蒙特梭利 Playgroup 課程 — 你的幼兒學前教育指南

最後更新於
2022-03-25

17 分鐘閱讀

montessori

恭喜各位榮升為爸爸媽媽!你的育兒之旅剛剛起步,接下來的旅程將會充滿刺激和挑戰,有滿足也有挫折。

 

孩子的教育是頭等大事,每個決定都關乎小朋友的成長,尤其是早期的幼兒教育。你可能會面臨一大堆重要的問題:「參不參加 playgroup?」、「報不報N班?」、「幾時要申請?」、「如何選擇適合孩子的學校」等等,每一個環節都會對孩子的將來有莫大影響。

 

Healthy Matters 特此與 Guidepost Montessori 共同為你帶來這份實用香港幼兒教育指南,幫你做好準備,讓小朋友的學習之旅正式啟航。

 

montessori1.jpg

幼兒及學前教育:從何開始?

小朋友的性格、行為、興趣、才能和健康在6歲之前就已經基本成形,從出生起到6歲的經歷對孩子的成長至關重要,如果能提供合適的養分和環境,啟發和栽培他們的好奇心,所建立的價值甚至可能影響孩子一生。

 

在這段黃金時期,小朋友無時無刻不在學習,像海綿一樣吸收新的資訊。從日常觀察、聆聽、氣味、接觸和試驗,與周圍環境的每一個互動都正在建構他們對世界的理解。

0-6歲:Playgroup、N班和幼稚園

Playgroup 和 N班的目標對象為未滿幼稚園入學年齡(3歲以下)的幼童,提供早期教育課程,在香港深受家長歡迎。

 

montessori2.jpg

 

PLAYGROUP

Playgroup 起源於外國,這種學齡前兒童遊戲班適合6個月至2歲大的幼兒(年齡或因教育機構而異)。Playgroup 課程每節大約長90分鐘,以興趣小組的形式,讓父母和小朋友進行休閒聚會和有趣的學習活動,幫助建立親子關係。課堂的導師會引導你和孩子共同體驗具啟發性的活動,你亦可按需要與子女參與語言學習、感官探索、藝術和手工藝、音樂、體育鍛煉等不同內容的 playgroup,選擇應有盡有。

 

除了可以讓小朋友結交新朋友,你也可以借此機會與其他家長建立支援網絡,互相分享「湊仔經」,交流育兒心得。

 

montessori3.jpg

 

N班/學前班

N班其實是學前預備班(Pre-nursery),專門為2-3歲的小朋友而設,更注重兒童的整體發展,旨在訓練孩子的自理能力、藝術、語言乃至運動技能。N班通常由幼稚園或幼兒園開辦,一般以半天(上午或下午)或全日課程的形式提供。學前班幫助小朋友準備幼稚園生活,讓他們提早適應沒有父母陪伴的校園生活,與同齡的小朋友一起相處更長時間。

 

不過,有些幼稚園可能會優先錄取參加N班的學童。

 

幼稚園

雖然幼稚園的學前教育在香港並非義務教育,但普遍家長都會安排3-6歲的孩子入讀幼稚園。幼稚園會培養小朋友的基本生活技能,涵接小學教育。除了各科的知識,小朋友可以在幼稚園與同學相處時學習團隊合作和紀律,而這些都難以在家中實現。

 

香港所有幼稚園均由非牟利機構或獨立機構私人開辦,並受《教育條例》規管。

 

報讀時間

Playgroup:全年招生。請向開辦課程的機構查詢詳情。

 

N班:報讀兒童須於報讀時年滿2歲。請準備好所需文件,於入學前一年度幼稚園/幼兒園的招生期內提交申請(通常在每年8月至12月期間)

 

幼稚園:報讀兒童須於下年度開學日(9月1日)年滿2歲8個月*。請準備好所需文件,於入學前一年度幼稚園/幼兒園的招生期內提交申請(通常在每年8月至12月期間)

 

*有家長會選擇讓9月之後出生的子女延遲一年入學。

 

考慮教育機構時,不妨多參加入學講座和開放日,更好地了解學校的課程和學習環境。同時,記得留意心儀幼稚園和學校的招生日期,提前做好準備,免得錯過重要日子。

 

決定小朋友的教育方法

每個孩子生來都是獨一無二的,世上並沒有絕對正確或錯誤的方法去養育孩子,最重要的是找到適合孩子的方式。尋找答案時,你可以考慮以下幾點:

  • 孩子的性格是怎樣的?
    了解孩子的性格、學習方式和興趣是制定教育計劃的第一步。明白孩子的學習動機,並為他提供所需的資源和鼓勵來促進學習。你的教育方法是否能針對孩子的長處和短處?是否能建立他所需的耐心、謹慎、專注、同理心、自律等?
  • 你的教育理念和風格是什麼?
    無論你傾向傳統學校、國際學校,還是採用蒙特梭利 瑞吉歐 等替代教育方法,都最好先作資料搜集,詳細了解相關形式。不同的教育理念設有不同的教育目標,例如獨立性、領導力、學術成就、創造力和邏輯推理等。
  • 你的家居環境如何支持孩子學習?
    孩子的學習範圍不只限於課室,不要忽視家庭教育的重要性,並努力為孩子營造一致的學習氛圍。你可以從認識教育方式背後的原則開始,在與孩子的日常生活中融入類似的做法。

蒙特梭利教學法:以孩子為中心的學習方法

 

montessori4.jpg

 

什麼是蒙特梭利教學法?

蒙特梭利教學法(Montessori Education)由意大利醫生兼教育家 Maria Montessori 博士在1900年代初期開發,是一種廣泛適用於所有教育環境的循證(evidence-based)教育模式。蒙特梭利教育者相信小朋友的潛力,培養他們天生的學習熱情,尊重每個孩子都能成長為一個有能力、自信和獨立的個體。

 

蒙特梭利課室在精心佈置的安全環境中融合了不同的感官體驗,寬敞、整潔有序而完備的課室提供了絕佳的學習環境讓兒童自由探索。小朋友可以按照自己的節奏和方式學習知識和技能,過程由接受過蒙特梭利教育培訓的專業導師從旁引導。

 

蒙特梭利教學法相信犯錯是學習過程中不可或缺的一部分,哪怕是小如在精心設計的活動中出錯,孩子在認知及糾正自己錯誤的同時,也在逐步成長,培養出正確態度去面對日後所遇到更大的困難。

 

蒙特梭利的學前教育課程注重培養兒童的語言能力、運動技能、社交技能以及獨立性,希望從小裝備孩子適應變化的能力。

 

蒙特梭利教育與傳統學校有何不同?

傳統學校環境通常由教師主導學習模式,相反,蒙特梭利課堂由小朋友主導,以兒童為中心,課程不要求死記硬背,更沒有功課和考試測驗。

 

蒙特梭利另一個特點是混齡學習,有別於傳統學校自動將同齡的兒童編在一班,混齡環境讓小朋友與不同年齡的同學合作,在自由度極大的空間內們活動和與人交流。

 

蒙特梭利適合我的孩子嗎?

蒙特梭利教學法適用於所有性格、才能和文化背景的兒童,滿足每個小朋友天生對學習和成長的需要。充滿學習動機的課室環境容許孩子隨心利用感官探索周圍,自由行動。蒙特梭利之所以與眾不同,是因為它強調好奇心、創造力和獨立性,從小建立讓孩子終生受用的生活技能。

Guidepost Montessori Together playgroup:啟發孩子一生的潛能

Guidepost Montessori Together playgroup 專為6至24個月大的幼童而設,營造正面、輕鬆的氣氛,讓父母與孩子培養親子關係。Playgroup 導師更會分享蒙特梭利育兒技巧和知識,家長可以應用在日常與孩子的相處中,建立孩子的獨立能力和自信。在蒙特梭利課堂中見證寶寶學習自行進食、爬行和站立,完成這些成長里程碑。

 

不要錯過 Montessori Together Community 的實用育兒資源和支援!

 

PLAYGROUP 特點:

  • 中英文雙語教學,為幼兒的腦部的執行功能以及社交和情感能力打下基礎
  • 安全和精心佈置的課室讓兒童自由探索、移動,有助建立自信心
  • 互動型物料及有意義的多感官訓練活動,有助早期腦部認知能力發展
  • 社交、情感、身體、語言和認知技能方面的早期腦部發展
  • 以小組形式進行豐富的音樂及運動活動
  • 大量機會讓小朋友去探索、定向、推理和解決問題

Playgroup 課程於 Guidepost Montessori 的柴灣堅尼地城薄扶林分校進行。

 

報名方法

請到 https://inbound.guidepostmontessori.com/hong-kong-info 填寫聯絡表格,及後 Guidepost Montessori 職員將盡快與你聯繫,回答有關學位、候補名單、學費、註冊流程等方面的任何問題。

 

下一步,你需要填寫網上申請,提供你和小朋友的個人資料和期望上課日期。

 

每個小朋友生來就有無限的潛力,值得得到世界上最好的一切。Guidepost Montessori 邀請你與孩子一起踏上自我發現之旅,陪他們充分發揮潛力。

 

還有更多疑問? 放心交給 Guidepost Montessori 的專業人士,為你提供諮詢並安排參觀校園!

 

聯絡資訊:

Guidepost Montessori(柴灣)
地址:香港柴灣小西灣道9號富欣花園地下
電話 / Whatsapp:+852 2866 8260
電郵:[email protected]

 

Guidepost Montessori(堅尼地城)
地址:香港西環皇后大道西554-560號百好大樓1-2樓
電話 / Whatsapp:+852 3619 1136
電郵:[email protected]

 

Guidepost Montessori(薄扶林)
地址:香港薄扶林置富花園置富南區廣場L101
電話 / Whatsapp:+852 2177 0001
電郵:[email protected]

 


本文與 Guidepost Montessori 合作撰寫,僅提供資訊,不能取代特定的專業建議。

分享

Learning the Montessori Way – All You Need to Know about Early Childhood Education

Last Updated:
2022-03-22

6 min read

montessori

Congratulations, new moms and dads! You have just reached your first milestone as a parent. Now fasten your seatbelt, sit back and relax — the journey ahead is going to be full of challenges and excitement, satisfaction and frustration.

 

Making decisions for your child’s first steps into education can be a real challenge, especially when you are faced with dozens of important questions like whether to enroll in daycare, playgroups and pre-nurseries, when and how to start early education, how to choose the best school for your child… and the list seems to be never-ending. 

 

In collaboration with Guidepost Montessori, we bring you this comprehensive guide to plan for your little one’s education to clear your head from all the myths around the topic.

 

montessori1.jpg

Early childhood education: Where to start?

Children develop the foundation of their personality, behavior, interests, skills and well-being before the age of 6. The experiences they have from birth to 6 years old are critical to their growth and the effect may last for a lifetime when their budding curiosity is nourished with the right nutrients, in the right soil. 

 

During this prime time for learning, children absorb new information like a sponge as they interact with the environment. From their daily observing, listening, smelling, tasting, touching, to experimenting and interacting with their surroundings, children are constructing their understanding of the world at all times. 

Age 0-6: Playgroup, pre-nursery and kindergarten

Playgroups and pre-nurseries are popular among parents in Hong Kong as early education programs before children reach kindergarten age (below 3 years old).

 

montessori2.jpg

 

Playgroup

Playgroups are designed for babies and toddlers aged from 6 months to 2 years old (requirements may vary among providers). Most playgroup sessions take around 90 minutes and they serve as interest groups for parents and children to come together for casual gatherings and fun learning activities. Playgroup classes lead you and your child through stimulating activities of your choice: language learning, sensorial exploration, arts and crafts, music, physical exercises, you name it — offering great opportunities for parent-child bonding. 

 

While your little one can make new friends at a playgroup, you can also benefit from building a social network with other parents with whom you can share the sweets and sours of your parenting experiences.

 

montessori3.jpg

 

Pre-nursery 

Pre-nursery programs are designed for children between 2-3 years old with more emphasis on their whole development from self-care, arts, language to motor skills. Pre-nursery is often organized by kindergartens and is mostly available as half-day (AM or PM) or extended-day programs. As its name suggests, pre-nursery prepares children for nursery level in kindergarten, where they will spend longer time with peers unaccompanied by parents.

 

Nevertheless, some kindergartens may give priority in admission to children who joined their pre-nursery programs.

 

Kindergarten 

Although kindergarten education is not compulsory, it is common for parents to enroll their children between 3-6 years old in a kindergarten as it equips them with essential life skills that can hardly be taught at home but are fundamental for elementary school education. Among other knowledge and skills, they will cultivate a sense of discipline and a spirit of teamwork when getting along with other children.

 

All kindergartens in Hong Kong are privately run by either non-profit-making or independent organizations and are under regulation by the Education Ordinance.

 

When to enroll?

Playgroup: Generally opens for enrollment all year round. Check with the provider for application details.

 

Pre-nursery: Your child has to be at least 2 years old at the time of enrollment to be eligible. Submit your documents during the application period (usually between August and December) the year prior to the start of the school year

 

Kindergarten: Your child has to be at least 2 years and 8 months old* as at September 1 next year to be eligible. Submit your documents during the application period (usually between August and December) the year prior to the start of the school year.

 

*Sometimes parents may prefer to delay the enrollment of their children born after September to the next school year.

 

When shopping around, get a better look of the curriculum and learning environment by attending admission talks and open days organized by the institutions. Also, stay tuned to announcements about the application period of your desired preschools so you don’t miss the important dates! 

 

Determining the education approach

Every child is born unique, there is no absolute right or wrong way to raise a child. It all comes down to what is the most suitable. Before answering this question, here are some key aspects you may want to give some thought to:

  • What is your child’s personality like? 

Understanding your child’s character, mode of learning and interests is the first step of formulating an education plan for them. Identify the motivations for your child and facilitate their learning by feeding the right fuels. Patience, prudence, concentration, empathy, self-discipline… Does the education method address your child’s strengths and weaknesses?

  • What is your education philosophy and style? 

Whether you want to go for traditional schools, international schools, or adopt alternative education methods like Montesorri and Reggio Emilia, begin your research early. Different education philosophies are driven by different educational goals, such as independence, leadership, academic achievements, creativity and logical reasoning.

  • How can you support your child’s learning at home? 

Learning doesn’t stop when children step out of the classroom. Don’t overlook the importance of education at home and try to foster a consistent learning atmosphere for your child. You may start by recognizing the principles behind your education style and adopting relevant practices in your everyday life.

Montessori education: A child-centered learning approach

 

montessori4.jpg

 

What is the Montessori method?

Developed by Italian physician and educator Dr. Maria Montessori in the early 1900s, the Montessori method is an evidence-based education model widely applicable to all education settings. Montessori educators believe in children’s potential and cultivate their natural passion for learning, respecting every young mind to be capable of growing towards a capable, confident and independent individual.

 

A typical Montessori classroom integrates different sensorial experiences in a curated, safe environment. It is spacious, organized and pleasant for children to freely venture and make discoveries. Children are encouraged to learn at their own pace and in their own way, with guidance from a trained educator. 

 

Additionally, Montessori sheds light on the vital role of mistakes in a child’s growth as they recognize and correct their own mistakes. Starting with small errors like misplacing a piece in a purposefully designed activity, children will learn to improve themselves constantly in anticipation of bigger obstacles they encounter later in life.

 

In the preschool setting, the Montessori curriculum focuses on building language capacity, motor skills, social skills, along with independence in children — all these acquired qualities will prepare children to better adapt to changes and transitions.

 

How is Montessori education different from traditional schools?

Contrary to the teacher-led model often practiced in a traditional school setting, a Montessori classroom works with children taking the initiative in learning (children-centered), with a curriculum that involves minimal memorization, zero homework and no tests. 

 

Another special feature of the Montessori system is the multi-age grouping of children, instead of grouping children of the same age in one classroom. Children enjoy the freedom to move around the space and socialize.

 

Is Montessori suitable for my child?

The Montessori education approach is universal to children of all personalities, talents and cultural backgrounds, as it addresses the natural needs and tendencies to grow. It encourages children to explore their surroundings with their senses within a danger-free environment which allows great freedom for their movements. What makes Montessori exceptional is its emphasis on curiosity, creativity and independence, building life skills that would benefit children for a lifetime.

Guidepost Montessori Together playgroup: Foundation for a lifetime of connection 

Tailored for children from 6 to 24 months old, the Guidepost Montessori Together playgroup houses a supportive and relaxed environment for parents who seek unique bonding experiences with their children. A Montessori Together guide will generously share tips and insights to nurture an independent, confident child. The program sets the perfect stage for your child’s early endeavors to self-feed, crawl and walk.

 

What’s more? You can gain access to useful parenting resources and support from the welcoming Montessori Together Community! 

 

Highlights of the playgroup:

  • Dual language sessions in Mandarin and English to lay a strong foundation in executive functioning skills, as well as social and emotional capacity
  • A safe, prepared environment that encourages exploration and freedom of movement boosting confidence
  • Hands-on materials and purposefully designed sensory activities to support early cognitive brain development
  • Rich music and movement activity offered in small group setting
  • Numerous opportunities for children to explore, navigate, develop, reason and problem solve

The program is available at the Guidepost Montessori campuses in Chai Wan, Kennedy Town and Pok Fu Lam.

 

How to enroll?

Get in touch with Guidepost Montessori by filling in the contact form at https://inbound.guidepostmontessori.com/hong-kong-info. An Admissions specialist from Guidepost will shortly contact you to answer any questions around availability, waitlist, tuition fees, registration process, etc.

 

Next step, you will need to complete an online registration form with your information and preferred start date.

 

Every young mind is born with endless potential and certainly deserves the best of everything in the world. Embark on this self-discovery journey with your little one at Guidepost Montessori to realize their potential to the fullest. 

 

Got more questions? Save them for your consultation session and arrange a school tour!

 

Find them at…

Guidepost Montessori at Chai Wan
Address: Siu Sai Wan, Kindergarten, Harmony Garden, 9 Siu Sai Wan Rd, Chai Wan HK
Tel / Whatsapp: +852 2866 8260
Email: [email protected]

 

Guidepost Montessori at Kennedy Town
Address: 1-2 Floor 554-560 Queen’s Road West Sai Wan, Shek Tong Tsui HK
Tel / Whatsapp: +852 3619 1136
Email: [email protected]

 

Guidepost Montessori at Pok Fu Lam
Address: L101 Chi Fu Landmark, Chi Fu Fa Yuen, Pok Fu Lam, HK
Tel / Whatsapp: +852 2177 0001
Email: [email protected]

 


This article is brought to you in partnership with Guidepost Montessori. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional advice.

Share on