什麼是冷凍卵子技術?

還未準備好要小朋友,但擔心您將來的生育能力嗎?無論您是專注於自己的事業還是找不到合適的伴侶,卵子冷凍 – 即卵母細胞冷凍保存 – 能保留女士的卵子,以便以後可以用那些卵子嘗試受孕。Healthy Matters為您提供有關香港冷凍卵子的完整指南。我們請了香港生殖醫學專家Dr. Patrick Chan 陳世樂醫生,為您提供所有資訊:包括最佳年齡、成功率、服務提供者和費用。

香港冷凍卵子的法規:儲存限制和婚姻要求

在香港,法律容許出於醫學原因(癌症治療)或選擇性原因(尚未準備生育)進行冷凍卵子。冷凍卵子最多可保存10年,或者直到卵子擁有人年滿55歲為止,以較先者為準。儘管女性可以在未婚時冷凍卵子,但必須注意,冷凍卵子只能在卵子擁有人根據香港法律合法結婚(非同性伴侶)的情況下才能使用。

冷凍卵子過程:刺激卵巢、取出、冷凍

排卵的過程與體外受精相同,只是沒有將卵子和精子結合來形成胚胎的步驟。希望將卵子冷凍的女性需要注射激素,大約需要10-12天,刺激卵巢排出更多卵。產生的卵子越多,最終成功的機會就越高。利用超聲波探頭,經過陰道穿到卵巢中取出卵子。取出的卵子在實驗室中通過“玻璃化”的過程進行冷凍,可以冷凍保存多年。

冷凍卵子的最佳年齡

越早越好。隨著年齡的增長,卵子的數量和質素都會下降。當女士越年輕的時候進行冷凍卵子,就能取出愈多卵子,而且亦需要愈少的卵子來製造胚胎。正如陳世樂醫生所解釋:“對於大多數女性來說,在20多歲/30多歲時冷凍卵子效果最好,而對於38歲以上的女性則效果會減低。根據卵子的質素和其他因素,應該為每一次的未來懷孕計劃儲存6至8個卵子。”

卵子冷凍效果:玻璃化更好

直到2012年,卵子冷凍仍被認為是實驗性的。一種稱為玻璃化的新冷凍方法提高了卵子冷凍的安全性和有效性。卵子裡充滿水分,隨著水分凍結,它會膨脹並經常會對卵子造成破壞。玻璃化速凍法瞬間凍結卵子,並從卵細胞中除去水分,從而降低了這種風險。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

卵子冷凍成功率的數據

用冷凍卵子生出孩子的比例很低。最可靠的統計數據來自英國 – 2013年,是最新而可獲得的年度數據,根據數據,693個卵子被解凍,其中11個女性成功分娩。這項技術日新月異,因此有關冷凍卵子成功率的統計數據需要進一步整理 – 目前正在植入冷凍卵子的女性皆使用混合了“舊”冷凍方法和“新”玻璃化速冷方法的卵子。

根據陳世樂醫生“重要的是要明白到不應該100%依靠卵子冷凍。我建議將其作為計劃B,而不是計劃A。” 儘管有些生育中心的卵子冷凍成功率與傳統的體外人工受精﹝IVF﹞成功率相當接近,但在提供可靠的數字之前還需要更多數據確實。

卵子冷凍需要一系列工序:並不容易

這就像進行一輪IVF一樣,但最後並沒有實際的胚胎移植。通常,第一階段會進行血液檢查和超聲波檢查,以評估您是否是適合進行卵子冷凍。第二階段是攝取激素藥物來刺激卵巢。您必須每天為自己(或家人/密友)注射藥物。您會接受超聲波和血液檢查,以評估排卵時間。第三階段是取卵程序。過程中您會處於輕度鎮靜狀態,之後可能會感到痙攣和腹脹。目的是凍結約20到30個卵子,以盡力提高成功率。

香港卵子冷凍選擇:公營和私家提供者

公營部門的選擇

出於社會原因,香港的公營醫療部門沒有凍結卵子服務。

私家部門的選擇

有關生育治療服務提供者的完整列表,請參閱 Healthy Matters Directory

香港卵子冷凍費用

在香港,卵子冷凍的費用平均在60,000港幣至160,000港幣之間。與您選擇的服務提供者聯繫以獲取完整費用明細,尋求費用透明度很重要。

卵子冷凍保險覆蓋

香港目前沒有保險計劃涵蓋選擇性卵子冷凍。

如果你正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

Dr. Patrick Sai Lock Chan 陳世樂醫生於墨爾本大學醫學院畢業。在皇家墨爾本醫院實習後,他返回香港為醫院管理局工作。他在公立醫院工作了10多年,並在期間完成了微創婦科手術方面的高級培訓。他在澳洲Monash IVF中心進一步從事生殖醫學專科的研究。目前,陳世樂醫生在私家診所從事產科護理和生育治療。

本文於2019年6月3日被審核和更新。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Your Guide to Egg Freezing in Hong Kong | What Women Need to Know About Preserving Their Fertility

No quite ready to have children yet but worried about your future fertility? Whether you are focused on your career or haven’t found the right partner, egg freezing – oocyte cryopreservation – preserves a woman’s eggs so she can try to conceive at a later date. Healthy Matters brings you a complete guide to egg freezing in Hong Kong. With reproductive medicine specialist Dr. Patrick Chan 陳世樂醫生, we cover it all: from best age and success rates to providers and costs.
 
 

Egg freezing legal framework in Hong Kong: storage limit and marriage requirement

In Hong Kong, egg freezing is allowed for both medical reasons (cancer treatment) and elective reasons (not yet ready to have children). Frozen eggs may be stored up to 10 years or until the patient reaches age 55, whichever comes first. While women can freeze their eggs when they are unmarried, it is important to note that the frozen eggs can only be used if the patient is legally married under Hong Kong law (not same-sex couples).
 
 

Egg freezing process: stimulation, harvesting and freezing

The process to harvest eggs is the same as in vitro fertilization, without the final step of combining the egg and sperm to create an embryo. A woman wanting to have her eggs frozen takes hormonal stimulants for 10-12 days to encourage a higher-than-usual rate of egg production. The more eggs produced, the higher the chances the end result will be successful. Eggs are harvested from the ovaries using an ultrasound-guided probe through the vagina. Harvested eggs are frozen in a laboratory through a process called ‘vitrification’ and can be stored frozen for many years.
 
 

Egg freezing timing: best age to have your eggs frozen

The earlier, the better. As women age, both the quantity and quality of their eggs decline. The younger a woman is when her eggs are harvested and frozen, the more eggs will be harvested and fewer will be required to produce a viable embryo. As explained by Dr. Patrick Chan: “for most women, egg freezing works best in their 20s/30s and is not as effective for women over 38. Depending on the quality of the eggs and other factors, 6 to 8 eggs should be stored for each future pregnancy attempt.
 
 

Egg freezing effectiveness: vitrification is better

Until 2012, egg freezing was considered experimental. A new freezing process, known as vitrification, has increased the safety and effectiveness of egg freezing. Eggs are full of water and as that water freezes, it expands and often causes damage. Vitrification flash freezes the egg and removes the water from egg cells, reducing this risk.
 
 

Egg freezing success rates: the data

The rates of women giving birth to a baby from a frozen egg are low. The most reliable statistics are from the UK – in 2013, the latest year data is available, 693 eggs were thawed and from those, 11 women gave birth. The technology is rapidly changing so statistics on egg freezing successes require a bit of unpacking – the women being implanted with frozen eggs at the moment are using eggs that were preserved with a mix of the ‘old’ freezing methods and the ‘new’ vitrification methods.
 
According to Dr. Patrick Chan, “it is important to understand that egg freezing should not be perceived as something you can rely on 100%. I advise for it as a plan B, not a plan A.” While some fertility centers quote egg freezing success rates that are comparable to conventional IVF success rates, more data is needed before giving reliable numbers.
 
 

Egg freezing requires work: it’s not easy

It’s like doing a round of IVF but without the actual embryo transfer in the end. Usually the first stage is spent on blood tests and ultrasounds to assess whether you are a good candidate. The second stage is spent taking hormonal medicine to stimulate your ovaries. These are daily injections you will have to give yourself (or a family member/close friend). You are monitored with ultrasound and blood tests to evaluate ovulation timing. The third stage is the egg retrieval procedure. You will be under light sedation and may feel cramping and bloating afterwards. The objective is to freeze around 20 to 30 eggs to maximize success rates.
 
 

Egg freezing options in Hong Kong: public and private providers

 

Public sector options

Egg freezing for social reasons is not covered by the public health system in Hong Kong.
 

Private sector options

See Healthy Matters Directory for a complete list of fertility treatment providers.
 
 

Egg freezing costs in Hong Kong

The cost of social egg freezing in Hong Kong ranges from $60,000 – $160,000. It’s important to contact your provider for a complete breakdown of fees.
 
 

Egg freezing insurance in Hong Kong

There is currently no insurance plan in Hong Kong that covers elective egg freezing.
 
 

Dr. Patrick Sai Lock Chan 陳世樂醫生 graduated from the University of Melbourne medical school. After completing residency at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, he returned to Hong Kong to work for Hospital Authority. He worked for more than 10 years in public sector and during this period completed higher training in minimal invasive gynecological surgery. He has further sub-specialized in reproductive medicine at the Monash IVF Centre, Australia. Currently, Dr. Patrick Chan is in private practice providing obstetrics care and fertility treatment.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.