美白牙齒:您的香港專業指南

我們都知道讓人對自己印象深刻的重要性。當您遇到其他人時,您的笑容通常是人們首先注意到的東西,而如今,人們一直在追尋白色的“荷里活”笑容。多年的飲食、咖啡和紅酒等飲料以及吸煙會使閃鑠的笑容變得暗淡無光。因此,香港越來越多的人正在考慮美白牙齒。

我們訪問了香港牙醫Dr. Paul Leung 梁仲弘醫生,向我們介紹了有關香港牙齒美白的所有資訊。

一般牙齒美白的安全性

美白牙齒是件大事。像香港任何有利可圖的業務一樣,牙齒美白服務有廣泛不同的標準。目前,香港的牙齒美白並沒有受管制。香港牙醫學會現正努力推行安全規例,以確保只有註冊牙醫才能提供專業的牙科服務。在這裡可以找到香港普通牙醫和專業牙醫的名單。

在網上,美白牙齒的產品也有所增加。小心注意及了解您放在牙齒上的東西。如有疑問,請諮詢您的牙醫有關您要使用的產品,以確定是否安全或合適。

根據英國牙科協會 (British Dental Association),目前尚不清楚專業牙齒美白或非處方牙齒美白對孕婦和哺乳期的母親是否安全。他們建議只使用美白牙膏或蘇打粉,以確保安全。

香港的專業牙齒美白

首先,您需要諮詢您的牙醫,以估算您可以變白多少度。通常,黃色和橙色的牙齒的變白效果良好,而灰色和棕色則較頑固。年輕患者的牙齒比年老患者更容易變白,並且能夠達到更大的改變。您的牙醫會估計您需要的治療次數,並會在療程前後拍照以監測變化。

如果您有牙冠或瓷貼面,請記住它們的顏色不會隨著牙齒美白療程而改變,因此您需要將牙齒與它們的顏色相配,或者更換牙冠/瓷貼面以與您的新的牙齒顏色相配。

專業牙齒美白有兩種選擇 – 牙醫處方附有牙托的家中牙齒美白、或診所內進行的牙齒美白。

牙醫監督下的家用牙齒美白工具

牙醫指導下在家中進行美白,可能需要大約2-4週的時間才能達到所需的牙齒美白度。您想牙齒越白,需要進行的次數越多。

這種方法花的時間更長,但患者有更多控制權。如果想要更白的結果,則可以進行更多次美白程序。如果對幾次程序後的牙齒潔白度感到滿意,便可以停止。這種方法的另一個好處是,如果一段時間後牙齒看起來不太白,可以再次使用牙托和凝膠。

如果您遇到敏感性問題,建議您停幾天,等到敏感減弱後再繼續。但是,如果您遇到異常的牙齒過敏或有牙齦或嘴唇的刺激,請停止使用並諮詢牙醫。

Get Our Newsletter

Trusted, relevant, independent.

By signing up you agree to our T&Cs and Privacy Policy.

在香港的牙科診所進行牙齒美白

在診所美白是一種更快的選擇,並且越來越受歡迎。 因為凝膠的製備濃度高很多,所以牙齒可以更快地變白。但是,必須小心保護嘴唇和牙齦,並小心地將凝膠塗抹在牙齒上,以防止化學灼傷或吞嚥凝膠帶來的痛苦。香港有不同需要藍光或激光輔助的各種美白配方的品牌,而有些品牌則不需要任何東西。研究表示,使用光的美白產品與不使用光的美白產品相比,在美白程度的方面沒有差異。使用光/激光的好處可能是總程序時間較短(例如:20分鐘vs 40分鐘),但壞處是,那些需要激光/光的設備通常更昂貴。

在香港的美容院進行牙齒美白

關於美容院的牙齒美白安全性的資訊並不多。許多不同的化學物質已被用來美白牙齒,但是這些產品大多數都含有過氧化氫(hydrogen peroxide) 作為活性成分,因為發現它是最安全、最有效的。牙齒美白的危險在於不安全的產品或產品的不當使用。有報導指,人們在商場的零售店、美容院或遊輪上用了“非過氧化氫”( non-hydrogen peroxide-based) 的凝膠來美白牙齒後,牙齒的表面永久變得粗糙。人們後來發現這些產品含有二氧化氯(chlorine dioxide) 作為活性成分,這種凝膠通常呈酸性,有可能永久破壞琺瑯質並對牙齒造成永久性損害。

美容院並不主動公開其產品中包含的成分/活性劑。因此梁醫生建議從您正在考慮去的美容院獲取成分清單,並在進行任何療程之前先諮詢您的牙醫。

在香港未經處方的牙齒美白

美白牙膏
美白牙膏可以通過溫和的拋光或化學程序去除表面上的污漬。儘管香港牙醫學會未發布此類名單,但美國牙醫學會卻列出了認可的美白牙膏名單,其中一些可在香港購買。這些牙膏其中一些可能會加重敏感牙齒,因此請謹慎使用。

牙齒美白條
在雜貨店和藥物零售商的櫃檯(如萬寧和屈臣氏)可以在購買到許多家用牙齒漂白工具。最常見的是在牙齒表面貼上美白條。這些產品中很多都含有高達14%的過氧化氫香港牙醫學會建議不要使用這種膠條,因為它們不是就每個人的不同口形而設計的,因此有破壞和刺激牙齦的風險。請謹慎小心使用這些產品。

天然美白選項
您可以在互聯網上找到許多天然的美白牙齒方法。它們大多數未經證實,但是一些研究表示,用蘇打粉代替牙膏是有效的牙齒美白劑。考慮到蘇打粉是美白牙膏中常見的成分,這並不令人感到意外。

安全地獲得亮白的笑容絕對是有可能的,但確實需要謹慎小心。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫你解惑。

由Dr. Paul Chung Wang Leung 梁仲弘牙醫於2018年5月21日審閱。
Dr. Paul Chung Wang Leung 梁仲弘牙醫於2008年在波士頓大學的高盛牙科醫學院(Goldman School of Dental Medicine) 獲得了牙科醫學博士學位(DMD),並於2012年在塔夫茨大學的牙科醫學院完成了口腔修復專業培訓。他是受the American Board of Prosthodontics認可的牙齒修復專家,並且是the American College of Prosthodontics(FACP) 的成員。梁醫生現時在中環獨門執業,也是香港大學牙科學院的兼職臨床講師。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Your Guide to Teeth Whitening in Hong Kong

We all know the importance of a good impression. Your smile is often one of the first things people notice when you meet them and a white ‘Hollywood’ smile is what people are looking for these days. Years of eating food, drinks like coffee and red wine, and smoking can dull that sparkly smile.
 
We spoke to Hong Kong dentist, Dr. Paul Leung 梁仲弘牙醫 to tell us what our teeth whitening options are in Hong Kong.
 
 

General teeth whitening safety

Teeth whitening is big business. Like any lucrative business in Hong Kong, there is a wide standard of practices on offer. At the moment, teeth whitening is an unregulated practice. The Hong Kong Dental Association is trying to push through safety regulation at the moment so that only registered dentists can provide professional dental services. A lists of general and specialist dentists in Hong Kong can be found here.
 
There has also been an increase of online whitening products available. Be careful with what you put onto your teeth. If in doubt, consult your dentist regarding the product you wish to use, to determine whether it is safe or appropriate to do so.
 
According to the British Dental Association, it’s unclear whether professional whitening or over-the-counter strips are safe for pregnant and nursing mothers. They recommend sticking with whitening toothpastes or baking soda to be safe.
 
 

Professional teeth whitening in Hong Kong

To begin, you’ll have a consultation with your dentist to estimate how many shades whiter you can go. Generally, yellow and orange-stained teeth respond well while grey and brown stains are more stubborn. Younger patients’ teeth are more susceptible to whitening and will be able to achieve a greater change than older patients. Your dentist will estimate the number of treatments you’ll require and will take before and after photos to monitor the change.
 
If you have crowns or veneers, keep in mind that their colour will not change with teeth whitening so you’ll either need to match your teeth to their colour or replace the crown/veneer to match your new tooth colour.
 
There are two options for professional teeth whitening – either dentist-prescribed at-home teeth whitening with dental trays or in-office teeth whitening.
 
 

Dentist supervised at-home teeth whitening with dental trays

With at-home dentist-supervised whitening, it will likely take about 2-4 weeks to achieve your desired tooth whiteness. The whiter your desired tooth shade, the more applications are required.
 
This method takes longer but the patient is in more control. If you want whiter results, you can apply more applications; if they are satisfied with how white their teeth are after several applications, they can stop. The other benefit of this method is that if after time teeth look less white, the trays and gel can be used again.
 
If you experience sensitivity, it is recommended that you stop for a few days and continue when the sensitivity has subsided. However, if you experience abnormal dental hypersensitivity or irritation to your gums or lips, discontinue use and consult your dentist.
 
 

Dental clinic teeth whitening

In-office whitening is a much faster option and is becoming increasingly popular. Because the gels are prepared at a much higher concentration, teeth can be whitened much faster. On the flip side, the lips and gums must be carefully protected and the gel carefully applied to the teeth to prevent painful chemical burns or swallowing of the gel. Different brands are available with various formulations that require blue light or lasers, while others do not require anything. Studies have shown that there is no difference in the whiteness achieved between whitening products that use light versus whitening products that don’t use light. The benefit with the use of light/lasers may be total application time (example: 20 minutes vs 40 minutes) but the downside is that those requiring laser/lights are usually more expensive.
 
 

Salon-based teeth whitening in Hong Kong

There’s not a lot of information about the safety of salon-based teeth whitening. Many different chemicals have been used to whiten teeth, but the majority of these products contain hydrogen peroxide as the active ingredient because it was found to be the safest and most effective. The danger with teeth whitening lies with unsafe products or inappropriate use of products. There have been reports of people suffering permanent roughness to the surface of their teeth after having their teeth whitened with “non-hydrogen peroxide-based gels” at mall kiosks, beauty salons, or cruise ships. These products were found out to contain chlorine dioxide as the active ingredient, and these gels are usually very acidic and have the potential to permanently strip away enamel and cause permanent damage to the teeth.
 
Salons do not make the ingredients/active agents contained in their products public. Dr. Leung recommends getting the ingredient list from the salon you are considering and asking your dentist before going ahead with any treatments.
 
 

Over-the-counter whitening in Hong Kong

Whitening toothpastes
Whitening toothpastes remove surface-level stains with gentle polishing, or a chemical process. While the Hong Kong Dental Association doesn’t publish such a list, the American Dental Association has a list of approved whitening toothpastes, some of which are available in Hong Kong. Some of these toothpastes can aggravate sensitive teeth so use them with care.
 
Whitening strips
There are a number of at-home teeth bleaching kits available over-the-counter at grocery stores and chemists such as Mannings and Watsons. The most common consist of a whitening strip applied to the front of your teeth. A lot of these products contain levels of hydrogen peroxide as high as 14%. The Hong Kong Dental Association (HKDA) recommends against such strips because they are not personalized for each person’s mouth and risk damaging and irritating the gums. Please proceed with caution when using these products.
 
Natural whitening options
There are a number of natural options you can find on the internet to whiten teeth. Most of them are unproven, however several studies have shown that using baking soda in place of toothpaste is an effective tooth whitener. It shouldn’t come as a huge surprise considering baking soda is such a common ingredient in whitening toothpastes.
 
Getting a whiter smile safely is definitely possible but does require some caution.
 
Looking for health insurance? Do you want to better understand your current coverage or healthcare options? Contact our partner AD MediLink today at hello@admedilink.hk or +852 2296 9773 for unbiased advice. Their advisors are fully trained on the Hong Kong healthcare system to answer all your questions; on both the public and private sectors.
 
Reviewed by Dr. Paul Chung Wang Leung 梁仲弘牙醫 on 21 May 2018.
Dr. Paul Chung Wang Leung 梁仲弘牙醫 obtained his Doctor of Dental Medicine (DMD) at Boston University Goldman School of Dental Medicine in 2008 and completed his Prosthodontic speciality training at Tufts University School of Dental Medicine in 2012. Dr. Leung is recognized as an American Board Certified Prosthodontist, Diplomate of the American Board of Prosthodontics, and is a Fellow of the American College of Prosthodontics (FACP). Dr. Leung maintains his own solo practice in Central and is also a part-time clinical instructor at the University of Hong Kong Faculty of Dentistry.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.