狼瘡:在香港哪裡可以尋求協助

5月10日是世界狼瘡日,目標是提高人們對全身性紅斑狼瘡(SLE)(最常見的狼瘡形式)的認識。男性和女性都可以患有狼瘡,但女性更常見。在香港,狼瘡主要影響育齡婦女。 Healthy Matters參加了2017年12月舉行的第一版《我的狼瘡日記》活動,並與風濕病學家Dr. Carrel Yu 余嘉龍醫生進行了交談,以進一步了解影響近0.1%香港人口的疾病。

什麼是全身性紅斑狼瘡?

全身性紅斑狼瘡是一種全身性自身免疫性疾病,會影響身體的多個組織和器官。狼瘡的最常見的症狀包括無法解釋的皮疹,關節痛/關節炎和口腔潰瘍。其他全身性紅斑狼瘡症狀包括極度疲勞、發燒、脫髮、貧血和光敏性增加。如您所見,全身性紅斑狼瘡的症狀範圍相當廣泛-毫不奇怪,狼瘡有時被稱為“模仿者”,因為通常會被誤解為其他疾病。

疾病的嚴重程度和症狀因患者而異。皮膚症狀的範圍從輕度皮疹,幾乎不需要任何治療,嚴重到發炎和需要皮質類固醇治療。

處理全身性紅斑狼瘡的症狀

毫無疑問,全身性紅斑狼瘡會對個人的身體、心理和社交以及生活質量產生巨大影響。全身性紅斑狼瘡患者通常會經歷與器官功能受損、骨骼退化和腎臟疾病相關的慢性疼痛。

根據余醫生的認知,全身性紅斑狼瘡的關節痛通常不是很嚴重,但提醒我們它可能是潛在風濕病的一種現象。某些全身性紅斑狼瘡患者可能患有嚴重的關節炎,導致手指關節疼痛和腫脹。這些患者可以首先嘗試使用撲熱息痛作為對症控制。輕微的鍛煉通常會改善疼痛和僵硬。如果關節炎持續存在,風濕病學家可能會考慮使用非類固醇消炎藥(NSAID)或疾病改良劑,例如必賴克瘻(plaquenil)

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

自體免疫性疾病和風濕病學家

自體免疫性疾病是一種廣泛的疾病,患者的免疫系統會開始攻擊健康組織。全身性紅斑狼瘡患者會接受風濕病醫生的護理,風濕病醫生通常會負責照顧患有自身免疫或免疫介導疾病的患者。

在香港,人們有一個誤解,認為風濕病醫生只照顧與關節炎等老年疾病有關的關節問題。實際上,風濕病學家照顧的患者範圍廣泛,只要患者有影響關節和軟組織的問題。

如果您有無法解釋的長期關節疼痛和/或無法解釋的皮疹,請諮詢您的全科醫生。必要時,您的全科醫生可以將您轉介至公立或私家診所中的風濕病專家。

狼瘡支援 – 我的狼瘡日記

如果您想對在香港的狼瘡有更多的了解,可以加入“我的狼瘡日記”。它的創始人Sapphire Shen 沈仲文指,她的目標是為狼瘡患者提供一個在線平台,以共享和交流資訊及經驗。他們也希望通過不同的活動,例如聚會、拍照、媒體採訪和展覽等,分享故事和相關資訊,以提高香港對狼瘡的認識。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

Dr. Carrel Yu 余嘉龍醫生是一名風濕病科醫生,在香港自身免疫和風濕病科中心執業。她是香港中文大學的名譽臨床助理教授,英國皇家內科醫學院的成員,並且是香港內科醫學院和香港醫學專科學院的研究員。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Lupus in Hong Kong: Where to Find Support

Last updated on July 29, 2021.

May 10th is World Lupus Day, an event that aims to create more awareness about systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE), the most common form of lupus. SLE can occur in both men and women but is more common in women. In Hong Kong, SLE mainly affects women of reproductive age. Healthy Matters spoke with My Lupus Diary and to rheumatologist Dr. Carrel Yu 余嘉龍醫生, to understand more about a condition that affects nearly 0.1% of the Hong Kong population.

What is SLE?

SLE is a systemic, autoimmune disease that affects multiple tissues and organs in the body. The most common symptoms for SLE include unexplained skin rashes, joint pain/arthritis and mouth ulcers. Other lupus symptoms include extreme fatigue, fever, hair loss, anaemia, and photosensitivity. As you can see, the range of symptoms you can experience with lupus are fairly varied – unsurprisingly, lupus is sometimes called “the great imitator” as it’s often interpreted as something else.

The severity of the disease and symptoms vary per patient. Skin symptoms can range from mild skin rashes that barely need any treatment to severe inflammation that require corticosteroids treatment.

Managing SLE symptoms

Unsurprisingly, SLE can have a huge impact on an individual’s physical, psychological and social well-being and quality of life. Individuals with SLE often experience chronic pain associated with impaired organ function, bone degradation and kidney disease.

According to Dr. Yu, joint pain in SLE is usually not very severe but it reminds us that it can be a manifestation of underlying rheumatic diseases. Certain lupus patients may have significant arthritis, resulting in finger joints pain and swelling. These patients can try paracetamol first as symptomatic control. Pain and stiffness usually improve with mild exercise. If arthritis persists, rheumatologists may consider non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) or disease modifying agents, like plaquenil.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

Advertisements

Autoimmune diseases and rheumatologists

Autoimmune diseases are a broad group of diseases in which a person’s immune system starts attacking their healthy tissue. SLE patients fall under the care of rheumatologists, who generally take care of patients who suffer from autoimmune or immune-mediated diseases.

In Hong Kong, there is a misconception that rheumatologists only take care of joint problems, associated with elderly diseases such as arthritis. In fact, rheumatologists care for a wide range of patients who suffer from issues affecting their joints and soft tissues.

It’s important that if you have unexplained prolonged joint pain and/or unexplained skin rashes, you consult your GP. You can be referred to a rheumatologist in either the public or private system by your GP, if necessary.

Lupus Support – My Lupus Diary

If you are interested in learning more about lupus in Hong Kong, you can join My Lupus Diary. Its founder, Sapphire Shen 沈仲文, says that her community aims at providing an online platform for Lupus patients to share and exchange information and their experiences. They also hope to raise awareness of lupus in Hong Kong by sharing stories and related information through different activities, such as gatherings, photoshoots, media interviews and exhibitions etc.

—-

Looking for health insurance for yourselfyour familyyour employees? For expert advice and top-notch service, contact Alea now at [email protected], call +852 2606 2668receive a free quote or schedule a call with them. An advisor uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system will be in touch to answer all your questions about health insurance and healthcare.

—-

Dr. Carrel Yu 余嘉龍醫生 is a rheumatologist practicing at the Hong Kong Autoimmune and Rheumatic Diseases Centre. She Is an Honorary Clinical Assistant Professor at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, a member of Royal College of Physicians (United Kingdom), and fellow of both the Hong Kong College of Physicians and Hong Kong Academy of Medicine (Medicine).
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.