長期戴口罩引起的皮膚問題:皮膚科醫生的貼士

相信我們都感受到皮膚對長期戴口罩產生的負面反應。皮膚敏感、出現粉刺…我們無人能倖免。隨著天氣越來越熱,皮膚科專家Dr. Nicola Chan陳珮瑤醫生為您提供一些貼士可以令戴口罩變得輕鬆一些。

戴口罩會引起哪些皮膚問題?

取決於口罩的類型、本身有的皮膚問題和天氣情況,很多不同的皮膚問題可能會出現。這些不同的皮膚狀況主要是由於皮膚的熱度、濕度和油性增加而導致毛孔堵塞、皮膚發紅和過敏。

暗瘡可能是長時間戴口罩而最常引起的皮膚病。油脂和毛孔堵塞通常會導致沿下頜部分和口罩覆蓋的面部出現斑點。熱度還會導致面部出現過度紅腫、浮腫、斑點和發紅,特別是對於本身已患有酒渣鼻的人。紅腫還可能會帶來痕癢和甩皮。

我們有些人可能仍然不習慣戴口罩,並且意識到自己不斷調整已戴上的口罩(即使我們不應該這樣做)。這個動作所增加的摩擦可能會導致刺激性皮膚炎,從而令上臉頰和其他接觸部分發癢、發紅和呈現鱗狀。如對口罩材料有過敏反應也可能會導致類似症狀。

戴N95口罩而遇到的問題可能更嚴重。因為口罩的貼合性更緊密,您可能會遇到更多的摩擦問題,特別是在鼻樑處,口罩內缺乏新鮮的氧氣會使各種皮膚狀況惡化。因此不建議長時間佩戴這種口罩。

皮膚科醫生 – 香港全方位指南

有什麼解決方法?

口罩類型

口罩上積聚的污垢和油脂只會加劇我們的皮膚問題,因此使用一次性口罩可方便您時常換口罩。而無法忍受一次性口罩帶來的皮膚反應或刺激的人可以選擇使用布口罩。但是,要注意,布口罩阻隔冠狀病毒的防護力可能不夠理想。因此,請檢查不同類型的口罩隨附的產品說明。

改變您的日常皮膚護理

盡可能讓您的日間皮膚護理變得簡單是預防您的皮膚問題爆發的好方法。意思是在早上避免使用濃稠、油膩的乳霜和精華液,把它們留到晚上才使用。您可以使用溫和的面部清潔劑、保濕劑和塗潤唇膏,以保持雙唇滋潤,從而簡化您的日常皮膚護理。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

相信我們都想避免毛孔堵塞,因此,如果您想化妝,請選擇無致粉刺性化妝品(標示為non-comedogenic的產品),並使用礦物為基礎、輕盈的粉底液或粉餅。如果您基本上在上班時間內都戴著口罩,您甚至應該考慮完全跳過為口罩覆蓋的面部進行化妝的程序。如果可能的話,您可以每日間中花時間印走口罩下的汗水和油脂。

回家後,請確保使用溫和的面部清潔劑徹底洗淨您的臉,以清走一日中累積的汗水、污垢和油脂。

N95口罩又如何?

當前的建議指普通大眾不應戴N95口罩來做日常病毒防護。N95口罩需要被專業配戴以確保沒有空氣洩漏。錯誤配戴並不會為您帶來好處。這些專用口罩應該只能由醫護人員佩戴。

現時在香港哪裡可以買到口罩?

在炎熱的夏季戴口罩有什麼對策?

以下是一些貼士,可幫助您戴著口罩時能夠勇敢面對香港炎熱潮濕的夏天:

  1. 選擇符合標準的一次性口罩,讓您的皮膚感覺舒適透氣
  2. 在追求口罩貼面的同時,請確保口罩不會太緊
  3. 如果可以的話,帶備用的口罩,如果出汗過多,請換掉當前戴上的口罩

我們希望本指南能讓您在戴口罩時感到輕鬆一些!

本文由陳珮瑤醫生 Dr. Nicola Chan於2019年7月29日審閱。陳醫生是在香港私家診所執業的皮膚科專科醫生。她於英國劍橋大學畢業,並在劍橋、倫敦和香港接受過研究生醫學培訓。隨後在美國波士頓和巴爾的摩進行了進一步的激光和美容皮膚病學培訓。陳醫生是香港皮膚及性病學會、American Society of Laser Medicine and Surgery、Asian Dermatological Association以及香港皮膚科醫學院的成員。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Skin Problems When Wearing Masks: Dermatologist’s Tips

Our skin’s negative reaction to masks is something we are all too familiar with. From irritation to acne, none of us are spared. With the weather only getting hotter, here are some easy tips to make wearing a mask just a little bit easier. 

What skin issues are caused by wearing masks?

Depending on the type of mask, existing skin issues and the weather, many skin problems can arise. These different skin conditions are mainly due to an increase in heat, humidity and oiliness of the skin, leading to clogged pores, redness and irritation.  

Acne is perhaps the most common skin condition encountered due to prolonged mask-wearing.  Oiliness and clogged pores often cause the appearance of spots along the jawline and the facial area covered by the masks. The heat can also lead to excessive constant facial redness, swelling, spots and flushing, especially in people with pre-existing rosacea. The redness can also be accompanied by itchiness and peeling. 

For some of us, we’re still not used to wearing masks and find ourselves (although we shouldn’t be) adjusting them constantly. The added friction may lead to irritant dermatitis, causing the upper cheeks and other contact areas to become itchy, red and scaly. Similar symptoms may also be the result of an allergic reaction to the material of the mask.  

The issues encountered with N95 masks can be worse. Because the fit of the mask is tighter you may encounter a lot more friction issues, especially at the bridge of the nose at the lack of fresh oxygen inside the masks only make the various skin conditions worse. They are not meant to be worn for extended periods of time.

Your Practical Guide to Dermatologists in Hong Kong

What are the solutions?

Type of masks

The dirt and oil accumulated on masks only worsens our breakouts. Using disposable masks gives you the option to switch it out regularly. Cloth masks may be an option for people who cannot tolerate the regular disposable masks due to skin reaction or irritation. However, one should be aware that the protection against coronavirus transmission may be suboptimal with cloth masks. It will be worthwhile to check the packaging instructions which come with different types of masks.

Changes to make to your skincare routine 

Keeping your morning routine as simple as possible is a good way to ensure your skin doesn’t flare up. This means avoiding thick, heavy and oily creams and serums in the morning and applying them at night instead. Simplify your routine by using a gentle cleanser, moisturizer and applying lip balm to keep your lips moisturised too.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

As for makeup, we really want to avoid clogging our pores so if you wear makeup choose non-comedogenic cosmetics and go for mineral-based light fluid or powder foundations. If you will essentially be wearing your mask throughout the office hours, you should maybe even consider skipping makeup entirely on the facial area covered by the mask. If possible, you can blot away the sweat and oil underneath the mask at regular intervals throughout the day.

Make sure you wash your face thoroughly with a gentle cleanser after returning home to get rid of accumulated sweat, dirt and oils from the day. 

What about N95 masks?

The current recommendation is that the general public should not be wearing N95 masks for daily protection against the virus. N95 masks need to be professionally fitted to ensure that there is no air leak. Wearing a wrongly-fitted one will not be beneficial. These special masks should only be worn by healthcare workers.

Where to Buy Masks in Hong Kong?

What about wearing a mask during hot summer months?

Here are some tips to help you brave Hong Kong’s hot and humid summer in your mask:

  1. Opt for up-to-standard disposable masks which feel breathable and comfortable on your skin.  
  2. While you want to have a snug fit, make sure it isn’t too tight 
  3. If you can, bring a spare mask and switch it out if the other one gets too sweaty

We hope this guide will make wearing a mask even just that bit easier! 

This article was medically reviewed by Dr. Nicola Chan 陳珮瑤醫生. Dr. Nicola Chan is a Specialist in Dermatology in private practice, based in Hong Kong. She graduated from the University of Cambridge, UK, and received post-graduate medical training in Cambridge, London and Hong Kong. This was followed by further laser and aesthetic dermatology training in Boston and Baltimore, USA. Dr. Chan is a member of the Hong Kong Society of Dermatology and Venereology, American Society of Laser Medicine and Surgery, Asian Dermatological Association, and Hong Kong College of Dermatologists.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.