日曬和防護方法:專訪香港皮膚科專家余浩德醫生

在夏天,還有什麼比在陽光下度過一天更有趣呢?當然,對於任何曬日光浴的人來說,最重要的是安全保護自己的皮膚。暴露在陽光下不僅會曬黑,還會引起皺紋和斑點,並增加患上皮膚癌的風險。我們採訪了皮膚科專家Dr. John Yu余浩德醫生,以了解更多有關如何在戶外可以更好保護皮膚免受傷害的資訊。

暴露於陽光和紫外線(UV)對我們的皮膚有什麼影響?

陽光是紫外線輻射的來源,可導致自由基在皮膚上形成並破壞健康的皮膚細胞。過度暴露於紫外線會導致皮膚色素沉著增加,損害皮膚膠原蛋白,並可能導致皺紋和毛細血管擴張。紫外線輻射也是導致皮膚癌的主要因素之一。

氣候會影響我們患皮膚癌的機會嗎?

無錯,某些地區(例如熱帶地區)的氣候會帶來更高的紫外線照射,從而導致罹患皮膚癌的機會更高。在臭氧層受損的地區的人患上皮膚癌也更為普遍。實際上,臭氧層是阻止/吸收紫外線輻射的最重要因素之一。

我們如何確保自己有足夠的防曬保護?

如果您不能避開陽光,最好保護自己免受陽光照射(變黑、曬傷)的方法是使用物理性防曬霜和傘、帽子、太陽眼鏡和長袖衫之類的防曬工具。

防曬霜有多重要,我們應該多久塗抹一次?

防曬霜很重要,因為它有SPF(防曬系數),並且可以成功地減少皮膚吸收有害的紫外線。每天都塗抹防曬霜很重要,而且盡量在一日內頻繁使用(每兩個小時左右補一次),以確保得到充分的保護。雖然冬季紫外線B射線(UVB)較少,但紫外線A射線(UVA)的水平不會改變。由於UVA仍會影響我們皮膚的健康,因此在冬季塗抹防曬霜也很重要。

較高SPF的防曬霜真的較有效嗎?

雖然SPF 30和60之間的差異很小,但塗抹SPF為15以上的防曬霜或乳液很重要。確保選擇可以防止UVA和UVB射線的廣譜防曬霜(有“Broad Spectrum”標示)。PA級別為+++(適用於UVA防護)是最好的。我的建議是使用含有氧化鋅(zinc oxide)的物理性防曬霜,以減少發生過敏反應的機會,同時仍提供良好的UVB和UVA保護。

您會給喜歡曬黑或經常曬太陽的人提供什麼建議?

避免過度曝曬。陽光含有紫外線,會導致您的皮膚產生反應。簡而言之,UVA射線會導致皮膚老化,而UVB射線會導致皮膚曬傷。

室內曬燈和助曬油有什麼害處?它們比太陽帶來的傷害更差嗎?

室內曬燈可導致皮膚癌,並且比日光浴更差,因為它們給使用者一種虛假的安全感,以為他們的皮膚不會燒傷,因此會誤以為它們沒有害處。助曬油,例如美黑霜,對人體無害。它就像在您的皮膚上塗粉底霜一樣!

是否正考慮購買醫療保險?不知道目前的醫療保險計劃是否適合自己?想諮詢專家,可聯繫AD MediLink 的專家,發郵件至[email protected] 查詢,或者致電+852 2606 2668 獲得專家的中肯意見及保險計劃報價。AD MediLink 團隊是醫療保險方面的專家,對香港醫療系統(公營醫療系統及私營醫療界) 有深度了解,定能幫您解惑。

Dr. John Yu余浩德醫生在其名為Dermacare Central的私人診所從事皮膚科醫生工作。他於英國牛津大學畢業,曾在位於巴爾的摩的約翰霍普金斯大學醫院接受過皮膚病學培訓,並在瑪麗醫院接受過香港衛生署的專科培訓。他於2007年加入聖德肋撒醫院擔任顧問,之後他成立了the Skin and Laser Centre。
本文由Healthy Matters獨立撰寫,未經贊助。它僅提供資訊,不能取代專業的醫療建議、診斷或治療。不應將其作為特定的醫療建議。

Interview with Dermatologist John Yu on Sun Exposure and Protection

It’s summertime and what is more fun than spending a day out in the sun? Of course, the most important thing for anyone out basking in the sun is to safely protect their skin. Exposure to sunlight will not only give you a sun-kissed tan, but can also cause wrinkles and spots, and increase the risk of developing skin cancer. We interviewed Dermatologist John Yu to learn more about how to best protect our skin from harm while outdoors.

 

What effects does exposure to sunlight, and ultra-violet (UV) rays have on our skin?

Sunlight is the source of UV radiation that can cause free radicals to be formed on the skin and break down healthy skin cells. Overexposure to UV can cause increased pigmentation in the skin, damage the collagen of the skin and may lead to wrinkles and telangiectasia. UV radiation is also one of the leading factors responsible for skin cancer.

 

Does the climate affect our chances of obtaining skin cancer?

Yes, some regions, like the tropics, have climates that bring higher UV exposure, which leads to higher chances of developing skin cancer. Skin cancer is also more prevalent in areas where the ozone layer is damaged; the ozone layer is in fact one of the most important factors to blocking/absorbing UV radiation.

 

How can we ensure that we have an adequate level of sun protection?

If you can’t avoid the sun, the best way to protect yourself from it (getting dark, burning) is to use physical sunblock and material sun protection such as umbrellas, hats, sunglasses, and long sleeves.

 

How important is sunscreen and how often should we wear it?

Sunscreen is important as it contains SPF (Sun Protection Factor) and can successfully limit the absorption of harmful UV rays by your skin. It is important to wear it daily, and apply it frequently throughout the day (every two hours or so) to ensure adequate protection. While UVB rays are lesser in the winter times, the level of UVA rays does not change. As UVA rays can still affect the healthiness of our skin, it is important to apply sunscreen during the wintertime also.

 

Does higher SPF sunscreen make a real a difference?

While the difference between SPF 30 and 60 is minimal, it is important to wear moisturisers or lotions with an SPF of 15 and up. Be sure to pick a broad-spectrum sunscreen that protects against both UVA and UVB rays. The PA level (for UVA protection) of +++ is the best. My advice is to use physical sunblock that contains zinc oxide to lessen the chance of an allergic reaction, while still providing good UVB and UVA protection.

 

What advice would you give to those who enjoy tanning, or who are frequently out in the sun?

Be very cautious of sun overexposure. Sunlight consists of UV rays that are responsible for reactions on your skin. Simply put, UVA rays contribute to skin aging while UVB rays contribute to skin burning.

 

How harmful are tanning beds and tanning lotions? Are they worse than sun damage?

Tanning beds can lead to skin cancer and they are worse than sun exposure as they give users a false sense of security that because their skin will not burn, it will not be bad for them. Tanning lotions such as fake tans are not harmful; it is just like wearing foundation/make up on your skin!
Dr. John Yu is a Dermatologist practicing at his private clinic Dermacare Central. A graduate of University of Oxford, England, he has received training in dermatology at Johns Hopkins University Hospital, Baltimore, as well as specialist training in the Department of Health at the Queen Mary Hospital. He joined St. Teresa’s Hospital in 2007 as a consultant where he later set up the Skin and Laser Centre.

 

This article was independently written by Healthy Matters and not sponsored. It is informative only and is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and should never be relied upon for specific medical advice.