助計劃的一些重要資訊。

香港的季節性流感:1月至3月和7月至8月

根據香港衛生防護中心的資料,季節性流感通常在1月至3月和7月至8月之間發生。衛生防護中心建議每年秋季注射流感疫苗。為什麼在秋天?由於您的身體至少需要兩週才能產生抵禦病毒所需的抗體。與此同時,您應採取必要的個人和環境衛生措施,以避免感染或傳播流感。

香港公營部門的流感疫苗:疫苗接種資助計劃(VSS)

雖然香港的公營醫療部門不向普通大眾提供免費的流感疫苗接種,但它已實施了一項補貼計劃,以鼓勵身體較弱的人透過私家醫療機構接種疫苗。

誰有資格?

  • 6個月至12歲的兒童或小學生
  • 孕婦
  • 65歲以上的長者
  • 智障人士
  • 殘疾人士(有領取傷殘津貼)

資助金額?每劑流感疫苗$190。

有無額外費用?可能。扣除$190的資助一些醫生會收取高達$450。

哪裡可接種?登記了疫苗接種資助計劃的私家醫生。在這裡尋找最就近的醫生及收費。

香港私家部門的流感疫苗:提供者和收費

誰有資格?任何人。

資助金額? 除非您合乎疫苗接種資助計劃的資格、並在有登記疫苗接種資助計劃的醫生那裡接種疫苗,否則沒有任何資助。

費用? 在香港島,疫苗的價格在$250到$450之間不等,除疫苗外,診所可能會收取醫療諮詢費,尤其是在您初次就診時。初診費根據醫生的專長和所在位置而有很大差異。請向您的診所或您選擇的醫生查詢更多資訊。

哪裡可以接種?在您的全科醫生、兒科醫生或婦產科醫生的診所。

我有的是流感還是感冒?了解兩者分別

流感和普通感冒是不同的。兩者都是具有傳染性的呼吸道疾病,並包括類似的症狀,例如咳嗽、喉嚨痛、流鼻涕、頭痛、全身不適和疲勞,它們是由不同的病毒引起的。流感是由流感病毒引起的,而普通感冒通常是由鼻病毒引起的。

兩者之間的主要分別在於症狀的嚴重程度和性質。流鼻水或鼻塞在普通感冒中更常見,而發燒和肌肉酸痛在流感中更常見。簡而言之,普通感冒的症狀比流感輕。

有些人較難感染流感

並非每個感染流感的人都出現典型的流感症狀。根據英國和美國研究人員在《自然》科學期刊於2012年發表的一項研究,他們發現了一個基因,該基因在您對流感的敏感性中起著重要作用。但是在您認為自己是由於遺傳因素而容易得流感之前,請記住還有其他因素對您的整體敏感度有影響。無論您是否在基因上更容易受到流感的影響,適當的衛生、均衡的飲食和健康的生活方式都絕對可以幫助您保持一流的免疫系統水平!

6個月以下的嬰兒不應接種流感疫苗

6個月以下的嬰兒實際上發生(嚴重)併發症的風險最高。但是,他們年紀還是太細,無法接種流感疫苗。因此,最重要是要保持適當的衛生,讓自己接種流感疫苗並讓嬰兒遠離生病或有流感症狀的人,以保護他們免受流感的侵襲。這能夠降低寶寶感染病毒的機會。

日常習慣以保護自己在香港免受流感的影響

無論您是否接種了疫苗疫苗,採取日常衛生習慣都可以幫助您保護自己和周圍的人免受流感的影響:

  • 定期用梘液清潔雙手,特別是在觸摸臉部前、進餐前或觸摸門把手、扶手或升降機按鈕/開關後。
  • 如果您不能定期清潔雙手,請使用洗手液(含70-80%的酒精)作為替代。
  • 如果您有呼吸道症狀,請戴上外科口罩,以免傳播細菌。
  • 咳嗽或打乞嚏時用紙巾遮住鼻子和口部,並立即把被弄髒的紙巾掉進垃圾筒內。
  • 在咳嗽或打乞嚏後請徹底洗手。
  • 避免在流感高峰期流連人多擠迫和通風不良的公共場所。
  • 保持健康的生活方式:均衡飲食、充足的休息和定期運動。
  • 如果您屬於高危人士,請戴口罩,以免感染流感。

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

.

Preparing For Flu Season in Hong Kong

It is finally cooler in Hong Kong and this is the time of the year to get your flu shot. Getting the flu vaccine is without a doubt the best way to protect yourself and your loved ones from the flu, reducing doctor visits, school sick days, work sick days and preventing hospitalizations. People who are most vulnerable to flu complications are very young children, pregnant women, people with long-term health conditions and the elderly. In Hong Kong, it is common to get a seasonal flu shot, especially since the dense population can facilitate the transmission of the flu. Here are some key facts about influenza and the Hong Kong Vaccination Subsidy Scheme.

 

Flu season in Hong Kong: January to March and July to August

According to the Hong Kong Centre for Health Protection, seasonal influenza commonly occurs between January to March and July to August. The Centre for Health Protection advises getting the flu shot in the fall every year. Why fall? Because your body needs at least two weeks to produce the antibodies necessary to ward off the virus and in the meantime you should take necessary personal and environmental hygiene measures to avoid contracting or spreading the flu.

 

Public sector: The Vaccination Subsidy Scheme (VSS)

While Hong Kong’s public health sector does not provide free influenza vaccination to the general population, it has implemented a subsidy scheme to encourage most vulnerable people to get vaccinated by private providers.

 

Who is eligible?
  • Children 6 months to 12 years of age or primary school children
  • Pregnant women
  • Elderly over 65 years of age
  • Intellectually disabled individuals
  • Physically disabled people (who receive disability allowance)
Subsidy amount? $190 per dose of influenza vaccine.
Extra costs? Sometimes. Some doctors charge up to $450 after deducting the $190 subsidy.
Where? At private doctors enrolled in VSS. Look for the nearest doctor and their costs here.

 

Private sector: providers and costs

Who is eligible? Everyone.
Subsidy amount? None unless you are eligible for VSS and seek services from a doctor enrolled in the VSS.
Costs? On HK Island, prices vary between $250 and $450 for the vaccine and the clinic may charge a medical consultation fee in addition to the vaccine especially if it is your first visit. First time consultation fees vary tremendously according to the doctor’s specialty and location. Ask at your clinic or doctor of your choice for more information.
Where? At your general practitioner, pediatrician or gynecologist-obstetrician.

 

Do I have the flu or cold? Know the differences

The flu and the common cold are different. While both are contagious respiratory track illnesses and include similar symptoms such as coughing, sore throat, runny nose, headache, malaise and fatigue, they are caused by different viruses. The flu is caused by the influenza virus, whereas the common cold is most often caused by a rhinovirus.

 

The main difference between the two is the severity and nature of the symptoms. A runny or stuffy nose is more commonly seen in the common cold whereas fever and muscle soreness are more common in the flu. Simply put, symptoms for the common cold are milder than for the flu.

 

Some people are less susceptible to the flu

Not every person who is infected with influenza presents the typical flu symptoms. According to British and American researchers, a study published in 2012 by Nature, they found a gene that plays an important role in your susceptibility to the flu. But before you run off and claim you got the flu because you are genetically predisposed, bear in mind that there are other factors that contribute to your overall susceptibility. Whether or not you are genetically more susceptible to the flu, proper hygiene, a balanced diet and healthy lifestyle will definitely help you keep your immune system top notch!

 

Babies under the age of 6 months should not receive the flu shot

Babies under the age of 6 months are actually at the highest risk of developing (severe) complications. However, they are too young to receive a flu vaccine. Therefore, it is essential to protect them from the flu by maintaining proper hygiene, getting vaccinated yourself and keeping your infant away from people who are ill or showing flu symptoms. This will lower the chances of your baby contracting the virus.

 

Daily habits to protect yourself against the flu

Whether or not you are vaccinated, adopting daily hygiene habits can help you protect yourself and the people around you against the flu:
  • Wash your hands with soap regularly, especially before touching your face, eating a meal or after touching door knobs, handrails or lift buttons/switches.
  • If you cannot wash your hands regularly, use hand sanitizer (70-80% alcohol) as an alternative.
  • If you have respiratory symptoms, wear a surgical mask to avoid spreading your germs.
  • Cover your nose and mouth when coughing or sneezing with a tissue and immediately dispose the soiled tissue.
  • Thoroughly wash your hands if you coughed or sneezed in them.
  • Avoid crowded and poorly ventilated public places during influenza peaks.
  • Maintain a healthy lifestyle: a balanced diet, adequate rest and regular exercise.
  • Wear a surgical mask if you belong to the at-risk population to avoid contracting the flu.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.