反思時間:為什麼你應該專注於重要事情上

最後更新於
2022-03-20

8 分鐘閱讀

time out to reflect lady at lake

作為我們反思系列的一部分,JEMS創始人Christine Ma-Lau劉馬露明提醒我們,我們需要重新優先把重點和專注力放在生活中的重要事情上。

 

前幾天,我正嘗試與一位朋友計劃一起做些什麼,才意識到我們上一次有空的週末已經是八個月前了!說香港的生活很忙,只是輕描淡寫的。我們有世界上最長的工作時間,每隔幾週就要慶祝一次令人難以置信地密集的社交生活和節日。這是我熱愛生活的一部分,這是令人興奮的一部分,但它可以使我們的願景蒙上陰影,並使我們專注於緊急的事情而不是重要的事情。

緊急和重要事情之間的分別

美國第34任總統德懷特艾森豪(President Dwight Eisenhower)說得很對:「重要的事很少是緊迫的,緊迫的事也通常不重要。」為了幫助人們分別緊急事件和重要事件,艾森豪創造了現在稱為艾森豪矩陣(Eisenhower Decision Matrix)的模型。

 

 

緊急

非緊急

重要

緊急和重要

 

  • 危機事件(Crises)
  • 截止日期前要完成的事(Deadlines)
  • 處理問題(Problems)

非緊急但重要

 

  • 反思(Reflection)
  • 人際關係(Relationships)
  • 運動(Exercise)
不重要

緊急但不重要

 

  • 中途打斷的事(Interruptions)
  • 某些會議(Certain meetings)

非緊急和不重要

 

  • 被拖延的事(Procrastination)
  • 浪費時間的活動(Time wasting activities)

我們要優先處理的事應該是緊急而重要的事情

不用說,我們應該首先關注緊急和重要的事項。對於兒童而言,緊急且重要的事情可能是避免意外發生。問題在於,我們經常還會遇到“緊急但不重要”的問題 – 中途打斷的事,例如在工作時,收到電子郵件後2秒鐘內回復電子郵件。這很重要,但其實並不需要我們中斷當前正在專注的事情。也很容易陷入將時間花在“非緊急和不重要”上的陷阱,對此我感到有罪惡感 – 看太多電視和YouTube,每5分鐘檢查一次Facebook並在線上購物。

我們應該在非緊急但重要的事情上投放更多時間

我們真正錯過的是非緊急但重要的事情。尤其是隨著我們經常使用智能手機,很容易將我們的注意力放在到需要立即關注的緊急情況上。我們一天中只有這麼多的注意力和時間,所以生活中的重要事情很容易被拋在一邊:投資於人際關係,進行規律的運動鍛煉以及花時間反思我們的生活。

 

偶爾退後一步,花點時間思考我們需要優先考慮的事情,這一點很重要。我們選擇優先考慮的事情會影響我們的生活。有時候,我們就像在輪子上的倉鼠 – 我們一直在奔跑,但我們沒有目的地。為了創造我們想要的生活,我們需要抽出時間坐下來,退後一步,反思大局。

一些有用的問題,可讓您思考什麼是重要的事情

  1. 一生中對我最重要的事情和人是什麼?
  2. 今年我為自己感到驕傲的是什麼?
  3. 我熱衷於什麼?
  4. 來年我想對誰人投放更多愛?
  5. 來年我能做些什麼?
  6. 我要感謝什麼/誰?如何表達?
  7. 我來自哪裡,而我正在去哪裡?

我鼓勵您跟我一樣,抽出時間專注於您希望優先安排時間的地方。首先,可能需要花費一些工作來改變一些優先次序,但是我保證,這是值得的。

Christine Ma-Lau劉馬露明對教育兒童品格和價值觀的熱情促使她建立了JEMS Learning House,這是一所領先的機構,向12歲以下的兒童提供品格教育。劉馬露明是JEMS Learning House的校長、香港教育大學的教授和品格教育協會的創始主席。品格教育協會是一個非政府組織,在兒童品格方面為學校和組織提供培訓和資源。作為品格教育的專家,劉馬露明在香港大學、香港教育大學、聖保羅男女中學、聖士提反書院、基督教國際學校等著名機構為學生、教師和社工舉辦了講座、工作坊和培訓。

V2_Tc_HM_Horizontal_promo_banner_800_215_V2.png

🔥限時優惠:買醫保即享$8,000回贈!🔥

正考慮購買醫療保險?Alea 專家幫到你!
 

Alea 會幫你找到所需的醫療或人壽保險,過程輕鬆簡單!
🔎 免費比較超過25間保險公司
💰 節省時間和金錢
💬 專業持平的顧問意見
💯 優質服務全年無休

 

🤝 立即透過 Alea x Healthy Matters 取得免費報價!

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

分享

Time Out to Reflect | Why You Should Focus on the Important Matters

As part of our Time Out series, JEMS founder Christine Ma-Lau 劉馬露明 reminds us that we need to refocus our priorities towards the important things in life.
 
I was trying to make plans with a friend the other day and realised that the first weekend day we had available was eight months away! To say life in Hong Kong is busy is an understatement. We have some of the longest work hours in the world, incredibly dense social lives and festivals every few weeks to celebrate. It’s exciting and part of what I love about living here but it can cloud our vision and has us focusing on what is urgent rather than what is important.
 
 

The difference between urgent and important matters

President Dwight Eisenhower got it right when he said, “what is important is seldom urgent and what is urgent is seldom important.” In order to help people differentiate between the urgent and important, Eisenhower created what is now known as the Eisenhower Decision Matrix.
 
 URGENT NON-URGENT 
IMPORTANT
Urgent and important
  • Crises 
  • Deadlines 
  • Problems
Not urgent and important
  • Reflection 
  • Relationships
  • Exercise 
NON-IMPORTANT
 
Urgent and not important
  • Interruptions 
  • Certain meetings
 
Not urgent and not important 
  • Procrastination
  • Time wasting activities
 
 

Our number one priority should be urgent and important things

It goes without saying that we should first attend to urgent and important items. When it comes to children, urgent and important could involve averting an accident. The problem is that we often also attend to the ‘urgent and not important’ – interruptions in what we’re doing like responding to emails within 2 seconds of receiving them. It’s important, but doesn’t require us to interrupt what we’re focusing on in the moment. It’s also easy to fall into the trap of spending time on the ‘not urgent and not important’ and I am guilty of that – watching too much TV and YouTube, checking Facebook every 5 minutes and shopping online.
 
 

We should invest more time in important and non-urgent matters

The quadrant we really miss out on is important but not urgent. Especially with our constantly-connected smartphones, it’s so easy to have our attention swept away by urgent things that demand immediate attention. We only have so much attention to give and hours in the day so it’s easy for the important things in life to get swept aside: investing in relationships, doing regular exercise, and taking time to reflect on our lives.
 
It’s important to step back once in a while and take time out to reflect on the things we prioritise. The things we choose to prioritise shape our lives. Sometimes we’re like hamsters on a wheel – we keep running and running but we don’t have a destination. In order to create the life we want, we need to take time out to sit down, take a step back and reflect on the big picture.
 
 

Some helpful questions to get you thinking about what’s important

1. What or who are the most important things and people in my life?
2. What have I done this year that I am proud of?
3. What am I passionate about?
4. Whom would I like to love on more this coming year?
5. What can I do better this coming year?
6. What/whom am I grateful for and how can I express it?
7. Where did I come from and where am I going?
 
 
I encourage you to join me and take time out to focus on where you want to prioritise your time. It might take a bit of work to shift some of your priorities at first, but I promise, it will be worth it.
 
 
Christine Ma-Lau’s 劉馬露明 passion for educating children in character and values inspired her to establish the JEMS Learning House, a leading institution that provides Character Education to children up to the age of 12. Christine is the Principal of the JEMS Learning House, Adjunct Professor at the Education University of Hong Kong and Founding Chairperson of Character Education Foundation, an NGO that provides training and resources to schools & organisations in the area of character. As an expert in Character Education, Christine has hosted talks, workshops and trainings for students, teachers and social workers at prestigious institutions including The University of Hong Kong, The Education University of Hong Kong, St. Paul’s Co-Educational College, St. Stephen’s College and International Christian School to name a few.