自體脂肪隆胸:與香港整形外科醫生討論有關脂肪移植

脂肪移植或脂肪轉移是一項醫療程序,從身體的一部分除去和純化脂肪,然後再把那些脂肪注射到身體另一部分,通常是乳房或面部。這聽起來就如整容手術的奇蹟!脂肪移植是一項不斷發展的技術。近年來,隨著整形外科醫生意識到脂肪的再生潛力,他們發現脂肪移植技術可以用在多方面。目前正用於重建整形外科中,它可以使用於治療因先天性疾病導致的軟組織缺損、腫瘤切除或外傷。另外,在治療糖尿病潰瘍、疤痕攣縮和放射性皮膚損傷方面亦有不錯的效果。

而在本文,我們將僅專注於脂肪移植的美學用途。我們訪問了整形外科醫生Dr. Richie Chan 陳肖龍醫生,他為我們解答了所有有關脂肪移植手術的問題。

脂肪移植可以增大身體哪些部位?

出於美學原因,脂肪移植通常用於隆胸。我認為第二個最常見的部位是面部,但就個人而言,我認為它對乳房最有效。實際上,想注射多少脂肪在乳房中隨個人喜歡,但是必須分多次進行,直至達到所需的大小。脂肪細胞在受體部位(如乳房)的接觸表面積越多,脂肪移植便會越成功。每個脂肪細胞都需要血液供應。當所有條件都理想、而且在每個過程中我們都使用適量的脂肪時,70-80%的脂肪細胞將能成功“攝取”。其餘的將被重新吸收到血液中。如果您想嘗試一次注射過多的脂肪,那麼多餘的脂肪就會死亡。它可能被重新吸收、鈣化或變成囊腫。這些會令乳房出現腫塊,可能引起不必要的焦慮,並且要進一步進行檢查或醫療程序。

脂肪移植物可單獨用於隆胸或與植入物結合使用,通常是矽膠植入物。非常苗條或曾經做過乳房手術的女性可能具有非常薄的皮膚和皮下層。由於皮下脂肪很薄,放置在這些女士身上的植入物有時很容易被觸及。在這種情況下,我們建議單獨使用脂肪移植物來增大乳房或使用組合(脂肪移植物和植入物)技術。通過組合技術,我們在植入物周圍放了一層脂肪移植物,使胸部的外觀和感覺更加自然。

脂肪來自邊到?

通常從大腿、腹部、後腹(腰部贅肉!)或臀部抽取脂肪。

脂肪移植物還有哪些其他美學用途?可以使用脂肪移植物來平整痤瘡疤痕和/或皺紋嗎?

使用脂肪移植治療痤瘡疤痕和皺紋並不太常見。而且由於有更好的方法來治療兩者,所以我不建議脂肪移植。

脂肪移植最初用作填補身體一些部位,尤其是在手背。大多數人在保持面部皮膚上都投放了大量精力,但真正出賣您年齡的部位是手背!在手部注入脂肪的效果非常有趣。手不僅看起來更飽滿,而且脂肪還對皮膚產生了再生作用,使手看起來更年輕。

與其他類型的隆胸手術相比,使用脂肪移植有無好處?

就隆胸而言,我認為有。能夠成功存活下來的脂肪細胞是永久性的,而大多數人出於各種原因選擇隆胸15年左右後去除植入物。隨年齡增長,植入物可能會移動、破裂或看起來不同,但是脂肪移植仍然相對穩定。

考慮隆胸時要考慮的另一件事是年齡。50歲或以上的女性在考慮利用植入物豐胸時,需要考慮到在15至20年內要將植入物移除的可能性 – 隨著年齡的增長,手術的風險會增加。而使用脂肪移植隆胸的話這並不是大問題。

抽脂還有其他好處!由於脂肪必須抽取自身體某個部位,因此您可以進行“脂肪重新分配”!

脂肪移植的效果能持續多久?

任何在轉移過程中倖存並能夠依附到血液供應的脂肪都是永久性的。由於這是您身體的組織,因此只要細胞在轉移過程中存活,它們就會融合到受體部位。而且因為轉移的組織是屬於您的,通常很少出現排斥問題。

您能講述有關程序嗎?

首先,我們會使用抽脂術從供體區域(通常是腹部、臀部或大腿)抽脂。然後我們會處理脂肪,再在受體區域通過小切口將脂肪重新注入。接受程序者需進行全身麻醉或局部麻醉及鎮靜劑。

脂肪移植的康復期是多久?我的身體會出現腫脹和留疤痕嗎?

從美學上講,乳房要“適應”到新的大小大約需要三個月。在最初幾星期內,它們看起來會更大,原因有兩個。首先,您將會在術後頭一段短時間出現腫脹。其次,一定比例的脂肪細胞將會無法存活,並會被人體吸收,。這個過程需要幾個星期。

我們通常要求女性在我們去除脂肪的區域穿壓力衣。另一方面,我們不希望受體區域承受任何壓力。我們要求女性在進行脂肪移植後三個月內不要戴胸圍。這絕對是要考慮的事情 – 因此冬天是進行脂肪移植的理想時機!我們可以建議在某些場合使用幾種類型的胸圍,但實際上,在恢復期間大部分時間都不穿胸圍是很重要的,這樣可以幫助延長脂肪移植物的存活並令效果更好。

正常的術後腫脹(乳房和脂肪供體區域)和瘀傷將在2-3星期內消失。乳房會有細小的穿刺傷口,需要縫合1-2針。而拆線將在10到14日內進行。

我可以在哪裡進行脂肪移植?我怎麼知道它夠安全?

能夠正確進行脂肪移植的話是安全的。但它仍然是外科手術,因此本身具有一定的風險。像任何醫療程序一樣,必須選擇有豐富經驗的醫療專業人員來進行脂肪移植。在此可以找到已註冊的香港整形外科醫生名單。

尋找脂肪移植服務提供者時,我有一些建議:

  1. 只使用局部麻醉來進行脂肪移植是有可能的,但以我的經驗,大多數人對此並不滿意。我建議您使用鎮靜劑或全身麻醉。
  2. 使用麻醉還有其他風險,所以不要選擇沒有麻醉師的診所。相信您也想確保在麻醉狀態下身處的診所具有適當的監控。
  3. 去除脂肪的方法也很重要。抽脂這一步只是把脂肪抽出來,因此脂肪細胞被抽取時的狀況並不重要。至於脂肪移植,由於我們要保留脂肪細胞的完整性,因此採用能夠保留所有被抽取脂肪的完整性的技術非常重要。我個人更喜歡在抽取脂肪前在皮膚下利用高壓水流使脂肪細胞鬆弛。我相信這是一種比較溫和的技術,與其他方法相比,抽取的脂肪質素更好。

Dr. Richie Chan 陳肖龍是一位整形外科醫生,專門於面部整形和身體輪廓手術。他擁有香港大學的醫學學士學位和碩士學位。在公營醫療系統和學術界擔任整形外科醫生多年後,陳醫生現時在香港開展私家業務。

本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Natural Breast Augmentation | Plastic Surgeon Explains All About Fat Transfer

Fat grafting, or fat transfer, is a procedure consisting of removing and purifying fat from one part of the body to inject in another part, often on the breasts or face. It sounds like a plastic surgery miracle! Fat graft is an evolving technique and many new applications have been discovered in the recent years as plastic surgeons realize its regenerative potential. It is currently being used in reconstructive plastic surgeries for soft tissue defects resulting from congenital conditions, tumor removal, or trauma, and is showing promising results with diabetic ulcers, scar contractures, and radiation skin damage.
 
In this article, we will focus purely on the aesthetic uses of fat graft. We spoke to plastic surgeon Dr. Richie Chan 陳肖龍 who answered all the questions we had on fat graft procedures.
 
 

Which parts of the body are ideal to enhance with fat graft?

For aesthetic purposes, fat graft is commonly used for breast augmentation. I believe the second most common use is in the face but personally, I think it’s most effective in the breast. You can actually inject as much fat as you want into the breast, but it will have to be staged over multiple procedures until you reach the desired size. The more contact surface area the fat cells have in the recipient site – such as the breast – the more successful it will be. Each fat cell needs blood supply. When all conditions are ideal and we use modest amounts of fat in each procedure, 70-80% of the fat cells will successfully ‘take’. The remaining will be reabsorbed into the bloodstream. If you try to put too much fat in at a time, the fat that doesn’t take will die. It may be reabsorbed or it may calcify or turn into a cyst. These present as lumps and may provoke unnecessary anxiety and lead to further investigation and procedures.
 
Fat graft can be used on its own to enhance breasts or in combination with implants, usually silicone ones. Women who are very slim or had previous breast surgery may have very thin skin and subcutaneous layers. Implants placed in these ladies will sometimes be very easily palpable as the overlying skin pocket is thin. In these situations, we would recommend to either augment the breasts with fat graft alone or to use a combination (fat graft and implant) techniques. With the combination technique, we put a layer of fat graft around the implant to make the breast enhancement look and feel more natural.
 
 

Where does the fat come from?

Fat is usually harvested from the thighs, abdomen, the flank (muffin top!), or hips.
 
 

What other aesthetic uses does fat graft have? Can you use fat graft to even out acne scars and/or wrinkles?

Using fat graft for acne scars and wrinkles is not very common. And there are better ways to treat both so I wouldn’t recommend fat graft.
 
It was initially used as a filler, especially in the back of the hand. Most people pay a lot of attention in maintaining the skin on their faces but the area that really betrays you and tells your age is the back of the hand! In the hand, the results were quite interesting. The hand not only looked fuller but the fat also had a regenerative effect on the skin, making it look younger.
 
 

Are there any benefits of using fat graft over other options?

For breast augmentation, I would say yes. Fat cells that successfully survive transfer are permanent whereas most people choose to have their implants removed after around 15 years for various reasons. Implants can move, rupture, or look different as your body ages but fat grafting remains relatively consistent.
 
Another thing to think about when considering breast augmentation is age. Women in their 50s who are considering breast implants need to consider the possible need to have them removed in 15-20 years – obviously the risks of surgery increase as we age. That’s not really an issue with fat grafted breast augmentation.
 
And then there’s the added benefit of having liposuction! Obviously that fat has to come from somewhere so you get an ‘asset redistribution’!
 
 

How long do fat grafting results last?

Any fat that survives the transfer and is able to attach to a blood supply is permanent. It’s your tissue so as long as the cells survives the transfer, they become integrated into the recipient site. There are usually few rejection issues as the transferred tissues are yours to start with.
 
 

Can you tell us about the procedure?

To start, we harvest the fat using liposuction from the donor area, usually the abdomen, hips or thighs. We process the fat and then, using small incisions in the recipient area, we re-inject the fat. Patients are either under general anesthetic or local anesthetic with sedation.
 
 

What is the recovery period for fat grafting? Will I have swelling and scars?

Aesthetically, it takes about three months for the breasts to ‘settle’ into their new size. For the first few weeks, they will look bigger for two reasons. First of all, you will have post-operative swelling for a little while. Secondly, a certain percentage of the fat cells transferred will not survive and will to be reabsorbed by the body. This process takes a few weeks.
 
We usually ask women to wear a pressure garment in the area where we have removed fat. On the other hand, we don’t want any pressure on the recipient area. We ask women not to wear a bra for three months after their fat graft. It’s definitely something to consider – winter is an ideal time for this procedure! We can suggest a couple of types of bras to wear for occasional events but really, it’s important to be bra-free for the majority of the recovery period to maximize fat graft survival and optimize the outcome.
 
Normal post-operative swelling (for both the breast and fat donor areas) and bruising will go away in 2-3 weeks. There are small puncture wounds in the breast which require 1-2 stitches. Those stitches will be removed in 10-14 days.
 
 

Where can I get fat grafting done in Hong Kong? How do I know it’s safe?

Fat grafting is a safe procedure when done properly. It is still a surgical procedure so it has certain inherent risks. Like any medical procedure, it’s vital to undergo fat grafting with a well-trained medical professional. The specialist registry for plastic surgeons in Hong Kong can be found here.
 
I have a couple of recommendations when looking for a fat graft provider:
  1. It is possible to do fat grafting under local anesthesia only but in my experience, most people do not find this comfortable. I recommend either going under sedation or general anesthesia.
  2. There is an additional risk with using anesthesia so don’t go to a clinic that doesn’t have an anesthetist in place. You also want to ensure the clinic you go to has proper monitoring in place while you’re under anesthesia.
  3. The way you remove fat is also very important. With just liposuction, the fat is discarded so it doesn’t matter what the condition of fat cells is when they’re removed. For fat-grafting, because we want to retain the integrity of the fat cells, it is important to adopt a technique that preserves the integrity of fat harvested. I personally prefer employing a high-pressure water jet under the skin to loosen fat cells before removal. I believe it is a gentler technique and the fat harvested are of better quality compared to other methods.
 
Dr. Richie Chan 陳肖龍 is a plastic surgeon specialized in facial plastic and body contouring surgery. He obtained his medical degrees and master degree from Hong Kong University. After working as a plastic surgeon in the public health system and academia for many years, Dr. Chan recently launched his private practice and is the Medical Director at the Garden Medical Centre in Causeway Bay.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.