飲食失調的成因、症狀和治療方法

最後更新日期 十月 12, 2021.

什麼是飲食失調 | 成因 | 生理症狀 | 心理症狀 | 診斷 | 治療方法 | 預防方法 | 其他支緩

統計,香港患上飲食失調一類心理健康問題的人士日益增加,患者以少女為主。事實上,任何人士均有機會患上飲食失調。如果病情控制不果,飲食失調會損害患者的身體、心理以至情緒健康。

什麼是飲食失調?

美國心理學會將飲食失調定義為威脅患者的健康甚至危及生命的異常飲食習慣。飲食模式紊亂,加上對體重和體型存在扭曲的概念,可能會損害患者的身心健康。其中兩種最嚴重的飲食失調分別是神經性厭食症(簡稱厭食症)神經性暴食症(簡稱暴食症)

神經性厭食症

厭食症患者的體型通常極之削瘦,而且他們對身體形象存在扭曲的概念,對增磅和肥胖感到異常恐懼。厭食症是一種常見的飲食失調,患者多為青少年。根據國家心理健康合作中心,神經性厭食症可以細分為:

  • 禁食型:患者的體重下降源於限制食物攝取量。此類患者不會經常暴飲暴食,不會用催吐、灌腸、服用瀉藥等方法去清除體內已進食的食物。
  • 暴食型/嘔瀉型:患者經常暴飲暴食,及後用催吐、灌腸、瀉藥等方法去清除體內已進食的食物,以控制體重。

神經性暴食症

暴食症患者通常會暴飲暴食,及後用催吐、灌腸、服用瀉藥或利尿劑、禁食或劇烈運動等方式,以維持體重。暴食症與暴食型/清除型厭食症非常相似,不同之處在於暴食症患者通常可以保持正常體重。然而亦增加了準確診斷暴食症的難度。根據精神疾病診斷和統計手冊(DSM),神經性暴食症可被細分為:

  • 嘔瀉型:患者經常自我催吐或濫用瀉藥。
  • 非嘔瀉型:選擇其他不當的補救行為控制體重,如禁食或過度運動,但未有經常自我催吐或濫用瀉藥、利尿劑或灌腸劑等。

飲食失調的成因

飲食失調的成因非常複雜,尚未被完全理解,但科學家認為飲食失調源於生理、認知和社會層面的多重因素。

生理層面

  • 血清素水平低:血清素是一種負責穩定情緒、提升幸福感、滿足感和成就感的荷爾蒙。過去的研究發現,飲食失調患者體內的血清素水平偏低。血清素負責控制食慾、體內平衡和卡路里攝取量,因此體內血清素水平低的人士較容易患上飲食失調。大部分血清素來自食物,所以如果我們限制食物攝取量,有機會會影響體內血清素水平。
  • 遺傳:飲食失調可能受基因影響。有飲食失調家族史的女性較容易患上飲食失調。其他研究也顯示,飲食失調與1號染色體上的基因有關。但飲食失調也受後天因素(即環境因素)影響,例如生活在同一個家庭的姊妹或母女較容易一同患上飲食失調。

認知層面

  • 扭曲的概念:飲食失調患者對飲食存在扭曲的概念,他們的認知上可能會有「進食對身體有害」、「進食會令人變胖」等錯誤假設,令他們過度關注自己的體型。
  • 負面的自我形象:飲食失調患者常對自己的身型感到不滿。情況持續的話,會變成嚴重的身體畸形恐懼症(body dysmorphia),造成自我形象低落。

社會層面

  • 家庭教育:研究認為,在缺乏家庭教育下成長的兒童,難以培養抗逆力和自信心。青春期時,這些青少年往往會過於著重別人對自己身型的評論,形成負面的自我形象。他們亦可能會過度依賴別人對自己外型的認可,尤其是在體重方面,為此可能會透過禁食或嘔瀉等不健康的手段來將自己塑造成別人心目中的理想身型。飲食失調也有可能源自於負面的家庭教育,例如過度節食的母親會將不健康的瘦身觀念傳遞給女兒,又或者家中男性(父親或兄弟)對正值青春期的女孩的身形評頭品足等。
  • 媒體影響:電視、社交媒體或廣告經常把「纖瘦」、「苗條」跟「美麗」、「吸引力」等概念劃上等號,令瘦身好像成為變美的唯一方法。這種心態令人們對體重增加產生恐懼,甚至演變成飲食失調。

飲食失調的生理症狀

厭食症的生理症狀

除了體重急速下降,厭食症患者還可能經歷以下症狀:

  • 頭痛、昏厥和頭暈
  • 皮膚和嘴唇乾燥、脆甲症、頭髮稀疏、容易出現瘀傷、膚色發黃、全身長白髮(胎毛)和畏冷
  • 血液循環不佳、心律不整、低血壓、心臟驟停和心臟衰竭
  • 貧血(血液中鐵含量低)
  • 便秘、腹瀉、腹脹和腹痛
  • 月經失調甚至停經、性慾減退和不育
  • 缺水
  • 腎衰竭
  • 骨質流失和骨質疏鬆症
  • 肌肉流失、虛弱和疲勞
  • 閉經(即至少連續三個月停經,或者僅在服用激素後才出現月經)

即使康復後,某些患者仍然會可能經歷飲食失調的後遺症,包括生育困難。

暴食症的生理症狀

根據美國國家心理健康研究所,暴食症的生理症狀包括:

  • 牙齒磨損和腐爛
  • 胃酸倒流
  • 便秘
  • 腹痛
  • 電解質失衡(例如鈉、鉀和鈣)
  • 心律不整
  • 心房顫動
  • 心臟衰竭
  • 荷爾蒙失調
  • 其他嚴重併發症

獲得每週折扣及健康貼士!

立即訂閱享受熱門優惠。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

飲食失調的心理症狀

厭食症的心理症狀

除了生理症狀外,厭食症患者還會出現嚴重的心理症狀。

一般來說,飲食失調的心理症狀與思維模式和情緒有關。常見的心理症狀包括:

  • 對體重增加產生強烈恐懼
  • 拒絕維持體重
  • 經歷極端的情緒波動
  • 出現焦慮的跡象
  • 出現抑鬱的跡象
  • 過度關注食物和卡路里
  • 經常對鏡子檢查身型
  • 進食時常感不適
  • 把食物切成小塊
  • 拒絕參與社交活動

暴食症的心理症狀

暴食症的心理症狀與厭食症非常相似。暴食症的常見行為症狀包括:

  • 暴飲暴食
  • 自我催吐
  • 禁食
  • 過度運動

飲食失調的診斷

心理學家通常使用精神疾病診斷與統計手冊 (DSM-5)來診斷飲食失調患者。

根據DSM飲食失調標準,在過去三個月內出現以下症狀的人士可能患上飲食失調:

  • 過度限制食物攝取量,令體重顯著下降(根據年齡、性別和健康狀況作出判斷)
  • 對體重增加或變胖產生強烈恐懼
  • 受體重或體型影響而令自我價值下降,或患上身體畸形恐懼症(body dysmorphia),拒絕承認自己體重過低的危機。

除了DSM-5,心理學家還會用患者對自己心理狀況的評估進行診斷。他們也可以利用臨床評分測量表,包括:

飲食失調的治療方法

飲食失調的治療方法包括:

  • 醫學治療
  • 嘗試恢復健康體重
  • 營養教育和諮詢
  • 個人化心理治療
  • 家庭治療
  • 團體治療

The Maudsley Method: 家庭治療

The Maudsley Method為患上飲食失調的兒童或青少年的父母提供治療指引,讓他們暫時負責患病子女的飲食管理。父母應暫時控制患者的食物和活動,例如食物選擇、準備、供應,以及膳食安排,直到患者有增磅的跡象為止。當青少年的體重接近完全恢復正常,而且沒有再次持續禁食時,療程便會結束,並由其他方法繼續跟進。

認知行為療法

認知行為療法 (CBT) 針對住院患者和門診患者,旨在改變厭食症患者消極的自我形象和錯誤的飲食觀念。心理學家會首先認清患者對飲食的偏見,然後引導他們以邏輯思維取代非理性觀念。

行為治療

這種方法針對病情較嚴重的住院患者,通過改變患者的病態行為,來幫助厭食症患者恢復身心健康。例如,心理學家會引導厭食症患者制定新的飲食目標,來取代原有的飲食習慣,以增加他們的食物攝取量。

飲食失調的預防方法

參與預防飲食失調的工作坊

要預防飲食失調,可以從臨床、社區和學校層面著手。透過舉辦工作坊,向青少年灌輸正確看待體重的態度,預防飲食失調。

培養新興趣

預防飲食失調的一種解決方案是分散患者的注意力,減少他們檢查體型和磅重的次數,令他們不要過度關注自己的體重。可以嘗試培養患者對遠足和游泳等戶外活動的興趣,令他們學會專注對健康而非只是體型上的追求。

學會自愛、尊重自己和發掘自我價值

幾乎所有飲食失調患者都總是感到自我價值低落和意志消沉,漸漸失去自尊。他們的自尊通常建基於「其他人的尊重」,依靠別人來發掘自我價值。除非他們不再過度依賴別人的意見,並學會由心而發地尊重自己,否則難以完全從心理問題中康復。飲食失調也可能由童年早期的負面經歷引致,例如痛失父母或親戚、曾經受虐待甚至性虐待,因此建議由合資格且經驗豐富的臨床心理學家進行評估,準確判斷患病的原由,以便對症下藥。暴食症的其中一個行為症狀——催吐,是一種容易成癮的行為。對患者來說,嘔吐是一種緩解壓力的方法,過程中會令身體產生安多酚。安多酚就像是體內天然的鴉片藥物,帶來幸福和快樂的感覺,因此在暴飲暴食後嘔吐成為很多患者的一種強迫性補償習慣。另一方面,在古代的飢荒中,當人們承受飢餓的痛苦時,身體會產生欣快感(europhia),這是一種超然的幸福感覺,一種不能通過正常方式得到的精神狀態,也是宗教式禁食的重要元素。因此,自我誘導的飢餓行為很容易令人上癮。基於這個原因,厭食症患者可以長時間不進食。

因此,在選擇治療方法時,要考慮到飲食失調的成癮性,才能徹底解決這個複雜的病症。

其他支緩

如有緊急需要,請即聯繫心理學家或精神科醫生。以下是一些提供飲食失調輔導的組織:

香港進食失調康復會

地址:荃灣白田壩街45號 The Mills 1樓101室

電話:2850 4448

電郵:[email protected]

The Lighthouse Counseling

地址:上環文咸東街79-85號文咸中心15樓

電話:6086 7995

電郵:[email protected]

MindNLife

地址:中環荷李活道1號華懋荷李活中心1202室

電話:2521 4668

電郵: [email protected]

Child Development Team

地址:香港仔香葉道2號 One Island South 10樓1015室

電話:2592 9000

電郵: [email protected] 

人際輔導中心

地址:灣仔軒尼詩道8-12號中港大廈701室

電話:2523 8979 

電郵:[email protected] 

FAQs

什麼是飲食失調?

飲食失調是指異常的飲食模式,對身體、精神和情緒造成困擾。飲食失調患者通常會患上身體畸形恐懼症(body dysmorphia),對身體形象存在扭曲概念。飲食失調主要分2種:厭食症和暴食症,前者可以細分為禁食型和暴食型/嘔瀉型,後者可以細分為嘔瀉型和非嘔瀉型。

我可能患上飲食失調而自己不知道嗎?

有可能,但不常見。患者可能誤以為自己的飲食習慣是正常的,而未能意識到問題所在。如果你懷疑自己可能患上飲食失調,請諮詢合資格的臨床心理學家,及早獲得專業診斷。

誰最有可能患上飲食失調?

研究顯示,女性比男性更容易患上飲食失調,儘管多達十分之一的厭食症患者是男性。在年齡方面,14至25歲的青少年最容易患上飲食失調,但年幼的兒童和成年人也可能會患上飲食失調。

 

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Guide to Eating Disorders: Causes, Symptoms and Treatments

Last updated on October 4, 2021.

What are eating disorders? | Causes | Physical symptoms | Psychological symptoms | Diagnosis | Treatment options | Prevention | Further support

Eating disorders are an increasing mental health issue in Hong Kong, particularly prevalent amongst teenage females, as statistics reveal. People of all genders and age can be affected. If untreated, disordered eating can damage the physical, mental and emotional health of patients.

What are eating disorders?

Eating disorders are defined by the American Psychological Association as abnormal eating habits that threaten health or even endanger the lives of patients. As a result of disordered eating patterns and distorted attitudes towards body weight and body image, sufferers can harm both their physical and psychological health. Among others, the two most serious types of eating disorders are anorexia nervosa and bulimia nervosa.

Anorexia Nervosa

Anorexia nervosa is characterized by extreme weight loss, distorted body image, plus irrational fears of gaining weight and becoming obese. It is a common eating disorder, especially, but not exclusively, amongst adolescents. According to National Collaborating Centre for Mental Health, subtypes of anorexia nervosa are:

  • Restricting type: the weight loss is caused by limiting food intake and the person has not regularly engaged in binge-eating or purging behavior.
  • Binge-eating/purging type: the person regularly engages in binge-eating often followed by purging, to manage weight.

Bulimia Nervosa

Bulimia nervosa is characterized by repeated bouts of excessive eating, followed by self-induced vomiting, taking laxatives or diuretics, fasting or vigorous exercise. Symptoms of bulimia nervosa are similar to the binge-eating/purging subtype of anorexia nervosa, with the difference being that bulimia nervosa patients can often maintain a normal weight. However, this makes bulimia nervosa more difficult to diagnose. According to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), subtypes of bulimia nervosa include:

  • Purging type: the person engages in self-induced vomiting or the misuse of laxatives regularly.
  • Non-purging type: the person opts for other inappropriate compensatory behaviors, such as fasting or excessive exercise, but has not engaged in self-induced vomiting or misuse laxatives, diuretics or enemas regularly.

What are the causes of eating disorders?

These are complex and not yet fully understood, but scientists believe eating disorders are caused by biological, cognitive and social factors. 

Biological causes of eating disorders

  • Low serotonin levels: Serotonin is a hormone responsible for stabilizing mood, feelings of well-being, satisfaction, status and happiness. Past research suggested that eating disorder patients generally have lower serotonin levels than individuals with regular eating habits normal serotonin levels. Since research suggests that serotonin is responsible for promoting self-control, satiety, regulation of hunger and physiological homeostasis and regulation of caloric intake, low serotonin levels may increase the chance of developing eating disorders. Most of our serotonin comes from our food, so logically if we restrict food intake, we limit our serotonin levels as well.
  • Genetic factors: Individuals can be genetically predisposed to eating disorders. As such, females with a family history of eating disorders are more likely to develop eating disorders. Other research further suggests that eating disorders are linked to genes on chromosome 1. Eating disorders can also be a “learned behavior.” It’s not unusual for two sisters in one family or a mother and daughter to be affected.

Cognitive causes of eating disorders

  • Distorted perception: Eating disorder patients may possess distorted perceptions about dieting. For instance, eating disorder patients may carry faulty assumptions such as “eating food is harmful” and “eating will make me fat”, causing them to check on their body shape frequently.
  • Negative body image: Patients with eating disorders are usually dissatisfied with their body shape. This body dysmorphia creates negative self-image and frequently leads to eating disorders.

Sociocultural causes of eating disorders

  • Parenting and Family: Research argues that children raised by less than nurturing or dysfunctional parents often struggle to develop inner self-resilience and positive self-esteem. In adolescence, these youngsters are often overly sensitive to comments about their body and develop a negative self-image. They can become overly reliant on validation from others about their appearance, especially about weight, making them susceptible to trying to alter their body shape by restricting or purging. Eating disorders often have their origins in dysfunctional family systems, so it is important to consider the family dynamics in every case. A mother obsessed with dieting and being thin can transmit these unhealthy negative obsessions to her daughter. Unthinking comments by a father or brother to a teenage girl about her body size can trigger shame and dramatic changes in eating habits in response.
  • Media influence: Television, social media and advertisements often portray thinness as beautiful and physically attractive. This message may cultivate a mindset perceiving a thin body as the only form of beauty. Their resulting fear of gaining weight can lead to restricting food and become an eating disorder. 

What are the physical symptoms of eating disorders?

Physical symptoms of anorexia nervosa

In addition to dramatic weight loss, patients with anorexia nervosa may experience:

  • Headaches, fainting and dizziness
  • Dry skin and lips, brittle nails, thin hair, easy bruising, yellow complexion, growth of thin white hair over body (lanugo) and intolerance to cold
  • Poor circulation, irregular or slow heartbeat, hypotension, cardiac arrest and heart failure
  • Anemia (low iron levels in blood)
  • Constipation, diarrhea, bloating and abdominal pain
  • Irregular or absent periods, loss of libido and infertility
  • Dehydration
  • Kidney failure
  • Loss of bone calcium (osteopenia) and osteoporosis
  • Muscle loss, weakness and fatigue
  • In postmenarcheal females, amenorrhoea, i.e. the absence of at least three consecutive menstrual cycles or if periods occur only after hormones intake, e.g. oestrogen administration

Even after recovery, patients may still suffer from complications in the long-term, for example, difficulty in childbearing.

Physical symptoms of bulimia nervosa

According to the US National Institute of Mental Health, the physical symptoms of bulimia nervosa include: 

  • Tooth abrasion and/or decay
  • Acid reflux
  • Constipation
  • Stomachache
  • Electrolyte imbalance e.g. sodium, potassium and calcium
  • Irregular heart rhythm
  • Atrial fibrillation
  • Heart failure
  • Hormonal disturbances
  • Other serious complications

What are the psychological symptoms of eating disorders?

Psychological symptoms of anorexia nervosa

Aside from physical symptoms, patients with anorexia nervosa also experience profound psychological symptoms.

In general, psychological symptoms of eating disorders concern thought patterns and feelings. Common psychological symptoms include:

  • Intense fear of weight gain
  • Refusal to maintain body weight
  • Extreme mood swings
  • Signs of anxiety
  • Signs of depression
  • Preoccupation with food and calories
  • Frequent critical checking in the mirror
  • Discomfort while eating
  • Cutting up food into smaller pieces
  • Withdrawal from social activities

Psychological symptoms of bulimia nervosa

The psychological symptoms of bulimia nervosa are similar to those of anorexia nervosa. In essence, common behavioral symptoms of bulimia nervosa include:

  • Binge eating
  • Self-induced vomiting
  • Fasting
  • Excessive exercising

Diagnosis of eating disorders

Mental health professionals usually employ the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) to diagnose patients susceptible to eating disorders.

On the authority of the DSM-criteria for eating disorders, individuals who show the following symptoms over the last three months may have eating disorders:

  • Restriction of food, significant weight loss considering age, sex and physical health. 
  • Intense fear of gaining weight or becoming fat.
  • Low self-worth influenced by body weight or shape, or body dysmorphia, the refusal to acknowledge dangerously low body weight.

In addition to DSM-5, mental health professionals rely on psychological self-assessment questionnaires for diagnosis. They can also use clinical rating scales, including:

What are the treatment options for eating disorders?

Treatment options for eating disorders include:

  • Treatment of medical symptoms
  • Attempts to restore healthy body weight
  • Nutrition education and counseling
  • Individualized psychotherapy
  • Family therapy
  • Group therapy

Treatment examples:

The Maudsley Method: family-based therapy

The Maudsley Method provides guidelines to help adolescents and children with eating disorders by supporting parents to take a central role in diet management. Parents temporarily take control of the patient’s food and activity, e.g. selecting, preparing, serving and supervising meals and snacks, until the patient shows evidence of weight gain.When the adolescent is at or near full weight restoration and self-starvation behaviors have subsided, the treatment may conclude with further support.

Cognitive behavioral therapy

Cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) targets in-patients and out-patients, aiming to change negative self-statements and basic assumptions anorexic patients maintain. Mental health professionals first identify patients’ cognitive biases, then replace their irrational thoughts with logical ones.

Behavioral treatments

These target in-patients with more severe conditions. This approach focuses on helping the patient to recover from anorexia by changing their behavior. For example, mental health professionals may teach anorexic patients to formulate new eating habits with a goal toy, increase their amount of food consumption.

Can eating disorders be prevented?

Participate in prevention programs

Prevention interventions of eating disorders may be implemented under clinical, community and school-based settings. Programs that focus on changing the weight-related attitudes of youth and promoting healthy weight-control strategies aim to prevent eating disorders.

Develop new interests

One solution to prevent developing eating disorders is to distract yourself from paying too much attention to your weight. It helps to break the habit of checking your body shape and frequently weighing yourself. Consider developing an interest in outdoor activities like hiking and swimming to shift attention away from your physical appearance.

Practice self-love, esteeming self and self worth

Eating disorder sufferers almost always have low self worth and negative beliefs that lead to chronic low self esteem. They often have “other esteem” which means they rely on other people to provide their feelings of value and worth. Until they reduce their reliance on the fickle opinion of others and learn the skill of esteeming themselves from within, recovery can be difficult.  Eating disorders can also result from early negative childhood experiences such as loss of a parent or beloved relative, abuse and even sexual abuse, so an assessment by a qualified and experienced clinician is advised to get an accurate diagnosis of the underlying cause. There is often a strong addictive element at work with bulimia nervosa as the act of vomiting is a powerful stress reliever and creates an endorphin response. Endorphins are the body’s natural opiates and in this way vomiting after bingeing becomes a compulsive habit with a payoff.Anorexia nervosa causes starvation and one of the body’s ways of enduring the pain of starvation during times of famine was to induce a sense of euphoria, a natural high. This “high” has been a feature of fasting for religious purposes throughout history. Thus self induced starvation can also become highly addictive, with anorexics being able to go without food for long periods thanks to this natural payoff.

Therefore it may be helpful to see the complex topic of eating disorders through the lens of an addiction while considering which of the many treatment approaches will work best.

Further Support

In case of need for immediate support, please reach out to mental health professionals. Below is a list of organizations that offer eating disorders counseling:

Hong Kong Eating Disorder Association Limited 
Address: Unit 101, 1/F, The Mills, 45 Pak Tin Par Street, Tsuen Wan
Tel: 2850 4448
Email: [email protected]

The Lighthouse Counseling
Address: 15/F, Bonham Centre, 79-85 Bonham Strand, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong
Tel: 6086 7995
Email: [email protected]

MindNLife
Address: Suite 1202, Chinachem Hollywood Centre 1 Hollywood Road, Central, Hong Kong
Tel: 2521 4668
Email: [email protected]

Child Development Team
Address: 10th Floor, One Island South, Suite 1015, 2 Heung Yip Road, Hong Kong
Tel: 2592 9000
Email: [email protected]

ReSource The Counselling Centre Limited 
Address: 701, China Hong Kong Tower, 8-12 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong
Tel: 2523 8979
Email: [email protected]

FAQs

What is an eating disorder?

Eating disorders are characterized by abnormal eating patterns causing physical, mental and emotional distress, typically accompanied by body dysmoephia, a distorted body image. The primary constituent of eating disorders is under or over eating, with or without compulsive bingeing and purging patterns.

Can you have an eating disorder and not realise?

It is possible but unusual. Patients may falsely assume their eating habits to be normal and fail to recognize the problems. If you suspect that you may suffer from disordered eating, consult a qualified clinician for a professional diagnosis.

Who is most likely to get an eating disorder?

Research suggests females are more likely to develop eating disorders than males, though up to one in ten anorexics are men.  In terms of age, adolescents and young adults aged from 14 to 25 are most at risk,  but younger children and adults can also be affected.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.