應對過敏:香港全方位指南

在全球,患上過敏症的人數越來越高,包括鼻敏感、食物過敏、藥物過敏及濕疹。本網站特約免疫學及過敏專家鄔揚源醫生,為你獻上香港最全面的過敏指南。

什麼是過敏

在介紹香港過敏情況之前,不如一起先了解一下過敏的本質。一言蔽之,過敏即是身體對無害的食物或其他物質產生的免疫反應。

香港常見的過敏:哮喘、過敏性鼻炎、濕疹最為常見

過敏在世界各地都不少見,香港亦不例外。兒童比成人更容易出現過敏,部分小時候過敏的人士,長大後可能不會有同樣的過敏症狀。2002年的一項全球研究發現,在香港,大約每3個小朋友就有一個會出現哮喘、過敏性鼻炎或濕疹。另一項研究發現,在香港出生的小朋友中有42.9%對環境中的致敏原敏感。目前未有香港食物過敏情況的研究,唯有一項對香港爸爸媽媽的調查發現,有8.1%的香港兒童出現對食物的不良反應,最常見的是貝殼、牛奶和雞蛋過敏。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

香港常見的環境致敏原(塵蟎、蟑螂等)及減少致敏原的方法

由於居住環境擠迫,其他地方居民只是有花粉過敏等季節性過敏問題,而香港居民整年都有可能受到過敏困擾。由環境致敏原引致的常見過敏症狀包括關節炎、哮喘和濕疹。

以下是香港最常見的環境致敏原:

 1 – 家裏塵蟎引起過敏:塵蟎是香港最常見的致敏原。人體的肌膚碰到塵蟎的糞便,便可能會造成一系列過敏現象,包括濕疹、過敏性鼻炎、哮喘。塵蟎最喜歡的場所是20-25度的室溫,濕度較高的環境。而大多數香港住房室內環境都是塵蟎的溫床。塵蟎生活的場所就是家裏的灰塵,如人身體上掉落的皮屑。纖維縫隙很多的地方,如床褥、被鋪、毛毯、衣物等等,塵蟎也很容易生存。每一克灰塵就含有100至500隻塵蟎。除去塵蟎,控制塵蟎產生的致敏原,有以下建議:

    • 第一步,減低家中的濕度。將濕度連續5日保持在50%之下,可除去塵蟎。
    • 由寢具開始,使用防塵蟎枕套及床褥套。
    • 避免使用厚毛毯,或使用有濾網的高效率空氣過濾器(HEPA)吸塵器。

2 – 寵物皮屑過敏:寵物皮屑是香港第二大致敏原,來自帶有毛發或羽毛的動物。很多有皮毛的動物都可能引起人類過敏,但是最主要是貓的皮屑。應對方法與除塵蟎是類似的。如果一定要養寵物,即要注意每個星期清潔寵物2-3次。

3 – 出現哮喘或過敏性鼻炎症狀的人士中,15%至20%對蟑螂過敏。致敏原是蟑螂的糞便、唾液和外層骨殼,與家中其他塵埃混雜。要控制家中曱甴“疫情”,可考慮以下建議:

  • 如果情況不嚴重,可使用蟑螂藥、捕捉器;如果家裏情況嚴重,可使用專業的害蟲防治服務。
  • 將食物存放在密封儲物盒內,保持廚房清潔,及時清理油漬和洗潔精污漬。

香港的食物過敏情況

同環境過敏一樣,食物過敏是免疫系統對食物產生異常的過敏反應所致。食物過敏引起的反應可以是即時性或延緩性的,短至幾分鐘至半小時內發生,或是一至兩星期後才發生。由於症狀通常較輕微,很多出現過敏症的人士未必知道自己出現過敏,因而未有確診。香港八大最常見致敏原為甲殼類海鲜、雞蛋、牛奶、魚、麥、黃豆、花生和堅果。海鮮是目前香港最常見、人體反應最大的致敏原:在嚴重、令人有生命危險的過敏反應中,70%是海鮮過敏。控制食物過敏發生最好的方法就是避免食用引致過敏的食物。

喜歡食點心嗎?要注意當中的食物過敏原

過敏症狀(包括過敏性鼻炎、結膜炎、蕁麻疹和濕疹)

過敏輕則身體不適、重可威脅生命。常見的過敏反應包括以下幾個,但過敏發生時,可能只出現一個徵狀

  • 過敏性鼻炎 – 打噴嚏、鼻癢、流鼻水、鼻塞
  • 結膜炎 – 眼睛發紅、痕癢、流淚
  • 咳嗽、氣喘、胸悶,和/或氣不順
  • 蕁麻疹 – 皮膚腫起、痕癢
  • 肚痛、惡心、嘔吐和/或腹瀉
  • 濕疹 – 皮膚乾燥、紅疹和痕癢(更多寶寶濕疹相關資訊請見此
  • 舌頭、眼睛、面頰和/或嘴脣腫大

過敏性休克是一個需要即時醫療救護的緊急情況

過敏性休克十分少見,但能威脅生命。過敏性休克可以在接觸過敏原後的數分鐘内發生,引致嚴重,全身性的過敏反應。病徵包括如下:

  • 意識模糊
  • 皮膚和/或嘴脣發藍
  • 昏厥、失去意識
  • 頭暈
  • 喉嚨或口腔腫脹
  • 吞咽困難

何時應看醫生諮詢過敏症?

如果你懷疑自己或家中小朋友有過敏症,應及時看醫生,了解控制症狀的方法以及做過敏測試的相關資訊。

過敏專家 – 香港全方位指南

如果你正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

Dr. Adrian Wu 鄔揚源醫生目前在私家診所執業,他獲得美國委員會過敏和免疫學專家的認可。他是香港過敏病及哮喘診療中心的主任。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

The Ultimate Guide to Allergies in Hong Kong

Allergic diseases are on the rise all over the world. These include rhinitis, food allergies, drug allergies and eczema. In collaboration with immunology and allergy specialist Dr. Adrian Wu 鄔揚源醫生, Healthy Matters brings you the ultimate guide to common allergies in Hong Kong.

What are allergies?

Before we go into the allergy landscape in Hong Kong, let’s just step back for a minute and talk about allergies themselves. At their most basic, allergies are an immune reaction to a harmless food or substance.

Allergies in Hong Kong: asthma, allergic rhinitis and eczema rang high

Allergies are common across the world and Hong Kong is no different. Allergies are more common in children as some people grow out of their allergies. A global study in 2002 found that roughly one in three children in Hong Kong suffer from asthma, allergic rhinitis and/or eczema. In another study, 42.9% of Hong Kong-born children were sensitive to environmental allergens. There is little research on the prevalence of food allergies in Hong Kong but one questionnaire amongst Hong Kong parents found that 8.1% of Hong Kong 2-7-year olds had experienced adverse food reactions – the most common reactions were to shellfish, milk and eggs.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Common environmental allergens in Hong Kong (from dust mites to cockroaches), and how to reduce them

With our tight urban quarters, people in Hong Kong are more likely to suffer year-round from allergies rather than seasonal allergies such as hayfever. The most common symptoms of environmental allergens are rhinitis, asthma, and eczema.

The following are the most common environmental allergens in Hong Kong:

1 – House dust mites allergy: they are the most common allergen in Hong Kong. The allergen is actually the dust mite feces while cause a range of symptoms including eczema, allergic rhinitis and asthma. House dust mites thrive in a humid environment that is around 20 to 25 degrees. Sound familiar? Sounds like the conditions inside most Hong Kong houses to us. Dust mites live, as you can guess, in the dust in our house, usually made up of the dead skin cells we shed. They’re found in fabric such as bedding, upholstery, clothing, carpets, etc. Between 100 and 500 live in every gram of dust. To rid your house of dust mites and control dust mite allergens, there are a few suggestions:

    • The first step is to reduce household humidity. Sometimes reducing household relative humidity to below 50% for 5 days can do the trick.
    • Cover your bed and pillows with allergen-proof covers.
    • Either avoid using thick carpets at home or use a vacuum compatible with a HEPA filter.

2 – Animal dander allergy: it is the second most common indoor allergen in Hong Kong. Dander is the material shed from the body of animals that have fur, hair, or feathers. A lot of animals with fur will cause an allergy but cat dander seems to be the most potent. A lot of the recommendations for animal dander are the similar as for dust mites. If removing the animal from your environment is not possible, also ensure the animal is washed 2-3 times per week.

3 – Fifteen to twenty percent of asthma or allergic rhinitis sufferers are to allergic to cockroaches. You think that’s the gross part? Cockroach allergens are found in cockroach feces, saliva, secretions and sloughed-off skin and become part of household dust. To control cockroaches in your house, the following is recommended:

  • Use cockroach traps in mild infestations or professional pest control if your house is heavily infested.
  • Store food in sealed containers and keep kitchens clean of oil stains and soap residue.

Food allergies in Hong Kong

Like environmental allergies, food allergies cause your immune system to react to otherwise harmless substances. Food allergies can be challenging to track as reactions can show up anytime from within a few minutes to a few weeks later. Often the symptoms are fairly mild so people may not suspect an allergy and go undiagnosed. The eight most common food allergies in Hong Kong are crustacean seafood, chicken eggs, cow’s milk, fish, wheat, soy, peanuts and tree nuts. Seafood is by far the most common and severe allergen in Hong Kong – of those with severe, life-threatening allergies, 70% will have a seafood allergy. The best way to control food allergies is to avoid the allergenic food altogether.

Love Dim Sum? Check Out These Allergens

Allergy symptoms (including allergic rhinitis, conjunctivitis, hives and eczema)

Allergy symptoms range from the mildly annoying to the life threatening. Common reactions include the following grouped symptoms, though you may not only experience one:

  • Allergic rhinitis – sneezing and an itchy, runny or blocked nose
  • Conjunctivitis – itchy, red, watering eyes
  • A cough, wheezing, chest tightness and/or shortness of breath
  • Hives – a raised, itchy red rash
  • Stomach pain, nausea, vomiting and/or diarrhea
  • Eczema – dry, red and cracked skin (see more about baby eczema in Hong Kong here)
  • Swollen tongue, eyes, face, and/or lips

Anaphylaxis is a medical emergency that requires immediate attention

It is a very rare allergic reaction but can be life threatening. It shows up within minutes of exposure and affects the entire body. In addition to the symptoms above, anaphylaxis symptoms include:

  • Confusion
  • Blue skin and/or lips
  • Collapsing and losing consciousness
  • Lightheadedness
  • Swelling of the throat and mouth
  • Difficulty breathing

When should you seek medical assistance for allergies?

If you suspect an allergy in yourself or your child, visit a doctor to discuss how to manage it and the possibility of allergy testing.

Your Expert Guide to Allergy Specialists in Hong Kong

Looking for health insurance? Want to better understand your current plan or healthcare options in Hong Kong? Contact AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2606 2668 for expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system to answer all your questions; on both the public and private sectors.

Dr. Adrian Wu 鄔揚源醫生 is a US board certified specialist in allergy and immunology currently in private practice. He is the director of the Centre for Allergy and Asthma Care in Hong Kong.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.