重要消息!9合1 HPV子宮頸癌疫苗(HPV Gardasil 9)即將回歸香港

經過一段時間的短缺後,現時大眾可以再次在香港找到HPV Gardasil 9疫苗。短缺出現是由於默克藥廠宣布受到網絡攻擊而暫時生產。在香港,這決定令疫苗接種者要等到現在才可接種疫苗。婦產科醫生Dr. Michelle Tsui 徐行悅醫生指:「由於生產暫停,香港的診所不得不拒絕新疫苗接種者,並為需要第二或第三劑的疫苗接種者保留疫苗。」

在某些情況下,這種短缺導致疫苗接種時間表落後的疫苗接種者感到擔憂。也不用提由於中國內地未批准最新的HPV疫苗,而專門來港接種疫苗的中國大陸旅客了。

在香港哪裡可以找到Gardasil 9 HPV疫苗?

私營部門:HPV疫苗之前缺貨,現時可以在香港找到(但您可能會被列入候補名單!)

在過去的幾個月中,生產暫時中斷,這意味著大多數診所拒絕了新疫苗接種者或將他們列入候補名單,直到診所收到新貨為止。其實自2017年12月以來,大多數家庭和女性診所通常都能夠提供最新的HPV疫苗。但是由於存貨依然有限,有些女性可能仍在候補名單上。

疫苗接種的總費用因診所和醫生而異。通常向接種者收取的費用包括:疫苗本身(每劑價格在港幣1,200至1,700之間,您將需要接種三劑)+ 可能會收取的會診費,一般港幣800以上,尤其是如果您是首次去該診所,和/或可能再額外收取港幣100的疫苗注射服務費。由於在香港沒有對私營部門的收費進行監管/標準化,因此最好總是事先查詢服務提供商以進行估算。

公營部門:向低收入年輕女性免費提供子宮頸癌疫苗接種的先導計劃

衛生署衛生防護中心於2018年10月宣布,從2019/20學年開始,將根據香港兒童免疫接種計劃向符合資格的適齡女小學生提供人類乳頭瘤病毒(HPV)疫苗以預防子宮頸癌。2016年10月,香港政府為符合資格的低收入家庭的年輕女性啟動了免費的子宮頸癌疫苗接種先導計劃。這計劃與香港家庭計劃指導會合作,符合資格的女性年齡必須在9至18歲之間,並獲得全額的綜合社會保障援助,或者9歲以上,並根據校書簿津貼計劃獲得全額資助,才有資格獲得9合1 HPV疫苗。

想要更多健康資訊?訂閱我們的電子刊物!

可靠、最新、獨立資訊。

訂閱即代表您已同意我們的條款及條件隱私政策.

慈善機構:梁愷昍婦癌基金會

梁愷昍婦癌基金會是一個慈善機構,旨在教育香港的女性和女童接種HPV疫苗的必要性和好處。梁愷昍婦癌基金會還幫助女性和女童獲得疫苗。基金會其中一項計劃旨在增加適合年齡的女童和年輕女性對HPV免疫。該計劃旨在與香港的學校合作,為低收入背景的9至15歲女性提供免費疫苗接種。

自計劃開始以來,梁愷昍婦癌基金會已在香港讓1,625名女性接種了疫苗,並在2017-2018學年繼續為約1,500名女性提供疫苗接種。該計劃中使用的疫苗是保蓓(Cervarix)2合1疫苗,該疫苗在香港並不短缺,而疫苗涵蓋兩種高風險的HPV病毒株。

HPV是經性接觸傳播的,並可導致子宮頸癌

人乳頭瘤病毒(HPV)是最常見的性傳播感染,據估計所有性活躍人士當中有75%一生中至少感染一次(給情侶的重要提示:與其他大多數性傳播感染不同,HPV可以在單一伴侶之間傳播)。幾乎所有子宮頸癌病例都是由HPV引起的,這促使一些國家在其免疫計劃中納入了預防性HPV疫苗。在香港,HPV疫苗不包括在兒童免疫接種計劃中,而女性和女童大多在私營部門接種疫苗。

Gardasil 9 HPV疫苗可預防高達90%的子宮頸癌

在2006年,第一種HPV疫苗保蓓(Cervarix)被美國食品藥品監督管理局批准用作預防兩種HPV病毒株(16、18)的措施,已知這兩種HPV病毒株在全球引起大約70%的子宮頸癌病例,另外兩種病毒株通常引起尖銳濕疣。有了第一種HPV疫苗後,9合1疫苗嘉喜(Gardasil)成功被研發、並獲得美國食品藥品監督管理局批准使用,可以防止更多的HPV病毒株引起癌症和生殖器疣。據估計,最新的疫苗可預防所有子宮頸癌病例的90%左右,並且9歲以上的男性和女性皆可接種疫苗。在香港,父母可以根據小朋友的情況決定何時才是讓小朋友接種疫苗的好時機。

正如徐行悅醫生所解釋:「讓女童接種疫苗是最具成本效益的政策,但同時必須注意,已經開始發生性行為或生小朋友的女性是仍然能夠從疫苗中受益。只要您尚未感染疫苗可預防的特定HPV病毒株,疫苗就可以幫您預防那些病毒株。過去進行子宮頸抹片檢查曾發現有異常的女性也可以考慮接種疫苗,以防止再次感染或感染其他HPV病毒株。」

Gardasil 9 HPV疫苗提供的保護長達10年

疫苗接種的時間取決於年齡。最常見及最建議的是在首次接種後1至2個月及6個月分別接種第2劑和第3劑。根據世界衛生組織發布的最新結果,只要接種了全部三劑,HPV疫苗可提供5至10年的保護。此外,世界衛生組織報告指出,沒有證據表示隨著時間流逝,針對導致約70%子宮頸癌的兩種HPV病毒株的保護作用會減弱。

如果您正考慮購買醫療保險,想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

本文經Dr. Michelle Tsui 徐行悅醫生核對。徐行悅醫生在澳洲昆士蘭大學接受醫學培訓。她目前在香港擔任私人婦產科醫生。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Big News! After Shortage, The HPV Vaccine is Now Back in Hong Kong

After over half a year of shortage, the HPV Gardasil 9 vaccine is now available in Hong Kong. This shortage was following Merck’s announcement of a temporary shut down in the production due to a cyber attack. For Hong Kong, this manufacturing glitch has forced patients to wait until just now (if not longer) to have access to the vaccine. According to obstetrician gynecologist Dr. Michelle Tsui 徐行悅醫生, “due to the temporary halt in production, clinics in Hong Kong have had to turn away new patients and keep their vaccine stock for patients who needed a second or third dose.”

In some instances, this shortage has caused concern amongst users who are behind on their vaccination schedule. Not to even mention the vaccination tourism Hong Kong is receiving from mainland China since the newest HPV vaccine has not yet been approved there.

 

HPV vaccination providers in Hong Kong

Private sector: previously out of stock, the HPV vaccine is now available (but you may be waitlisted!)

In the past few months, a temporary halt in production entailed that most clinics turned away new patients or waitlisted them until they receive new stock. But since December 2017, the newest HPV vaccine is normally available at most family and women’s clinics. Although stock is limited and some women may still be on the waiting list.

The total fee for getting vaccinated varies per clinic and doctor. Patients are generally charged for: the vaccine itself (prices can vary between HK$1,200 and HK$1,700 per dose and you will need three of them) + a possible consultation fee of HK$800+, especially if it is your first visit and/or a possible jabbing fee of HK$100. As private sector fees are not regulated/standardised in Hong Kong, it is always best to ask medical providers in advance for an estimate.

 

Public sector: free cervical cancer vaccination pilot for low-income teenage girls

The free Hong Kong childhood immunisation program does not include the HPV vaccine. However, in October 2016 the Hong Kong Government started a free cervical cancer vaccination pilot for teenage girls from eligible, low-income families. In collaboration with the Family Planning Association of Hong Kong, girls eligible for the vaccine must be aged 9 to 18 and receive comprehensive Social Security Assistance or aged over 9 and receive the full grant under the School Textbook Assistance Scheme to receive the 9-valent HPV vaccine.

Charity sector: Karen Leung Foundation

The Karen Leung Foundation (KLF) is a charity that aims to educate women and girls in Hong Kong about the necessity and merits of the HPV vaccine. KLF also helps women and girls to gain access to the vaccine. One of KLF’s programs aims to increase HPV immunization amongst age-appropriate girls and young women. The program is designed to collaborate with schools in Hong Kong to provide free vaccinations for girls aged 9 – 15 of low income backgrounds.

Since program inception, KLF has vaccinated 1,625 girls in Hong Kong, and will continue to provide vaccination for approximately another 1,500 girls in the 2017-2018 school year. The vaccine used within the program is the Cervarix bi-valent vaccine which has no shortage in Hong Kong and covers two of the most high-risk HPV virus strains. 

 

HPV is sexually transmitted and can cause cancer

The Human papillomavirus (HPV) is the most commonly sexually transmitted infection and it has been estimated to infect 75% of all sexually active individuals at least once in their lives (important note to couples: unlike most other sexually transmitted infections, HPV can be transmitted between monogamous couples). Almost all cervical cancer cases are caused by HPV, which has driven some countries to include the preventative HPV vaccine in their immunization programs. In Hong Kong the HPV vaccine is not included in the childhood immunisation program and women and girls mostly get vaccinated in the private sector.

 

HPV vaccine can prevent up to 90% of cervical cancers

In 2006 the first HPV vaccine, Cervarix, was approved by the FDA to be used as a preventative measure against two HPV strains (16, 18) that are known to cause around 70% of cervical cancer cases in the world and two strains that commonly cause genital warts. Since the first HPV vaccine, the 9-valent Gardasil vaccine has been developed and approved by the FDA, which protects against more HPV strains that can cause cancer and genital warts. The newest vaccine has been estimated to protect against 90% approximately of all cervical cancer cases and can be administered to both boys and girls over the age of 9. In Hong Kong, parents can decide when is a good time to consider vaccination based on their child’s situation.

As explained by Dr. Michelle Tsui, “although vaccinating young girls is the most cost effective policy, it is also important to note that women who have started to have sexual relations or had kids will still benefit from the vaccine. The vaccine will protect against the included strains of HPV as long as you have not already contracted it. Women who have had abnormal pap smears in the past are also recommended to consider the vaccine to prevent reinfection or getting infected with other HPV strains.”

 

HPV vaccine can protect up to 10 years, if not longer

The timing of the vaccination depends on the age. Most commonly three doses are given and recommended to be given 1 to 2 months and 6 months after the initial injection. According to the latest results published by the WHO, the HPV vaccination offers protection for 5 to 10 years, provided that all three doses have been administered. Furthermore, the WHO reported that there is no evidence that the protection against the two HPV strains that cause approximately 70% of all cervical cancers wanes over time.

 
 

Article reviewed in December 2017 by Dr. Michelle Tsui 徐行悅醫生. Dr. Michelle Tsui received her medical training at University of Queensland, Australia. She is currently working as a private obstetrician and gynecologist in Hong Kong.
This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.