川崎病(Kawasaki Disease):須知及治療方法

根據於1967年首次發現此病的日本兒科醫生川崎富作(Tomisaku Kawasaki)命名,川崎病(又稱為川崎綜合症或黏膜皮膚淋巴腺症候群(是一種相對罕見的疾病,主要影響幼兒。 它是令全球兒童出現後天性心臟病的主要原因之一。

川崎病(Kawasaki Disease)和新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)

最近幾星期,兒科專家留意到,在很多對新型冠狀病毒檢測呈陽性反應的兒童身上出現與川崎病非常相似的症狀。 在4月27日,英國兒科重症監護協會(PICS)發出了一項聲明,內容涉及英格蘭國民保健署發出的緊急警報,該警報強調現時有不少對新冠病毒檢測呈陽性的兒童身上出現與中毒性休克綜合症(toxic shock syndrome)和川崎病症狀一致的病例。

什麼是川崎病?

川崎病(KD)是一種病徵為持續發燒的嚴重的全身血管急性炎症。它傾向在早春或冬季出現。人們認為這是一種僅影響亞洲兒童的罕見疾病。但是在過去的幾十年內,川崎病已成為發達國家兒童出現後天性心臟病的主要原因。病因未知,但可能是免疫系統的反應。川崎病並沒有傳染性。

川崎病最常見於5歲以下的幼兒。男孩子患川崎病的可能性大約是女孩子的1.5倍

亞洲裔兒童,尤其是日本人,有更大的風險。若兒童的父母或兄弟姐妹曾患有川崎病,兒童患上此病的風險更高

川崎病的診斷是根據臨床標準。 這些標準包括持續發燒和其他特異性臨床症狀。 但是,這樣的臨床標準並不能識別所有患有川崎病的兒童,尤其是在6個月以下的幼兒中。醫生可能需要依靠實驗室檢查和超聲心動圖(心臟超聲波)來幫助診斷。

如果沒有得到適當的治療,大約25%的兒童身上會出現危及生命的併發症,這些併發症通常會影響心臟和冠狀動脈,例如動脈瘤(動脈壁凸起)、心跳模式改變、心肌發炎和心臟病發作。及時接受治療可以將冠狀動脈瘤的發生率從25%大大降低至〜4%。

川崎病的病徵和症狀

您的小朋友突然出現以下症狀,並持續1-2星期。

  • 持續至少5日或以上38°C(100.4°F)的發燒。
  • 軀幹、四肢和腹股溝上出現粉紅色皮疹
  • 結膜炎(通常是兩隻眼睛的白色位發紅),沒有眼部分泌物。
  • 嘴唇發紅、乾燥、破裂的。
  • 舌頭發紅、表面凹凸不平並有發白塗層(士多啤梨脷)。
  • 手腳腫脹、手掌和腳底發紅。觸摸皮膚時皮膚可能會感到不適或疼痛。發燒開始後2-3星期內觀察到手腳的皮膚剝落。
  • 頸部腺體腫脹和出現腫塊。

大多數兒童會變得煩躁和過分挑剔。一些父母可能會留意到小朋友注射過卡介苗(BCG)的部位四周腫脹和發紅。

您的舌頭怎樣告訴您關於您的健康狀況?西醫vs中醫

在什麼情況下您應該帶小朋友去看醫生?

如果您的小朋友出現症狀,請立即看醫生,特別是如果6個月以下大的幼兒。 儘早(發燒出現後10天內)接受治療很重要,因為它可以減少發生嚴重身體損害(包括心臟併發症)的風險。

發燒是川崎病的第一個跡象,因此很難知道是否川崎病。如果兒童持續發燒超過3日或出現以下任何一種情況,請立即諮詢醫生:

  • 手腳紅腫
  • 出現皮疹
  • 眼睛有血絲(結膜炎)
  • 舌頭腫脹(士多啤梨脷)
  • 頸部淋巴結腫大

對於非典型或不完整的川崎病臨床現象,醫生可以安排血液檢查、尿液檢查和超聲波心電圖檢查,以幫助診斷和評估疾病的嚴重性。

兒科醫生 – 香港全方位指南

如何治療川崎病?

您的小朋友需盡快在醫院接受治療,以大幅度降低發生嚴重併發症的風險。

靜脈注射免疫球蛋白(IVIG)

IVIG是從捐血者的血漿提取匯聚而成的生物製品。眾所周知,在川崎病急性期期間注射IVIG可以降低冠狀動脈異常的發生率。 IVIG的作用機制尚未明確,但被視為與其抗炎作用有關。注射後36小時內症狀應會改善。

一劑IVIG治療後,約有10-20%患有川崎病的兒童會持續發燒或出現症狀。您的醫生可能會建議第二劑IVIG或改用其他藥物。

阿司匹林(Aspirin)

阿司匹林因其抗炎作用和防止血塊形成的能力而被選用。對於患有川崎病的兒童,阿司匹林被視為有益且安全的,而川崎病與雷氏症候群(Reye’s Syndrome)的相關性不大。 在川崎病急性期,您的醫生會讓您的小朋友服用大劑量口服阿司匹林,直到退燒為止。 在開藥後數週或直到冠狀動脈瘤消退之前,應該會開小劑量口服阿司匹林。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

預防方法

並沒有預防川崎病的方法。如果立即得到適當的診斷和治療,兒童通常會在6-8星期內康復。他們中的大多數人並不會因該疾病而出現進一步或永久性的問題。 但是,患有川崎病的人中約有1-3%會復發。

如果兒童從川崎病中康復後出現持續性冠狀動脈異常,則需要接受長期評估和治療。

—-

Dr Eddie Cheung 張蔚賢醫生在1997年於香港大學醫學院畢業。他之後開始在瑪麗醫院的兒科和初生兒科工作,並於2004年成為兒科專家。他曾在香港葛量洪醫院/瑪麗醫院擔任兒科心臟病專家,並於2005年獲得香港大學醫學碩士學位(優異成績)。他亦是香港心臟專科學院院士、香港兒科心臟學會名譽秘書、香港兔唇裂顎協會顧問。他目前在香港港安醫院擔任兒科醫生顧問和感染控制人員。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Kawasaki Disease: What it is & How to treat it

Named after Japanese paediatrician Tomisaku Kawasaki who first described it in 1967, Kawasaki disease (aka Kawasaki syndrome or mucocutaneous lymph node syndrome) is a relatively rare disease mostly affecting young children. It is one of the leading causes of acquired heart disease in children globally. 

Kawasaki Disease and COVID-19

In recent weeks, pediatric specialists have noticed an alarming number of children testing positive for COVID-19 presenting symptoms very similar to Kawasaki Disease. On April 27, the Paediatric Intensive Care Society UK (PICS) issued a statement about an urgent alert from the National Health Service England raising the alarm about the number of COVID-19 cases in children presenting symptoms consistent with toxic shock syndrome and Kawasaki Disease. 

What is Kawasaki Disease?

Kawasaki disease (KD) is a severe acute inflammation of blood vessels throughout the body characterized by a prolonged fever. It tends to occur more in early spring or winter. It was thought to be a rare disease which only affected Asian children. But in past decades, KD has become the leading cause of acquired heart disease in children in developed countries. The cause is unknown but could be a reaction by the immune system. Kawasaki disease is not contagious.

Kids under 5 are most commonly affected. Boys are roughly 1.5 times more likely to develop Kawasaki disease than girls. 

Children of Asian ethnicity, particularly Japanese, have greater risks. Children of parents or siblings with Kawasaki disease have a higher risk of developing it. 

Clinical criteria are used to diagnose Kawasaki disease. These include prolonged fever and other characteristic clinical signs.  However, such clinical criteria do not identify all children with KD, especially in those younger than 6 months of age. Doctors may need to rely on laboratory tests and echocardiogram (cardiac ultrasound) to assist in the establishment of a diagnosis. 

Without proper treatment, about 25% of children experience life-threatening complications which usually affect the heart and the coronary arteries, for example aneurysms (bulging of an artery wall), change in heartbeat pattern, inflammation of the heart muscles and heart attack. Timely initiation of treatment has significantly reduced the incidence of coronary aneurysm from 25% to ~4%.

Signs and symptoms of Kawasaki Disease

Your child will suddenly develop these symptoms which will last for 1-2 weeks. 

  • A fever of at least 38°C (100.4°F) persisting for 5 days or more. 
  • A pink rash on the trunk, limbs and groin
  • Conjunctivitis (redness in the whites of, usually, both eyes) without eye secretions.  
  • Red, dry, cracked lips. 
  • Red, bumpy tongue with whiting coating (strawberry tongue).  
  • Swelling in hands and feet with redness on palms and soles. Skin may feel hard and painful to touch. Peeling of skin at hands and feet may be observed within 2-3 weeks after onset of fever. 
  • Swelling and lumps in the neck glands. 

Most kids will present with irritability and fussiness. Some parents may notice swelling and redness around the previous BCG injection site.

What Your Tongue Says About Your Health | Western vs. Chinese Medicine

When should you see a doctor?

Visit your doctor quickly if your child shows symptoms, especially if your child is under the age of 6 months. It is important to receive treatment at the earliest (within 10 days from onset of fever) as it may reduce risks of developing serious body damage, including heart complications. 

Fever is the first indication of Kawasaki disease which makes it difficult to spot from that alone. See your doctor if your child has a fever lasting for more than 3 days or any of the following:

  • Red and swollen hands and feet 
  • Rash 
  • Bloodshot eyes (conjunctivitis) 
  • Swollen bumpy tongue (strawberry tongue) 
  • Swollen lymph nodes in the neck 

For atypical or incomplete clinical presentation of KD, doctors may arrange blood tests, urine tests and echocardiograms to guide the diagnosis and evaluate the severity of illness.

The Ultimate Guide to Pediatricians in Hong Kong

How is Kawasaki Disease treated?

Your child will receive treatment in a hospital as soon as possible to minimize risks of developing serious complications. 

Intravenous immunoglobulin (IVIG)

IVIG is a biological product made from pooled donor plasma. The efficacy of IVIG administered in the acute phase of Kawasaki disease is well established to reduce the prevalence of coronary artery abnormalities. The exact mechanism of IVIG is unknown but it is thought to be related to its counter-inflammation effect. Symptoms should improve within 36 hours after injection. 

Around 10-20% of children with KD have persistent fever or symptoms after one dose of IVIG treatment. Your doctor may advise a second dose of IVIG or switching to other kinds of medicine.  

Aspirin

Aspirin is used for its counter-inflammation effects and ability to prevent blood clot formation. Use of aspirin is considered helpful and safe in children with Kawasaki disease, which is unlikely to be associated with Reye’s syndrome. Your doctor will give your child a high-dose oral aspirin during the acute phase of KD until the fever goes away. Low-dose oral aspirin will be prescribed for a few weeks afterwards or until coronary artery aneurysm subsides.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Prevention 

There is no way to prevent Kawasaki disease. Children usually recover in 6-8 weeks if given an immediate and proper diagnosis and treatment. Most of them do not develop further or permanent problems from the disease. However, about 1-3% of those who had Kawasaki disease experience a recurrence. 

If a child develops persistent coronary artery abnormality after Kawasaki disease, long-term evaluation and treatment will be required. 

—-

Dr. Eddie Cheung 張蔚賢醫生 is a specialist in paediatrics. He received his paediatric training in Queen Mary Hospital and post-fellow paediatric cardiology training in Grantham Hospital/ Queen Mary Hospital. He is a Fellow of the Hong Kong College of Cardiology, the Vice President of Hong Kong Society of Paediatric Cardiology and Consultant of Hong Kong Association of Cleft Lip and Palate. He is currently working as Director of Paediatric Centre of HK Medical Consultants and serves as Infection Control Officer at the Hong Kong Adventist Hospital.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.