酒精搓手液須知:入門指南

在過去的幾個月,我們每日都要依賴酒精搓手液來潔手。但是您有多了解這種用品? Healthy Matters為您提供酒精搓手液入門指南 – 並根據香港和世衛的建議為您講解如何在家中製作自己的酒精搓手液。

酒精搓手液的作用原理

酒精搓手液中的酒精會破壞蛋白質,從而消滅引起疾病的細菌或病原體。即使酒精濃度低至30%仍可以分解蛋白質,但酒精濃度越高,便越有效及越快作出分解。話雖如此,濃度超過95%卻不再有效。酒精搓手液並非對所有細菌都有作用(但不用擔心,它對新冠病毒是有作用的),亦不對農藥或重金屬有作用。在那些情況下,用番梘和水洗手可能是最有效的方法。

不同類型的酒精搓手液

目前有很多不同種類的酒精搓手液。最常見的是凝膠酒精搓手液:它是最方便隨身攜帶的搓手液類型,因為它通常被盛載於帶有扣的便攜式細樽出售。酒精噴霧同樣很受歡迎,因為它易於攜帶,亦可用於物件表面。泡沫消毒液亦越來越多,尤其是在公眾場所,有時人們會選擇它是因為它較難從手上滑走。最後,消毒濕紙巾,這是最常用於清潔物件表面的用品。

什麼牌子最好?

一般而言,購買出名牌子的搓手液會比較安全,其產品多數可以在萬寧屈臣氏或任何本港藥房找到。公認的品牌包括威露士(Walch)、滴露(Dettol)和Purell。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

香港政府有什麼建議?

香港政府建議使用酒精濃度為70-80%的酒精搓手液,而世界衛生組織的指引建議60-80%。香港消委會有向公眾提供有關酒精消毒劑的資訊。

香港消委會亦上載了一條由選擇月刊進行的詳細測試影片,其中發現了一些酒精搓手液樣本中的甲醇含量超標 ,而很多樣本達不到標準。

如何正確使用酒精搓手液?

如果可以的話,在使用酒精搓手液之前,請確保您的手沒有污垢、油脂和任何有機物質。然後擠出一毫硬幣大小的量揉搓雙手30至60秒,請記得要揉搓手掌和指隙,就像用梘液洗手時一樣。然後等待搓手液完全乾透,不要抹走搓手液,這才可讓酒精發揮作用。在搓手液完全乾透前,請確保不要觸摸任何物件,尤其是食物。

酒精搓手液安全嗎?

跟足建議來使用的話,酒精搓手液是安全的。然而,仔細檢查酒精搓手液的成分十分重要 – 如上所述,一些產品被發現含有甲醇(最簡單的醇類,但毒性比乙醇高很多)。

您的皮膚上既有壞細菌也有好細菌,酒精搓手液可以同時消滅這兩種細菌。「好」細菌被消滅後,「壞」細菌可能會取代「好」細菌。此外,酒精搓手液會為微生物帶來抗藥性,並增強其抗藥性。因此,使用番梘和水洗手(當可以時)對我們的皮膚更好。話雖如此,在目前情況下,當務之急是減低新型冠狀病毒的傳播,因此仍建議在這段期間增加使用酒精類型的消毒劑。

如何製作自己的酒精搓手液?

如果一般酒精搓手液中的合成物質為您帶來不良反應,製作自己的搓手液可能是一個很好的解決方法。

所需材料

  • 99%異丙醇(isopropyl)或外用消毒酒精
  • 蘆薈凝膠
  • 薰衣草或茶樹等精油(具有防腐作用)

製作程序

  • 確保用作製作搓手液的桌子以及您的手已徹底清潔乾淨
  • 用乾淨的匙羹和碗將2份酒精與1份蘆薈凝膠混合

確保酒精與蘆薈的比例為2:1,這是確保酒精濃度維持在60%以上的一種方法。

請記住:在市面酒精搓手液短缺或您對一般酒精搓手液過敏的情況下,製作自己的酒精搓手液可能是一個很好的解決方法,但通常最好還是在有信譽的商店購買酒精搓手液。混合劑量有機會產生出不能夠被使用的不安全混合物,未經消毒的桌子亦可能會污染搓手液,從而使其變得無效。

要緊記的事

儘管酒精搓手液仍是有效和安全的,但應僅在不能用番梘和水洗手的情況下才使用。梘液和水是徹底清潔雙手的最有效方法。說到這裡,希望您能請保持雙手清潔並維持安全衛生!

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Hand Sanitizers 101: All You Need to Know

It’s impossible to have gone through the last few months without using a hand sanitizer at least a few times a day. But how much do you really know? Healthy Matters brings you a guide to hand sanitizers – with HK and WHO recommendations to at-home instructions to making your own. 

How does hand sanitizer work?

The alcohol in hand sanitizers destroys disease-causing agents or pathogens by breaking down the protein. Alcohol concentrations as low as 30% can break down the protein but the higher the percentage the more effective and quick it will be. That being said, a concentration of over 95% stops being effective. Hand sanitizers don’t work for all germs (not to fear, it is effective for COVID-19), nor does it work for pesticides or heavy metals. In those cases, washing your hands with soap and water is probably the most effective.

The different types of hand sanitizers

Many different kinds of sanitizers exist. The most common is gel hand sanitizer: it’s the easiest form of sanitizer to bring on the go as it is often sold in small, portable bottles with practical holders. Spray sanitizers are also very popular as they’re easy to carry around and can be used on surfaces and objects as well. Foam sanitizers are found more and more especially in public places and are sometimes preferred because the product is less likely to slip off your hand. Lastly, sanitizing wipes which are most often used to sanitize objects and surfaces. 

Which brands are the best?

It is generally safer to buy recognized brands of hand sanitizer, many of which can be found at Mannings or Watson’s, or any other local pharmacy. Recognised brands include Walch (威露士), Dettol (滴露) and Purell.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

What are the Hong Kong government’s recommendations?

The Hong Kong government recommends a concentration of 70-80%, compared to the WHO’s guideline of 60-80%. The Hong Kong Consumer Council has made resources available to the public about alcohol sanitizers.

Infographic taken from the Consumer Council website.

Infographic taken from the Consumer Council website.

 

They also released a video detailing tests that were conducted by Choice magazine which revealed that some samples of hand sanitizers contained dangerous amounts of methanol and many were not up to standard.

How to use hand sanitizers properly?

If possible, before using hand sanitizers, make sure your hands are clear of dirt, grease and any organic matter. Then apply a dime sized amount and rub your hands for 30-60 seconds, going over your palms and between your fingers as you would with soap. Then wait until the product is completely dry and don’t wipe the sanitizer off to give the alcohol a chance to be effective. Make sure you don’t touch anything, particularly food, until the product is completely dry. 

Are hand sanitizers dangerous?

When used as recommended, hand sanitizers are safe. It is nevertheless important to check ingredients carefully – as mentioned above, some Hong Kong distributors were found making hand sanitizers with traces of methanol, the simplest form of alcohol but far more toxic than ethanol. 

Your skin harbours both good and bad bacteria and hand sanitizers removes both. When ‘good’ bacteria is removed it can be replaced by ‘bad’ bacteria. Furthermore, hand sanitizers can contribute to the microbes’ antibiotic resistance and strengthen them. This is why using soap and water (when convenient) is better for our skin. That being said, in the current climate, slowing the spread of COVID-19 is the priority and the increased use of alcohol based sanitizers during this time period is recommended.

How to make your own hand sanitizer?

Making your own hand sanitizer can be a good solution if you have adverse reactions to the synthetic materials in regular hand sanitizer. 

hand sanitizer hong kong

What you’ll need

  • 99% isopropyl or rubbing alcohol
  • Aloe vera gel
  • An essential oil (with antiseptic properties) like lavender or tea tree oil 

How it’s made 

  • Make sure the table or counter you’re making it on is thoroughly cleaned, as well as your hands
  • Using a clean spoon and bowl, mix 2 parts alcohol with 1 part aloe vera gel

Make sure to keep a 2:1 proportion of alcohol to aloe vera, this is a way to ensure the alcohol percentage stays above 60%. 

Keep in mind: Making hand sanitizer can be a good solution in case of shortage or allergies, but in general it is preferable to use one that is store bought. Mixing up the dosages can create a mixture very unsafe for use and unsanitized workstation can contaminate the sanitizer thus making it useless. 

What to remember

Although hand sanitizer is effective and safe, it should only be used when soap and water are not readily available. Soap and water is the most effective way to thoroughly clean our hands. With that said, keep your hands clean and stay safe!

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.