氯奎因(Chloroquine)可對抗新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19):真的嗎?

現時網上和社交媒體上有大量關於新型冠狀病毒(Novel Coronavirus或COVID-19)的資訊及討論。在嚴肅的主題上,特別是在公共衛生問題上,我們認為大家必須尋求和接收真實、可靠及專業的資訊。 我們Healthy Matters的使命是為您提供最佳的醫療保健資訊,以便您為您和您的家人作出最佳選擇。


在過去幾星期內,兩種藥物突然成為了大家的焦點:氯奎因(Chloroquine)硫酸氯喹(Hydroxychloroquine)。氯奎因是一種已經存在了數十年的口服處方藥,那麼它為什麼突然成為每個人的熱話呢?這是因為很多人認為它可能是新型冠狀病毒(Novel Coronavirus或COVID-19)的正確治療方法。我們來調查一下是否屬實。

什麼是氯奎因(Chloroquine)和硫酸氯喹(Hydroxychloroquine)?

氯奎因於1934年被首次發現,但直到1949年才被作為臨床應用,因為它被認為毒性太強。最初它被引入來治療瘧疾,而現在醫生也會處方它來治療狼瘡和類風濕關節炎。

簡單來說,該藥物改變了病毒所駐留的細胞膜的pH值,阻止病毒釋放其遺傳物質及自我複製。

硫酸氯喹與氯奎因有密切關係,並具有相似的結構。它亦對治療狼瘡和類風濕關節炎有效。然而,它顯示出的毒性比氯奎因低,這就是為什麼有些人認為它帶來更多的希望。

藥物在疫情下的發展

2月在中國對100名感染新冠病毒的患者進行的初步研究顯示,與沒有用氯奎因作治療的組相比,氯奎因從有用到其作治療的組顯示出臨床和病毒學優勢。面臨氯奎因短缺的問題時,中國科學家開始用硫酸氯喹進行測試,並看到一些帶來希望的結果。氯奎因是目前正在進行、治療新冠病毒的臨床測試中的研究藥物。

之後,歐洲內有幾個國家亦已經開始自己的臨床測試。印尼宣布自己有300萬片氯奎因,可透過醫院經醫生處方而獲得,印尼亦將會生產更多氯奎因,以希望能夠幫助面對當前的危機。

在美國總統特朗普公開讚揚氯奎因的療效後,最近有一位亞利桑那州居民在試圖用該藥進行自我治療時死亡而引起了人們的憂慮。據說是由於死者服藥過量。同時,美國的一些醫院已開始讓患者使用氯奎因。

很多人認為這可能為時過早,因為大家仍在等待正在進行的試驗的結果,而且尚未獲得美國食品藥物管理局的批准。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

氯奎因(Chloroquine)能治療新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)嗎?

法國對於該藥物有著激烈的辯論。3月16日,馬賽大學附設醫院研究所的Didier Raoult教授宣布,他的研究小組已經用硫酸氯喹治療了25名患者。他指出,六日後,只有四分之一的人仍有感染病毒,而還未服用該藥的患者中有90%仍然受感染。Didier Raoult教授認為,氯奎因是一種便宜而簡單的治療選擇,因此應該用於治療所有或大多數病人,並可以挽救數千人的生命。其他科學家則認為,僅應在罕見的新冠病毒嚴重病例中才使用它。

法國政府於3月26日作出最新決定,允許醫生為感染新冠病毒的患者開硫酸氯喹的處方(商品名為Plaquenil)。

重要的是要留意,即使通常氯奎因和硫酸氯喹的耐受性很好(當醫生在已知情況下開處方時),它們也會引起一系列副作用。最常見的是:胃痛、嘔吐、頭痛,在少數情況下:心律不正、肌肉損傷和視網膜損害或病變。

最後,在廣泛應用該類藥物之前,進一步的研究還是需要的,但它目前仍然是治療新冠病毒的一種選擇。我們將會密切關注任何事態發展。

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Your Daily Update

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Chloroquine: Can it Cure COVID-19?

There has been an explosion of information, comments and opinions on COVID-19 on the internet and social media. We believe that on serious topics in general, and on public health matters in particular, it is essential to rely on facts and seek credible, expert information. Our mission at Healthy Matters remains to bring you the best information, so you can make the best choices for you and your family. 


In the last weeks, two drugs have popped up on everyone’s radar: chloroquine and hydroxychloroquine. Chloroquine is an oral prescription drug that’s been around for decades, so why is everyone suddenly talking about it? Many believe that it could be the right treatment for COVID-19. We investigate.

Chloroquine and Hydroxychloroquine: What are they?

Chloroquine was first discovered in 1934 but wasn’t introduced into clinical practice until 1949 because it was considered too toxic. Originally introduced to treat malaria, it is now also prescribed by doctors to treat lupus and rheumatoid arthritis amongst others.

To make it simple, the drug changes the pH of the cell membrane in which the virus resides, stopping it from releasing its genetic material and replicating itself.

Hydroxychloroquine is closely related to chloroquine and shares a similar structure. It is effective in treating lupus and rheumatoid arthritis. However it shows lower toxicity than chloroquine which is why some believe it might even be more promising.

Recent developments 

Preliminary research conducted in China in February on 100 patients infected with COVID-19 suggested that chloroquine provides clinical and virologic advantages, compared with a non-treatment group. When Chinese scientists were faced with a shortage of chloroquine, they began testing with hydroxychloroquine and saw some promising results. Chloroquine is currently an investigational agent under clinical trials for the treatment of COVID-19.

Several countries in Europe have since began their own clinical trials. Indonesia announced it has secured 3 million chloroquine tablets to be available in hospitals under prescription, and that it will also produce chloroquine in hopes it can help the current crisis. 

Concerns were raised recently when an Arizona resident died while attempting to self medicate with the drug, after Donald Trump widely praised its effectiveness. It is believed that more than one person have overdosed. Meanwhile, some hospitals in the US have began administering chloroquine to patients.

Many advise it might be premature as we are still awaiting results from ongoing trials, and it has not been approved yet by the FDA.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Can they cure COVID-19?

One country where there has been a very intense public debate is France. On March 16, Professor Didier Raoult, the head of a university hospital institute in Marseille, declared his teams had treated 25 patients with hydroxychloroquine. He said that after six days, only 1 in 4 still had the virus while 90 percent of the patients who had not taken the drug were still infected. Professour Raoult maintains that chloroquine is a cheap and simple treatment options which should be used to treat all or most patients, and could save thousands of lives. Other scientists believe that it should only be used in rarer, serious cases of COVID-19.

In the latest twist, the French government decided on March 26 to allow doctors to prescribe hydroxychloroquine (under the commercial name Plaquenil) to patients infected by COVID-19.

It is important to note that if chloroquine and hydroxychloroquine are generally well tolerated (when prescribed by doctors for known conditions), they can also cause an array of side effects. Most commonly: stomach pain, vomiting, headaches and in rarer cases: irregular heartbeat, muscle damage and retinal toxicity. 

Ultimately, further research needs to be carried out before it can be administered widely but it remains an option for treating COVID-19. We will be keeping a close eye on any developments. 

Coronavirus (COVID-19): Your Daily Update

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.