新型冠狀病毒疫情下懷孕生育:您需要知道的事

現時網上和社交媒體上有大量關於新型冠狀病毒(Novel Coronavirus或COVID-19)的資訊及討論。在嚴肅的主題上,特別是在公共衛生問題上,我們認為大家必須尋求和接收真實、可靠及專業的資訊。 我們Healthy Matters的使命是為您提供最佳的醫療保健資訊,以便您為您和您的家人作出最佳選擇。


新型冠狀病毒(現稱為COVID-19或Novel Coronavirus)由於已經傳到世界各地而繼續成為新聞焦點。在如此嚴峻的疫情下,孕婦需要了解更多疫情下的懷孕生育資訊,例如懷孕會否有特定的風險?如何減低這些風險?

為了解更多資訊,我們獨家專訪了香港婦產科醫生Dr. Zara Chan 陳駱靈岫醫生,她最近生了第三個小朋友,現時她每日都在疫情下密切關注香港的準媽媽們。

症狀有什麼?

跟據CDC世界衛生組織,常見症狀包括:發燒,咳嗽和/或呼吸困難。

年紀較大和/或存在健康問題的人因感染新型冠狀病毒而出現嚴重症狀的風險更高。

嚴重的感染可導致:

– 肺炎和需要住院,

– 嚴重的急性呼吸道綜合症,

– 腎功能衰竭,

– 死亡

如果您在過去14日內曾到過中國大陸或出現社區爆發的國家(例如韓國、伊朗或意大利)並有上述症狀、或者接觸過最近14日內曾到達中國大陸或出現社區爆發的國家並且出現上述症狀的人,那麼您感染了新冠病毒的風險特別高。

我現時懷孕,並有上述一些症狀,可以怎麼辦?

如果您有上述任何症狀,您應聯繫您的婦產科醫生,讓他們知道您的症狀、外遊紀錄和接觸過什麼人或物。

由於當前也是流感季節,您的症狀可能與普通流感有關,不一定是新型冠狀病毒。如果您確實有任何輕微症狀,您的醫生將可以給您開適當的藥。

普遍的預防措施能有助於減少感染的機會,例如經常洗手、避免不潔或可能受感染的手接觸皮膚或黏膜(例如揉眼睛和咬手指)。戴口罩可以減少病毒感染者把病毒傳播給他人的風險。

現時,許多診所和醫院都對治療接觸過感染者或有外遊紀錄的人有所限制,因此明智的做法是提前致電您的診所查詢。

目前為止,有沒有孕婦感染新型冠狀病毒?

截至2020年3月9日,已知有18名孕婦感染了新冠病毒。迄今為止,全世界有超過100,000個案例。暫時沒有嬰兒或孕婦因新冠病毒而死亡。在香港,現時並未有涉及孕婦的病例。

如果孕婦受到感染,會傳染給嬰兒嗎?

不會。暫時未有確實證據顯示受感染的孕婦會將病毒傳播給未出生的嬰兒。雖然,現時有兩個初生嬰兒感染新冠病毒的病例。但是,據推斷是出生之後短時間內受的感染。目前為止,並沒有強而有力、關於子宮內傳播的科學證據。

如果初生嬰兒受感染,會有什麼風險?

目前,中國大陸有兩個初生嬰兒感染新冠病毒(COVID-19)的案例。跟據過往有關兒童冠狀病毒感染(coronavirus infections)的經驗,儘管他們可以受感染,但他們的症狀往往較輕,沒有長期後遺症。感染冠狀病毒的兒童通常會出現呼吸道症狀和發燒,這些症狀會在幾天內消失。

孕婦的風險會否較高?

孕婦比非孕婦更容易受到普通或嚴重的感染。根據過往有關呼吸道病毒的經驗,任何妊娠階段的孕婦如果感染了相關病毒,都會有較複雜的懷孕生育情況(例如流產、嬰兒出生體重過輕和早產)和住院的風險。 與未懷孕的同齡人相比,她們也傾向需要得到深切治療。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

孕婦怎樣做才最能夠預防任何感染風險?

與非孕婦相同。

– 避免人多擁迫的地方。

– 經常洗手,尤其是在進食前,並避免接觸眼睛、鼻子和嘴。

– 戴口罩會減少感染者傳播病毒給您的風險。

– 避免共用餐具和杯子。

現在外遊安全嗎?

只要記住上述注意事項,您是可以外遊的。但是,需要注意的是,如果有受感染者在飛機上,您受感染的風險十分高,飛機可能是容易傳播病毒的環境,原因是有很多人擠在密閉的空間裡。因此,就現時的情況而言,如非必要請勿外遊。

您的準媽媽們是否非常擔心新冠病毒?

她們會擔心但是在合理範圍內。

有什麼建議給孕婦?

要保持謹慎,但不必過份擔心。保持清潔衛生並定期洗手,以確保雙手乾淨。如有任何症狀或疑問,請聯繫您的醫生。

—-

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險或懷孕生育保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

陳駱靈岫醫生 Dr. Zara Chan是領康醫療母嬰診所的婦產科專家。她是加拿大人,並在香港威爾斯親王醫院完成了醫學培訓。她獲得了香港婦產科學院的專業資格,並且是英國皇家婦產科學院的成員。她曾是香港中文大學的名譽講師,現任助產士及母嬰護理服務人員協會主席。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Coronavirus and Pregnancy: What You Should Know

There has been an explosion of information, comments and opinions on the new coronavirus (COVID-19) on the internet and on social media. We believe that on serious topics in general, and on public health matters in particular, it is essential that you rely on facts and seek credible, expert information. Our mission at Healthy Matters remains to bring you the best possible information, so you can make the best choices for you and your family. Subscribe to our newsletter to stay informed!


COVID-19 continues to generate news worldwide as it spreads, but what should pregnant women know? Are there any specific risks for pregnancies? How to manage them? 

To know more, here is an exclusive interview with Dr. Zara Chan 陳駱靈岫, a gynaecologist and obstetrician in Hong Kong who recently had her third baby, and follows expectant mothers on a daily basis in these unusual times.

What are the symptoms?

As reported by CDC and WHO, common symptoms include: fever, cough and/or shortness of breath.

People of older age and/or with existing health issues are deemed at higher risk of developing severe symptoms from the new coronavirus.

Severe infections can cause:

– Pneumonia and hospitalisation, 

– Severe acute respiratory syndrome,

– Kidney failure,

– Death.

You are particularly at risk if you have the above symptoms within 14 days after travelling from Mainland China or the countries with community outbreaks (such as South Korea, Iran or Italy), or have been in close contact with someone showing these symptoms after travelling from Mainland China or these other countries.

I am pregnant and have some of these symptoms. What should I do?

If you have any of the above symptoms, you should contact your OBGYN to let them know of your symptoms, travel and contact history.

As it is also currently the flu season, your symptoms can be related to the common flu, not just COVID-19. If you do have any of the minor symptoms, your doctor will be able to prescribe you with appropriate medications.

Universal precautions such as frequent hand washing, avoidance of mucosal contact with potentially contaminated hands (e.g. rubbing eyes and biting fingers) will help to reduce the chance of infection. Wearing a mask will reduce the risk of infected persons spreading to other people. 

Many clinics and hospitals now have restrictions on the treatment of people with contact or travel history, so it is wise to call ahead to your clinic.

Has any pregnant woman been infected with novel coronavirus so far?

As of March 9 2020, there are 18 known cases of pregnant women infected with COVID-19. This is out of over 100,000 cases worldwide to date. There has been no deaths in babies or pregnant mothers. None of the cases involving pregnant women is in Hong Kong.

If a pregnant woman is infected, does she pass it to her baby?

No. It is not known that infected women will transmit the virus to their unborn baby. There are two reported case of a newborn infected with the novel coronavirus. But it is postulated to be an infection shortly after birth. There is until now no strong scientific evidence of in utero transmission. 

If a newborn is infected, what are the risks?

There are currently two reported cases of newborns infected with COVID-19 in Mainland China. Previous experience with coronavirus infections in children shows that although they can be infected, they tend to have milder symptoms and no long term sequelae. Children with coronavirus usually present with upper respiratory tract symptoms and fever that resolve over days. 

Are there any increased risks for pregnant women?

Pregnant women are more prone to infections or more serious infections than non pregnant women. Based on previous experience with respiratory viruses, pregnant women at all trimesters are at risk of more complicated pregnancy outcomes (such as miscarriage, low birth weight, and preterm delivery) and hospitalisation if they contract the disease. They are also more likely to need intensive care than their non pregnant counterparts.

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

What can pregnant women do to best prevent any infection risk?

It is the same as for non pregnant women. 

– Avoid crowded areas.

– Wash hands frequently especially before eating, and avoid contact with eyes, nose, and mouth.

– Wearing a face mask will reduce the risk of infected persons spreading to you.

– Avoid sharing eating utensils and cups.

Is it safe to travel?

You can travel as long as you bear in mind the precautions above. However, one needs to be aware that airplanes can be an easy source of spread if an infected person is on the plane, due to the high number of people packed into a confined space. So at this time, only travel if you need to.

Are your patients very worried about coronavirus?

They are concerned but within reason. 

Any advice for pregnant women?

Be cautious but no need to worry excessively. Keep clean and practice hand hygiene with regular hand washing. Be in contact with your doctor in case of any symptoms or questions. 

—-

Looking for health insurance? Need maternity coverage? Contact our partner AD MediLink now at [email protected] or +852 2606 2668 for a a quote with expert and unbiased advice. Their advisors are uniquely trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system (public and private) to answer all your questions.

Dr. Zara Chan 陳駱靈岫 is a Specialist in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, practicing at OT&P Healthcare’s Woman and Child Clinic in Central. Dr. Chan is Canadian and completed her medical training at the Prince of Wales Hospital in Hong Kong. She received her specialist qualification from the Hong Kong College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists and is a member of the UK Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. She was an honorary lecturer at The Chinese University of Hong Kong and is currently the president of the Midwives and Maternal-Child Caregivers Association.

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and is not sponsored. It is informative only and not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. It should not be relied upon for specific medical advice.