怕打針嗎?可以嘗試目前香港唯一的噴鼻式流感疫苗

FluMist 四價流感疫苗是唯一在香港市面上可找到的減活流感疫苗(LAIC)。它曾於2009年至2013年上市,但於2013年後停產。2018年4月再度引進香港。由於流感在香港爆發,市民對流感疫苗的需求也增加,重新引進噴鼻式流感疫苗能緩解私營醫療界的疫苗短缺,並為市民提供多一種選擇。

噴鼻劑可以避免注射劑的副作用,尤其是對兒童而言,並可以鼓勵更多的人接種疫苗。我們請家庭醫生Dr. Lily Wong 黃淑婷醫生詳細解釋什麼是噴鼻式流感疫苗。

什麼是FluMist四價流感疫苗?

FluMist四價流感疫苗是一種噴入鼻腔的流感疫苗。疫苗的有效性隨年齡和病毒類型的不同而改變。

噴鼻式流感疫苗是如何接種的?

疫苗是以單次噴劑的形式噴在每個鼻孔裡。因此,它不涉及任何針頭。噴鼻劑快速、無痛,並且比注射式疫苗的效果更好。實際上,噴鼻式流感疫苗很快就會被吸收。即使您的小朋友在接種疫苗後流鼻涕、打乞嚏或擤鼻涕,疫苗的有效性不會因此受影響。

什麼人可以接種噴鼻式流感疫苗?

它是一種預防流感的噴鼻式疫苗,適用於2至49歲的兒童、青少年和成人。它有助於預防疫苗中含有的四種病毒株以及其他相關的株。對於從未接種過流感疫苗的9歲以下兒童,他們需要間隔4週後再進行第二次接種。

什麼人不適合接種噴鼻式流感疫苗?

如果您符合以下條件,請不要接種FluMist:

  • 兩歲以下。
  • 曾經對雞蛋或慶大徽素Gentamicin(抗生素)產生嚴重的過敏反應(過敏性休克)。流感疫苗在製造過程中有用到這些物質,雖然含量極少。
  • 免疫系統弱,例如有遺傳缺陷、疾病(例如白血病或淋巴瘤)或有使用免疫抑製藥物(例如化學療法)、大劑量的皮質類固醇或免疫抑製劑(於器官移植後使用)的治療。
  • 有愛滋病病毒感染的症狀。
  • 患有嚴重哮喘。
  • 服用含水楊酸鹽藥物。

孕婦和哺乳期媽媽可以接種噴鼻式流感疫苗嗎?

由於噴鼻式流感疫苗是活性病毒,因此不建議孕婦或哺乳期女性使用。

FluMist 四價流感疫苗最常見的副作用是什麼?

常見的副作用有:

  • 流鼻水或鼻塞
  • 頭痛
  • 全身疲勞
  • 食慾不振

了解有關香港流感疫苗以及應何時接種流感疫苗方面的更多資訊,請參閱《 2018/2019年流感疫苗:香港全方位指南》。

資料來源:www.chp.gov.hk

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

本文於2019年1月由Dr. Lily Wong黃淑婷醫生審閱。黃淑婷醫生Dr. Lily Wong是倫敦醫療診所(the London Medical Clinic)的家庭醫生。她是英國和香港的註冊全科醫生和藥劑師。她曾在倫敦居住和工作多年,於倫敦中繁忙的診所從事全科醫生工作,幾年前她與家人一起移居香港。黃醫生還被任命為香港大學家庭醫學系名譽助理教授,以教授醫科學生。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Afraid of Needles? Try the Only Nasal Spray Flu Vaccine in Hong Kong

Woman with runny nose

FluMist Quadrivalent is the only type of Live Attenuated Influenza Vaccine (LAIC) available on the market in Hong Kong. It was once available from 2009 to 2013 but was discontinued after 2013. It was registered again in Hong Kong in April 2018. Due to the heavy burden of influenza and the high demand for flu vaccine in Hong Kong, the reintroduction of the nasal spray flu vaccine could relieve flu shot shortages in the private sector and provide citizens with an alternative vaccine option.

The spray may ward off worries about the side effects of injections, particularly with children, and can encourage more people to get vaccinated. We asked family practitioner Dr. Lily Wong 黃淑婷醫生 to explain what is the nasal spray flu vaccine in detail.

 

What is FluMist Quadrivalent flu vaccine exactly?

FluMist Quadrivalent is a vaccine that is sprayed into the nose to help protect against influenza. Its effectiveness varies according to age group and the different virus strains.

 

How is the nasal spray flu vaccine given?

The vaccine is given as a single spray squirted up each nostril. As such, it does not involve any needles, the nasal spray is quick, painless, and works even better than the injected flu vaccine. Indeed, this flu vaccine is absorbed very quickly. Lastly, it will still work even if, after the vaccination, your child develops a runny nose, sneezes or blows their nose.

 

Who can receive the nasal spray flu vaccine in Hong Kong?

It is a nasal vaccine to prevent influenza (flu) and can be used in children, adolescents, and adults ages 2 through 49. It will help to protect against the four virus strains contained in the vaccine, and other strains closely related to them. For children under the age of 9 who never had a flu vaccine, they will need a second dose 4 weeks apart.

 

Who cannot and should not be vaccinated with the nasal spray flu vaccine in Hong Kong?

You should not get the FluMist if you are:

  • under two years of age.
  • ever had a serious allergic reaction (anaphylaxis) to egg, or to the antibiotic gentamicin. These are used in the manufacturing of the vaccine and may be present in tiny amounts.
  • have a weak immune system, for example due to a genetic defect, disease such as Leukemia or lymphoma, or treatment with immunosuppressant medicines such a
  • chemotherapy, high-dose corticosteroids, or immunosuppressants (eg used following an organ transplant).
  • have symptomatic HIV infection.
  • have severe asthma.
  • take medicines containing salicylates.

 

Can pregnant and breastfeeding mothers get this flu vaccine in Hong Kong?

Since the nasal spray vaccine is a live virus it is not recommended for pregnant or breastfeeding women.

 

What are the most common side effects of FluMist Quadrivalent?

Most common side effects are:

  • a runny or blocked nose
  • headache
  • general tiredness
  • loss of appetite

 

To learn more about flu vaccine in Hong Kong and where to receive them have a look at the Healthy Matters 2018/2019 Guide to Flu Vaccination in Hong Kong.

 

Sources : www.chp.gov.hk

 

Looking for health insurance? Want to better understand your current plan or healthcare options in Hong Kong? Contact our partner AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2296 9773 for expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system to answer all your questions; on both the public and private sectors.


Clinical information reviewed in January 2019 by Dr. Lily Wong 黃淑婷醫生. Dr. Lily Wong is a family practitioner at The London Medical Clinic. She is both a registered general practitioner and pharmacist in the UK and HK. Having lived and worked as a general practitioner for many years in busy practices in London, she relocated to Hong Kong with her family a few years ago. Dr. Wong has also been appointed Honorary Assistant Professor in the Department of Family Medicine at Hong Kong University, for her teaching of medical students.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.