懷孕期間接種流感疫苗 | 常見問題

根據香港衞生署衞生防護中心轄下的疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會,孕婦有資格優先接種流感疫苗。政府已為孕婦推出了免費或資助流感疫苗計劃,以鼓勵疫苗接種,同時保護孕婦免受流感及其併發症的影響。

在香港,流感最常見於1月至3月和7月至8月。人體在感染到以疫苗形式呈現的病毒後,大約需要兩週時間才能產生保護性抗體,因此儘早接種疫苗將有助於確保在流感季節得到保護。

目前有很多關於懷孕期間和產後接種流感疫苗的疑問。婦產科專家Dr. Zara Chan 陳駱靈岫醫生已為我們釐清有關孕婦媽媽和嬰兒接種流感疫苗的安全性、風險和好處方面的一些憂慮。

是否建議孕婦接種流感疫苗?

是的。建議孕婦不論在哪個懷孕階段都接種流感疫苗,因為感染流感會帶來很多併發症。

懷孕期間免疫系統的變化會使孕婦有較高的感染風險,而且如果受到感染,會更容易出現嚴重的併發症,導致要住院的機會增加。這種風險一直持續到產後早期,而接種疫苗可以大大減低女性感染嚴重流感的風險。

懷孕期間接種疫苗也有助於保護初生嬰兒,因為當嬰兒仍在子宮內時,母親的保護性抗體會傳給嬰兒,而且在嬰兒出生後也會透過母乳傳遞。

雖然不常見,但嚴重的流感併發症與早產、嬰兒出生體重過輕及流產有關。

孕婦可以接種哪種流感疫苗?

建議孕婦不要購買噴鼻疫苗(FluMist)。建議使用針筒注射的方式,因為它是由滅活的病毒製成的,不論是在哪個懷孕階段,注射式對母親和嬰兒都較安全。

孕婦接種疫苗通常會出現什麼副作用?

孕婦會有的副作用與其他人的副作用相同,包括注射部分疼痛、發紅或腫脹、暈厥、頭痛、發燒、肌肉酸痛、噁心和疲勞。症狀一般較輕,持續1至2日。

請注意,流感疫苗中的疫苗成分(特別是雞蛋)亦有可能會引起嚴重的過敏反應。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

有指雞蛋過敏的人不應接種疫苗,這是否亦適用於孕婦?

流感疫苗的主要過敏問題是雞蛋敏感。大多數雞蛋過敏者亦是可以接種疫苗的,但需要有一些預防措施。而對雞蛋蛋白有嚴重威脅生命的過敏反應之人士,不論是否孕婦,都請勿接種疫苗。
問題應該改為「是否不建議對雞蛋過敏的人接種疫苗?」
答案:美國疾病預防及控制中心(CDC)仍然建議孕婦等流感高危人士接種疫苗,不論是否對雞蛋過敏。您的醫生會了解有關如何以及何時注射疫苗的具體指引,以盡最大可能減低過敏風險。

接種流感疫苗會否增加流產風險?

有很多科學研究顯示,懷孕期間注射流感疫苗的女性自然流產的風險並沒有增加。雖然有關初期懷孕的相關數據較為有限,但CDC仍建議任何懷孕階段的孕婦都接種流感疫苗。

流感疫苗是否安全?美國疾病預防及控制中心(CDC)有無相關研究?

「多年來,數百萬孕婦已經接種過流感疫苗而且有良好的安全記錄。很多證據顯示,在懷孕期間可以安全地注射流感疫苗。儘管初期懷孕的相關數據有限。」 – CDC

CDC在每個流感季節都有對一般和懷孕期間的疫苗接種進行安全監控。調查結果會記錄在疫苗不良後果報告系統(VAERS)中,任何人都可以報告自己的副作用,但是報告僅表示是否需要進一步調查。CDC亦透過疫苗安全性數據鏈(VSD)進行研究。以下是有關懷孕和產後疫苗接種的一些相關研究:

沒有證據顯示併發症或嬰兒先天缺陷與孕婦接種流感疫苗有關。按此按此查看相關研究。

在2005-06或2006-07流感季節接種疫苗的孕婦之流產風險並沒有增加,請按此查閱研究。

一項透過VSD進行的大型研究發現,在2002年至2009年,與未接種疫苗的女性比較,接種了疫苗的女性遇上絨毛膜羊膜炎、妊娠毒血症、妊娠糖尿病等健康問題的風險並沒有增加。請按此查閱研究。

在2004-05和2008-09流感季節進行的VSD研究發現,兩組人數相同、分別是有接種和未有接種疫苗的孕婦,在早產或嬰兒出生體重過輕風險方面沒有差異,請按此查閱研究。

2017年進行的一項大型研究發現,在懷孕頭三個月內接種疫苗的女性生出先天有缺陷的兒童的風險並沒有增加。

美國疾病預防及控制中心的其他相關研究可以按此查閱。

正進行母乳喂哺或打算母乳喂哺的女性可以接種流感疫苗嗎?

建議母乳喂哺的女性接種疫苗,因為不僅要防止自己感染流感,還要避免將流感傳給嬰兒。6個月以下的兒童無法接種流感疫苗,因此透過子宮以及母乳喂哺把抗體傳遞給嬰兒是有效的。

如果在懷孕期間感染流感會發生什麼事、可以怎樣做?

如果您出現流感症狀,請盡快與您的醫生聯繫。盡早治療對孕婦尤其重要,醫生可以開抗病毒藥物,這些藥物在症狀開始出現後48小時即可發揮作用。抗病毒藥物可以減輕病情,並可以預防與流感相關的嚴重健康問題。如果發燒,建議立即使用撲熱息痛或同類藥物作治療,同時立即聯繫醫生。

要了解更多有關香港政府為孕婦提供的流感疫苗資助的資訊,請閱讀《流感疫苗:香港全方位指南》

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界)有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

陳駱靈岫醫生Dr. Zara Chan是領康醫療母嬰診所的婦產科專家。她是加拿大人,並在香港威爾斯親王醫院完成了醫學培訓。她獲得了香港婦產科學院的專業資格,並且是英國皇家婦產科學院的成員。她曾擔任香港中文大學的名譽講師,現時為助產士及母嬰護理服務人員協會主席。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Influenza Vaccination During Pregnancy | Risks & Benefits

In Hong Kong, pregnant women are one of the priority groups eligible to receive the influenza vaccination according to The Scientific Committee on Vaccine Preventable Diseases. The Government has introduced free/subsidized flu vaccines for pregnant women to promote vaccination but to also protect pregnant women from the influenza (“the flu”) and its complications.

In Hong Kong, influenza is most common from January to March and July to August. It takes the body approximately two weeks to produce protective antibodies after being exposed to the virus in the form of a vaccine, thus getting vaccinated early will help ensure protection during flu seasons.

There are many questions regarding the flu vaccination during and after pregnancy. Dr. Zara Chan 陳駱靈岫 a Specialist in Obstetrics and Gynaecology clarifies some of the concerns around the safety, risks, and benefits associated with the flu vaccination for both mother and baby.

Is the influenza vaccine recommended for pregnant women?

Yes, pregnant women are recommended to get vaccinated for the flu at any stage of pregnancy due to a number of complications that can come from contracting the flu.

Changes in the immune system during pregnancy puts pregnant women at higher risk of contracting infections and suffering from more severe complications of such infections leading to increased risk of hospitalization. The risk continues into the early postnatal period and vaccination can significantly reduce a women’s risk of contracting severe flu infections.

Being vaccinated in pregnancy also helps to protect the baby after delivery as the mother’s protective antibodies will pass to the baby whilst the baby is still inside the uterus and also via breastmilk after the baby is born.

Although uncommon, severe flu complications is associated with premature birth, low birth weight, and stillbirth.

What kind of influenza vaccine can I get?

Pregnant women are advised not to get the nasal spray vaccine (FluMist) which is available in Hong Kong. The injection/shot version is recommended as it is made from an inactivated virus which is much safer for both the mother and the baby at any stage of pregnancy.

What are the common side effects that pregnant women may experience?

The side effects are no different from the ones that affect other people. Symptoms include soreness, redness, or swelling at injection spot, fainting, headache, fever, muscle aches, nausea, and fatigue, symptoms are generally mild and last for 1-2 days.

It is important to note that flu shots can also cause a serious allergic reaction to the vaccine ingredients, particularly eggs.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

People with egg allergies are recommended not to get vaccinated, does this apply to pregnant women?

The main allergy concern with the flu vaccination is an allergy to eggs. Where most people who have an egg allergy can get vaccinated there are some precautions that are made. Those who have a severe life-threatening allergy to egg protein are advised not to get vaccinated, including pregnant women.
This question should be changed to “are people with egg allergies recommended not to get vaccinated?”
The answer is: The CDC (Centres for Disease Control and Prevention) still recommends populations at high risk of flu, such as pregnant women, to get vaccinated despite egg allergies. There are specific guidelines your doctor will know of regarding how and when to give the vaccines to minimize allergic risk.

Is there a risk of having a miscarriage when I get the flu vaccine?

There are numerous scientific studies that show there is no increased risk of spontaneous miscarriage for women who have received the flu shot during pregnancy. Although the data is more limited in the first trimester, the CDC recommends flu vaccinations throughout all trimesters of pregnancy.

The Complete Guide to Epidurals in Hong Kong

Is the vaccine safe? What studies have been conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)?

“Flu shots have been given to millions of pregnant women over many years with a good safety record. There is a lot of evidence that flu vaccines can be given safely during pregnancy; though these data are limited for the first trimester.” – CDC

The CDC conducts safety monitoring of vaccines in general and during pregnancy each flu season. Findings are recorded in the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS), anyone can report side effects however the reports only indicate whether further investigation is needed. The CDC also conducts research studies via the Vaccine Safety Datalink (VSD). Here are some of the relevant studies in regard to the vaccination during pregnancy and postnatal:

There is no evidence to suggest that complications or birth defects are linked to flu vaccinations and pregnant women. Review the studies here and here.

There is no increase in the risk of miscarriage among pregnant women who received the vaccines in 2005-06 or 2006-07 flu seasons, see the study here.

A large study using VSD data found no increased risk of health issues such as chorioamnionitis, pre-eclampsia or gestational diabetes for women who received the vaccine from 2002-2009 when compared to non-vaccinated women. See the study here.

In regard to premature delivery or low birth weight, a VSD study conducted from 2004-05 and 2008-09 flu seasons between an equal number of pregnant women who did and did not receive the vaccine found no differences between the groups, see the study here.

A large study conducted in 2017 found no increased risk of children with birth defects for women who received the vaccine in the first trimester of pregnancy.

Other relevant studies from the CDC can be found here.

Can women who breastfeed or intend to breastfeed get vaccinated for the flu?

Yes, it is recommended that women who are breastfeeding get vaccinated not only to prevent them from contracting the flu but also to avoid passing the flu onto the baby. Children younger than 6 months old cannot receive the flu vaccine, thus they are protected by antibodies transferred to them via the mother inside the uterus and through breastfeeding.

What happens if I contract the flu while pregnant, what can I do?

If you are experiencing flu symptoms talk to your doctor as soon as possible. Early treatment is particularly important for women who are pregnant, a doctor can prescribe antiviral drugs which work 48 hours after symptoms start. Antiviral medication can make the illness milder and can prevent serious health problems associated with the illness. If you have a fever, it is recommended to treat it with paracetamol or an equivalent while contacting your doctor immediately.

To learn more about the Hong Kong government subsidized influenze vaccine for pregnant women, read The Complete Guide to Flu Vaccination in Hong Kong.

Looking for health insurance? Want to better understand your current plan or healthcare options in Hong Kong? Contact our partner AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2296 9773 for a a quote with expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are >uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system (public and private) to answer all your questions.

Dr. Zara Chan 陳駱靈岫 is a Specialist in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, practicing at OT&P Healthcare’s Woman and Child Clinic in Central. Dr. Chan is Canadian and completed her medical training at the Prince of Wales Hospital in Hong Kong. She received her specialist qualification from the Hong Kong College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists and is a member of the UK Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. She was an honorary lecturer at The Chinese University of Hong Kong and is currently the president of the Midwives and Maternal-Child Caregivers Association.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.