膿瘡病(Impetigo):疾病介紹及治療方法

膿瘡病(Impetigo)會引起全身出現紅腫和皮膚損傷,甚至會帶來痕癢,有時還會帶來痛楚。它是常見於兒童的細菌性皮膚感染,佔兒童皮膚問題約10%。這是經兒科醫生Dr. Eddie Cheung 張蔚賢醫生核對、有關膿瘡病的專業指南。

什麼是膿瘡病(Impetigo)?

這是一種極具傳染性的皮膚感染,會導致全身出現水疱和瘡。它們可以出現在任何身體部位,但主要在鼻子和嘴巴、四肢和接觸到紙尿片的部位之周圍。膿瘡病通常不是一種嚴重的疾病,一般在適當的治療下可在7-10日內治愈。

膿瘡病特別影響2至5歲的兒童。在溫暖和潮濕的環境中(例如香港的夏季),它也更為常見。您的醫生會通過檢查受影響的皮膚區域或收集水疱膿液來進行細菌培養以進行診斷。

有兩種細菌引起膿瘡病,分別為金黃色葡萄球菌(Staphylococcus aureus)和A型鏈球菌(Streptococcus(較罕見)。如割傷和蟲咬之類的皮膚破損,或如濕疹之類的皮膚狀況會讓細菌入侵並引起膿瘡病。話雖如此,這些細菌亦可以感染正常和健康的皮膚。

膿瘡病可以分為以下幾類:

  • 水疱性(Bullous:引起含膿水疱。內部的膿液會隨著時間變得更渾濁。它傾向影響軀幹部分。
  • 非水疱性(Non-bullous:最常見的膿瘡病類型(佔所有病例的70%)。它會在皮膚上形成獨特的蜂蜜色痂皮,通常影響面部、手臂和腿部。
  • 壞疽性(Ecthyma: 一種較嚴重的膿瘡病,可引致潰瘍。

潛伏期:A型鏈球菌感染為1-3日,金黃色葡萄球菌感染為4-10日。

傳染期:直到瘡癒合或開始抗生素治療後48小時。

患有膿瘡病的兒童在傳染期結束之前,不應去托兒所或學校。

膿瘡病(Impetigo)如何傳播?

即使受感染者沒有明顯的皮膚損傷,膿瘡病也可以透過密切接觸受感染者而輕易傳播。因此,受感染者的家人和朋友會有更大的感染風險。如果受感染兒童抓撓受感染區域,可能會導致感染傳到身體其他部位。

人們亦會因透過觸摸或共用受感染者觸摸過的物品(例如衣服和毛巾)而感染膿瘡病。

膿瘡病(Impetigo)的徵兆和症狀

取決於膿瘡病的類型,會有不同的徵兆和症狀。通常不會出現發燒。

非水疱性膿瘡病(痂皮)

最初帶來的皮膚損傷會是充滿膿液的紅色邊凸塊。這些水疱會變大、迅速而容易破裂,膿液會滲出並在皮膚上留下金色的痂皮。痂皮隨後會脫落而不會留下疤痕。非水疱性膿瘡病會令皮膚輕度痕癢,有時會帶來痛楚。膿瘡通常出現在面部和四肢。

水疱性膿瘡病(水疱)

其特點是會令皮膚出現無痛的大水疱,水疱內含清澈的黃色膿液,膿液顏色會逐漸變暗。這些水疱停留在皮膚上的時間較長,隨後會形成稀薄的棕色痂皮。最常影響到胸部、腹部和背部。水疱性膿瘡病比非水疱性膿瘡病帶來較少皮膚損傷。

壞疽性膿瘡病(潰瘍)

它會導致潰瘍深入皮膚,形成黃色痂皮及紅色邊緣的較深層皮膚潰爛。癒合時可能會看到有疤痕。

什麼情況下應該要看醫生?

如果您的小朋友身上出現膿瘡病的徵兆和症狀、對治療無反應、病情惡化或出現發燒,請諮詢醫生。

如果小朋友的膿瘡病發作反覆出現,您亦應該帶小朋友看全科醫生。

如何治療膿瘡病?

您的醫生會根據兒童的膿瘡病類型和嚴重程度建議不同的治療方法。

如果您小朋友的受感染皮膚區域較細,醫生會提供抗生素軟膏。清潔及去除痂皮後連續5日每日塗抹3次軟膏。外用抗生素的副作用少於口服抗生素。例子包括莫匹羅星軟膏(mupirocin ointment)和夫西地酸軟膏(fusidic acid cream)。

但是,如果有大量水疱覆蓋大面積皮膚區域,則需要口服抗生素,包括阿莫西林克拉維酸(amoxicillin-Clavulanic Acid)頭孢氨苄(cefalexin)

重要的是,即使膿瘡正被消除,也應按照醫生的指示服用所有抗生素。

在家中可以做的事

  1. 修剪小朋友的指甲,避免他們觸摸或抓撓受感染區域,因為細菌可以傳到手上,然後傳播到所有手接觸過的地方。
  1. 每天輕輕地清潔皮膚,並用清水和番梘去除痂皮。
  2. 用紗布或鬆的繃帶蓋著瘡和水疱,直至傷口癒合,以防止細菌擴散到身體其他部位或傳播給其他人。

預防方法

良好的個人衛生習慣是遠離和防止傳播膿瘡病等各種感染的關鍵。永遠記住要做到以下幾點:

  • 定期用番梘和清水洗手,或使用含酒精的搓手液,尤其是在接觸受感染者及其接觸過的物品後,需立即洗手。
  • 用熱水洗滌,然後用高溫烘乾衣物、毛巾和床單。
  • 用消毒劑和溫水清潔經常接觸的表面和兒童的玩具。
  • 請勿共用任何個人物品。
  • 受感染時,請勿去健身室或參加需要身體接觸的運動。

—-

Dr Eddie Cheung 張蔚賢醫生在1997年於香港大學醫學院畢業。他之後開始在瑪麗醫院的兒科和初生兒科工作,並於2004年成為兒科專家。他曾在香港葛量洪醫院/瑪麗醫院擔任兒科心臟病專家,並於2005年獲得香港大學醫學碩士學位(優異成績)。他亦是香港心臟專科學院院士、香港兒科心臟學會副主席、香港兔唇裂顎協會顧問。他目前在香港港安醫院擔任兒科醫生顧問和感染控制人員。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Impetigo: What it is & How to Treat it

Impetigo causes red sores and lesions all over the body, which can itch and sometimes be painful. It is a common bacterial skin infection among paediatric population, making up about 10% of childhood skin problems. Here is an expert guide to impetigo, reviewed by paediatrician Dr. Eddie Cheung

What is impetigo?

It is an extremely contagious infection of the skin that results in blisters and sores. They can be found anywhere, but mostly around the nose and mouth, limbs and the diaper area. It is generally not a serious disease and normally resolves in 7-10 days with proper treatment

Impetigo particularly affects children between 2 and 5 years old. It is also more common in warm and humid environments, like summers in Hong Kong. Your doctor will diagnose a child by examining the affected skin area or collecting blister fluid for bacteria culture. 

Two types of bacteria cause impetigo, namely Staphylococcus aureus and Group A Streptococcus (less common). Broken skin such as cuts and insect bites, or skin conditions for example eczema allows bacteria to invade and cause impetigo. These bacteria can also infect normal and healthy skin. 

Impetigo can be classified into the following:

  • Bullous: causes pus-filled blisters. The fluid inside becomes more cloudy with time. It tends to affect torso more. 
  • Non-bullous: the most common form (70% of all cases). It forms a distinctive honey-coloured crusts, usually involving face, arms and legs. 
  • Ecthyma: a more serious form of impetigo that causes ulcers. 

Incubation period: 1-3 days for Group A Streptococcus infection, and 4-10 days for Staphylococcus aureus infection. 

Infectious period: Until sores have healed or 48 hours after the start of the antibiotic treatment. 

Children with impetigo should not go to nursery or school until the end of the infectious period.

How is impetigo transmitted?

Impetigo spreads easily through close contact with infected people even if they do not have visible lesions. Therefore, family members and friends are at greater risk. Children can spread the infection to other parts of their skin if they scratch it.  

People can also get impetigo by touching or sharing items that have been touched by someone who has the infection, for example clothes and towels. 

Signs and symptoms of impetigo

Depending on the types of impetigo, they have different signs and symptoms. A fever is usually not present. 

Non-bullous impetigo (crusted)

The lesions start as red-edged bumps that are filled with fluid. These blisters get bigger in size and rupture rapidly and easily, oozing and leaving golden crusts on the skin. The scabs then fall off without scarring. Non-bullous impetigo is mildly itchy and sometimes painful. The sores tend to develop on the face and extremities. 

Bullous impetigo (blisters)

It is characterized by painless large blisters containing clear yellow fluid that gradually turns darker in colour. These blisters stay on the skin longer and are followed by the formation of a thin brown scab. The chest, belly and the back are mostly affected. Bullous impetigo causes less lesions than the non-bullous one. 

Ecthyma (ulcers)

It causes ulcers that penetrate deep into the skin. They cause deeper erosions with yellow crusts and red rims. Scars can be seen as it heals. 

When should you see a doctor?

Consult your doctor if your child shows signs and symptoms of impetigo, is not responsive to treatment, if the condition worsens or if there is a fever. 

You should also take your child to see a GP if they have had impetigo that recurs frequently. 

How is impetigo treated?

Your doctor will recommend different treatments based on the type and the severity of your child’s impetigo. 

Your child will be given antibiotic ointment or cream if they only have a small infected skin area. Apply three times daily after cleaning and removing the scabs for 5 days. Topical antibiotics have fewer side effects than the oral ones. Examples include mupirocin ointment and fusidic acid cream.

However, if there is a large number of blisters that cover an extensive area, oral antibiotics are necessary, including amoxicillin/clavulanate and cephalexin

It is important to take all the antibiotics as prescribed by your doctor even if the sores are clearing up. 

Management at home

  1. Keep your child’s fingernails clipped to avoid touching or scratching. The bacteria can get on hands and be transferred to everything touched. 
  2. Gently clean the skin and remove the crusts with water and soap every day. 
  3. Cover the sores and blisters with a gauze or a loose bandage until they heal to prevent spreading to other body parts or to other people. 

Prevention 

Good personal hygiene is the key in staying away from and spreading all kinds of infections, including impetigo. Always remember to practice the following points:  

  • Wash your hands regularly with soap and water or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer, especially right after touching the infected person and items they are in contact with. 
  • Use hot water to wash and high heat to dry clothing, towels and bed linens. 
  • Clean frequently touched surfaces and your child’s toys with disinfectant and warm water.
  • Do not share any personal items. 
  • Do not go to the gym or participate in sports that require physical contact. 

—-

Dr. Eddie Cheung 張蔚賢醫生 is a specialist in paediatrics. He received his paediatric training in Queen Mary Hospital and post-fellow paediatric cardiology training in Grantham Hospital/ Queen Mary Hospital. He is a Fellow of the Hong Kong College of Cardiology, the Vice President of Hong Kong Society of Paediatric Cardiology and Consultant of Hong Kong Association of Cleft Lip and Palate. He is currently working as Director of Paediatric Centre of HK Medical Consultants and serves as Infection Control Officer at the Hong Kong Adventist Hospital.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.