什麼是牙齒矯正科治療?

您想在香港看牙齒矯正科牙醫嗎?這是您的牙齒矯正科治療香港指南。牙科是一個廣泛的醫學領域,它的目標是改善口腔健康,但是牙醫和牙齒矯正科牙醫之間有些不同之處。要記住的是,牙齒矯正科牙醫專門從事特定的治療,例如矯正錯位的牙齒和頜骨(稱為錯咬合不正)。

我們與香港的牙齒矯正科黃淑興牙醫Dr. Louise Wong更進一步的了解牙齒矯正科這個領域

您能簡單地解釋一下在香港看牙齒矯正科牙醫和看牙醫的區別嗎?

香港的牙齒矯正科牙醫和普通牙醫有很多相似之處 – 他們都努力幫助您改善口腔健康,但需要注意的是,牙齒矯正科牙醫和普通牙醫提供不同的服務。實際上,他們提供的服務是完全不同的 – 這就是牙齒矯正科牙醫與普通牙醫不同的地方。這類似於您的普通科醫生和皮膚科醫生(或其他醫學專家)之類的專科醫生之間的區別。

香港的牙齒矯正科牙醫是具資格的牙醫,他們首先要完成3年的全日制牙齒矯正科學位,然後再進行3年的高級牙齒矯正科培訓,最終獲得香港醫學院的認可。換句話說,您需要在牙科學校畢業後繼續學習6年,才能獲得牙齒矯正科專家的資格。

因為我們專門研究牙合,所以牙齒矯正科牙醫擁有更深入的知識來提供精確的治療方法,並根據患者的個人需求和問題選擇最佳的解決方法。作為專家,我們需要知道關於牙箍的所有最新發展,以及它們的局限​​性。

在香港,牙齒矯正服務費用的差異十分大的主要原因是普通牙醫(不是此領域的專家)也能為患者提供牙齒矯正治療。

香港大約有2,200名牙醫,但是只有3-4%的牙醫具有牙齒矯正科專家的資格。如果您有心臟問題,您比較可能會去找心臟病專家而不是家庭醫生來治療 – 牙齒矯正治療也一樣。請記住,您只有一組恒齒,因此如果您想戴牙箍,那麼在香港看牙齒矯正科牙醫是值得的

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

牙齒矯正科牙醫到底是做​​什麼呢?在香港,身為牙齒矯正科牙醫,您的專長是什麼?

香港的牙齒矯正科牙醫是該領域的專家,專門研究、預防和治療牙齒和臉部的不規則,以幫助正確調整牙齒、咬合和頜骨,包括矯正彎曲的牙齒。

我們的患者有各種各樣的問題。最常見的是牙齒彎曲且由於牙齒而難以刷牙。很多人對服務有需求是出於外表,因為大多數人只是注意到自己的前牙是否整齊。但是,牙齒矯正科牙醫不但要看整排牙齒,還要看頜骨、面部輪廓、咬合和整體功能。因此,在患者開始治療之前與患者進行良好的溝通很重要,以了解他們希望用牙箍實現的目標,以及是否有可能達到他們的期望。您還必須評估矯正治療對患者嘴唇輪廓的影響。與亞洲人相比,歐洲人和白人的嘴唇更薄,更平整,因此對他們要避免使用會導致臉部或嘴唇下陷的拔牙方法。另一方面,中國人的嘴唇較厚、更飽滿和突出 – 因此對於這些患者,從美學角度而言,拔牙的選項可能會更適合。

作為牙齒矯正科牙醫,我們將牙齒移動到骨骼中,因此最困難的情況實際上是頜骨有問題的患者。太大/太小或偏向一側的頜骨都會限制我們移動牙齒的方向。如果頜骨問題很嚴重,則需要在頜骨上做手術和戴牙套來固定咬合。

在我的診所中,我們提供各種類型的治療方式,可移動式到固定式的設備都有。我唯一不提供的治療方法是舌側矯正器,它是固定在牙齒後部的一種金屬矯正器。就個人而言,我發現當矯正器位於牙齒後部時,患者確實很難正確清潔牙齒。因此,如果患者想要“隱形”牙箍,我會提供可移動式的透明塑料矯正器。

小朋友幾大才能見牙齒矯正科牙醫?

香港矯齒學會以及英美矯齒協會建議兒童在7歲之前去看牙齒矯正科牙醫進行初次矯齒評估。這可以使牙齒矯正科牙醫判斷是否需要治療,以及那是最佳開始治療的時間。對於某些患者,短期治療可能有助於避免問題惡化,我們將其稱為“預防性矯正治療”。

在其他情況下,最好等小朋友大多數的恆牙都長出來後,等待並觀察他們的成長和牙齒發育過程,並在必要時戴上牙箍。對於一些有頜骨問題的患者,實際上等待是最好的。等兒童的牙齒停止成長了再開始接受治療會比較好。

如今,我們看到許多小朋友向父母要求要戴牙箍(我11歲的女兒就是其中之一),但這不僅在於戴上牙套和擁有整齊的牙齒。孩子們需要知道他們要擔起的責任和承諾 – 如果他們不知道,風險可能大於收益。與我女兒商量之後,她告訴我她並不能保證自己在戴牙箍後可以刷乾淨牙齒,因此我們決定等到一年後再給她戴。我也是兩週前才給她戴上牙箍的。

香港的牙齒矯正科牙醫可以改善任何年齡患者的大多數牙齒和頜骨問題,但是對於要達到更好的改善效果和治療時間,通常存在一個“最佳治療年齡”。因為每個患者的矯齒問題和成長方面都不同,所以“最佳治療年齡”對於每個患者都是不同的。因此,一旦發現有可能的問題,立即諮詢您的牙齒矯正科牙醫是最好的。

成年人接受矯齒治療是否會太遲?在香港,牙齒矯正科牙醫最常使用哪種治療幫助成人呢?

只要牙齒和牙齦健康,不論患者的年齡矯齒治療都可以移動牙齒。我最大的病人是75歲。美國矯齒協會最近的一份報告指矯齒患者中有五分之一超過21歲。與20年前相比,牙套在社會上的接受度越來越高,因此越來越多的成年人在尋求矯齒治療。在某種程度上,箍牙潮是明星掀起的。著名運動員塞琳娜·威廉姆斯(Serena Williams)和歌手姬莉米洛(Kylie Minogue)都曾經戴過比較明顯的固定式金屬或陶瓷牙套。除了美容方面的好處,整齊的牙齒也會提高您的自信心。香港矯齒學會對18至40歲的青少年進行了一項網上調查發現,在牙齒不整齊的人中,80%承認自己的自卑感影響了他們的社交生活。此調查還發現,在牙齒整齊的人中,有22%的人會猶豫要不要僱用或約會牙齒不整齊的人。

牙齒矯正科的進步意味著如今的矯齒器更加仔細和緊密,這對於希望保持低調的成年患者而言是理想的。賈斯汀比伯(Justin Bieber)和科洛卡戴珊(Khloe Kardashian)都選擇了可移動的透明塑料對準器來矯正牙齒。結婚前,我自己有一個可移動的隱形牙套,與我十幾歲時用的固定金屬製牙套完全不同。

唯一可能阻止成年人戴牙套的因素是他們患有活動性牙周病。牙周疾病是當牙齦和支撐牙齒的骨骼受感染,如果不及時治療可能會導致牙齒脫落。當牙齒患有活躍性炎症時還時常搖動它的話會導致牙齒周圍的骨質流失,讓牙齒更鬆弛,甚至會嚴重到掉落。由於牙周病是一種無聲疾病,因此很多患者都在牙齒開始變鬆或出現以前沒有的牙縫時才意識到自己有問題。香港衛生署在2011年進行的口腔健康調查顯示,在35-44歲的成年人中,只有1%的人的牙齦是健康的,而40%的人患有初期牙周疾病。但是,這並不是一個壞消息,只要牙周病得到治療和控制,您仍然可以戴上牙套,有時這也是最理想的情況,因為牙套可以將牙齒移動到更易於清潔的位置。

在矯齒護理方面有什麼新奇的進展嗎?

矯正領域中最深刻的變化是在牙齒矯正科的辦公室中使用電子科技。電子X-Ray已成為現在的標準,使鎳鈦矯正線即時存取圖像。更重要的是,對患者而言,輻射量可以更少。越來越多的牙齒矯正牙醫也在使用3D成像來創建頭部和頜骨的三維模型,這使診斷和推薦治療方法及操作程序變得更加容易。我們的辦公室使用3D口腔掃描儀,可以在無輻射的情況下對牙齒進行完美的電子掃描,並允許我們為患者度身定造固定器和矯正器。

當今技術的進步意味著牙齒矯正牙醫還可以為患者提供比以往更多的矯齒選擇。甚至鐵軌類型的金屬支架也變得更緊密、更摩登也比較不明顯。我們不再使用彩色橡筋來將鐵線連接到金屬支架上,而是使用較新的“自綁紮”牙套,這些牙箍像小型鐵門,不需要用橡筋來固定鐵線。這消除了使用傳統牙箍所帶來的痛楚。在大多數情況下,自綁紮牙套也不需要牙科頭套或其他矯齒零件。

我們使用的鐵線採用了NASA技術,使它更輕、更舒適。我們使用的鎳鈦矯正線具有形狀記憶功能,可以使牙齒更輕快的移動,並且不需要一直調整。它們還具有熱活性,意思是當您吃或喝冷的食物或飲料時,金屬絲會變得更柔軟,牙齒也就不會感受到有壓力了。

對於要求牙箍不明顯的患者(大多數是成年人),您可以選擇戴有牙齒顏色的陶瓷自結紮牙套,而不是金屬牙套,以及隱形、可移動的牙套。透明矯正器(例如Invisalign®)是一系列個人化的透明及可移動式的牙套,這些牙套使用3D電腦成像技術定製而成,可以貼在您的牙齒上。它們可以使牙齒整齊,幾乎看不見,因此您可以在治療過程中和治療後輕鬆微笑。您需要戴大約一到兩週,而只有在進食、喝水、刷牙和使用牙線的時候才可以把矯正器拿下。要使Invisalign發揮功能,您需要乖乖的每天佩戴矯正器20-22小時。當您替換到這系列裡的下一個矯正器時,您的牙齒將會每週緩慢而移動一次,直到它們被拉正確的位置上為止。

儘管Invisalign®之類的牙套比傳統牙套有許多優勢,但事實是,它並不適合所有人。在一些情況下,固定式的牙套可能比Invisalign®更有效,更容易預測。因此,諮詢牙齒矯正牙醫是很重要的,以確定哪種治療最適合您的個人需求。

在香港,矯齒治療的費用和時間大概是多少?

每個人的嘴都是獨特的,因此矯齒治療的時間因患者而異。您的年齡、選擇的治療類型、案件的嚴重程度和配合程度都會影響您接受治療的時間,其他因素,例如生物學因素,也有著相當大的影響。每個病人都是不同的,牙齒也都是在不同的速度上移動。平均而言,治療時間可以是12-36個月。但是,如果您經常發生牙套脫落的緊急情況不善戴矯正器或由於刷牙不良而牙齦發炎,那麼您的治療時間可能會更長。治療費用要看使用的器具類型案件的嚴重程度,以及您選擇在香港看牙醫或是牙齒矯正牙醫而定,費用通常在30,000港幣至150,000港幣之間。

如果我的牙套是在其他國家安裝的,會影響香港的牙齒矯正牙醫治療嗎?

如果您打算進行矯齒治療,請在開始治療之前考慮一下完成矯齒治療所需的時間。在大多數情況下,從一名牙齒矯正牙醫轉到另一名牙齒矯正牙醫會導致更長的治療時間。那是因為每個牙齒矯正牙醫都有自己的一套放置支架的方式,或者是他們會用不同器具來達到目標。我曾經有一位病人來,他從3個不同的國家搬來,而他10年後仍然戴著固定式牙套。

並非香港的每個牙齒矯正牙醫都會接受轉手案件,因此,我的建議是向您所在國家的牙齒矯正牙醫查詢所有以前和當前的記錄,並通過電子郵件將資料傳給新的香港牙齒矯正牙醫,看他們是否熟悉該治療系統並願意與您見面作諮詢。

如何在香港選擇牙齒矯正牙醫?您認為香港的牙齒矯正科哪方面需要改進?

我是一名牙齒矯正牙醫,也是一名母親。我對選擇牙齒矯正牙醫的建議與我為自己或家人選擇任何專業服務時會使用的建議相同。首先,最重要的是牙齒矯正牙醫是否具備有資格。由於牙齒矯正牙醫都是經過專門培訓以及有著豐富的經驗,因此牙齒矯正牙醫有能力能辨認出簡單與複雜的案件。同樣重要的是,當案件變得更具挑戰性時(例如,使用Invisalign的案件的發展不似預期),牙齒矯正牙醫已充分準備好在出現意外時提供適當的處理。

第二個因素是您是否與香港的牙齒矯正牙醫有著融洽的關係。良好的矯齒護理需要有著開放式雙向交流。您應該對給您的治療建議感到滿意和有信心,並了解它們的局限性。如果您在離開牙齒矯正牙醫辦公室後感到困惑並有未解決的問題,請考慮慎重。

最後,像在其他任何地方一樣,在香港選擇合適的牙齒矯正牙醫是個人的決定,要找一個您可以信任的牙齒矯正牙醫、一個令您感到舒適的環境中為您提供所需的治療。如有疑問,請考慮其他選項。畢竟美好又健康的微笑是終生的投資,您需要確保自己做最好的選擇。

The Regulation of Doctors and Health Professionals in Hong Kong: Are You in Safe Hands?

如果你正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2296 9773 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Your Orthodontic Care Options in Hong Kong

Dentistry is a broad medical field and while the ultimate goal is to improve oral health, there are differences between dentistry and orthodontists. The main point to note is that orthodontists specialize in treatments such as correcting misaligned teeth and jaws called malocclusions or bites.
 
We checked in with Orthodontist Dr. Louise Wong 黃淑興牙醫 on the different aspects regarding this field of dentistry.
 
 

Can you explain what the difference is between an orthodontist and a dentist in simple terms?

Orthodontists and general dentists share many similarities – they both work hard to help you improve your oral health, but it is important to note that an orthodontist and general dentist do not provide identical services. In fact, the services they offer are quite different-specialization is what sets an Orthodontist apart from a general dentist. It’s similar to the difference between your GP medical doctor and a specialist physician like a dermatologist (or any other medical specialist).
 
Orthodontists in Hong Kong are qualified dentists who complete a three year full time Master’s degree in Orthodontics first, followed by another 3 years of advanced orthodontic training leading to a fellowship in the Hong Kong Medical College. In other words, you need 6 years of further studies after dental school to qualify as a Specialist in Orthodontics.
 
Because we specialize in malocclusions, orthodontists have more in-depth knowledge to deliver precise treatment and choose the best option tailored to the patient’s individual needs and problems. As specialists, we are up to date with all the latest advances in dental braces and also the limitations of what can or cannot be achieved.
 
The main reason why the cost of orthodontic services varies so widely in Hong Kong is that general dentists – who are not specialists in the field – provide orthodontic treatment for their patients as well.
 
In Hong Kong, there are around 2,200 dentists but only 3-4% are qualified as Specialist in Orthodontics. If you have a heart problem, chances are you will go to see a cardiologist for your treatment rather than your family medical doctor – it is the same for Orthodontic treatment. Remember, you only have one set of permanent teeth, so it’s worthwhile to see an Orthodontist if you are thinking of having braces.
 
 

What does an orthodontist do exactly, furthermore what are your specialties?

Orthodontists are experts in their field, specializing in the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of dental and facial irregularities to help correctly align teeth, bites and jaws including straightening crooked teeth.
 
We have patients coming in with a whole host of problems; the most common ones being crooked teeth and difficulty in brushing due to the crowding. A lot of the demand is cosmetic, as most people only really notice whether their front teeth are straight or not. Orthodontist however, look at the whole package, not just the teeth but the jaws, the facial profile, bite and function. That’s why it’s important to have a good communication with the patient before they start treatment to see what they hope to achieve with braces and whether it’s possible to meet their expectations. You also have to assess the effects of orthodontic treatment on the patients lip profile. European and Caucasian patients have thinner and flatter lips compared to their Asian counterparts, so it’s important to try and avoid extractions which would make the face or lips sink in. On the other hand, Chinese people have thicker lips which are more full and protrusive – so an extraction option might be more aesthetically pleasing for these patients.
 
As Orthodontists, we move teeth in bone, so the most difficult cases are really the patients that have problems with their jaws. Jaws that are too small/large or deviated to one side, etc. can all limit the direction that we could move the teeth. If the jaw problem is severe, then jaw surgery in combination with braces would be required to fix the bite.
 
In my practice, we provide all types of treatment from removable to fixed appliances. The only treatment I don’t provide are Lingual braces, which are the fixed metal braces fixed to the back of the teeth. Personally, I found that patients have real difficulty cleaning their teeth properly when the appliances are at the back of the teeth, so now I offer the clear plastic removable appliances if patients really want their braces to be “invisible”.
 
 

What is the age at which children can start orthodontic care?

The Hong Kong Society of Orthodontists as well as the British and American Association of Orthodontists all recommend that children should see an orthodontist for an initial orthodontic assessment no later than the age of 7. This allows the orthodontist to determine if treatment is required and the best time to start. For some patients a short phase of treatment might be beneficial to intercept the problem before it gets worse, we call this “interceptive orthodontics”.
 
In other instances, it is better to wait and monitor the child’s growth and dental development and place braces on (if needed) when the majority of the permanent teeth have come through. There are also some patients with jaw issues where it is actually best to wait and not start any treatment at all until the child stops growing. 
 
Nowadays, we see a lot of kids asking their parents for braces (my eleven-year old daughter is one of them), but it is not just about putting the braces on and having straight teeth. Children need to know that it is a responsibility and a commitment on their part – if not, the risks can outweigh the benefits. After discussing with my daughter, she told me that she wasn’t confident of brushing well with the braces on, so she decided to wait until this year. I just put her braces on two weeks ago.
 
As orthodontists, we can improve most tooth and jaw problems at any age but there is usually a ‘best age’ to start treatment in terms of the amount of improvement that can be achieved and the treatment time it takes. Because every patient is different, in terms of their orthodontic problem and growth considerations, the ‘best age’ to start treatment is different for every patient. Therefore the best time for a consultation with your orthodontist is as soon as a possible problem is noticed.
 
 

As for adults, is it ever too late to receive any treatment? What are the popular orthodontic treatments for adults?

Orthodontic treatment can move teeth, whatever the patient’s age, as long as the teeth and gums are healthy. My oldest patient is 75 years old. A recent report by the American Association of Orthodontics said one out of five orthodontic patients is over age 21. Braces have become much more socially acceptable than it was 20 years ago, so more adults are seeking orthodontic treatment. In part, it is media driven with stars like Serena Williams and Kylie Minogue sporting the more obvious fixed metal or ceramic braces. Apart from the cosmetic advantage, having straight teeth can also affect your self-confidence. An online survey on 18-40 years old commissioned by The Hong Kong Society of Orthodontists found that 80% of people with crooked teeth reported low self-esteem which affected their social lives. The survey also found that 22% of those with normal teeth would be hesitant to hire or date someone with crooked teeth.
 
Advances in the orthodontic field mean that nowadays the appliances are more discrete and compact which is desirable for adult patients who want to be more low-key. Justin Bieber and Khloe Kardashian both chose the clear, removable, plastic aligners to correct their teeth. I had the removable invisible braces myself before I got married, which was totally different compared to the fixed metal ones I had as a teen.
 
The only factor which might prevent adults from having braces is if they have active periodontal disease. Periodontal disease is an infection of the gums and the bone that supports the teeth, which if left untreated can lead to tooth loss. Orthodontically moving teeth with active inflammation can cause further bone loss around the tooth leading to more tooth mobility and even worse, the teeth falling out. Since periodontal disease is a silent disease, some patients do not realize they have a problem until the teeth become mobile or they have gaps appearing which weren’t there several years ago. The 2011 Oral Health Survey conducted by the Department of Health in Hong Kong showed that only 1% of 35-44 year adults had healthy gums and 40% had the beginning of periodontal disease. But it is not all bad news, as long as the periodontal disease is treated and controlled you can still have braces and sometimes this is desirable because it moves teeth into positions that are more accessible to be cleaned. 
 
 

Are there any new and exciting developments in orthodontic care?

The most profound change in the orthodontic field has been the use of digital technology in the orthodontic office. Digital x-rays are now the standard, giving orthodontists immediate access to the images and more importantly for the patient, less radiation exposure. An increasing number of orthodontists are also using 3D imaging to create three-dimensional models of the head and jaw, which makes it easier to diagnose and recommend treatment and procedure options. Our office uses a 3D oral scanner which creates a perfect digital scan of the teeth without the radiation and allows us to manufacture retainers and appliances customized for the patient.
 
Today’s advances in technology means that orthodontists can also provide patients with more orthodontic options than ever before. Even the rail-track type of metal braces have become more compact, modern and less noticeable. Instead of using the color elastics to attach wires to the metal brackets, we use the newer Self-ligating braces, which are braces that have little metal doors to hold the wires instead of elastic ties. This eliminates the pressure and friction that has been known to cause excessive pain to patients that have been fitted with traditional braces in the past. In the majority of cases, self-ligating brackets also eliminates the need for headgear or other orthodontic components.
 
Even the wires we use incorporate NASA technology and are lighter and more comfortable. The Nickel-titanium wires we use have shape-memory which moves the teeth faster and require fewer adjustments. They are also thermo-active which means that the wire becomes softer and less pressure is exerted on your teeth if you eat or drink cold food or beverages.
 
For patients that require their braces to be less noticeable – mostly adults – you have the option of tooth colored, ceramic self-ligating braces instead of the metal ones, and also the invisible, removable braces. Clear aligners (such as Invisalign®) are a personalized series of clear, removable trays that are custom-made using 3D computer imaging technology to fit over your teeth. They work to straighten teeth and are nearly invisible, so you can smile with ease during and after treatment. You need to wear the aligners for approximately one or two weeks removing them only to eat, drink, brush, and floss. For Invisalign to work, you need to be disciplined and wear the aligners 20-22 hours a day. As you replace each aligner with the next in the series, your teeth will move slowly but surely week by week, until they have straightened to their final position.
 
While braces such as Invisalign® have a number of advantages over traditional braces, the truth is, it is not suitable for everyone and case selection is important. For some cases, the fixed appliances maybe more efficient and predictable than Invisalign®. That’s why it’s important to consult a Specialist in Orthodontics to determine which treatment would be most suitable for your individual needs.
 
 

How long and costly are orthodontic treatments in Hong Kong?

Everyone’s mouths are unique, so orthodontic treatment time can vary from patient to patient. While your age, the type of treatment you choose, the severity of your case and your level of compliance all play a role in how long you’ll be in treatment, other factors like biology factor in as well. Every patient is different and teeth move at different speeds. On average, the treatment time can be anywhere from 12-36 months. However, if you constantly have emergencies with braces coming off, wear your aligners poorly or have inflamed gums due to poor tooth brushing, then chances are your treatment time will take much longer. Treatment costs can vary depending on the type of appliances used, the severity of the case and whether your treated by a dentist or an Orthodontist and generally ranges from HK$30,000 to $150,000.
 
 

If my braces were installed in another country, how difficult is it to be treated in Hong Kong?

If you plan to have orthodontic treatment, then do consider the time it would take to complete it before starting the treatment. In the majority of cases, transferring from one orthodontist to another will always lead to longer treatment times. That’s because each orthodontist has his/her own way of placing the brackets on, or the type of appliances they would use to get from A to Z. I had one patient who came to see me, that had relocated from 3 different countries and he was still in fixed braces after ten years.
 
In Hong Kong, not every orthodontist would accept transfer cases, so my best advice would be to ask your orthodontist in your country for all previous and current records and email the new Orthodontist to see whether they are familiar with the system and willing to see you for a consultation first.
 
 

How would you recommend choosing an orthodontist in HK? In your opinion what are the improvements needed in this field specifically in Hong Kong?

I am an Orthodontist and also a mother. My advice on choosing an Orthodontist is the same advice I would use myself when I choose any professional services for myself or my family. First and foremost is whether the qualifications are there. Due to an orthodontist’s combination of specialized training and greater amount of experience, the orthodontist is more capable of recognizing the difference between a simple case and a complex one. Just as important, when a case becomes more challenging, (such as when Invisalign cases do not progress as expected), orthodontists are more prepared to properly handle unexpected problems as they arise.
 
The second factor is whether you have a rapport with the orthodontist. Good orthodontic care begins with open communication which works both ways. You should be comfortable and confident with the treatment recommendations given to you and understand their limitations. If you are confused and have unaddressed concerns after leaving the office, then consider that a warning sign.
 
At the end of the day choosing the right orthodontist is a personal decision and comes down to finding one that you can trust to give you the treatment you want in an environment that makes you feel comfortable. If in doubt, then always go for a second or third opinion. After all, a good and healthy smile is a lifelong investment and you want to make sure you get it right.
 
Looking for health insurance? Want to better understand your current plan or healthcare options in Hong Kong? Contact our partner AD MediLink now at hello@admedilink.hk or +852 2296 9773 for expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system to answer all your questions; on both the public and private sectors.
 
Dr. Louise Wong 黃淑興牙醫is a Specialist in Orthodontics at Pacific Dental & Orthodontic Care based in Central. She is registered as an Orthodontist in the UK and HK. A UK native, Dr. Wong has been a past council member of the Hong Kong Society of Orthodontics and an Honorary Assistant Professor in the Orthodontic department at Hong Kong University, teaching post-graduate students. She currently divides her time in private practice and being a mother to her two children.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.