您的舌頭怎樣告訴您關於您的健康狀況?西醫vs中醫

您是否知道舌頭是體內最強壯的肌肉之一,並且可以告訴您很多關於您的健康狀況?根據中西醫學,您的舌頭變化可能會暗示您有缺陷和疾病。這是您的舌頭怎樣告訴您關於您的健康狀況之專業指南。

西醫對您的舌頭有什麼見解

正常健康的舌頭是淡紅色/粉紅色,表面有白色薄層,並且有小結節/小腫塊覆蓋上表面。

舌頭顏色改變可能暗示有疾病

  • 厚的白色塗層可能表明口腔酵母菌感染,通常是由念珠菌(鵝口瘡)引起的。
  • 格子狀的白色網可能暗示著慢性炎症性疾病。
  • 牢固附著的白色斑塊可能是更嚴重的潛在疾病的症狀。
  • 鮮紅的舌頭可能表明維他命B缺乏或有猩紅熱和川崎病等罕見疾病。

腫塊改變的情況沒有變好或變更差的話應要接受檢查

舌頭有各種形狀和形式,但通常它們的表面有些顛簸。這些顛簸是使您可以品嚐食物的舌乳頭。

  • 如果突然發現您的舌頭看起來更光滑,則可能是營養缺乏的跡象,也可能是例如乳糜瀉(celiac disease)之類潛在疾病的跡象。
  • 舌頭有損傷、深溝或裂痕也可能暗示著有疾病,例如牛皮癬和舍約根氏綜合症(Sjörgen’s syndrome),但深溝也可能是與年齡相關的變化。儘管這些深溝通常無害,但它們是細菌的理想溫床 – 必須保持良好的口腔衛生。
  • 瘡或口腔潰瘍可能會疼痛且發紅,通常位於舌頭的邊緣。這些腫塊是舌頭發炎或病毒感染的結果。如果他們在兩週內沒有消失,最好去看牙醫或看醫生。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

您的生活習慣會改變您的舌頭感覺或顏色

舌頭的“感覺”亦可以顯示出您的健康和/或生活方式,尤其是因為您的舌頭有許多神經末梢。有食慾不振或灼熱感可由多種因素引起,例如吃太多柑橘類水果、服用某些藥物、吸煙或意外咬到舌頭。如果您無法弄清是什麼原因而引起酸痛或那些感覺持續存在,建議您諮詢醫生或牙醫以找出問題的根源。

您食用或服用的食物或補品也會使舌頭變色,如變成藍色或黑色。

中醫對您的舌頭有什麼見解

中醫的整體哲學將整個身體視為一個相互聯繫的能量系統,其中適當的能量或氣流動為身體帶來和諧(健康)。但是,當氣流中斷時,可能會出現不和諧,並隨後導致疾病和疼痛。

中醫提出六種致病的影響,而當這些影響超出人體的承受能力時,則可能會導致氣流量不平衡。六個致病因素是:寒、熱、濕、燥、暑和風。

我們請明德中醫診所物理治療中心(針灸)的中醫師羅永康(William Lo)向我們介紹中醫舌診的要求。

在治療患者時,舌頭對中醫師有多重要?

舌頭檢查對中醫師非常重要。我們首先會問患者認為出現的問題是什麼,患者會給我們有關其症狀的主觀資訊。有了這些資訊,就可以通過客觀的(身體)檢查(包括檢查患者的舌頭)來確認潛在的問題。

舌檢通常分為兩部分。我們首先檢查舌頭的質素,以了解患者的身體狀況。例如,舌頭的顏色和大小可以指示氣血的水平,後者與血液灌注水平有關。確定身體的體質後,我們會檢查舌苔的質素,這與胃部狀況和體內過度濕重有關。

簡而言之,舌頭可以反映人體的組成,並闡明與六種致病影響有關的症狀的性質/原因。

在中醫學,舌頭的外觀暗示出的情況的例子有哪些?

正常且健康的舌頭呈淡紅色/粉紅色,大小正常且舌苔薄,反映出氣與血的良好平衡。

舌頭增大可以通過多種因素來識別,包括側面的牙齒痕跡。 從中醫角度來看,這種情況表明胃和脾臟功能較弱。

白黃色的舌苔且形狀不規則,邊界不清晰且厚度不一,可能表示患有慢性疾病。

舌頭有哪些常見變化,它們在中醫學內意味著什麼?如何做才能“恢復正常”?

我們通常會看到舌苔厚度的變化,並且如上所述,這種舌苔被認為與胃部狀況有關。可以通過與消除一種或多種引起該病的致病影響有關的適當治療來緩解大多數舌頭異常情況。但是,與所有治療一樣,您的舌頭恢復正常還需要一段時間。

在看中醫之前,患者應該注意什麼?

為了便於觀察和診斷,應保持舌苔原封不動。因此,最好避免在看中醫之前刷牙。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

William Man Kin Lo 盧文健中醫師是香港註冊的中醫和物理治療師。他目前在旺角的昕德中醫及物理治療綜合治療中心執業。他從2001年開始擔任臨床醫生,並在針灸治療疼痛方面具有豐富的經驗。獲得香港理工大學的物理治療科學士學位後,他亦完成了香港中文大學的中醫學碩士課程。他專注於將東方醫學和西方醫學融為一體、運動損傷和疼痛治理。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

本文已於2019年6月6日被核對和更新。

What Your Tongue Says About Your Health | Western vs Chinese Medicine

Last updated on May 5, 2021.

Western medicine | Tongue color | Seeing a doctor | Lifestyle habits | Traditional Chinese medicine | Examination by TCM practitioner | Examples | What to do before examination

Did you know that your tongue is one of the strongest muscles in your body and that it can tell a lot about your health? According to both Western and Chinese medicines, your tongue can indicate your body condition. Here is a brief guide to what your tongue can tell you about your health.

What Western Medicine Says About Your Tongue

A normal healthy tongue should be in pale red/pink, with a thin white layer on top, and covered with small nodules/bumps on the upper surface.

Tongue colour can indicate health conditions

Your tongue’s appearance changes with your body’s health condition. For examples:

  • A thick white coating can indicate an oral yeast infection commonly caused by candida (thrush).
  • A lattice-like white network could indicate a chronic inflammatory disease.
  • Firmly attached white patches could be a symptom of severe underlying disease.
  • A bright red tongue could indicate a vitamin B deficiency or rare diseases such as scarlet fever and Kawasaki’s disease.
Advertisements

Bumps that don’t get better or get worse should be checked

Tongues come in all forms and shapes, there is a slightly bumpy topography generally. These bumps are papillae that make tasting possible.
  • If a smoothen tongue sensation occurs suddenly, it can be a sign of nutrient deficiency and other underlying conditions such as celiac disease.
  • A tongue with lesions, deep grooves or fissures, may indicate diseases such as psoriasis and Sjörgen’s syndrome, but deep grooves may just be an age-related change. While these grooves are generally harmless, they are a perfect breeding ground for bacteria – So maintaining good oral hygiene is a must.
  • Sores or mouth ulcers can be red and painful, often located on the edges of your tongue. These bumps are the result of an irritated tongue or perhaps a viral infection. If they do not go away within two weeks, one must visit a dentist or doctor.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

The sensation of your tongue is also an indicator of your health and/or lifestyle, especially since your tongue has many nerve endings. Soreness or a burning feel can be caused by several factors such as eating too many citrus fruits, certain medication, smoking, or biting your tongue accidentally. If you fail to figure out the cause of the soreness or the feeling persists, you should visit a doctor or dentist to get to the root of the problem.

Your tongue can also stain and become blue or black in color due to the food or supplements taken.

What Traditional Chinese Medicine Says About Your Tongue

The holistic philosophy of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) regards the whole body as an interconnected energetic system in which energy or Qi(氣) circulates, brings about harmony to the body (health). However, when the flow of Qi is disrupted, disharmony can occur and result in diseases and pain subsequently.

There are six pathogenic influences in Chinese Medicine, which are cold (寒), heat (熱), dampness (濕), dryness (燥), summer heat (暑) and wind (風). When they exceed the body’s tolerance, the flow of Qi will be disrupted.

We consulted Chinese medicine practitioner William Lo from the Hong Kong Atlas Chinese Medicine & Physiotherapy Centre (Acupuncture) for the lowdown on TCM tongue examination.

Advertisements

Tongue Examination by TCM practitioners

Tongue examination is essential to TCM diagnosis. TCM practitioners begin with chief complaints, in which patients provide subjective information regarding their symptoms. With this information, diagnosis can be achieved with objective physical examination which includes tongue inspection.

Tongue examination is usually divided into two parts. First of all, a practitioner would examine the quality of the tongue, to understand the patient’s body status in general. For example, the color and size of the tongue can indicate the level of Qi and Xue (血), the latter relating to blood perfusion levels. After establishing the body’s constitution, TCM inspects the quality of the tongue’s coating which is mainly related to stomach conditions and dampness inside the body.

In short, the tongue can reflect the body’s constitution and elucidate the cause of symptoms and signs concerning the six pathogenic influences and organs.

Examples of tongue’s appearance and their TCM indication

  • Normal healthy tongue looks pale red/pink in color, normal in size, with a thin coating: It implies a good balance of Qi and Xue.
  • An enlarged tongue with teeth marks along the sides: It indicates a weak functioning of the stomach and spleen, as well as a high level of dampness.
  • A white-yellowish tongue coating that is irregular in shape: It indicates potential chronic illnesses, and a high level of heat and dampness.

A change in thickness of tongue coating is common, this coating is believed to be related to stomach conditions. Most tongue conditions can be alleviated with proper treatment that is related to eliminating one or more of the pathogenic influences causing the disease. However, as with every treatment plan, it takes time before your tongue is back to normal.

What to do before a TCM tongue examination?

  • To facilitate diagnosis, the tongue coating should be intact. Thus, it is best to avoid brushing your tongue before a TCM consultation.
  • Avoid intaking any dyed foods or drinks before TCM consultation. Pigments may change the color of the tongue coating, resulting in misleading tongue information.
  • Avoid drinking any liquid 30minutes before tongue examination.
  • Tongue appearance reflects your body status most accurately when you wake up in the morning. You may take a picture of your tongue in the morning when you wake up, for your TCM practitioner’s reference.
Looking for health insurance? Contact our partner AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2606 2668 for expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system to answer all your questions; in both the public and private sectors.
William Man Kin Lo 盧文健中醫師 is a registered Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioner and Physiotherapist in Hong Kong. He has worked as a clinician since 2001 and has experience in treating pain conditions with acupuncture. After graduating from the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, he studied Chinese Medicine at Chinese University of Hong Kong. He is now the director of the Hong Kong Atlas Chinese Medicine and Physiotherapy Centre, a journal columnist for a local newspaper and faculty member of the Hong Kong St John Ambulance Sports First Aid.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.

This article was reviewed and updated on April 9, 2021.